Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"

"Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"

Item# 15763
"The Air Needle Scaler features 19 needles delivering 4500 BPM to quickly remove rust, dirt and old paint from metal surfaces. Blows Per Minute BPM 4,500, Operating PSI 90, Air Consumption CFM 5, Tool Weight lbs. 5 1/4, Needle Length in. 7, Case Included No, Air Inlet Size in. NPT 1/4, Needle Diameter in. 1/8. 19 needles provide 4500 BPM at 90 PSI Quickly removes rust, dirt, and old paint Lightweight at only 5 1/4lbs. for long projects Only uses 5 CFM"
Average Customer Rating:
4.255 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (94 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
29
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
9
84 of 94(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Review 1 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PRESIDENT

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Amarillo, Texas
Worked very well on cleaning flux of 8" pipe we were welding. Fast and smooth. Easy to add air fitting and get to work after oiling tool.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth the savings

,
December 5, 2015
By
from wv
bought this product and would not work after the first day of using it and the needles started coming out after a few uses the first day.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor performance

,
November 5, 2015
By
from Florida
Failed to live up to expectation, Worked for a couple of days then seals blew out, not over pressurized. Worked with these type of tools in my Navy days, again these are substandard tools that failed to live up to expectations.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needle Scaler

,
August 20, 2015
By
from Lismore, MN
I really liked the first one I bought so I bought this for a back up.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

"Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"

,
July 28, 2015
By
from PHILIPPI WV.
REALLY HAVE WANT ONE THESE FOR YEARS, ALREADY HAVE A AIR HAMMER AND WAS ONLY LOOKING TO PURCHASE AN ATTACHMENT FOR IT. BUT MOST WERE MORE EXPENSIVE THAN IT WAS WORTH. BOUGHT THIS SIX WEEKS AGO HAVE USED ABOUT A DOZEN TIME WITH NO ISSUES. DOES EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED IT TO DO. WISE BUY FOR THE HOME HOBBY HANDY MAN.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needle Scaler

,
July 4, 2015
By
from Belleview,Fl
I have yet used this product but the idea of it is something that I wanted to try. When I next have a project requiring scaling I will find out if it is a good product or if I wasted money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

scaler

,
March 20, 2015
By
from MINNEAPOLIS MN
This is an exceptional tool and works very well for removing rust and paint.I RECOMEND IT HIGHLY.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

rust remover works some

,
March 14, 2015
By
from mankato, mn
I am restoring an old Honda and part of the sheet metal has surface rust. I wanted to prep the metal for a primer. I had heard about this tool some time back and decided to try it. Hooked up to my compressor it took me less time that I expected to remove the rust.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt

,
February 15, 2015
By
from Idaho
I purchased an air needle scaler [Wel-Bilt] a few wks. back, on a bumper that needed to be repainted. I had used one before on a job at work. When I saw this tool & price in Catalog I knew it had to be mine. It worked very well saving me lots of time & elbow grease. I have bought many tools from Northern tools & Equipment. Quality is great & so are the prices. I have been customer for over 10 yrs.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI

,
February 12, 2015
By
from Roscoe, IL
Tool worked good for brief period of time (5hours)
then would not function after that. Read manual completely to assure everything was correct.
Had to using other air tool to run the Scaler head.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Fine

,
January 19, 2015
By
from KS
It works like it should. No Problems.
Inexpensive as well.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

,
January 19, 2015
By
from Fl
Used one time and it broke. Appeared to be well made. Functioned Properly for about 2 hours and then quite working altogether
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

special tool at a special price

,
January 18, 2015
By
from Staunton,Va
I bought this tool for a project I'm working on and it worked just as I hoped and was on sale at a very good price
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great, kinda heavy

,
January 16, 2015
By
from Mass.
Works great, kinda heavy, i have only used it once so we will see, but it did the job and already paid for itself.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler

,
January 15, 2015
By
from Jacksonville, FL
Product was bought on sale and was an excellent buy and a very good product. Used to remove rust from an old lawnmower. Couldn't have worked any better. Only used once so cannot attest to life of product but when new is a good product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welbuilt air needle

,
January 14, 2015
By
from Alabama
this product is very handy for removing rust from tools or I used it to remove rust from a cast iron pot and was very satisfied.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"

,
December 26, 2014
By
from Charlotte, nc
The guys in the shop really like the needle scalers. We use them in an heavy industrial setting and they hold up great. I would recommend them to anyone to try.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler

,
December 25, 2014
By
from San Juan, Puerto Rico
The Well Built de - scaler is one of the most useful
tools we use. We do a lot of steel jobs which need to get finished up with primer and paint.
It works excellent for removing all sorts of rust weld spatter, dirt and old paint. It also also works niece removing hard solids deposits on many other material surfaces.
Very reliable, strong, low air consumption
I recommend it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job

,
December 22, 2014
By
from Lex NC
Does the job,but when it arrived I had to disassemable and spray WD40 in to loosen up active parts...Otherwise works like a champ...
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful Needle Scaler

,
December 20, 2014
By
from Cleveland, AL
Lots of power requires a lot of air. Works great on metal - removing old paint and rust. Not for use on wood. it is also loud - so you will need earplugs and probably a good pair of gloves.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.