Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"

"NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"

Item# 1573001
"The NorthStar electric cold water pressure washer is great for car detailing, deck maintenance and boat cleaning with the quick-couple nozzle and soap nozzle. 25 feet of high-pressure hose gives you great range. Direct-drive pump features brass manifold and ceramic plungers. Other features include 36ft. GFCI cord, thermal protector, downstream injector and 10in. pneumatic tires. 12-gauge steel-frame cart. Drive Direct, Flow GPM 1.5, Gun Consumer front entry w/3 ft. lance, Hose 25 ft. black high-pressure, Coupler Size in. 22mm, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 7/8 x 21 1/4 x 38, Adjustable Pressure Yes, Amps 15, Chemical Injector Yes, Pump Oil Included Yes, Pump Oil Type Universal tractor transmission oil, Thermal Protector Yes, Volts 120, Pressure PSI 1,700, Pump Triplex, Motor Leeson, Nozzle Type Quick-connect 15 and soap nozzle, Orifice Size 2.0, Power Cord ft. 36 ft. w/GFCI protection, HP 1.5, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Cart Push down cart w/10-in. pneumatic tire. 1.5 HP Leeson motor operates on dedicated 120V/15A circuit Comet AXD direct drive triplex pump w/brass manifold and ceramic plungers 25-ft. black high-pressure hose w/ 22mm thread-on couplers Thermal protector, downstream injector, 15 and soap quick-couple nozzles Rear entry gun and 3-ft. lance with quick connect 36-ft. cord with GFCI protection Steel baseplate frame and 10in. pneumatic tires Push down-style cart enables smooth, balanced mobility Durable 1 3/8in. tubular steel frame Works with 5-pk. of #2.0 nozzles Item# 25449 sold separately NEMA 5-15R receptacle needs to be a dedicated circuit Optional hose reel mounting kit Item# 157823, sold separately 140F max. inlet water temp. pump comes with oil"
Average Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (36 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
33 of 36(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Review 21 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

,
June 2, 2010
By DBRY8
from East Texas
"Great quality and very easy to use. I have been using this pressure washer twice a week for several hours at a time, and it works great every time. Came with 2 nozzle, plenty of hose, and long extension cord...making set up very qiuck."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt

,
May 24, 2010
By kbConsumer
from Michigan
"I purchased Item# 1573021 NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer — 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt for work and Item# 1573001 NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer — 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt for home use about 3 months ago.
The 1573021 is all I expected and more. It gets used daily for several hours but usually not more than 5 to 10 minutes at a time so you will have to turn the motor on and off as the pump will overheat if it runs without use for more than around 5 minutes. This may be a problem if you have employees. I changed the oil in the pump at around 100 hours and it looked okay; no noticeable metal in the oil. The only thing I would like to see on the unit that it did not include is a pressure shutoff for the motor so one would not have to flip the switch when using. Flipping the switch is however much easier than starting the gas powered washer with the equivalent pump.
The 1573001 is somewhat disappointing in power and its ability to remain primed and running at intended pressure and volume. Even when it is running as (I assume) it was designed to run the performance is not much better than the smaller “all in one” washers I have had in the past. I could never get more than two seasons out of that type of washer so if this machine lasts it will be good enough for what I bought it for, which is washing vehicles and outdoor equipment. It came without the handle but the service top notch and I had the handle in less than a week (no decals. were on the handle however so it this happens to you be sure to ask for them as well.)
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this machine!

,
February 23, 2010
By Hangardoc211
from California Central Coast
"Bought this unit to help me get ready to paint our home in a coastal location. It performed every task as promised and I discovered many more uses just having it in my garage. The quality is better than I expected and it has little or no rust on the unit after being exposed to our marine locality! The electric motor is powerful and quiet, so it doesn't bother our neighbors with noise, nor create gasoline exhaust fumes that would bother me.
Typical uses for me: blow off outside peeling paint of wood siding and trim, wash my truck, my airplane, clean auto engines, and even my hangar floor. It's very handy to have around. I love my awesome washer!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Presure Washer

,
March 25, 2009
By Dukedog
from Indiana
"Great produce for the price! Great entry level preasure washer. Off brand pump what what can you expect for the price, works just as well. Very suprised on how quickly it went together, few nuts and bolts and its ready to work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1573001 pressure power washer

