Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440

NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440

Item# 15775440
This NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer is great for cleaning vehicles, driveways, boats, siding, lawn equipment and more. Powered by a reliable Honda GC190 OHC engine featuring a horizontal shaft design to last up to five times longer than vertical shaft engines. The high-quality Comet AXD pump features a forged brass manifold and thermal protector for added durability and protection. NorthStar pressure washers undergo thousands of hours of rigorous testing to ensure peak performance, plus include an industry-leading warranty to give you extra peace of mind. Adjustable Pressure Yes, Cart Push-down style steel cart, Drive Direct, Engine Displacement cc 187, Engine Model GC190 OHC, Chemical Injector Downstream, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Flow GPM 2.5, Fuel Type Gasoline, Gross Torque 8.3, Engine Oil Included No, Engine Oil Type SAE30, Low Oil Shutdown No, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Max. Output Water Temp F 140, Nozzle Type Five quick-couple, Gun 3-ft. lance, Hose 25-ft. nonmarking high-pressure, Pump Oil Included Yes, Thermal Protector Yes, Orifice Size 3.0, Pressure PSI 3,000, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.475, Engine Honda, Pump Oil Type Universal tractor transmission oil, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 21.5 x 38, Pump Comet AXD. Honda GC190 187cc OHC engine for quiet, reliable performance Comet AXD direct drive axial pump for efficiency and durability Engine's horizontal shaft design lasts up to five times longer life than vertical shaft engines Easy Start prevents pressure buildups for smoother, easier recoil pulling Adjustable pressure provides greater versatility Removable NorthStar nozzle holder system attaches to pressure washer or user's belt Welded push-down style steel cart with extended handle for smooth, balanced maneuvering Easy-roll 10in. pneumatic tires Sight glass allows for quick, convenient pump oil checks 0.475-gallon gas tank 3/8in. quick connection Includes 25-ft. nonmarking high-pressure hose, 3-ft. lance, downstream chemical injector, five professional quick-couple nozzles 0, 15, 25, 40 and chemical/soap Full-featured accessory kit available, Item# 720151, sold separately 90-day commercial 3-year consumer limited warranty
Average Customer Rating:
4.86 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (100 reviews)
5 stars
88
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
100 of 100(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Review 1 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Top Quality - Tip Holder Not So Good

,
August 5, 2014
By JBNH
from Pittsfield, NH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This thing works great. The Honda motor starts easy and runs smooth and quiet. I got about an hour and a half on a tank of gas; good time to take a break and refuel. My only complaint is that the tips don't stay secure in the holder when the unit is running, and the belt clip is a little silly. The magnetic mount is good for storage, but no good when running and a little sketchy for transport.
That being said, I did a 20 year old 15' x 15' deck with a second story staircase and fencing in 2 hours with water only.I would definitely buy again, and am considering buying one for my business.The adjustable pressure out is a plus.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing washer

,
July 29, 2014
By Cricket22
from Hartford, CT
"I just bought my second North Star washer. Had the first one for 12 years and it was great. However, recently I let my son use it and he is the handy person in the family, and takes care of all equipment; lawn mower, chain saws, blowers, etc. So after he used it and returned it I assumed that everything was ok and just started the washer, motor worked fine, except oil in pump was low. I usually check oil in pump and motor but was in a hurry and neglected to do so. Therefore, blew the pump. As the saying goes. never assume anything as that will make .....etc. Instead of getting a new pump figured I would spend a few extra bucks and get a whole new unit. They updated the model a little but it is still the same reliable washer as the previous one. and the cost is still affordable. Great product. Have enjoyed using North Star products during the years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality product

,
July 27, 2014
By MatthewTampa
from Tampa, FL
"I have used for several hours now and it works well, is not too loud, plenty of pressure.
Happy with the purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

North Star Pressure Washer

,
July 24, 2014
By JDoe
from High Desert
"I started looking at cheaper units and then settled on this one. After reading a lot of info on the web, the most common advice was to buy a unit with a good pump. The pump is the weakest link in these systems. A good pump can be rebuilt. The motor on this unit is not the top end Honda motor, but it will outlast any cheap pump. I used this unit for several days pressure washing paint off of the eves and trim. you have to be careful not to overdo it or it will cut into the wood, but the paint does fly off. A great machine for a good price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grease the Wheels

,
July 19, 2014
By GT150
from Wisconsin
"I wrote a very positive review but have noticed one item since then. There are grease zerks on the wheels but they were totally void of any grease! After a couple uses, the wheels were squeaking and I noticed they were completely dry. After about 10+ shots of grease each, the rather lose bearings filled up and all was good. There is nothing in the maintenance manual about greasing the wheels but I would add 2-3 shots of grease every season."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wgate

