Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt

NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt

Item# 1573021
The NorthStar electric cold water pressure washer provides the power you need for cleaning pavement, siding, deck maintenance and general-purpose cleaning with the quick-couple nozzle and soap nozzle. Rear hose-entry spray gun with split lance keeps the hose out of the way for easy handling. 25 feet of high-pressure hose gives you great range. Direct-drive pump features brass manifold and ceramic plungers. Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 7/8 x 21 1/4 x 38, Pressure PSI 3,000, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Pump Oil Included Yes, Thermal Protector Yes, Drive Direct, Pump CAT 4DNX, Nozzle Type Quick-connect 25 and soap nozzle, Chemical Injector Yes, Power Cord ft. 36 ft. w/GFCI protection, Motor Leeson, HP 5, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Gun Consumer rear entry w/3 ft. lance, Pump Oil Type SAE30 nondetergent oil, Hose 25 ft. gray high-pressure, Amps 30, Adjustable Pressure Yes, Orifice Size 3.0, Flow GPM 2.5, Volts 230, Cart Push down cart w/10-in. pneumatic tire. 5 HP Leeson motor operates on dedicated 230V/30A circuit Direct drive Cat 4DNX pump w/brass manifold and ceramic plungers Forged brass manifold gives improved strength over cheaper aluminum Easy Start stops pressure build-up during start-up Adjustable pressure for job versatility Sight glass lets you quickly check pump oil 25-ft. gray high-pressure hose w/ 3/8in. quick couplers Thermal protector, downstream injector, 25 and soap quick-couple nozzles Rear entry gun and 3-ft. lance with quick connect 36-ft. cord with GFCI protection Steel baseplate frame and 10in. pneumatic tires Push down-style cart enables smooth, balanced mobility Durable 1 3/8in. tubular steel frame 140F max. inlet water temp. pump comes filled with oil Optional hose reel mounting kit Item# 157823, sold separately NEMA 6-30R receptacle needs to be a dedicated circuit Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (30 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 of 30(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Review 1 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pressure washer

,
February 4, 2014
By frlocksmith1
from Laurinburg, North Carolina
"this pressure works well. water pressure use is minimal and is easy to use. I would recommend this washer to anyone needing one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable!

,
February 4, 2014
By FWMC
from Oregon
"We've installed these pressure washers on new contruction vessels for several years without a single failure. Great product!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hang on TIght

,
September 17, 2013
By Orwell
from New Jersey
"This units really kicks out the power which can get tiring if you are doing a big job. I use the unit to clean decks and it does an extremely nice job and has cut the job time considerably."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful, convenient - a great product

,
April 23, 2013
By Hanks
from Hendersonville,NC
"I have "gone through" 2 electric pressure washers in recent years - the home versions. When I decided to invest for the 3rd time, I decided a professional model was in order and I have no regrets. I had added a 230 volt circuit in my garage some time ago right at the doorway and placed the new pressure washer there. To add to the convenience, I ordered a pressure washer reel and an extra 100 feet of pressure washer hose. To use the unit, all I need to do is to turn on the water supply with a ball valve that I have installed to a 3/4 " line (flow is important), flip the switch on the pressure washer and reel out the hose I need - it;s simple and quick and the unit is amazingly powerful and effective - does a great job. I have used the unit for a year now with no problems - no motor to maintain and considerably quieter than a gasoline model. Absolutely no regrets with this purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should have bought this 15 yrs ago

,
April 6, 2013
By JohnFromHouston
from Houston
"This PW is fantastic. I used to have an 11hp Northstar gas powered PW (Honda, CAT pump) that I'd always fail to winterize and then have to get serviced after which it would run just fine.
But this one is so convenient. Roll it out, plug it in, flip the switch and violá!
At 25 amps @ 220VAC, it's roughly equivalent to a 7hp gas model, and with that in mind, it works perfectly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

220 Volt Pressure Washer

,
October 15, 2012
By iamagt3
from Port Byron, IL
"I have been using this pressure washer around the house to wash siding, wash sidewalks and driveways, washing vehicles, and even to clean dirty greasy engines. It works great. I have had no problems at all. When I need it I can count on it to operate properly and do a great job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3000 psi 2.5 gpi Electric Pressure Washer

