Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc

Item# 157711
This Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer is engineered to meet the demands of both professionals and homeowners. Powerhorse pressure washers deliver power and durability, supported by extensive field testing, elevating technology to a new level of performance. Powerhorse represents the perfect combination of value and quality. Not for sale in California Nozzle Type 25 degree high-pressure and detergent nozzle, Engine Oil Type SAE 30, Dimensions L x W x H in. 31 x 22 x 24, Gun 3 ft. lance, Fuel Type Gasoline, Pump Axial, Drive Direct, Adjustable Pressure Yes, Flow GPM 2.5, Engine Model OHV, Hose 25ft., Engine Oil Included No, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Thermal Protector Yes, Pump Oil Included Yes, Cart Yes, Chemical Injector Yes, Pressure PSI 3,000, Engine Powerhorse, Engine Displacement cc 208, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Pump Oil Type SAE 30 nondetergent. Powerhorse 208cc OHV engine with cast iron sleeve and low oil shutdown Direct drive axial pump with adjustable pressure Produces 2.5 GPM @ 3000 PSI Downstream chemical injector 25-ft. high pressure hose 25-ft. replacement hose, Item# 780841, also available sold separately Thermal protector Includes 3-ft. lance, 25 high pressure nozzle and detergent nozzle Steel frame with big 10in. pneumatic tires
Average Customer Rating:
4.594 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(192 Reviews) 192
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (192 reviews)
5 stars
137
4 stars
44
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
184 of 192(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Review 1 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

2 years been in shop 3 times

,
June 9, 2012
By bodiddley
from Byron, MN
"Bought a little over 2 years ago, heading to shop for 3rd time. One time just flat out would not start... took into shop and they got it going. Cheap handle, wand would not open the valve (Northern replaced for free), now the washer has very little pressure. Not sure if it is the pump or something else so back to shop.
When it works, it is a nice little pressure washer. But for as little hours as the thing has on it, I have had 3 different issues. Frustrated."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Worth The Hassle

,
May 8, 2012
By M513
from North Carolina
"I have had the the unit for about two months and have used it about 4-5 times and have already had several issues with it including having it stall out while using it, orings going prematurely, causing it to spray water out through the brass screws at the outlet ports. I have also had the drain port oil plug vibrate loose causing it to spit out oil all over my decking
In addition the unit itself has several design deficiencies. First of all is the burn zone. When starting the motor it is easy to want to place your hand on the muffler. The muffler is at the top and right above the pull cord. It is natural palce to want to put hand down there as you pull to start the engine. You have to be aware of where the muffler is and making sure you keep body parts and the hose away from it at all times while using it or restarting it.
The pump drain plugs is right above the frame making it awkward to get a wrench in there and change the pump oil. You need a very small low profile container that you have to hold while unscrewing the pump drain plug, otherwise you end up with oil everywhere. To check the pump oil level you have to remove the breather valve.
The breather valave has the nut head machined into it at the base. The flats for the wrench sit below the fins on the pump. this makes it difficult to get a wrench in there and grab the flats of the nut.
More than likely most people when trying to remove the breather valave will end up rounding off the corners of the nut flats. I ended up taking some vynil gloves and wrapping them around the neck and using light pressure with vice grips to remove the breather valve. The vynl gove was used to protect the surface of the breather valave so that I wouldn't crush or gouge the neck of the breather valve.
if you chosse to buy the unit: When starting or stopping the unit make sure the drain plug is tight, keep addiional o-rings on hand and make sure you have some low profile containers, rags or other materail to absorb the oil that spills when changing it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

JUNk

,
June 5, 2011
By pathetic
"I've been trying to start this thing for three hours. If it ever starts, Ill let you know how or it it works. Spen the few extra bucks and get a brand name. its worth it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
pgk82246
prudenville,mi. 
 
Please wait while more information about pgk82246 is loaded.
Additional information about pgk82246 could not be loaded.
check out reviews before buying product
June 24, 2011
"from what I have read in previous reviews, the factory does not put oil in to ship. the unit has a low oil shut off so you don't run on low oil.you have to fill unit with oil, then should start by 2nd pull."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO POWER !!!!!!

,
April 21, 2011
By ONSLOW
from KELLER, TX
"I bought one of these to do my driveway.....
I spent 2 hours and got nothing done !!!!
don't buy this washer or any of these models.
JUNK.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-26points
2out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Gas leak and busted hose...

