Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"

Item# 1577110
"This Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer makes quick work of tough cleaning jobs on decks, driveways, vehicles, siding, fences, lawn equipment and more. 2.5 GPM of cleaning power blasts through virtually any debris you encounter, including dirt, grime, mold and mildew. Adjustable Pressure Yes, Cart Push-down style steel cart, Drive Direct, Engine Powerhorse, Engine Displacement cc 208, Chemical Injector Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 27 1/2 x 23 x 37 3/4, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.80, Fuel Type Gasoline, Gross Torque 10.0 ft. lbs., Engine Oil Included No, Engine Oil Type SAE30, Flow GPM 2.5, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Max. Output Water Temp F 140, Nozzle Type Quick-connect, Gun 3-ft. lance, Hose 25-ft. black high-pressure, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Pump Oil Included Yes, Pump Oil Type SAE 30 nondetergent, Thermal Protector Yes, Orifice Size 3.0, Pump Axial, Coupler Size in. 22mm, Pressure PSI 3,000. Powerhorse 208cc OHV engine with cast iron sleeve Direct drive axial pump with forged brass manifold Easy Start prevents pressure buildups for smoother, easier recoil pulling Engine's horizontal shaft design lasts up to five times longer than vertical shaft engines Push-down steel style cart for smooth, balanced maneuvering 10in. pneumatic tires Adjustable pressure for greater job versatility Easy Start for smoother, easier recoil pulling Thermal protection prevents pump from overheating Adjustable pressure provides greater versatility 22mm hose connection and downstream chemical injector Includes 25-ft. high-pressure hose, 3-ft. lance, high-pressure nozzle and detergent nozzle Full-featured accessory kit available, Item# 720150, sold separately"
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
6 of 14(43%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Review 1 for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

,
March 11, 2015
By
from forsyth, ga
" very reliable even under extreme conditions. do yourself a favor and replace spring clamp @ fuel shut off valve with worm gear type to prevent fuel leaking onto on/off switch! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 2 for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good buy, good support from manufacturer

,
February 24, 2015
By
from Tampa
" Starts easy, runs quiet, very powerful. Hose is inexpensive and can melt if touches the exhaust. Otherwise nice unit for the price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 3 for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rough start

,
October 28, 2014
By
from Atlanta, GA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Got this product home on a Saturday afternoon. Assembly was more complex then I expected, but manageable. Put air in the tires and found one had a 1" tear in the inner-tube right next to the valve stem. Patching was not successful and the nearest NT to me is too far. So I was not able to try the product out for 2 days until I picked up a new tube at the local mower shop. Very frustrating. However the washer does a heck of a good job, so I am happy with it. Hopefully it will last us many years. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Gas leak and busted hose...

,
August 3, 2013
By
from Charlottesville, VA
" The washer went together pretty well and the instructions were fairly easy to follow.
I filled with oil and gas, thankfully I left the gas shutoff valve in the off position. I turned on the water, purged the air from the lines and then turned on the gas. That's when trouble started because the gas line was torn right near the shutoff. The hose was cut so short that when I cut the bad section it was not long enough. After a trip to buy some gas line and re-installing the washer started and I began using it.
After only 30-45 minutes the pressure washer hose blew out so now I have to call Northern Tool to order a replacement. I hope that goes well! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Product - Missing Parts

,
August 14, 2012
By
from georgia
" Product was easy to assemble and started third pull. When I went to use the pressure was low. I noticed that the spray nozzle was leaking out the back and out the connector. Called the first time with no help. Called back and person knew exactly a rubber o-ring was missing. Got replacement part.
Also the oil leaks out the top so be prepared for a mess. Thanks to previous reviews I was prepared. Only other strange thing is Customer Service for Powerhorse is M-F from 8-5 EST so be prepared to talk to them on your lunch hour if you're a working stiff.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Works great, when it works.

,
July 13, 2012
By
from IN
" I bought this product in the winter on sale and had not had a chance to use it till the summer.
It wasn't to hard to put together but I had a mechanic friend there to ensure everything was done right.
We had quite a bit of trouble getting it going. I didn't want to take it apart since it might void any warranty so it sits in my garage. It runs for a few seconds to a few minutes at a time and just dies for no reason. One time I got it to run for an hour and it did an amazing job but that just shows me more what it is I am missing out on.
I would have given it one star but when it worked it did a great job so I am being generous.
AVOID this product.
Now I get to see how well Northern Tool stands behind its products. Wish me luck. :D
"
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Powerhorse Gas-Powered Pressure Washer faulty?
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
jsneed
Oak Island 
 
Please wait while more information about jsneed is loaded.
Additional information about jsneed could not be loaded.
Too lean
July 19, 2012
" It's running too lean. The oscillating governor gives it away. Might want to check you carb bowl and see if there is trash in it and take a look at the pick up jet that sucks fuel from the bottom of the bowl. I had a Briggs that did the exact same thing. Cleaned the crud from the bowl and checked the jet. Runs fine now. "
0points
Customer Avatar
ArthurSenior
 