,
January 6, 2009
By JohnPineapple
from Sebastian, Fl
"Purchased above washer 12/28/08. Have used it a total of 16 hours over 3 days. It does the job of cleaning gutters, fascia, stucco, driveway after 5 years of grime buildup in east central Florida near the coast. I am a snowbird, and will only use the washer in the fall and late spring each year. Was looking for a very good electric unit. Finally found this unit afer much search. This is the lowest price unit that uses a triplex pump using an electric motor. Beware, this unit draws 14.9 amps when running the sprayer, but only half that when idle and not spraying. I will be inserting a tee where the overpressure bypass is and adding a pressure gage to monitor degradation of pressure with time.
This is a nice small unit, easy to move around, quiet when operating, and no gas or carb to worry about after 6 months of storeage. Fortunately, I already had a 100 ft 12 gage extention cord which allows me to move it arround the outside of the house. Did not used the chemical siphon, and will plug that hole next. Instead, I used a 15:1 mixture of Simple Green HD Pro(purple) in my 2 gallon hand pressure sprayer, coated the surfaces, let it sit for 3 minutes, then used the power washer to clean off the surface. Comes off very clean. Did the same with mold on the driveway. Had to finish the whole driveway to match the clean color. Only problem is now I can see the mud being tracked in from the street when we use the driveway.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great machine

,
November 18, 2008
By nettyboo
from Amelia,Virginia
"I have used this machine many times to clean our decks and boat and cars.It has always been reliable, and ready to work when you need it.Its not loud or dangerous to use indoors."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good pressure washer

,
November 18, 2008
By Wildfirechef
from Salt Lake City, UT
"I have a bbq business that requires a lot of messy, greasy cleanup. This pressure washer has worked flawlessly. When you don't need to peel paint off a building, but need good controlable pressure, this is the product. Would highly reccomend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

poor water volume

,
November 18, 2008
By gbl1
from Texas
"well built, need a model between this on and the 3000 psi unit. pressure is fine but unit needs more water volume"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

1700 psi Electric Power Washer

,
November 17, 2008
By kmomaha
from Nebraska
"Washer works fine for washing cars, general cleaning of concrete floors, and house walls. Also worked great for degreasing a lawn mower transaxle, and for stripping paint in conjunction with application of paint stripping chemical.
Soap solution siphon quit working after about 4 uses, but could only be used at low pressure anyway, which isn't of much help."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heck of a washer

,
November 17, 2008
By louey
from North Carolina
"I bought this unit 2 years ago to wash 4 decks and my siding. I ran it non stop except to refill the fuel tank for 12 hours. This unit performed flawlessly. I have since used it to wash my boats teak wood deck, vehicles, decks and more. I highly recommend this product to anybody who wants dependability in a washer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

OUR PRESSURE WASHER

,
November 17, 2008
By chayo
from Artesia, New Mexico
"WHEN WE PURCHASED OUR PRESSURE WASHER IT WAS ONE OF MANYFINE EQUIPMENT WE BOUGHT FOR THE CEMETERY. WE KEEP OUR EQUIPMENT CLEAN. IT MAKES IT EASIER TO SEVICE WHEN THE EQUIPMENT IS CLEAN. EVEN OUR MECHANIC COMPLIMENT US FOR THE CLEAN EQUIPMENT. WE GET GOOD SERVICE FROM WHAT WE BUY FROM NORTHEN TOOLS. WE KNOW IT IS GOOD QUALITY IF IT COMES FROM NORRTHEN TOOLS. OUR PRESSURE WASHER IS A GREAT ASSET TO OUR ORGANNIZATION."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
August 11, 2008
By Jotea
from Amarillo, Texas
"We bought this cold water washer to rince of our trucks at the end of the day. Using it reduces the clean-up time by 30 minutes and does a better job. Easy to use and powerful enough to knock the dirt free.
Sturdy cart and totaly self contained."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Pressure Washer

,
April 21, 2008
By ATVLodgeowner
from Southern West Virginia
"We run a Lodge for ATV Riders of the Hatfield-McCoy Trails in WV and our guests use the pressure washer to deep clean their Quads and Dirtbikes. It gets plenty of use and does an excellent job of removing the West Virginia Mountain Mud from their machines. Very dependable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

north star pressure washer

,
April 21, 2008
By Cods
from Crowley, Texas
"The pressure washer was very easy to handle and simple to use. It has a nce clean look with no unnecessary extra equipment to complicate things. I am very happy with the product and would recommend it for anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

jim

,
April 21, 2008
By Anonymous
from Wellsboro, PA
"This product won't pick up chemical and never has. I must say that northstar did give it a try, but couldn't fix the problem and wouldn't replace the product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Executive Director

,
April 16, 2008
By TAPS
from Illinois
"We operate a busy animal shelter and this product not only cleans well, but is easy to use. Being electric, it is safe to use inside and outside and is durable for everyday usage."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-36 of 36