,
August 3, 2013
By User12459
from Charlottesville, VA
"The washer went together pretty well and the instructions were fairly easy to follow.
I filled with oil and gas, thankfully I left the gas shutoff valve in the off position. I turned on the water, purged the air from the lines and then turned on the gas. That's when trouble started because the gas line was torn right near the shutoff. The hose was cut so short that when I cut the bad section it was not long enough. After a trip to buy some gas line and re-installing the washer started and I began using it.
After only 30-45 minutes the pressure washer hose blew out so now I have to call Northern Tool to order a replacement. I hope that goes well!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Works great, when it works.

,
July 13, 2012
By BrMF
from IN
"I bought this product in the winter on sale and had not had a chance to use it till the summer.
It wasn't to hard to put together but I had a mechanic friend there to ensure everything was done right.
We had quite a bit of trouble getting it going. I didn't want to take it apart since it might void any warranty so it sits in my garage. It runs for a few seconds to a few minutes at a time and just dies for no reason. One time I got it to run for an hour and it did an amazing job but that just shows me more what it is I am missing out on.
I would have given it one star but when it worked it did a great job so I am being generous.
AVOID this product.
Now I get to see how well Northern Tool stands behind its products. Wish me luck. :D
"
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer faulty?
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
jsneed
Oak Island 
 
Please wait while more information about jsneed is loaded.
Additional information about jsneed could not be loaded.
Too lean
July 19, 2012
"It's running too lean. The oscillating governor gives it away. Might want to check you carb bowl and see if there is trash in it and take a look at the pick up jet that sucks fuel from the bottom of the bowl. I had a Briggs that did the exact same thing. Cleaned the crud from the bowl and checked the jet. Runs fine now."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
ArthurSenior
 
Please wait while more information about ArthurSenior is loaded.
Additional information about ArthurSenior could not be loaded.
Great Review!
July 15, 2012
"I own this very pressure washer and have upgraded it with several new accessories. I have put at least 6-hours of use on it and its still running strong today!
The problem you might be having is that the low oil shutdown sensor is activating. I would highly recommend you check the oil level on your engine, should be all the way up on the dip stick.
Regarding the engine's strange behavior when you were first starting it, and the slight surging behavior, your carb might be a bit varnished from stale gas.
Remove the carburetor bowl off of the carb by removing the nut on the bottom. Clean out the bowl and the carburetor insides with carb/choke cleaner.
After you clean your carb and you insure your oil level is at the top, your engine should run like a top like it does for me.
I guess there is always a possibility of a faulty oil shutdown sensor, but they are usually pretty reliable in my experience.
The oil shutdown sensor is located on the left side of the engine near the on/off switch. Its a black box looking object.
This is my opinion based on 15-years experience as a small engine mechanic."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unreliable, but might have been a lemon...

,
October 17, 2011
By trailadventures
from Texas
"Out of the box, oil and fresh gas in, started after several pulls. That was the one and only time. Four of us at the fire station could not get it to start again. Had to take it back and exchange for a NorthStar, which starts each and every time. I've read good reviews so maybe I just got a lemmon? NT guys always great and trated me right."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Power Washer Cracked Head

,
September 8, 2011
By KarenWalk
from Knoxville, TN
"My Current Pressure Washer - Honda Engine 2500 PSI was meeting a repair cost to where it was recomended that I purchase a new one. It needed Pump and Carb Replacemet for about 250.00 in cost .
I purchased a new 3000 PSI Powerhouse PW . 157711C. When I got home and unpacked a noticed an oil sheen on the bottom of the box. I assumed that might have leaked upon shipping . After a short assemebly , I filled the Pressure Washer with oil. I noticed oil comming out of the left side of the block, above the oil pan. Looks like a crack in the engine and not the pan. I called the local Northern Tool store. They were very helpful and said they would take care of it. I am on my way to return it. My recomendation is to unpack the box at the store and look for signs of leakage before you make the trek home . Unit has good reviews but this looks like it has happened to a few other folks. Hopefully second time is a charm.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Product - Missing Parts

,
August 14, 2012
By DRW1
from georgia
"Product was easy to assemble and started third pull. When I went to use the pressure was low. I noticed that the spray nozzle was leaking out the back and out the connector. Called the first time with no help. Called back and person knew exactly a rubber o-ring was missing. Got replacement part.
Also the oil leaks out the top so be prepared for a mess. Thanks to previous reviews I was prepared. Only other strange thing is Customer Service for Powerhorse is M-F from 8-5 EST so be prepared to talk to them on your lunch hour if you're a working stiff.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Powerhorse Pressure Washer Review