Please wait while more information about ArthurSenior is loaded.
Additional information about ArthurSenior could not be loaded.
Great Review!
July 15, 2012
" I own this very pressure washer and have upgraded it with several new accessories. I have put at least 6-hours of use on it and its still running strong today!
The problem you might be having is that the low oil shutdown sensor is activating. I would highly recommend you check the oil level on your engine, should be all the way up on the dip stick.
Regarding the engine's strange behavior when you were first starting it, and the slight surging behavior, your carb might be a bit varnished from stale gas.
Remove the carburetor bowl off of the carb by removing the nut on the bottom. Clean out the bowl and the carburetor insides with carb/choke cleaner.
After you clean your carb and you insure your oil level is at the top, your engine should run like a top like it does for me.
I guess there is always a possibility of a faulty oil shutdown sensor, but they are usually pretty reliable in my experience.
The oil shutdown sensor is located on the left side of the engine near the on/off switch. Its a black box looking object.
This is my opinion based on 15-years experience as a small engine mechanic. "
0points
Customer Comments
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

2 years been in shop 3 times

,
June 9, 2012
By
from Byron, MN
" Bought a little over 2 years ago, heading to shop for 3rd time. One time just flat out would not start... took into shop and they got it going. Cheap handle, wand would not open the valve (Northern replaced for free), now the washer has very little pressure. Not sure if it is the pump or something else so back to shop.
When it works, it is a nice little pressure washer. But for as little hours as the thing has on it, I have had 3 different issues. Frustrated. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Worth The Hassle

,
May 8, 2012
By
from North Carolina
" I have had the the unit for about two months and have used it about 4-5 times and have already had several issues with it including having it stall out while using it, orings going prematurely, causing it to spray water out through the brass screws at the outlet ports. I have also had the drain port oil plug vibrate loose causing it to spit out oil all over my decking
In addition the unit itself has several design deficiencies. First of all is the burn zone. When starting the motor it is easy to want to place your hand on the muffler. The muffler is at the top and right above the pull cord. It is natural palce to want to put hand down there as you pull to start the engine. You have to be aware of where the muffler is and making sure you keep body parts and the hose away from it at all times while using it or restarting it.
The pump drain plugs is right above the frame making it awkward to get a wrench in there and change the pump oil. You need a very small low profile container that you have to hold while unscrewing the pump drain plug, otherwise you end up with oil everywhere. To check the pump oil level you have to remove the breather valve.
The breather valave has the nut head machined into it at the base. The flats for the wrench sit below the fins on the pump. this makes it difficult to get a wrench in there and grab the flats of the nut.
More than likely most people when trying to remove the breather valave will end up rounding off the corners of the nut flats. I ended up taking some vynil gloves and wrapping them around the neck and using light pressure with vice grips to remove the breather valve. The vynl gove was used to protect the surface of the breather valave so that I wouldn't crush or gouge the neck of the breather valve.
if you chosse to buy the unit: When starting or stopping the unit make sure the drain plug is tight, keep addiional o-rings on hand and make sure you have some low profile containers, rags or other materail to absorb the oil that spills when changing it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unreliable, but might have been a lemon...

,
October 17, 2011
By
from Texas
" Out of the box, oil and fresh gas in, started after several pulls. That was the one and only time. Four of us at the fire station could not get it to start again. Had to take it back and exchange for a NorthStar, which starts each and every time. I've read good reviews so maybe I just got a lemmon? NT guys always great and trated me right. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Power Washer Cracked Head

,
September 8, 2011
By
from Knoxville, TN
" My Current Pressure Washer - Honda Engine 2500 PSI was meeting a repair cost to where it was recomended that I purchase a new one. It needed Pump and Carb Replacemet for about 250.00 in cost .
I purchased a new 3000 PSI Powerhouse PW . 157711C. When I got home and unpacked a noticed an oil sheen on the bottom of the box. I assumed that might have leaked upon shipping . After a short assemebly , I filled the Pressure Washer with oil. I noticed oil comming out of the left side of the block, above the oil pan. Looks like a crack in the engine and not the pan. I called the local Northern Tool store. They were very helpful and said they would take care of it. I am on my way to return it. My recomendation is to unpack the box at the store and look for signs of leakage before you make the trek home . Unit has good reviews but this looks like it has happened to a few other folks. Hopefully second time is a charm.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

JUNk

,
June 5, 2011
By
" I've been trying to start this thing for three hours. If it ever starts, Ill let you know how or it it works. Spen the few extra bucks and get a brand name. its worth it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-8points
2out of 12found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
pgk82246
prudenville,mi. 
 
Please wait while more information about pgk82246 is loaded.
Additional information about pgk82246 could not be loaded.
check out reviews before buying product
June 24, 2011
" from what I have read in previous reviews, the factory does not put oil in to ship. the unit has a low oil shut off so you don't run on low oil.you have to fill unit with oil, then should start by 2nd pull. "
0points
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO POWER !!!!!!

,
April 21, 2011
By
from KELLER, TX
" I bought one of these to do my driveway.....
I spent 2 hours and got nothing done !!!!
don't buy this washer or any of these models.
JUNK.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-28points
2out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Powerhorse Pressure Washer Review

,
June 1, 2010
By
from Thurmont, MD
" Works great, although the nozzles seem to keep popping off. An o - ring on the inside flies out that has to be re-inserted. Also o-ring leaked for the pressure adjustment, but my neighbor just re-seated it and works fine now. Good performance overall, but minor annoyances keep occurring. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "Powerhorse Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 1577110"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

powerhorse pressure washer

,
June 1, 2010
By
from Pelzer south carolina
" This pressure washer was easy to start and use all around the house.Would like to have a basket to put the soap jug in so it would make it easer to move around i keep forgetting about it when i move it "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points