Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt

NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt

Item# 1573011
The NorthStar electric cold water pressure washer is ideal for cleaning siding, deck maintenance and general-purpose cleaning with the quick-couple nozzle and soap nozzle. 25 feet of high-pressure hose gives you great range. Pump features brass manifold and ceramic plungers. Rear hose-entry spray gun with split lance keeps the hose out of the way for easy handling. Flow GPM 1.5, Motor Leeson, Power Cord ft. 36 ft. w/GFCI protection, Thermal Protector Yes, Volts 120, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 7/8 x 21 1/4 x 38, Drive Direct, Nozzle Type Quick-connect 15 and soap nozzle, Pump Oil Included Yes, Cart Push down cart w/10-in. pneumatic tire, HP 2.0, Pressure PSI 2,000, Amps 20, Orifice Size 2.0, Pump Oil Type SAE30 nondetergent oil, Gun Consumer rear entry w/3 ft. lance, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Chemical Injector Yes, Hose 25 ft. gray high-pressure, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Adjustable Pressure Yes, Pump CAT 2DX. 2 HP motor operates on dedicated 120V/20A circuit Direct drive Cat 2DX pump w/brass manifold and ceramic plungers 25-ft. non-marking gray high-pressure hose w/ 3/8in. quick couplers Thermal protector, downstream injector, 15 and soap quick-couple nozzles Rear entry gun and 3-ft. lance with quick connect 36-ft. cord with GFCI protection Steel baseplate frame and 10in. pneumatic tires Push down-style cart enables smooth, balanced mobility Durable 1 3/8in. tubular steel frame Works with 5-pk. of #2.0 nozzles Item# 25449 sold separately Optional hose reel mounting kit Item# 157823, sold separately 140F max. inlet water temp. pump comes filled with oil NEMA 5-20R receptacle needs to be a dedicated circuit Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (31 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
29 of 31(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Review 1 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pressure washer for the money

,
April 1, 2014
By busgarage
from Logan OH
"Good pressure washer for the money. Just wish the wand was a little more heavy duty other than that its held up so far and this is with 35+ people using it day in day out"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mostly good...

,
February 7, 2014
By myself7
from Nebraska
"Works well for removing mud from tractors and equipment.
The tires are paper thin and did not survive very light use, so plan on replacing them.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
February 5, 2014
By 1BigDaddy
from Cleveland, Tn
"I picked up this unit to help out with auto detailing and was surprised at how well this unit cleaned. Worked perfect out of the box, I did add a hose reel to the front which I picked up at the store as well. Great buy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great considering...

,
February 4, 2014
By sockemdog
from Liberty, SC
"it's an electric pressure washer. Give it a 20amp receptacle and it'll do a really nice job. Only gripe is that you can't move as fast cleaning as with a gas model. The flow rate is not as high as a gas model. Cleaning your patio or walkway, you'll need a turbo nozzle!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blow the paint off,,,,

,
August 13, 2012
By Stan7
from Rose, OK
"Took the paint right off the promotional licsense plate on my truck. Very pleased. Will watch how close I get to the object that I am cleaning, but rate this top notch equipment. Pleased with the extra hose and hose reel that I added to this purchase, along with the complete nozzel set. Would highly recommend this to a friend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good power yet low h2o consumption

,
August 13, 2012
By ATDAutoSpa
from Edwards, CO
"We got this unit for our shop. Originally we bought the unit one step down (1700PSI/1.5GPM) but it just wasn't strong enough to blast grime, bugs, etc. from vehicles. This unit is perfect. The hot water upgrade can be added later. Our O-Ring on the lance went bad the first month but Northern sent us a new wand! This is the limit of electric pressure washers and it does a great job for us!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As Advertised!!!