,
August 20, 2012
By est0ehp
from Pembroke Pines,Florida
"This washer was easy to put together and worked
flawlessly. I installed quick connects on garden hose for fast connect and disconnection. The addition of rotary nozzle was also added for removal of difficult sidewalk cleaning. So far, I'm very satisfied with this electric pressure washer and is strong enough for all cleaning jobs around the house exterior. Great washer for the price!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
May 7, 2012
By tgasp
from Raleigh, North Carolina
"very powerful unit, worth every penny. puts smaller electric units to shame. the motor starts and runs continuously which is expected since the motor is 5-hp and cycling would probably mean shorter motor life. good array of accessories available including hose reel. good frame & wheel design too. high handle can hold coiled elecric cord, hose wand & nozzles."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
January 18, 2012
By NAH87
from NJ
"I've had this product for many years and it still works great. It's great for cleaning houses and decks. This was well worth the money I spent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
January 16, 2012
By Yogetto
from Mesquite Texas
"We purchased one of these a few months ago and couldnt have selected a better pressure washer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderfull Machine

,
March 21, 2011
By peanut2
"I own a cleaning business and this machine allows me to move easily throughout the inside of buildings using there hot water. I would recommend this machine for any industrial cleaning inside or out and know the machine will run without fail."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pressure washer

,
February 7, 2011
By DAIRYFARMER1
"If tou want a pressure washer with balls this is the one,the only downfall a little loud but can understand with the power it has"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer

,
November 16, 2010
By EdS3
from Newark, NJ
"Great machine. We use it in a commercial bakery and it works great on everything from floors to racks. Its 3000 PSI is strong enough to remove almost anything."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Power!

,
November 16, 2010
By Odin
from Florida
"I bought this unit to replace the last of a series of *use it two years and throw it away* cheap pressure washers. Wow, what a difference - jobs get done in much less time. It's not as quiet as I had hoped, but most of the noise is from the water stream - no way to silence that. Overall a great product that I expect to use for many years. And if it does ever break, it can actually be fixed with easily available parts. Wish I had bought this first instead of last."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Pressure Washer 3000 PSI

,
June 4, 2010
By RJfrommontrose
from Montrose Pa
"Received the item about a week after I ordered it, it came with no damage,
all parts were there, and oil in the pump. This is the first electric pressure washer I own, all ways had gas engines, and I will never go back. this works GREAT has plenty of power. less hasle than a gas one I think, just wish the hose was about 10 ft longer. had it about 2 months and I love it,
like I said I will never go back to gas
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pressure washer

,
June 1, 2010
By ftrtc
from Blaine,Mn
"great deal and performance, use ours everyday no problems. in use over a year"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
May 26, 2010
By Nate150
from Chandler, OK
"I bought this washer to debark logs for my log furniture. It works very well. Its very quiet and never runs out of gas. I love this machine, and will buy another one soon."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer — 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt

,
May 24, 2010
By kbConsumer
from Michigan
"I purchased Item# 1573021 NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer — 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt for work and Item# 1573001 NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer — 1700 PSI, 1.5 GPM, 120 Volt for home use about 3 months ago.
The 1573021 is all I expected and more. It gets used daily for several hours but usually not more than 5 to 10 minutes at a time so you will have to turn the motor on and off as the pump will overheat if it runs without use for more than around 5 minutes. This may be a problem if you have employees. I changed the oil in the pump at around 100 hours and it looked okay; no noticeable metal in the oil. The only thing I would like to see on the unit that it did not include is a pressure shutoff for the motor so one would not have to flip the switch when using. Flipping the switch is however much easier than starting the gas powered washer with the equivalent pump.
The 1573001 is somewhat disappointing in power and its ability to remain primed and running at intended pressure and volume. Even when it is running as (I assume) it was designed to run the performance is not much better than the smaller “all in one” washers I have had in the past. I could never get more than two seasons out of that type of washer so if this machine lasts it will be good enough for what I bought it for, which is washing vehicles and outdoor equipment. It came without the handle but the service top notch and I had the handle in less than a week (no decals. were on the handle however so it this happens to you be sure to ask for them as well.)
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt

,
February 22, 2010
By pmcarr
from Pueblo,Co.
"This product was shipped right away. Recieved in great condition. Easy assembly. This pressure washer and company I give a great 5 star rating. Well worth the money spent."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar Electric Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure washer

,
November 2, 2009
By doug7978
from Miami
"Worked very well. Easy to use and did the job. Being electric made it easy to use. Very well put together."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.