Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"

"Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"

Item# 15763
"The Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler features 19 needles delivering 4500 BPM to quickly remove rust, dirt and old paint from metal surfaces. Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies. Needle Length in. 7, Air Consumption CFM 5, Air Inlet Size in. NPT 1/4, Operating PSI 90, Tool Weight lbs. 5 1/4, Blows Per Minute BPM 4,500, Case Included No, Needle Diameter in. 1/8. 19 needles provide 4500 BPM at 90 PSI Quickly removes rust, dirt, and old paint Lightweight at only 5 1/4lbs. for long projects Only uses 5 CFM"
Average Customer Rating:
4.347 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (72 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
22
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
66 of 72(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Review 1 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

needle scaler

,
September 25, 2014
By MA502
from NY
"The scaler came without a set screw to attach the head to the gun. The wrench was there but no screw. makes it a pain to go get one. Unit priced for that I guess. Seems to work OK, its cheap and works like it but can't go wrong for the price I guess."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Impressed

,
August 13, 2014
By IronStallion
from Jenkins, KY
"Excellent tool, exceeded expectations. Would not recommend using on soft metal, but for steel it makes it easy to remove rust and other buildup."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

needle scaler

,
July 11, 2014
By wiz14
from Northern Illinois
"This needle scaler works very well for the money . I have owned more expensive tools that where not any better , some where worse . The only issue with it is the air pressure regulator only seems to have 2 settings , inoperative and full blast . Its not a big problem since full blast works best anyway . Overall I am very satisfied with this tool ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job

,
July 2, 2014
By alex0451
from Quebec city
"This tool is better than sandblast to remove rust. It is quicker and a lot less messy. It can reach tight places where sandblasting is ineffective like inside square part of a tow hitch.
However, it takes a huge amount or air, it will leave rough finish and it can't be used on thin gauge steel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wel-Bilt needle scaler

,
June 19, 2014
By Jeeprestore
from PA
"Right out of box had problems getting to start hammering. Oiled regularly still intermittant. Replacement needle attachment is $17 I paid $19 for whole unit. You get what you pay for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Questionable

,
June 18, 2014
By Gumbee
from Green Bay, WI
"Tool was comfortable to handle and use but failed with in the first week. Plastic CHINA washer cracked letting the air bypass.ON THE GOOD SIDE Northern Tool quickly replaced with a new one. This second one has lasted a few weeks now, we will see if the first was just a freek thing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome tool

,
June 1, 2014
By jf25
from Belfast, ME
"In July of 2013 I purchased this tool from Northern Tool. At the price I paid I kinda thought I would "get what you pay for". I am very pleased to report that I have completely descaled an entire 94 chevy truck frame and am still using the original set of needles, all though I could use a new set after all this work. The tool made a difficult job so much easier and I will never regret buying it, especially at Northern Tool pricing! The tool works best when used at a 90 degree angle to the work piece. The only time I would spit out a needle was when using sideways pressure. I did need to keep tightening the set screws every so often but thats very easy to do. If you have a descaling project to do I don't think you can go wrong by buying this Wel-Bilt product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome tool

,
February 6, 2014
By monkeyhands
from ontario, canada
"tool works excellent, i use it almost every day for automotive mechanical work, had it for at least 6 months.
i oil it before and after every use--very important or the hammer will stick.
great tool for a great price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done

,
September 17, 2013
By Jabroni131
from Pennsylvania
"Bought one and an extra head for my 15 year old so that he can clean up the frame on the truck that he bought. It appears to be doing a good job for him so far. Only gave it 4 stars because it can't do it by itself. When someone comes out with one that does it without me having to crawl under the truck, that will get 5 stars."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-20points
2out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Needle scaler

,
August 9, 2013
By 94Chevy
from Belfast, ME
"Very very happy with the work I have got done in the first couple weeks. Tool works very well, I am running 95 psi and frequently oil it. Tool was on sale for half price and I have got to say I have seen an excellent return on my "investment"! Descaling my '94 Chevy truck frame will be done this week-end! Thank you Northern Tool!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for the price

,
April 25, 2013
By busdude2000
from colchester ct
"nice pistol grip,great for the price..nice short needle scales...does vibrate @ high air...and the set screws want to vibrate out & end up on shop floor!!!use locktite on set screws to prevent this & you'll have no problem...I have 2 & one does vibrate on the adjustable air dial...but no big deal..works well on rust/old painted wheels,etc.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

failure

,
April 25, 2013
By jackofalltrade
from ontario
"Hello
The tool worked great for 15 min . After that, no hammer action. Was very careful about oiling it. Removed the needle head and tried to use it in another air hammer, but it would not fit. All in all a very frustrating experience."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

lasted less than 1 min

,
April 11, 2013
By cdrmotor
from katy tx
"ordered last week & was exited to see it get here today,installed the air fitting & set my pressure @ 85 psi
in less than 1 min it quit working,the plastic trigger is a VERY POOR DESIGN!!!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

YEARS OF TOUGH USE

,
October 8, 2012
By 60PANMAN
from MAINE
"I SAW THIS PRODUCT IN USE AT A FRIENDS HOUSE.I WAS IMPRESSED. WHEN I ORDERED MINE AND PUT IT IN USE I AM STILL IMPRESSED.THE NAME OF THE PRODUCT SAYS IT ALL. "WELL BUILT"."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for brittle paint

,
September 18, 2012
By KM123
from Lynnfield, MA
"Scaler was bought to see if it would remove thick, brittle, peeling paint from an old house. It worked very well for ~3 hours then spit out one needle. Soon afterward it jammed and slowly moved all needles about 1/2 inch instead of normal ~ 1/16". BUT, it had worked much faster and easier for this application than hi-speed sander, heat, chemicals, or scrapeing. I lubed it manually about hourly, ran it on low presssure much of the time, but may have over-boosted it in ~110 psi bursts to start new areas. It dented some soft clapboards at full speed, but was easy to regulate to avoid this. On taking mine apart I found overly loose clearances and imprecise machining of the "needle fixer." I think the spring end jammed into the clearance of fixer to body. I expect to try another, but will set supply lower than 90 psi. Move it at very light force to be most effective, and use thick gloves to protect hands from vibes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Needle scaler

,
August 21, 2012
By PM999
from maine
"Works great, alot easyer than chipping hammer. Am glad I bought one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Needle scaler

,
January 16, 2012
By Savethe66com
from New Hampshire
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have a 66 Mustang that I am restoring. It had quite a bit of Rusty Jones undercoating in the fenderwells that I used the scaler to remove. Worked absolutely perfect!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchased for husband

,
January 16, 2012
By Honeybearcml
from Sickelrville, NJ
"I bought this as a christmas gift for my husband. He is very pleased with the quality of this product and has already recommended it to our neighbor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

,
October 17, 2011
By Chickenfarmer77
from Canaan NH
"I used this to clean off a older plow frame and blade. Took the scale and old paint off fast."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

5

,
March 19, 2011
By Trinisheppy
from Caribbean
"Tool allows intricate detailed cleaning of corroded irregular shaped surfaces with very little stress on your wrist. exerting too much pressure on the tool can break the needles though."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.