Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM

FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM

Item# 157310
NorthStar Hot Water/Steam pressure washer sprays hot water and steam up to 250F @ 4 GPM and 3000 PSI. Coil assembly is fully encased in a custom-molded ceramic fiber refractory combustion chamber with low thermal conductivity and resistance to thermal shock. Rear hose-entry spray gun with split lance keeps the hose out of the way for easy handling. Includes a long-lasting, non-marking steel-braided rubber hose. Orifice Size 4.5, Hose 50 ft. gray high-pressure, HP 11.7, Pump Oil Included Yes, Steam Capable Yes, Gross Torque 18.5, Fuel Capacity gal. 8.75, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Max. Output Water Temp F 250, Nozzle Type Quick-connect 0, 15, 25, 40, plus steam, soap nozzles, Engine Oil Type SAE30 motor oil, Flow GPM 4.0, Dimensions L x W x H in. 64 x 33 x 42 1/2, Drive Direct, Fuel Type Gasoline, Chemical Injector Yes, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Battery Included No, Battery Required Yes, Engine Honda, Engine Displacement cc 390, Fuel Capacity for Burner gal. 8.75, Adjustable Pressure Yes, Burner Type 12V diesel w/schedule 80 heating coil, Cart 10-ga. steel frame w/1 1/4 in. tubing and 14 in. pneumatic tires, Thermal Protector Yes, Pressure PSI 3,000, Pump CAT 66DX, Pump Oil Type SAE30 nondetergent oil, Fuel Type Burner Diesel, kerosene, #1/#2 fuel oil, Gun Industrial rear entry w/ 3 ft. lance. Contact with water or oil will not damage insulation upon drying the insulation regains its original shape Uses 1/2' schedule 80 extra-heavy pipe Forged brass manifold gives improved strength over cheaper aluminum Easy Start stops pressure build-up during start-up Adjustable pressure for job versatility Sight glass lets you quickly check pump oil Diagnostic lights indicate proper operation Temperature control 22mm quick connection makes it easy to use multiple attachments Extended run fuel tanks Antivibration rubber V-mounts Flow switch operated Two 8 3/4-gallon gas tanks red for gasoline, yellow for diesel, fuel oil and kerosene 12V DC burner burns diesel, fuel oil and kerosene flow switch operated Honda GX390 engine with electric start runs on gasoline Includes inlet filter Requires automotive battery not included Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (42 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 of 42(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Review 21 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best hot water pressure money can buy.

,
June 13, 2011
By harristools
"Had a cold water pressure washer .Moved up to a hot water and it works great. It cuts grease off cement with ease. Wish i had bought one years ago . This machine runs great and the electric start is great ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure washer

,
June 13, 2011
By Druski
from Buffalo, mn
"I have this one...It is better to buy a hot water pressure washer with higher GPM. The pressures are not as important as the GPM. Hot water does the best to clean."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wrangler14

,
June 8, 2011
By wrangler14
from nottingham nh
"great,great,great the best unit out there for the money! love the unit and will buy more."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent hot water pressure washer

,
March 22, 2011
By Mike55
from Langlois, Oregon
"This unit will heat water quickly (recommend using Kerosene instead of diesel--it burns cleaner) and puts out lots of pressure. Be careful or you can unintentionally remove paint, or bore a hole in your wood siding!! This unit is very powerful, is reliable, and does the job intended. I use it for equipment washing, and have been very satisfied. When starting engine, hold the gun trigger open--less load on engine, makes it easy to start. MAKE SURE there is no air in system--pump must pump water, not air or damage can result. Overall, very happy with the purchase. Excellent product, excellent instruction manual. Unit easy to use and well designed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

northstar wet steam & hot water pressure washer

,
March 21, 2011
By schulz70
from USA
"This washer is top of the line. I used mine on the farm ,it really worked great for cleaning up the machinery after harvesting the crops. It is very easy to manuver(my wife was able to push it with ease).Its great that it comes with the different nozzle heads.we've used it on everything from washing the siding on our house to washing the vehicles to machinery.It's definetly worth the drive to check it out at a northern tool near you."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The quicker cleaner upper