,
May 19, 2012
By Stanlee
from Rose, Oklahoma
"Does a good job on the equipment and vehicals I use it on. Has about the same general feel of pressure while using it as the average commercial car wash. Well built, good, solid machine. I like it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent working Pressure Washer

,
May 14, 2012
By BPSooner
from Purcell, OK
"Bought this pressure washer last fall. I was looking at gas powered units but this unit was on sale. I was somewhat hesitant to get an electric pressure washer but the price was too go. I have to say it really does a good job. If you are looking for a unit to clean siding, driveway, or light to medium jobs then this unit will work. If you are needing a heavy duty unit then I would go with a gas powered unit. I plan on purchasing a turbo nozzel for cleaning my tractor and other farm equipment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Well Manufactured Pressure Washer

,
September 4, 2011
By Altechie
from Miami. Fl
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I decided to buy the Northstar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer 2000 after evaluating several alternatives, and finding that this Pressure Washer is outstanding in its category.
PROS
Quality Components. The Cat 2DX15ES pump included comes equipped with unloader, pressure relief valve and garden hose inlet with filter, and
The 2 HP Leeson electric Motor has a special design and is able to start over a 20 Amps Electric circuit without any noticeable surge in current (19.4 Amps vs 17.2 Amps Operation) .
The 36 FT cable comes with included GFCI (Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter Protection).
Hose: 25 Ft non Marking (Short for most applications, however this Pressure Washer is easy to move around).
The Motor-Pump combination offers a smooth operation with lower noise when compared to Pressure Washers operating on Gas Motors. The big advantage here is that this Pressure Washer when measured under operating conditions showed 80 dB vs close to 100dB for my other 2.5 Gallon Pressure washer equipped with a Honda Motor.
Just consider that 20db difference means that the sound produced by the Gas Pressure Washer is 100 time more intense.
CONS
Accesories.
Nozzles.
Only includes a 15° Nozzle and Chemical Nose. Here you should consider completing the kit with a 0°, 25°, 40°. Note that this Nozzles have to be 2.0 to work correctly on the machine.
Turbo Nozzle
Unfortunately Northen Tools does not offer a Turbo Nozzle with a 2.0 Orifice. I tried the Northstar Pressure Washer Turbo Nozzle but found that it comes with a #3.0 Size Nozzle that simply does not work on this machine (Pressure will be only around 800 PSI).
GPM
This pressure washer is rated at 1.5 GPM what limits it’s productivity but on the other hand you will have a lot of control for jobs around your home, and the convenience of Electric operation.
OTHER COMMENTS
I installed a pressure meter in the inlet to monitor that I am not exceeding the 60 PSI max. input pressure for the pump and a 3000 PSI meter on the output to verify the effective amount of pressure I am getting from the machine. It is showing only 1700 PSI (See picture included) however at this point I need to verify if the Voltage supplied is the reason for this lower than expected result.
CONCLUSION
This is a well Manufactured (in the USA) product that is a great alternative if you are looking for a long lasting reliable Water Pressure and is willing to pay the difference vs the "Plastic" low cost electric Pressure washers available in the market, but if you are reading this review most probably you care about product quality, and you will enjoy this product for many years.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pressure washer

,
March 22, 2011
By GEBB
from barnesed49@yahoo.com
"The washer is simple to use and very well made we have one at where I work that they wash buses with. That is the reason i purchased the same one the one at the shop is at least 10 years old and is used often. I would tell anyone that is looking for a good washer it is this one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine

,
March 21, 2011
By HomeWinemaker
from Arroyo Grande, CA
"I got this to clean up at my home winery. It replaces 2 worn out Karcher units that only lasted a few months before problems set in. The Northern unit is quieter, more convenient and FAR more powerful. After 2 years it is still running strong and no problems. Cleans barrels, tanks, crushers and presses squeaky clean. Very happy with it. Highly recommended."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Electric Pressure Washer 2000 PSI

,
March 16, 2011
By Howard654
"This unit is well constructed. The push cart with the large inflatable wheels makes it very easy to move around. The 2HP motor provides plenty of spraying power. So far I have only used it to clean my cars and SUV’s and it does a great job. I had a GFI receptacle installed with a 20A circuit. I was a little hesitant to spend this much but decided I wanted a heavy duty machine that would last for years. The hose that came with the machine was not long enough to reach around a vehicle so I purchased a 50FT hose. I like the lower noise level compared to a gas unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for indoor use

