Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter

Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter

Item# 15761
"Affordable, lightweight riveter is ideal for automotive and construction assembly work. Super-strong hardened steel jaws sets rivets in up to 3/16in. steel. Application Rivet tool, Max. PSI 80, Rivet Size in. 3/16, Working Pressure PSI 80-100, Air Consumption CFM 4.2, Air Inlet Size in. NPT 1/4."
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (21 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 of 21(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite tool

,
May 20, 2014
By DangeRuss63
from Elk Grove, CA
"Works great. A thousand times easier than a manual pop rivet gun. I love it. Stands up nicely. Easy to pick up and set down. I may come up with more things to rivet just so I can use this tool more."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value and Quality

,
September 17, 2013
By 2cycleman
from Miramar, Fl.
"Very simple to use-no more trying to grasp clumsy manual riveter and sometimes using two hands trying to squeeze rivet. Easily applies ample pressure to secure rivet completely. Definitely a great value for the budgeted handyman."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tool

,
September 17, 2013
By charlynarly
from Santa Monica,Ca.
"Purchased this tool to complete a metal roofing project in Beverly Hills,Ca, We were installing a metal roof and needed to install a lot of 1/8 x #44 Stainless rivets. Based on the reviews I thought this would be perfect. It was indeed. Tool performed flawlessly installing over 3,000 rivets on it's initial use. Paid for itself on the first job. Sets rivets fast and efficiently. Uses minimal air. A small 1 Hp compressor is all you need. Set it at 90 PSI. I added a few drops of Air tool oil every few hundred uses. Only complaint is the trigger mechanism can be a bit uncomfortable but hey after a few thousand rivets I understand why. Buy it you will be pleased with your purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rivet Gun

,
October 11, 2011
By NotBig
from Rocklin, CA
"This rivet gun is a better deal than the $400 guns. As long as you adjust the jaw assembly correctly and keep it from loosening up it works fine. One weakness is the large nut fastening the master cylinder to the slave comes loose and gets hammered by the master piston. If you stake the nut when you first recieve the gun it will not be a problem."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked great

,
June 13, 2011
By 007jbb
from SC
"I used this with steel rivets to repair my above ground pool wall and it worked great. I have also used it with Alum rivets with no problems"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful tool

,
May 31, 2011
By SuperbBuilder
from San Rafael, CA
"My favorite benefit about moving to a hydraulic riveter from a hand-operated version is the elimination of kick-back. This riveter has plenty of pulling and shaft gripping power. Rarely will you have to pull the trigger twice to set a rivet and best of all, there will be no bounce back down onto your finished surface.
The materials I have have worked with so far include steel bar, aluminum sheet metal, fiberglass, and canvas with various sizes of steel and aluminum rivets."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long Lasting

,
March 8, 2011
By MetalFab
from Detroit, MI
"I purchased this from NT about 5 years ago. Initially I was hesitant because of the price..."you get what you pay for". Not the case here. Let me tell you, I use this and abuse this several times a week mostly pulling Stainless steel rivets, both 3/16" and 1/8". The ONLY issue I've had is when I dropped it and the cup on the back end cracked...not to worry, this is constructed identically to other "popular" models and I was able to replace it with one of a broken riveter from the junk box at work. Interesting that the one in the junk box they paid twice as much for and mine is still pulling rivets like new."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long lasting tool

,
August 30, 2010
By Anonymous
"Excellent tool, we use if every day at our signs shop, is a very robust and efficient tool, incredible time saving compared with the hand riveter."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Hydraulic Riveter

,
February 26, 2010
By N1Shaune
from Central New York
"I purchased this tool for my father for Christmas. He needed a tool that allowed him to draw rivets quickly that didn't hurt his hands. This tool was a good value for the price. He tells me he is very happy with how well it works and he uses it often. My Mother says he's like "Rosie the Riveter with this tool"."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Air Riverter

,
February 15, 2010
By SkiDoo55
from Chico, CA
"Works great, saves time and my hands in setting rivets. Sets them better than by a hand operated puller"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Handy

,
February 15, 2010
By Kimble
from ellettsville, in
"I used this tool to put aluminum siding on a 'holy' truck I own.
- Thousands of rivets later ... This sure saves your hand.
Well worth the money.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money

,
November 2, 2009
By Ben4525
from Florida
"So far I've used this for pulling nearly 100 3/16 rivets and about 200 olympic bulb type rivets and not one problem.
Plenty of power even at lower pressures.
Riveter is well made and something I can trust will work everytime I use it.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Air riviter

,
June 19, 2009
By Shaved
from Burlington Ma
"the first time out f the box it had difficulty with 3/16 Aluminum rivits it took multiple tries and would barely snap off draw stud."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality for the money

,
March 17, 2009
By Dirtfarmer65
from Idaho
"I recently purchased the Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter. I was not expecting much, but I was suprised on the quality for the price I paid. It works flawlessly and has done every job with flying colors. This is something I would reccomend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Rivet Gun-Air over Hydraulic

,
March 16, 2009
By PaulAris
from MI
"I wasn't sure at first because it costs much less than other air riveters. Well this thing works great. I have pulled over 100 rivets with it already with no problems a all. I wish I would have bought one 15 years ago. Owning a snowmobile we always have heavy steel rivets to pull and this thing gets the job done"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hydraulic Riveter

,
March 16, 2009
By Ymmit
from Meaville, PA
"I love this thing, I bought a manual tool from a local hardware store and broke it on the first stainless rivit I tried it on, I then bought a heavy duty manual riviter and also broke it on the stainless rivits (they are tough). This will pull a stainless rivit effortless."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works better than the $200 ones

,
February 8, 2008
By FilterGuru
from Columbus, OH
"Don't forget to oil it every few months and it will work for a long time, which is more than I can say for some other big name brands. Definitely worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I had done it sooner!

,
January 14, 2008
By Boondocker
from Sturgis, SD
"I have always pulled rivets by hand and am sorry to say I was foolish to have waited so long to buy an air riveter. I first used this tool on a snowmobile tunnel and set about 90 steel rivets- my hands and arms ached just thinking about doing all of that by hand. The riveter included 4 different sized tips ( a pleasant suprise since it doesn't tell you that in the description) so it will do most standard sized rivets, making it very handy. The price of this riveter was what initially attracted me to it and I didn't expect alot, but i am happy to say its performance, construction and value far exceeded my expectations. I would definitely recommend it and would buy another."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

rivet guns

,
October 15, 2007
By MTRinc
from MN
"We have used these for many years, best we can find."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Compact Air Hydraulic Riveter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

air riveter

,
March 6, 2007
By stormydennis
from central MN
"it worked fantastic the only complaint would be it could use a nose piece for one size larger rivets"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.