,
September 1, 2010
By crusader74
from Flagstaff, AZ
"The NorthStar Gas powered wet steam & hot water pressure washer has been a time saver here at our plant. The ease of mobility and the convenance of being able to use it in all areas of the plant , is great. Before we had to run extention cords all over the place and we could only get water pressure or steam but not both. Now with the gas powerd unit, we can get steam and pressure. We do need to string hose or pull our water tank along with the unit but it is easer. It would be nice if it had a water holding tank mounted on a skid together. I would highly recomend this unit also because the parts were easy to get and not to expensive."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

all you need

,
August 31, 2010
By samspowerwashing
from Arlington,Texas
"I have had this unit for over 5 years. It has always been more than enough for any job."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its a Ripper!!

,
June 27, 2010
By PMS713
from Antonia, MO
"We are a volunteer group that does off-road trail repair. We have a trail dozer, 2 ASV RC30 Skidsteers, an ASV Material Hauler along with 2 UTV's and numerous ATV's. This unit cleans them all and works great. As far as pulling it around, we took a round bar and bolted it to the front and use a tow bar from a chipper/shredder and works great. Works very well, and one review said to make sure you are holding on when you pull the trigger. He was right on that statement. I wonder how we ever got along with out it. Everything on it is first class and very easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3000psi gas pressure washer

,
June 3, 2010
By brucetrucker
from guys mills pa
"Overall well pleased with machine, It starts easily and runs flawlessly It is used to wash semi trucks and equipment all year around. The only problem is a small leak from inside heating chamber/coil/area when its hot. Someday i may even check to see why but its not real high on the list!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Impressive machine

,
June 1, 2010
By StarKY
from KY
"We a very pleased with the performance of this steam cleaner. It easily outperforms the unit we replaced that cost much more. Bob B"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

,
May 8, 2010
By Bdog2009
from Laceyville, Pa.
"This is one powerful machine. As far as doing the job , it should meet all your expectations. Make sue you read the instructions before using this bad boy. It takes a little time to set up but not bad. I just wanted to make sure I didnt do anything to ruin it before I got started.
Once the machine was up and running it cleaned like a charm.
If I had to find a negative thing about this machine it would be the size and weight. It is a chore to move it around but that's the price you pay for having hot water.
I also purchased a turbo nozzle which is a must have accessory. It rips through dirt like nobodys business. It cleaned the bugs and dirt off white vinyl siding without any chemicals.
I just wish they made a tow hitch for this machine so you could pull it with a 4 wheeler or tractor.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pressure washer.

,
April 29, 2010
By crudeoilpumperND
from Renville County, ND
"My brother and I bought one, and picked it up at the Fargo, ND store. We use it to clean farm equipment, and cleaned all the auction items we had last fall. This thing can peel years of gunk to bare metal if you let it. Great heat and pressure. I would recommend a high capacity strainer on the inlet to keep any debris from a holding tank for remote area use. I plan to get another one for cleaning oil wellheads."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Product

,
March 16, 2009
By ClayD
from Paw Paw, IL
"The North Star Hot Water Pressure Washer, (item Number: 15731OE) has by far been the best product that I have every used. I have had many a washer but none that does the job as this one. Having to have the need to clean and disenfect 2 horse barns that helps me comply with what the USDA requires. It meets and exceed my needs and keeps me in compliance. It is able to take care of the most difficult jobs and preforms as advertised.
Keep up the good work.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

washer business

,
November 17, 2008
By mulder0474
from conklin,ny
"hey this is top notch ..this is a great pressure washer ..works great on bulding and tractor trailers.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One powerfull Pressure Washer

