Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt

NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt

Item# 1573001
The NorthStar electric cold water pressure washer is great for car detailing, deck maintenance and boat cleaning with the quick-couple nozzle and soap nozzle. 25 feet of high-pressure hose gives you great range. Direct-drive pump features brass manifold and ceramic plungers. Other features include 36ft. GFCI cord, thermal protector, downstream injector and 10in. pneumatic tires. 12-gauge steel-frame cart. Drive Direct, Flow GPM 1.5, Gun Consumer front entry w/3 ft. lance, Hose 25 ft. black high-pressure, Coupler Size in. 22mm, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 7/8 x 21 1/4 x 38, Adjustable Pressure Yes, Amps 15, Chemical Injector Yes, Pump Oil Included Yes, Pump Oil Type Universal tractor transmission oil, Thermal Protector Yes, Volts 120, Pressure PSI 1,700, Pump Triplex, Motor Leeson, Nozzle Type Quick-connect 15 and soap nozzle, Orifice Size 2.0, Power Cord ft. 36 ft. w/GFCI protection, HP 1.5, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Cart Push down cart w/10-in. pneumatic tire. 1.5 HP Leeson motor operates on dedicated 120V/15A circuit Comet AXD direct drive triplex pump w/brass manifold and ceramic plungers 25-ft. black high-pressure hose w/ 22mm thread-on couplers Thermal protector, downstream injector, 15 and soap quick-couple nozzles Rear entry gun and 3-ft. lance with quick connect 36-ft. cord with GFCI protection Steel baseplate frame and 10in. pneumatic tires Push down-style cart enables smooth, balanced mobility Durable 1 3/8in. tubular steel frame Works with 5-pk. of #2.0 nozzles Item# 25449 sold separately NEMA 5-15R receptacle needs to be a dedicated circuit Optional hose reel mounting kit Item# 157823, sold separately 140F max. inlet water temp. pump comes with oil Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.471 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (34 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
31 of 34(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Review 1 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Pressure Washer

,
June 28, 2014
By Kenn45
from IL
"I have owned two Karcher units in the past. The first lasted about 5 years of occasional, light use. The second lasted about a year and probably no more than 20 hours of use. I replaced the last one with the Northern Tool unit. I have used it only a few times, but it is much more substantial, provides more consistent pressure, and is pretty much instant on/off. It is also very stable and easy to move around. My previous washers would fall over easily. Finally, it looks like this Northern Tool unit can be pretty simply repaired should anything go wrong. It was more expensive than the comparable Karcher, but much better."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Acceptable

,
February 4, 2014
By bspooner1
from Flower Mound, TX
"Takes care of all the needs around the home and car. Can be used for different jobs; such as, cleaning the car, driveway, sidewalks, fences, outside house areas, ac unit, and pool areas."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

1573001 Pressure Washer

,
October 4, 2013
By kool55
from Virginia
"Very good performance .Washed a 60 ft . 10 stall Horse barn with metal siding, inside and out.
If you buy the157823 hose reel mount and the H201 reel and the 50 ft. hose., you also need to buy 2 of the 22322 thread on couplers [22mm to 3/8 female pipe] to connect the pump to the reel and the hose to the spray wand. Lost 3 days because of this. Should have been noted or included. Also had to make a short hose to connect the pump to the reel[ should also be included ].
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

elec. 1700 psi press. washer

,
September 18, 2013
By allin
from ny
"had used many "home owner" style elec. ones that just didn't stand up. This is truly a commercial machine that
does. at first use I could tell. would recommend to anyone even occasional users because it is worth it!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pressure wasjer

,
September 17, 2013
By 11813
from Milton West Virginia
"Cost more but is 4 time as good as the 150 dollar one in quality"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally, a REAL pressure washer...

,
April 23, 2013
By TXRooster
from Austin, TX
"After going through two of the cheap-o plastic pressure washers, including trying to repair them both several times, I realized it was time to step up a real unit. I didn't want another engine to deal with, and don't need super-high pressure either. This unit is perfect for my needs. It is as quiet or quieter than those cheap models, plenty of power. All the parts are easily visible and repairable: a huge selling point for a tinkerer like me. It runs great every time, no gas, oil, plug, blah blah blah. Couldn't be happier!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
October 15, 2012
By reconman
from Detroit Lakes MN
"We purchased this pressure washer for our reconditioning department and highly recommend it. It has worked flawlessly, and the staff at Northern Tool was great to work with."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reliable and it does the job

,
October 15, 2012
By TPT22
from Largo, Fl
"I bought this unit because I needed a pressure washer that was reliable and stronger that a hose sprayer. This unit fits the bill and has always got the job done with out dealing with a gas engine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Electric Pressure Washer

,
October 9, 2012
By x1x2
from Minnesota
"I was getting sick of my gas pressure washer having carb issues from lack of use so this time I decided to go with an electric. This is a ok pressure washer, it does not have a ton of power even when I bought the 15 degree nozzle.
I just use it to clean my deck, house, and cars and for that it works fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1700 psi pressure washer

,
August 13, 2012
By tts00
from Michigan
"I was looking for a light weight unit to be used for cleaning very large radiator style oil coolers, this is perfect for me, easy to transport and move around, the pressure is perfect,, enough to get the job done but not enough to damage the $12,0000.00 coolers,, "YIKES" The best part is the power washer will run from a 30 gallon gravity flow water tank.. A total life saver for me. Great value for the price.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

still ticking

,
May 14, 2012
By ELJSEOH
from OH
"I got anoyher pressure washer because this one stopped working after 20 years....well, I figured out that the wand was pluged by a mud wasp...cleaned the line and it's still dependable today (2012).
It's a lower pressure,but you don't want high pressure on wood decking roof shingles, or greasy engines either.Simple to use and great for inside farm animal holding facilities. I'm 57 yr old and can still move it up stairs and load it by myself.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workhorse

