Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"

"FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"

Item# 156115
"The Work Sharp Knife & Tool Sharpener is an innovative abrasive belt sharpening system that combines flexible premium abrasive belts and precision sharpening guides to give you the sharpest blades with professional results. Two guides are included a 50 guide for hunting and outdoor knives 25 per bevel and a 40 guide for thinner blades and kitchen knives 20 per bevel. Professional knife makers use flexible belts to put a razor sharp edge on their blades, and now you can have the same technology at home to use anytime your knives get dull. Never before has a knife sharpener been able to quickly and easily sharpen this broad range of knives to such extremely sharp results. The Work Sharp Knife & Tool Sharpener is also able to sharpen other common tools including scissors, axes and hatchets, mower blades, garden shears, shovels, and most any tool with a blade. The versatility of the knife & tool sharpener makes it an invaluable tool for keeping all your blades in razor sharp condition and ready whenever you need them. U.S.A. Amps 0.7, Belt Size in. x in. 1/2 x 12, Grit 80, 220, 6000, On/Off Switch Yes, Product Type Sharpener, Volts 120, Speed RPM 3,600-4,000, Angle Sharpening deg. 40, 50. Patented belt technology conforms to the shape of any blade Sharpens not just straight bladed knives, but also curved knives, tanto blades, fillet knives, serrated knives, gut hooks and virtually any other shape of knife blade Sharpens other common tools including scissors, axes and hatchets, mower blades, garden shears, shovels, and most any tool with a blade Can be used to debur cut metal Uses precision angle sharpening guides to ensure that you get the proper angle every time Includes two guides a 50 guide for hunting and outdoor knives 25 per bevel and 40 guide for thinner blades and kitchen knives 20 per bevel"
Average Customer Rating:
4.785 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(237 Reviews) 237
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (237 reviews)
5 stars
200
4 stars
28
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
230 of 237(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 108 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Sharpener I have ever had or used.

,
February 4, 2014
By Gmith53
from North Carolina
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" The Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS is easy to use and sharpens everything I throw at it. Attachments are easy to use and simple to understand. The angles are held perfectly for a clean sharp edge. So easy you will be offering to sharpen all your neighbors tools and knives. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS

,
December 19, 2014
By oldfarmhand
from Ubly, MI
" I have been wanting to purchase one of these for several years now, and I finally took the plunge (and actually purchased a second unit also to send to a brother for Christmas).
I tried it out right away and was thrilled to have a few VERY sharp knives in the kitchen again! I only used the P220 belt that came installed on the machine. I'm sure that the 6000 grit honing belt would make my knives sharper yet (maybe too sharp? LOL). I do not have a proper place to store my kitchen knives, so I did not bother to try for an extra-fine sharpening.
one thing that I would recommend, and that I will try with the other kitchen knives and also pocket/butchering/outdoor knives, would be to start out with the P60 Coarse belt. my kitchen knives have not been properly sharpened in 8 or 10 years, using a stone at work (I was a meatcutter), and were so dull that I probably wasted a lot of abrasive (and time) by using only the P220 belt. once sharpened, I'm sure that the P220 belt would be all that is necessary to resharpen knives if done on a regular basis. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A GREAT SHARPENING TOOL

,
December 19, 2014
By HYDRAULICMAN
from SEARCY AR
" THE WORK SHARP IS ABSOLUTELY THE FASTEST AND EASIEST SHARPENER I HAVE EVER USED.
I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised

,
December 19, 2014
By Maroli
from Maine
" I have personally used the product 5 times now and am amazed at the edge it can put back on a knife. Knife steels that we have tried are 440C, 420, 154CM, and S30V. Work Sharp is not exaggerating when they claim to be able to return a razor's edge to a blade. Even with the medium grade belt ,this is possible, although the finest grade is very nice. A beautiful edge can be shaped on a work knife within seconds, and only a minute or two for heavy dings. The belts are easily changeable. Other Co-workers have used the product and are equally impressed.
My talent and time with a diamond stone can not even come close to these results, and anyone can operate this product easily. The knife guides work very well for keeping a consistent angle for pocket knives and kitchen knives. I am very satisfied with this unit and would highly recommend.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works!

,
December 18, 2014
By Athos
from Kalispell, MT
" This item does work as advertised. Use all grits the first time for each knife as you may need to change the angle of the entire sharp edge. Thereafter you can use the extra-fine belt if you touch the knife up on a regular basis. Order additional extra-fine belts rather than an “all belts” package. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Works !!