,
October 17, 2008
By MJantz
from Oklahoma
"The pressure washer was well packaged and arrived quickly. It's allot bigger than I expected but that's ok. Setup was easy and only took about 30 minutes. I fueled it up, connected the water, it started right off and talk about power. You better have a good hold on the hose when you press the trigger. The water almost immediately hot and cleaned some of the heaviest grease off my tractor without any soap.
I have no real complaints but if I had to find any suggestions for improvements they would be:
1. Add a small tow hitch and pivotable axle for towing behind a ATV or UTV.
2. Add a place to hang the hoses on and to store the pressure wand.
3. Add some attachment brackets for hooking up to a hoist to lift.
4. How about a optional add-on pump to draw water out of a tank or pond?
I did have one problem the second time I used it the Steam Nozzle blew out and took the o-ring with it, they quickly sent me a replacement no questions asked. That's good customer service, Thanks Northstar!
I love this washer, it's going to get allot of use around the farm in years to come.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar Gas Hot Pressure Washer #157310

,
August 11, 2008
By DJD100
from Houston, Texas
"Our engineer found the above item on line. We got an account set up in no time with very friendly and courteous customer service. Upon time for shipment, a courteous customer service shipping personnel contacted us for delivery date and time and questions on where and how the item will be delivered. Upon delivery, all went smooth and our engineers love the pressure washer. It has been used by both engineering and housekeeping to maintain our property. We will certainly continue our purchases from Northern Tool's excellent service."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BIG THINGS DO COME IN SMALL PACKAGES

,
August 6, 2008
By IMAGEWORKS
from ATLANTA, GA
"PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT TO DO ONE PARTICULAR ACCOUNT, DID NOT WANT TO USE LARGER UNIT. TO MY SURPRISED IT HOLDS UP GREAT AGAINST THE BIG BOYS. VERY, VERY,VERY. POWERFUL, MORE MOBILE W / SAME RESULTS AS THE BIGGER UNITS. NEVER HAD A COMPLAINT FROM CUSTOMERS OR CREWS. AND PAID FOR ITSELF MUCH FASTER THAN OUR LARGER WASHERS. TO SUM IT UP "YOU WILL HAVE TO SEE IT TO BELIEVE IT". YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY YOU BOUGHT IT."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Recomended to all

,
April 22, 2008
By 5686miller
from Tennessee
"This is a great tool for a landscaper or detailer such as me. It makes it easy to get anything clean with ease just by turning the heat on. The only down fall is the size of it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Hot Water Pressure Washer

,
April 22, 2008
By KraftysClimateControl
from Norfolk, Virginia
"This make and model pressure washer has performed very well from cleaning my work trucks to ATV's. This unit has saved me time, energy and will save me money in the long run with my equipment running clean and efficiently. In the 40 hrs of operation that I have used this machine, it has worked flawlessly. One person can easily move the machine around without difficulty. I would recommend burning kerosene in the burner. When the burner cycles with the trigger while burning kerosene, there is no smell of unused fuel as compared to diesel. I would suggest this machine to anyone that is serious about completing a dirty job in a timely manner. Well engineered and thought out design.
Thank You
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressure Washer with Honda Engine - 3000 PSI, 4 GPM
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

NorthStar Gas Powered Wet Steam & Hot Water Pressu

,
April 21, 2008
By Steve1462
from Bartlett, IL
"Product ordering was simple and efficent, product was delivered timely and properly packaged to ensure no damages during shipping. Instructions were simple to set up and get running, to my dismay the fuel tanks leaked at the mounting screws. I fully expected the tool to be tested before receipt, yet found myself with a pool of mixed fuels on the ground the very next day after operating. Appears proper adjustment of hold down screws and fiber washers will correct issue. Also the heating of water is not quick... maybe my lack of expetation experience with this type of system. Requires several mins to ten mins of warm up to truly obtain hot water. Outside of those issues, unit pressured up quickly for cold water and key start was slick!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.