Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt

NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt

Item# 157308
NorthStar hot water pressure washers are equipped with premium features that separate us from the rest of the pack. These machines are designed to be safe, reliable and easy to service. Clean with a maximum of 250F water and really get the job done right CAT 3DX pump with brass manifold and ceramic plungers. Coil assembly is fully encased in a custom-molded ceramic fiber refractory combustion chamber with low thermal conductivity and resistance to thermal shock. Parker Hannifin Raycor fuel filter and water separator prevents burner ignition problems. Rear hose-entry spray gun with split lance keeps the hose out of the way for easy handling. 50ft. nonmarking hose, industrial spray gun with nozzles for different cleaning needs, diesel burner, and more. Flow GPM 2.5, Fuel Type Diesel, kerosene, #1/#2 fuel oil, Gun Industrial rear entry w/ 3 ft. lance, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Fuel Capacity gal. 8 1/4, Pump Oil Included Yes, Motor Leeson, Nozzle Type Quick-connect 0, 15, 25, 40, plus steam, soap nozzles, Amps 30, Steam Capable Yes, Adjustable Pressure Yes, Pump Oil Type SAE30 nondetergent oil, HP 5, Volts 230, Power Cord ft. 36 ft. w/GFCI protection, Dimensions L x W x H in. 38 x 26 x 43, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Max. Output Water Temp F 250, Thermal Protector Yes, Hose 50 ft. gray high-pressure, Drive Direct, Low Oil Shutdown No, Burner Type Schedule 80 heating coil, Cart 10-ga. steel frame w/12 in. pneumatic tires, Orifice Size 3.0, Chemical Injector Yes, Pressure PSI 2,750, Pump CAT 3DX. Contact with water or oil will not damage insulation upon drying the insulation regains its original shape Uses 1/2in. schedule 80 extra-heavy pipe Forged brass manifold gives improved strength over cheaper aluminum Adjustable pressure for job versatility Sight glass lets you quickly check pump oil Adjustable thermostat Diagnostic indicator lights signal proper operation of key components 22mm quick connection makes it easy to use multiple attachments Requires dedicated NEMA 6-30P receptacle Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
12 of 14(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Review 1 for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hot water washer

,
April 23, 2013
By redwolf326
from Arkansas
"This is one of several products .I have bought from Northern over the past 20 plus years.. Every one has been above my expectations. If there were anything wrong with the product or shipping Northern always corrected the problem. This steam cleaner did a very good job for me. I was hired to clean 365 stores. Mainly to clean the gum from their side walks. I was surprised how well my washer worked. And with the dual capacity to wash was wonderful. I had a problem with a temp gage, within a couple of days no questions asked , was sent a new part."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

northstar electric wet steam & hot water pressure

,
May 8, 2012
By wheelsarollin
from Brandon, Wi.
"Had my pressure washer for 1 month. Works great for degreesing my semi, Cleans oil spots off thedriveway. My Wife is cleaning every thing in sight. Easy to use even for a woman. Could use a better way to hang the pressure hose for storage"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor performance

,
February 28, 2012
By fixitmann
from Union Springs, ny
"I was very disappointed with this washer. It did not perform at all as described. cheap construction, poor craftsmanship and not worth the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-18points
4out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

North star electric wet steam& hot water pressure

,
January 17, 2012
By squintz
from Nashville Tn.
"we are a floorcovering company, and have used it on many different types of applications, The washer has been in service for approx. 3 years,.with very few problems ,though the wheels could have a different type bearings . First set fell apart but were replaced with a new set of wheels.we have also purchased several different accessories for the washer and a large generator to power it ,all from Northern Tool,with all being excellent products"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot water pressure washer

,
June 13, 2011
By KirbyS
from S. E. Missouri
"I received washer packaged very well. Works flawlessly. Great quality."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