,
March 14, 2011
By johanj
from Denver, CO
"Our pool deck was getting pretty filthy and takes quite a while to scrub down with deck brushes. We got this washer to help speed up the process. It was simple to put together, and came oiled up and ready to go. It got all the deep down grime out that the brushes were leaving behind. Only thing I was surprised on was the plug type. I was not aware that it was a Heavy Duty type plug and needed the special outlet. Once we had a few switched out it worked perfect!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT SO GREAT

,
March 14, 2011
By PG9163
from OH
"WORKED FOR ABOUT A 3 WEEKS. ELECTRIC MOTOR IS BAD.
UNIT DRAWS THE LIGHTS DOWN IN THE SHOP WHEN RUNNING AND NO PRESSURE
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-11points
2out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 20

,
November 23, 2010
By Dairy
from KS
"The best I ever have it, powerfull compare with the price. Handy and friendly user. Easy to maintain and clean up. Good looking power washer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

lots of power

,
November 16, 2010
By niqqo35
"This machine has plenty of power and running off a 120v circuit I was pleasantly surprised."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Electric Pressure Washer

,
June 3, 2010
By MikeMcC99
from North Webster, IN
"The unit is a well constructed unit that is proving very durable. The push cart with the large wheels makes it very easy to move around. I use it mostly for cleaning tasks at my lake cottage. It is proving great for the frequent cleaning of the pier, patio and driveway. I've attached an extension hose of 100 ft so I can reach out to the end of the pier without taking the washer along. It stays nicely tethered to the electrical outlet and water supply.The 2HP motor provides plenty of spraying power lifting off all the build-up, goose droppings, and other muck stuck in the textured surface of the pier. Does a great job on the seawall and patio without leaving any streaks or damages to the stamped concrete surface. I'm looking into getting a broader selection of nozzles and perhaps a hose reel to manage my 100+ ft of hose. I had GFI receptacles installed with 20A circuits to provide the outside electrical power. I get hooked up to the hose, plugged in and working in just a few minutes. No messing with fuel or a finicky engine. The reliability and convenience of the electric drive is great. I'm appreciative of the lower noise level too vs the gas units I've rented in the past."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little Unit

,
June 1, 2010
By MidwestYankee
from Southern Illinois
"Bought 3, all have been in service for 3 plus years w/o any issue above and beyond regular maint. and some common sense....
well worth it
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable and quiet

,
February 23, 2010
By Terry5
from New Orleans, La (area)
"Own two of these pressure washers and one 1700psi . Absolutely love them. I have one at home, one at work, and one at my hunting camp (1700psi one). These pressure washers are tough and dependable. I own so many because the first one I owned was under salt water for two weeks after Hurricane Katrina. When I finally returned to work to access the damages after the storm, all of my tools, including this p.washer were destroyed, so I thought. We had no city power for two months. So, me and my brother/partner, cleaned up our landscaping warehouse with a little gas powered rental. That lasted about half a day. We brought in generaters next, rigged the ware house wiring, and I proceded to clean up the Northstar p.washer and change/flush the fluids and rewire the internal 110V box since all the connecting points were very corroded. I pluged it in and it hasn't stopped working since then. We cleaned up an entire 125ft long /75ft wide warehouse, trucks, mowers, weed eaters, chainsaws, etc. with that pressure washer and it has never let me down. I owe the ability to save (about 50%) the remaining tools that we had underwater to this unit. You see, the stuff that flowed/blew in wasn't just seawater, but oil, grease, dirt, feces, etc. and it stuck oneverything. Gasoline was next to impossible to get and we had just enough to drive in and out and run the generator. This electric p. washer was a business saver! Thats why I own two more."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2000 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
February 18, 2010
By ahunter2
from IL
"Works great. Was hesitant to spend this much at first, but has been well worth it so far. Works terrific. Would buy again. Use it almost daily in car detail business for almost a year. Only complaints: hose not quite long enough to reach around a vehicle, pump got a bit noisy after couple months, and wand drips if you do not shut off water supply."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.