,
June 1, 2010
By JimboinThurmont
from Thurmont, MD
"Works great, although the nozzles seem to keep popping off. An o - ring on the inside flies out that has to be re-inserted. Also o-ring leaked for the pressure adjustment, but my neighbor just re-seated it and works fine now. Good performance overall, but minor annoyances keep occurring."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

powerhorse pressure washer

,
June 1, 2010
By yardman1
from Pelzer south carolina
"This pressure washer was easy to start and use all around the house.Would like to have a basket to put the soap jug in so it would make it easer to move around i keep forgetting about it when i move it"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent pressure washer

,
February 5, 2014
By RoverBuilder
from Raleigh NC
"I've had this (actually the previous design) pressure washer for about 3 years now. It has worked great and has good power. The only issues I've had with it is that the guns keep breaking. The first gun broke within 20 minutes of using it. The manager of the store replaced the gun for me and that one lasted about 2 years. I finally bought a 4,200psi rated run and 50 hose and everything seems to be working well.
I think this is a good pressure washer and much better than the ones with the integrated pumps. But I would recommend getting a better gun and a longer hose."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Washer for the money

,
February 4, 2014
By ARG27
from Atlanta, GA
"I liked the price, which is what attracted me to this washer. I needed something for occasional use so didn't want to invest a lot. This unit was easy to set up and works well for home use. May not be good for daily, professional use, but great unit for the occasional home owner use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

,
September 17, 2013
By sotypetome
from Liberty NY
"I purchased this product to help me around the house and small farm that I own. I have used it for many things includeing washing the deck of my concrete pool and front porch. It has been an awsome product that was easy to start and easy to maintain."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the money!

,
October 16, 2012
By GolfcartGuy
from Moscow, PA
"I have owned this pressure washer for a couple years now with very little downsides. I will start with the bad:
The pump quit on me after about a year and the trigger stopped working shortly after. Now, there is an oil leak somewhere on the engine or the new pump. I contacted northern tool and they promptly replaced the parts that are covered with fast shipping. I do use this pressure washer A LOT. Whenever I wash something, whether it be my truck, family cars, house, deck, sidewalks, atv, or my golf cart, I use the pressure washer. I'll use it many times a week or hardly at all. It has held up very well for what I put it through. One thing I have noticed with these small tires, even on my generator and other pressure washer, the tires never hold air. they like to go flat all the time. No big deal to me because I don't drive on them. The Power-horse engine has the power and does start easy. 3000 PSI is adjustable on the new pump northern sent me. It does use a lot of fuel when the engine is under full load from the pump so have some gas handy. I would buy another one. What are you waiting for, BUY ONE!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
23out of 30found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolApril 16, 2013
The new line of Powerhorse cold water pressure washers have been upgraded for improved performance. This review and all prior reviews are from the previous model.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value

,
October 15, 2012
By TheStone
from Ocean County NJ
"Great little pressure washer. Siding, concrete, patio furniture, fiberglass deck, perfect for all my odd jobs. My only complaint is with the detergent injector, it doesn't work just like with every presses washer I have ever used."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pressure washer

,
October 8, 2012
By vrod
from Texas
"Pressure washer does a good job. It has a low oil safety so you can't start the engine if it is low on oil. The handle is a little short. I am 5'9" and I have to stoop to pull it along. The wand could be a few inches longer, but it is ok. I will probably buy a longer one. I put the rubber feet on it and they vibrated off after one use. I would buy it again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3000 psi pressure washer

,
August 21, 2012
By FYYFF
from Hollywood, MD
"It took me about a 1/2 hour to put together, not too bad. once I got it running it worked great, if it wasn't moving I washed it. Not bad on gas, pretty easy to start, overall, a good prodouct. the only thing I would reccomend is that you make sure you purge the air out of the water hoses before you start the engine"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice

,
August 20, 2012
By kshepheard
from sc
"Good pump and motor bad handle, on the third one.
first one lasted an hour, the second about the same. hope third time is a charm.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, 208cc
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good unit,but there are issues...

,
May 14, 2012
By rorodad
from Plainview, NY
"Used this pressure washer for the first time last week. Took about 10 pulls to get it going. Used the washer for about 2 hours with no issues ,then noticed oil dripping from under the pump. Pressure washer is now in for servicing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.