Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI

Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI

Item# 15763
The Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler features 19 needles delivering 4500 BPM to quickly remove rust, dirt and old paint from metal surfaces. Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies. Needle Length in. 7, Tool Weight lbs. 5 1/4, Blows Per Minute BPM 4,500, Air Inlet Size in. NPT 1/4, Air Consumption CFM 5, Needle Diameter in. 1/8, Case Included No, Operating PSI 90. 19 needles provide 4500 BPM at 90 PSI Quickly removes rust, dirt, and old paint Lightweight at only 5 1/4lbs. for long projects Only uses 5 CFM
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (65 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
61 of 65(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome tool

,
February 6, 2014
By monkeyhands
from ontario, canada
"tool works excellent, i use it almost every day for automotive mechanical work, had it for at least 6 months.
i oil it before and after every use--very important or the hammer will stick.
great tool for a great price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done

,
September 17, 2013
By Jabroni131
from Pennsylvania
"Bought one and an extra head for my 15 year old so that he can clean up the frame on the truck that he bought. It appears to be doing a good job for him so far. Only gave it 4 stars because it can't do it by itself. When someone comes out with one that does it without me having to crawl under the truck, that will get 5 stars."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-15points
2out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Needle scaler

,
August 9, 2013
By 94Chevy
from Belfast, ME
"Very very happy with the work I have got done in the first couple weeks. Tool works very well, I am running 95 psi and frequently oil it. Tool was on sale for half price and I have got to say I have seen an excellent return on my "investment"! Descaling my '94 Chevy truck frame will be done this week-end! Thank you Northern Tool!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for the price

,
April 25, 2013
By busdude2000
from colchester ct
"nice pistol grip,great for the price..nice short needle scales...does vibrate @ high air...and the set screws want to vibrate out & end up on shop floor!!!use locktite on set screws to prevent this & you'll have no problem...I have 2 & one does vibrate on the adjustable air dial...but no big deal..works well on rust/old painted wheels,etc.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

failure

,
April 25, 2013
By jackofalltrade
from ontario
"Hello
The tool worked great for 15 min . After that, no hammer action. Was very careful about oiling it. Removed the needle head and tried to use it in another air hammer, but it would not fit. All in all a very frustrating experience."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

lasted less than 1 min

,
April 11, 2013
By cdrmotor
from katy tx
"ordered last week & was exited to see it get here today,installed the air fitting & set my pressure @ 85 psi
in less than 1 min it quit working,the plastic trigger is a VERY POOR DESIGN!!!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

YEARS OF TOUGH USE

,
October 8, 2012
By 60PANMAN
from MAINE
"I SAW THIS PRODUCT IN USE AT A FRIENDS HOUSE.I WAS IMPRESSED. WHEN I ORDERED MINE AND PUT IT IN USE I AM STILL IMPRESSED.THE NAME OF THE PRODUCT SAYS IT ALL. "WELL BUILT"."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for brittle paint

,
September 18, 2012
By KM123
from Lynnfield, MA
"Scaler was bought to see if it would remove thick, brittle, peeling paint from an old house. It worked very well for ~3 hours then spit out one needle. Soon afterward it jammed and slowly moved all needles about 1/2 inch instead of normal ~ 1/16". BUT, it had worked much faster and easier for this application than hi-speed sander, heat, chemicals, or scrapeing. I lubed it manually about hourly, ran it on low presssure much of the time, but may have over-boosted it in ~110 psi bursts to start new areas. It dented some soft clapboards at full speed, but was easy to regulate to avoid this. On taking mine apart I found overly loose clearances and imprecise machining of the "needle fixer." I think the spring end jammed into the clearance of fixer to body. I expect to try another, but will set supply lower than 90 psi. Move it at very light force to be most effective, and use thick gloves to protect hands from vibes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Needle scaler

,
August 21, 2012
By PM999
from maine
"Works great, alot easyer than chipping hammer. Am glad I bought one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Needle scaler

,
January 16, 2012
By Savethe66com
from New Hampshire
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have a 66 Mustang that I am restoring. It had quite a bit of Rusty Jones undercoating in the fenderwells that I used the scaler to remove. Worked absolutely perfect!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchased for husband

,
January 16, 2012
By Honeybearcml
from Sickelrville, NJ
"I bought this as a christmas gift for my husband. He is very pleased with the quality of this product and has already recommended it to our neighbor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

,
October 17, 2011
By Chickenfarmer77
from Canaan NH
"I used this to clean off a older plow frame and blade. Took the scale and old paint off fast."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

5

,
March 19, 2011
By Trinisheppy
from Caribbean
"Tool allows intricate detailed cleaning of corroded irregular shaped surfaces with very little stress on your wrist. exerting too much pressure on the tool can break the needles though."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the price

,
November 23, 2010
By Brimac
from Olympic Peninsula, WA
"I needed to remove epoxy paint from a concrete shower stall inside a house, so sand blasting was not an option. This scaler did an admirable job, and after many hours of use still worked fine. The key to keeping it running smoothly is to keep it well oiled, and adjust the pressure screw properly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just right

,
November 23, 2010
By yankee
from va
"I used one of these 100 years ago when i was in the navy. It seemed like hrs at a time down in the bilge of the ship.Of course the ship had a endless supply of air, thats my only problem here at home. I have a compressor that has plenty of pressure but not the capacity or volume that this tool needs. But it works fine and this was the best price around. I just use it for a minute and let the pressure build up. I bought it for my rusty boat trailer and its just right for getting into uneven and tight spots."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Air Needle Scaler

,
August 23, 2010
By jd5400
from Winfield, Kansas
"I have used an air needle scaler attachment on my rivet gun for years but was unable to use the rivet gun when the attachment was installed. Now that I have this simple Northern Industrial Air Needle Scaler my rivet gun use conflict has been resolved. This Northern Air Tool is of great value and convenience to me and does an excellent job in removing scale."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Needle gun

,
July 22, 2010
By Mark123
from Kansas City
"I bought this to remove paint from handrails. The paint was not well attached and can be scraped off with a putty knife. I thought this tool would speed up the job. It won't knock the paint loose no matter what I do. I have lots of air volumn and pressure. Just not a good tool. Don't buy it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-11points
0out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
KM123
Lynnfield, MA 
 
Please wait while more information about KM123 is loaded.
Additional information about KM123 could not be loaded.
Needle Gun
September 18, 2012
"Soft or rubbery paint is not likely to be removable with this tool, but it works very well with thick, brittle old paint."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little tool

,
June 1, 2010
By cghobby
from Indiana
"I purchased this tool to remove very old paint from a concrete block wall in my basement, ready for a new water stop coat. While it took time, this guy worked great (just make sure the air pressure is not to high), I also use it to remove paint from old metal railing at the front of the house, soooo much better than a wire brush. Great tool, and a good price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

small applications

,
June 1, 2010
By jw76
from sw florida
"worked very well used on small jobs fixing my trailer cleaning the old paint and rust off"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wel-Bilt Air Needle Scaler - 5 CFM, 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Light Duty Tool

,
May 31, 2010
By GooldsGold
from Valdez, Alaska
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Good light duty tool for the price, definitely not powerful or heavy duty, but good for small light jobs. Took about five minutes to chip some paint off this guy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.