,
December 17, 2014
By Paden
from Basalt CO
" When I first ordered the work sharp I was concerned with the 1/2 " belts it used. I thought for the price I would give it a try anyway. Now, after using it, I found it to be much more than I expected. It's belts are more than adequate for all the knives I have sharpened even my thick bladed hunting knives. Razor sharp knives in every drawer is now super easy !!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Machine

,
December 16, 2014
By fearlessMA
from Boston
" Very easy to set up and use. The DVD instructions were clear and helpful. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is the cost of replacement belts - about 15% of the purchase price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
December 15, 2014
By 1024Threeper777
from St Louis
" When I got it I was able to put a terrific edge on my hunting knives, my kitchen knives, serrated edges etc. It is quick and easy to use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good General Knife Sharpener

,
December 14, 2014
By AgencyMan
from Washington State
" This product works very well and was easy to use. Read the instructions, pay attention to changing the guides the instructions need some work on this. Smaller gray guide actually uses different nut clamping than the larger guide.
Don't want to step on toes here but my wife who is very smart but not too mechanical will be able to use this once I show her how it works. So I decided after getting it that it will be a house hold Christmas present not just another tool for my shop. Read the instructions, hold most knives level and for many larger knives their weight will be enough down pressure. Have fun and don't cut yourself afterwards
Bob
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works very well on kitchen knives

,
December 14, 2014
By jlylec1
from Crozet, VA
" I've only used this on my kitchen knives so far, but it did a great job and got them sharper than they've ever been. I wish it had a case or something. That's the only reason I gave it 4 starts instead of 5. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener

,
December 14, 2014
By Jimbill1
from Paris texas
" Well Northern Tool has done it again. My knife sharpener arrived and was out of the box and working within minutes with ease. It works great and is easy to use. Every knife I could find in our house is sharp and ready for use. I recommend this product as well as everything have purchased from Northern Tool. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awkward but sharpens fine.

,
December 14, 2014
By Jaxk
from Stillwater County, Mt
" I found the trigger to be awkward to use the first time out and didn't really find the secret for easy natural feeling use of the trigger and handle. As to the job on the knives - very good. Not face shaving sharp but close - all my wife and I expect for kitchen hardware. And fast - 11 blades in about 5 minutes without overly heating the metal. My powered flat stone gives a slightly better edge to the blade but it does take 40-45 minutes for 10 blades due to set up time. On first impression, the belt life appears good as long as weight of the knife is the only pressure used in the sharpening procedure. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Work Sharp Sharpener not so sharp

,
December 14, 2014
By grizz69
from Howard City
" After watching videos and infomercials I thought that this would be one of the greatest things going for a person like myself that has a terrible time sharpening knives. I was wrong. When doing what the instructions said things were going pretty well on the first step of the procedure but when I used the 6000 grit it just seemed like I lost the edge I was looking for. I purchased this product over other electric sharpeners with the grinding wheels because I thought it made more sense. Again I was wrong. As for recommending this product to friends I would hesitate but would allow them to try it for themselves before making their decision to purchase one. I wish I could have had that opportunity. If I had I am not so sure that I would have bought one for myself??? "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

razor sharp

,
December 13, 2014
By golddiggingrandy
from petaluma, ca
" Read the directions, first pocket knife came out perfect, I have 100+ knives . Haven't got to them all yet, no hurry. This sharpener is replacing all of a drawer full of stones and sharpening sticks. Can't say enough. Buy this tool. I use my knives everyday on the bridge I work on and this is the tool. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wicked Sharp

,
December 13, 2014
By ald45
from Buhler, KS
" I have tried a bunch of sharpeners from stones to diamonds, but none hold a candle to the Work Sharp. From my pocket knife to my mower blades, it has amazed me. My wife has never used sharper kitchen knives! Very handy and user-friendly. I highly recommend it! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sharpener

,
December 12, 2014
By Crossbow48
from St. Louis, MO
" This is a great sharpener for garden tools. It took only minutes to put a new edge on my shears, pruners and grass clippers. Next up will be my mower blades. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Knife sharpener

,
December 12, 2014
By Steve688
from Portland, OR
" I am quite happy with this widget. It sharpens very dull knives with no effort at all. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Knife sharpener

,
December 12, 2014
By cf428
from MI
" The product works fine but the instructions leave something to be desired. Read then carefully before using and be sure you understand them. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
December 12, 2014
By MGS1956
from Michigan
" Sharpens very well and easily. Only issue is can't buy belts individually. The honing belt gets worn quickly but can't just buy that belt. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't stop

,
December 12, 2014
By Barndweller
from PA
" Sharpened every knife and scissors in the house the day this arrived. Does a great job and really easy to use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.