,
July 16, 2014
By WGate
from New York
"Good power and easy to move around. Very nice machine The only problem was a bent part the handle attaches to.which made it difficult to attach handle."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great

,
June 21, 2014
By bhbh74
from montana
"Its a good home machine,i the only problem I have with it, is the adapters from the gun to the house. I had to replace them, they leaked so bad I got soaked trying to wash any thing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works every time

,
June 11, 2014
By gtthrills
from Iowa
"I would highly recommend this pressure washer! It works every time and does a great job! It took light rust off a car frame, cleans the combine every fall, strips dirt-oil-grime off our tractors and does anything else I need it to do. Don't waste your time with a cheap product, buy a good one like this to get the job done."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for price

,
June 9, 2014
By Chuck48
from Silver Spprings, NV
"This is a replacement for a smaller electric pressure washer. Used for cleaning siding and screens on 2 homes as well as a small tractor used to maintain 10 acres of dessert ground. Starts on 1 pull and runs so smooth it is a joy to use. More than enough pressure to get things clean without wasting water in our dessert area."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great powerwasher

,
June 8, 2014
By padirtfarmer
from pa
"This replaced a CH 2000PSI (??) washer. NO comparison. The Northern is way more powerful and has assortment of tips and easy on/off fittings on the hose. Easy start engine and works great. Very satisfied, have used on mower deck, tractor, porch deck, and loaned to our summer camp to wash down the pool. Great value compared to big box models."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer

,
June 7, 2014
By Elkpond
from Conifer, CO
"It was received in excellent condition and quickly. Piece of cake putting it together. Put oil in the engine and it fired up on the second pull. It has lots of pressure and works great. It's a lot quieter that my last pressure washer. Great price and well worth the $."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
June 2, 2014
By Bubba5
from Michigan
"Have owned for about a month and used 5-6 times so far. It starts easily and works as advertised. The nozzle tray sometimes vibrates out of its slot, but a bit of duct tape has fixed that. Overall, it is a rugged unit and I expect to use it for years.I bought the pressure gauge, but found I don't need it. You control the force by distance from the work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
May 28, 2014
By ArkyDawg
from Mountain Home, Arkansas
"Packed Well. Easy assembly. Added oil and gas to the brand new Honda engine, pulled the choke, started first pull ! Amazing how far gasoline engines have come over the years. Blasted ALL the grime off the concrete patio like it was melting butter. Have owned 3 pressure washers in my life. Each has lasted approx 10 years. We will see about the pump, but expect the motor on this one to last longer than that using a good quality synthetic oil. Water volume from the pump is adequate and machine is perfect for any homeowner. Step up a notch or 2 to a CAT pump if you are a Pro and use it all the time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

QUALITY MACHINE

,
May 22, 2014
By APD1
from VINELAND,NJ
"The product performs flawlessly. The engine is powerful and the pump strong. The only minor observation is the device that holds the nozzles allows them to fall out when the machine is in operation."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

power washer - 3000

,
May 18, 2014
By Southpoint
from Berlin, Maryland
"Good overall product for home use {retired}.
Would suggest a better way to store plastic tube when not in use.
Also, there could be a better way to store the pressure hose for storage and moving unit from place to place.
Otherwise does an adequate job.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked very well

,
May 10, 2014
By aslann
from MA
"Arrived without damage. All of the parts were in the box. Went together easily. A small funnel would have helped putting in the oil. Right from the qt bottle, it ran down and made a mess, but I cleaned it up. Started right up with 4-5 pulls as the gas was drawn through to the engine. After it ran out of gas it started again on the 2nd pull. Has a lot of kick with the green tip, don't know about the others. Not a one handed unit. The pre mounted wheels feel like they need grease in the bearings or at the axle. Cleaned as I expected, better than my old 1300psi electric. I highly recommend this unit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Graceful Under Pressure

,
May 8, 2014
By Chas98045
from NW Washington
"I did a lot of research on consumer and commercial grade pressure washers prior to purchasing this NorthStar unit. Important considerations included a Honda engine, rebuildable horizontal drive pump unit, adjustable outlet pressure and the ability to use non-proprietary commercial-grade lances/attachments.
This machine met all my criteria and meets my needs quite well. A very well made unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

press washer 3000 lb honda power

,
May 7, 2014
By agr1
from Pa n west
"very good.one problem engine mount came loose,retighten
& are good.changed recoil start to other side.easy to get
to.would buy again/
A
ps could use longer hose
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Machine

,
April 11, 2014
By 5151
from winston salem, nc
"I like the performance of the machine real well. The only complaint I have is that the wheels squeaks like heck every time I move it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

professional

,
February 5, 2014
By lakebum
from Knoxville, TN
"Excellent product! This is my second one of these.(my first one was stolen) The motor is very powerful and it starts very easily. This pressure washer has all the power that I need around the house and farm. You won't be dissapointed!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.