,
January 16, 2011
By bobradar
from western massachusetts
"I bought one of these washers for the company I work for to see how good it was. I used it at work for about a year, then bought one from myself, for home use. I am just replacing the first broken part, a brass fitting that cracked.
I purchased my unit in August of 2003, and the one I have at work is still going with no problems.
Best machine for the dollar spent.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

,
November 11, 2010
By pieceojunk
"This is by far the worse pressure washer I've ever dealt with and have had washer for at least 25 years. Whoever made a pressure washer that does not put soap under high pressure has never used a pressure washer. Cheap is the optimum word for this washer! It is junk."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Daily use 7 years and still going

,
September 13, 2010
By Anonymous
from Atlanta Georgia
"I am an engine builder with over 40 years of experience. Clean, clean and cleaner is required to assure a good remanufactured engine. Just a smallest amount of dirt can destroy an engine built from the finest parts by the best builder. That was why I chose the NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt. Am I ever glad I did. It is used all day five days a week and it is now seven years old and performs like the day we put into service. It is easy to operate and dose an excellent job of cleaning grease parts. It has been a true value for the capital spent and man hours saved."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Steam Pressure Washer Item# 157308

,
February 19, 2010
By falcon90
from Pennsylvania, south central
"I purchased this item fall 2009 and have used it for countless hours cleaning engine compartments, undercarriages of trucks, large tractors and other industrial euipment. This is what was needed to make a dirty job easier. If there is such a word! The dirt and grease peals off with little effort. I purchased the spray flex, pressure washer gun attachment, Item# 227782. Prebend it and now I'm able to get the hard to reach places beneath the tractor or truck. " What a GREAT machine this is". Previously, I used a cold water high pressure washer and it took much longer plus the solvents and all the special degreasers added expense to the job. What a time and labor saver this has been. I do believe this item will be around for generations to come... Thanks, Northern Tool & Equipment, for a quality tool at a reasonable price......ALSO, you have the best assortment of accessories for pressure washers."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine !

,
October 19, 2009
By Kluttermeister
from Orlando, FL
"Excellent machine, just remember that if you're not using the soap or cleanser feature, cap the inlet to the pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure washer

,
July 20, 2009
By RDL1
from Michigan
"I've owned this pressure washer model for over two (2) years now. I've used it to clean engines with years of grease and oil, tractors, farm equipment, RVs, the house etc. I even purchased an extra hose with quick disconnects which allowed a reach of 150 feet from the unit.
It's worked wonderfully even without soap. The warm or HOT water temperature control is the key for cutting just about anything that needs to be cleaned. I even wash the bottom of my 72" lawn mowing deck each Fall so it can be painted/touched up during the Winter months. The pressure washer has no problem removing the hardened dry grass. Not only is pressure the key but volume of water is the other critical factor, which this unit has both. I looked at several of the brand names and also went through two (2) of the cheap 120 volt cold water pressure washers and ended up purchasing the Northern Tool pressure washer and have been MORE than pleased. Be sure to change the pump gear box oil on a frequent basis, as I waited until the recommended time and it looked pretty dirty, which I flushed a couple of times.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot water/steam washer

,
March 23, 2009
By speedog
from Iowa
"Does an excellent job on mud,oil, caked on grease. Not quite full steam, but is great on engine blocks and heads so they won't rust like cold water washers. Had it about a year with no problems. Burner runs clean. Very little smoke or odor. I use #2 diesel in summer and #1 in winter. Used in agriculture and racing business."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
October 17, 2007
By LAG01
"RECEIVED PRODUCT IN GREAT CONDITION AND HAS MORE THAN ENOUGH POWER FOR WASHING OUR EQUIPMENT!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Electric Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer - 2750 PSI, 2.5 GPM, 230 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
March 14, 2007
By panther
from new york
"well made unit. built to last. but if you do buy you will need a tractor with a bucket on it . well i guess if you had about 6 people. but the new holland backhoe sure came in handy when they brought it here. i didnt just buy it i have had it about a year and used it about 12 -15 times the soaper just stoped working yesterday that seems to be the only flaw.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.