Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt

NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt

Item# 157495
Add this NorthStar heater to a cold water pressure washer to gain the cleaning power of hot water and steam. Diesel burner heats water up to 250F. Dimensions L x W x H in. 38 1/4 x 27 x 38 3/4, Flow GPM 4, Fuel Capacity gal. 4, Max. Output Water Temp F 250, Power Cord ft. 36, Pressure PSI 4,000, Amps 15, Volts 120, Fuel Type Diesel, Hose 5 ft. Upgrades a cold water pressure washer into a hot water/steam pressure washer For pressure washers from 2-4 GPM and 4000 PSI max. Diesel burner heats water up to 250F Diesel burner has 1/2in. Schedule 80 heating coil, temperature control and 4-gallon fuel tank 5-ft. quick-couple hose connects to pressure washer pump Pressure washer hose connects to heater quick-couple outlet 36-ft. GFCI cord plugs into standard 120V, 15 Amp outlet
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Review 1 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Melts the grease & grim away!!!

,
September 16, 2014
By DTrain44
from Mass
"I purchased the NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit & couldn't be happier! I own heavy Equipment & use it to wash my machines. It makes easy work out of the gunk build up around the grease fittings. I've only used it once & it did exactly what I wanted. As far as the temp It was plenty hot at 200 deg. I can't imagine setting it at 250 deg!!! I would recommend it to all with tuff task's to tackle.
D-Train
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer Heater

,
February 6, 2014
By AuburnJoe
from Auburn, CA
"I bought this add on heater unit because I didn't think ahead enough when I bought the original pressure washer (I should have bought the all-in-one unit right away)! The main reason for buying it was to wash off my expansive concrete deck. The pressure washer by itself does a decent job. With this heated unit, the deck looks like it was newly poured! Now I use it for cleaning tools, lawn mowers, my tractor, even my barbeque. Leaves everything sparkling including that aforementioned grease pit of a barbeque!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hot water

,
February 5, 2014
By hotbox2800
from pa
"I purchased this unit in 2004 had to rebuild it one time. Just the coil and insulation. It was very easy thanks to customer service at northern tool.This unit is truck mounted and used very hard cleaning restaurant exhaust systems on a daily basis. I would recommend this unit to anyone looking to get hot water to your pressure washer. Also 3 of my customers bought them to use at their restaurants ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer

,
February 4, 2014
By Wallymortar
from Pennsylvania
"I purchased this unit because I already owned a pressure washer and didn't want the expense of a stand-alone steamer but needed a steamer to clean my farm equipment. The unit was relatively easy to hook up with accessory connectors purchased from Northern and initial operation was straightforward in the instruction manual. Everything worked as described and I was making hot water and steam soon after setup. It is a very nice unit and I have had no trouble with it to date. I winterized it by evacuating the water coils with a combination of compressed air and RV antifreeze since I store it in an unheated shop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hot water Heater Pressure washer

,
April 23, 2013
By 1metric
from Columbia, SC
"I have used this heater for 3 years. It has hundreds of hours on it and it has worked flawlessly. Due to normal usage, I recently had to replace the top cap insulation. I called Northern ordered the part and it was on hand in two days. I have used many different heater setup for my pressure washer over the past 20 years. I consider this unit to be one of my best buys. I highly recommend this unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This heat is awesome!!

,
March 28, 2013
By vinmin
from East Longmeadow, Ma
"I use this diesel heater for carpet cleaning and power washing... The heat it produces is unbelievable! Fill it with fuel connect it to whatever you are using it with flick a switch and set temp and your ready to go this thing is unstoppable! It burns very clean with diesel and kerosene I never see any smoke coming from the unit ..... I would highly recommend this to someone looking to upgrade a cold water pressure washer or someone with a carpet cleaning business trying to boost water temps! I have owned it for about 4 months now and I dont know what I ever did without it............."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot Water Washer Add-On

,
October 2, 2012
By AndyB2
from Cottage Grove,TN
"This is an excellent addition to my shop. It has given me the ability to clean the greasy and oily equipment that I work on before the repairs begin thus allowing me to only accomplish the repairs once instead of fixing it only to find another problem later. I can place the unit inside the door of my shop, open the door, make all the required connections and wash the piece of machinery in any type of weather. I can also just disconnect it and use my portable pressure washer without the fear of damaging the Hot Water portion."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Norther star washer heater

,
May 21, 2012
By SidneyB
from South Carolina
"Equipment worked fine at first. Stopped heating and have had it to repair shop six times. Each time something else is replaced and it is still not repaired. I've gotten frustrated"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
May 15, 2012
By kennedy759
from Southern Ind
"I use the Northstar heater in my carpet cleaning business, it does a great job heating my rinse water. I can really tell the difference compared to hot water from a faucet. It also works great when you set the temp up high enough to produce steam when cleaning the green algae off of siding. The heater warms up fast and is very fuel efficient."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great Should Have Bought Years Ago

,
January 9, 2012
By Reesestoybox
from Loysville, Pa.
"I Have had mine 3 to 4 months. Use it all most every weekend & some times during the week. It sure make a big difference in cleaning & the hot water helps keeping hands warm in cold weather. I love it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

,
July 31, 2011
By vara8048
from U.S.
"Got mine about a year ago. I have probably used 12 or 15 times it is great! with my Honda 12 H.P. 4000 PSI pressure washer. I had to save to get it . It is worth it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing heat!!

,
May 8, 2011
By ImthePrez
from TN
"I have a 4000 psi 4 gpm cold water pressure washer used for houses and small jobs. I wanted heat to help remove grease and oil from commercial accounts, and this heater does the job! The only downside is that it needs to be plugged in, but its extremely easy to start and shutdown and all the instructions are printed on it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot Stuff

,
November 23, 2010
By handytom
from Michigan
"This unit gives you the best of both worlds. Heat plus water pressure (4000Psi & 4 Gpm) will clean anything you want to clean. This unit is great for stripping paint and you can turn down the pressure to clean those greasey engines,etc."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth

,
November 23, 2010
By FDLSU444
"starts easily, excellent pressure & runs smoothly. Ease of use and reliable! Chose this unit over several other brands which were good, but not as reliable and as good a deal as this one."
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

owner/operator

,
March 4, 2010
By greasedawgs
from Hawaii
"I ordered this heater box for my kitchen hood and exhaust cleaning bussiness on 10 -27-08. So far it has operated flawlessly.. This is a great deal for a heater box.. It gets the job done. I'm seriously thinking of ordering another unit., for my business. The only thing is that you might think of changing the wheels on this unit to no flats."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works better than advertised

,
March 1, 2010
By Allen123
from Southeast Missouri
"It was 40 degrees outside and the water going into the heater was freezing cold. With my Dewalt pushing water through the heater at about 4gpm the heater still reached 250 degrees (I know this because I could hear it kick off after reaching maximum temperature). I peeled about 3 inches of compressed grease from the grease pit area of a fast food restaurant. It worked better than I expected and the quality of the materials is excellent. There is nothing here that looks cheap, everything is heavy duty and made very well. It was even packaged very well when it was shipped. I am very happy with this and would recommend it to anyone wanting an efficient way to have steam ability on a budget."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Pressure Washer Heater/Steamer Add-on Unit - 4000 PSI, 4 GPM, 120 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot Item!

,
March 23, 2009
By jbaustx
from Austin, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"If you've ever tried to wash grease off of your hands with cold water, then you know what life is like without a water heater. This unit is compact, portable, and draws little electricity (I use a voltage inverter off my trucks' battery when on remote location). I use device to remove coatings and clean concrete ... with a 4,000 PSI turbo tip, there's no stopping it!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
13out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.