,
May 14, 2012
By jb0328
from CONNECTICUT
"Purchased this unit for the boarding kennel I manage.
Absolute power house! Gets the job done and believe me it's a huge job! We have purchased othe pressure washers in the past and NOTHING compares to this machine!
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but not great power

,
May 10, 2012
By Shpydah
from Marin County, CA
"I went with this 1700 PSI washer because the reviews were good and the quality seemed to be better than the "plastic yellow" pressure washer I am replacing. However that washer delivered far more punch than this one does, for half the price, and yes, I know it broke and this one is supposed to last longer.
The overall design of this unit is fairly good. The wheeled cart lets you move it around on flat ground easily, but the unit is very heavy and awkward for one person to carry, and as a consequence getting it up and down stairs is tricky. Also, it's big, there is no other way to put it - the thing takes up lots of space, and doesn't really "stack" well with other tools/devices; it needs its own spot.
I also purchased a compatible turbo nozzle for this washer hoping that would increase the punch and let me do the stone washing I want to get done, but it did not increase the overall power of the stream.
If you need power, and have the ducats, go for one of the models with more PSI output."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good washer

,
April 26, 2011
By farm1
from Sturgeon, MO
"I was tired of the "cheap" yellow electric washers so i bought this one for the wife. Works very well and built good. Good washer for the $"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

,
March 21, 2011
By DayNight
from Hilliard, OH
"I bought this pressure washer to use in my business to clean ceramic tiles. Works perfectly. I do wish there was a bypass circuit to keep the pump pressures down when the trigger was turn off, but turning off the unit was not that big of a deal. Love how quite is is, and the volume and pressure were constant.
Excellent for the money! Performs as well as units costing much more!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honest Truth

,
March 21, 2011
By Smitty51
from Charleston, WV
"I am the proud owner of two of these types of Washers here's why I have two of them:
In about or around 1997 I ordered one of the incredible machines. My neighbors all had the gas powered washers and they went through two or three of those while my cranked on. Finally in about 2001 I thought my motor finally played out after thousnads of uses. I called Northern and ordered a new motor for mine. Then I realized my kids had turned up the pressure to the point it would kick the circuit breaker when I tried to turn it on. I backed it down and it was fine. I decided to keep the new motor for when it finally did wear out. Years later I decided to buy the other parts to make a second washer and put it together myself. Now in 2011 I still hve both and both are still going! I still use the original one and my second washer is just collecting dust because the first one is still fantastic! Someday I guess it really will play out but until then the other will just have to wait! No gas to fool with just lots of hard work out of these babies. You will not go wrong buying one! If I had to choose one tool in my garage to keep it would have to be my pressure washer. Smitty
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

,
November 23, 2010
By stewbintn
from New Tazewell, TN
"Easy assembly. Really cleaned up my golf cart that was badly stained from tree sap. Tried it briefly on some deck boards and seemed to clean them up well too. Hose could stand to be a little longer, can't really reach around my 4-door truck too well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

1700 PSI cold water pressure washer

,
August 30, 2010
By bob114
from Southbridge, MA
"We use the Pressure washer at least 3 times a week, for a total of 15 - 20 hours per week, to clean the conveyors in our facility. These washers are dependable, and long lasting. We will run these units for 3 - 5 years before we have any problems with them and when we finally have an issue, it is usually the unloader or the ceramic plungers or o-rings in the pump that have worn out and need replacing. We will spend about 30 - 45 minutes rebuilding the pump and replacing the unloader and we are back in business. We have had some of these units that have lasted us 10 years at 15 - 20 hours per week or 780 - 1040 hours per year. I would highly recommend these units to others.
One of the draw backs is the ground fault which is on the power cord. These ground faults are weak and will trip many times while in use. Also, the motors should be made water proof so water on the motor will not affect the ground fault, it is a pressure washer.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

,
June 2, 2010
By DBRY8
from East Texas
"Great quality and very easy to use. I have been using this pressure washer twice a week for several hours at a time, and it works great every time. Came with 2 nozzle, plenty of hose, and long extension cord...making set up very qiuck."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt

,
May 24, 2010
By kbConsumer
from Michigan
"I purchased Item# 1573021 NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer — 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt for work and Item# 1573001 NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer — 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt for home use about 3 months ago.
The 1573021 is all I expected and more. It gets used daily for several hours but usually not more than 5 to 10 minutes at a time so you will have to turn the motor on and off as the pump will overheat if it runs without use for more than around 5 minutes. This may be a problem if you have employees. I changed the oil in the pump at around 100 hours and it looked okay; no noticeable metal in the oil. The only thing I would like to see on the unit that it did not include is a pressure shutoff for the motor so one would not have to flip the switch when using. Flipping the switch is however much easier than starting the gas powered washer with the equivalent pump.
The 1573001 is somewhat disappointing in power and its ability to remain primed and running at intended pressure and volume. Even when it is running as (I assume) it was designed to run the performance is not much better than the smaller “all in one” washers I have had in the past. I could never get more than two seasons out of that type of washer so if this machine lasts it will be good enough for what I bought it for, which is washing vehicles and outdoor equipment. It came without the handle but the service top notch and I had the handle in less than a week (no decals. were on the handle however so it this happens to you be sure to ask for them as well.)
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.