Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"

"FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"

Item# 156115
"The Work Sharp Knife & Tool Sharpener is an innovative abrasive belt sharpening system that combines flexible premium abrasive belts and precision sharpening guides to give you the sharpest blades with professional results. Two guides are included a 50 guide for hunting and outdoor knives 25 per bevel and a 40 guide for thinner blades and kitchen knives 20 per bevel. Professional knife makers use flexible belts to put a razor sharp edge on their blades, and now you can have the same technology at home to use anytime your knives get dull. Never before has a knife sharpener been able to quickly and easily sharpen this broad range of knives to such extremely sharp results. The Work Sharp Knife & Tool Sharpener is also able to sharpen other common tools including scissors, axes and hatchets, mower blades, garden shears, shovels, and most any tool with a blade. The versatility of the knife & tool sharpener makes it an invaluable tool for keeping all your blades in razor sharp condition and ready whenever you need them. U.S.A. Amps 0.7, Grit 80, 220, 6,000, Angle Sharpening deg. 40, 50, Speed RPM 3,600-4,000, Volts 120. Patented belt technology conforms to the shape of any blade Sharpens not just straight bladed knives, but also curved knives, tanto blades, fillet knives, serrated knives, gut hooks and virtually any other shape of knife blade Sharpens other common tools including scissors, axes and hatchets, mower blades, garden shears, shovels, and most any tool with a blade Can be used to debur cut metal Uses precision angle sharpening guides to ensure that you get the proper angle every time Includes two guides a 50 guide for hunting and outdoor knives 25 per bevel and 40 guide for thinner blades and kitchen knives 20 per bevel"
Average Customer Rating:
4.761 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(306 Reviews) 306
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (306 reviews)
5 stars
250
4 stars
45
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
2
297 of 306(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 121 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Sharpener I have ever had or used.

,
February 4, 2014
By
from North Carolina
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" The Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS is easy to use and sharpens everything I throw at it. Attachments are easy to use and simple to understand. The angles are held perfectly for a clean sharp edge. So easy you will be offering to sharpen all your neighbors tools and knives. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Knife Sharpener actually works!

,
August 27, 2015
By
from Central Texas
" Received the sharpener one afternoon, unpacked it, read the instructions and proceeded to sharpen several kitchen knives, a four pocket knives, two hunting knives all in mere moments. Product is easy, almost intuitive, to use and the result is just magnificent, Belts are easy to change and it takes little space on the work bench. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sharpener

,
August 17, 2015
By
from San Francisco
" Took only a few minutes to set up and it works great. it really puts an "edge" on things. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"

,
August 5, 2015
By
from Baton Rouge, LA
" Took it out of the package, read over the instructions, sharpened every kitchen knife and every pocket knife I could find (about 45), all in about 1-1/2 hours. My wife thought twice about the few dollars I spent on such a tool. Then the next day she cuts her finger on the now sharp knives. So she says, "That thing worked pretty good."
The tool is very easy to use. Set up is a breeze and changing out bands in also very easy. I purchased and additional package of bands thinking I would go through them quickly. I am still using the original bands after the 45 (kitchen and pocket knives) combined knives sharpened.
I haven't found any drawbacks for this product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty Sharp!

,
August 5, 2015
By
from Oneida, NY
" We recently had my sister and her family from Texas staying with us, and while my sister was helping out in the kitchen she commented about one of the knives needing sharpening. I told her there was a guy in town who sharpens anything and I've been meaning to take it to him. As it turns out, my B.I.L. had recently bought one of these sharpeners from Northern Tools, and he told me in detail about how satisfied he was with it. So based solely on his recommendation, I ordered one online from Northern, and found it to be very easy to use, and I'm very satisfied with its performance sharpening our kitchen knives and my pocket knife. Apparently it can even be used for sharpening lawn mower blades, which I intend to do in the spring. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tool Sharpener

,
August 4, 2015
By
from Long Island, NY
" Very easy to set-up, Sharpened knives, scissors very efficiently and quickly. Very easy to use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife & Tool Sharpener

,
August 3, 2015
By
from North Florida
" this thing works. I now have the sharpest knives I've ever had! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sharpener

,
August 2, 2015
By
from Albany, GA
" My kitchen knives are so sharp i can slice things so thin they only have one side. Seriously, It gets all my indoor and outdoor knives scary sharp. I've sharpened everything else including shovels, hoes, scissors, clippers, lopers, and lawn mower blades quickly, cleanly and with a minimum of effort. You do have to read the instructions even men (yes, even real men) and follow the instructions. After that prepare for your tools to be sharper and easier to use than ever. Best buy in a a long time. My son is getting one for Christmas. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

SHARP IS BETTER

,
August 2, 2015
By
from BRIGHTON,MI
" FACED WITH A DRAWER FULL OF DULLED KNIFES, THE MRS. ASKED ME TO SHARPEN THEM SO I GOT THE WORKSHARP TOOL AND IT TOOK ME SOME TIME TO GET FAMILIAR WITH THE PROCESS BUT IT WORKED WELL. THE KNIVES ARE NOW SHARP AND SHE'S HAPPY. I DID GO THROUGH A COUPLE OF THE 6000 GRIT BELTS BUT THAT IS THE LEARNING PART. GOT A BUNCH MORE FOR FUTURE USE AND PROBABLY WILL DO THEM AS NEEDED EASY TO DO NOW I HAVE THE HANG OF IT. DO NOT HURRY AND USE LIGHT PRESSURE... "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener

,
August 1, 2015
By
from Santa Fe,NM
" Sorry I didn't get this product sooner, when I received it
I got out all my Kitchen knives good ones and cheap ones
and sharpened all of them, tested them on tomatoes and
newspapers cuts right through like a razor blade.
Then did the same with my folding and hunting knives,
sharp enough to shave with.
This product is great and easy to use.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife Sharpener

,
June 30, 2015
By
from Woodland Park,NJ
" I was amazed this tool was so easy to use. Just follow the simple directions. I have only used it to sharpen chefs knives so far but I am very happy with the results. Just pull the knife thru the built in beveled guides and you can not go wrong. Changing the different grades of sanding belts was a snap. Only took about 15 or 20 seconds for each change. Buy it! It is well worth the price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally Found Sharperner

,
June 28, 2015
By
from Overland Park, KS
" I went to a gun show many years ago and paid a guy to sharpen my pocket knife, I noticed he used a tool with a rotary belt and a jig to hold the knife at the proper angle. That knife had the sharpest edge I had ever had on it. Since then I have purchased other knife sharpening tools with the expectation they would give me that razor sharp edge the guy at the gun show gave me. None of the tools came close to giving me that edge until I found this great tool. It uses the same technique with rotary belts.
It took me about 15 minutes to read the instructions and figure out how to operate the sharpener. I grabbed every knife and scissor I had in my house and began sharpening. The first few knifes took some getting used to but after that I did the remaining knifes in about 40 minutes (~ 20 knifes). For the kitchen knifes I finished them with a honing stick just to get that little extra edge. Cutting lemons, vegetables, fruits is a breeze. Skinning a peach, a pineapple, is so much easier. The scissors cut so much better now.
I grilled out the other evening and used one of the steak knifes. It cut the steak so easily I had to wonder if the steak was that tender or the knife being that sharp. Fortunately, it was both.
Just one note to mention. Be sure to read how to sharpen the point of the knife as this is important. If you don't follow the instructions the point will become rounded.
If you've been looking for a sharpener that sharpens like the pros then this tool will do that! Just be sure to get extra medium and fine belts to keep your knifes happy!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Knife & tool sharpener

,
June 27, 2015
By
from Nebraska
" I have used this sharpener to sharpen scissors and knifes so far. It worked as advertised. The belts are very easy to change and the directions are easy to understand. Appears to be a good product that works as it should. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, WSKTS

,
June 11, 2015
By
from Southcoast Massachusetts
" I looked at this tool a number of times and decided to purchase it when it went on sale. It works very well and is easy to use. I have tried other knife sharpeners and none put an edge on a knife as this sharpener does. It hones to a razor sharp edge. I have sharpened my PRO-S kitchen knives to slice like new, poultry sheers, scissors, Buck knives, hatchets, etc., all nice easy to get SHARP edges. It is easy to use. I even used to to clean up edges on copper tubing. Bottom line, works well and is easy to use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife Sharpener

,
May 26, 2015
By
from Texas
" Does exactly what it advertises it will do. Sharpens knives, scissors and tools razor sharp very quickly. Belts can be changed in a matter of seconds. Takes only a few quick strokes across the belt to get a razor sharp edge. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharpens almost anything.

,
May 26, 2015
By
from Wyoming
" Sharpens most anything. Will not sharpen chisels. I am very happy with it so far. I sharpened about twelve knives very easily and quickly. I did have to change the belt to the honing grit to get rid of a slight ridge left on the blades. After that, all was well and it was still very easy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sharpener

,
May 21, 2015
By
from Appleton Wi
" Very simple to use and does everything it's supposed to. The price is reasonable for the tool. The quality isn't bad for a homeowner but for daily use it's a little light "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A pro sharpener for everyone

,
May 18, 2015
By
from Walnut Creek, CA
" I am a knife collector and usually hone all my knives razor sharp (by hand). I saw the video, read the reviews and ordered/received one. Within less than a minute (per knife) every knife in the house was professionally razor sharp with a proper edge. Every home should have one; and, if you watch the accompanying DVD and follow the instructions, it is fool-proof. Note: as a follow-up to the sharpening, I very lightly steeled each knife for de-burring, but not really necessary. Great product - great price - easy & fun to use - get one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worksharp Knife Sharpner

,
May 6, 2015
By
from Lake City, Florida and Zirconia, NC
" I own all three of Work sharp's knife sharpeners and the model #WSKTS is my favorite of the three made. Using this sharpener keeps knives sharp, properly sharpened with minimal wear damage to the knife being sharpened. I take this sharpener with me when I deliver my knives to show how well it works. I do my original sharpening with my professional 2" X 72" knife grinder but use the work sharp knife sharpeners to keep a sharp edge on the knives I make, sell and give away. I highly recommend this for every day use and although I sometimes use good sharpening stones, I prefer this small belt grinder sharpener with the assorted grits of belts to maintain and sharpen dull knives. I personally believe this design is the best for sharpening and maintaining sharp kitchen and utility knives. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
April 26, 2015
By
from WI
" I used it once to sharpen an outside garden tool and it worked great. It was a lot better than using a file. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.