Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440

NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440

Item# 15775440
This NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer is great for cleaning vehicles, driveways, boats, siding, lawn equipment and more. Powered by a reliable Honda GC190 OHC engine featuring a horizontal shaft design to last up to five times longer than vertical shaft engines. The high-quality Comet BXD pump features a forged brass manifold and thermal protector for added durability and protection. NorthStar pressure washers undergo thousands of hours of rigorous testing to ensure peak performance, plus include an industry-leading warranty to give you extra peace of mind. Pressure PSI 3,000, Engine Displacement cc 187, Cart Push-down style steel cart, Chemical Injector Downstream, Engine Oil Type SAE30, Hose 25-ft. nonmarking high-pressure, Pump Oil Included Yes, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.475, Gross Torque 8.3, Engine Model GC190 OHC, Engine Honda, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Pump Oil Type Universal tractor transmission oil, Pump Comet BXD, Flow GPM 2.5, Orifice Size 3.0, Nozzle Type Five quick-couple, Gun 3-ft. lance, Low Oil Shutdown No, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Max. Output Water Temp F 140, Adjustable Pressure Yes, Fuel Type Gasoline, Thermal Protector Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 21.5 x 38, Drive Direct, Engine Oil Included No. Honda GC190 187cc OHC engine for quiet, reliable performance Comet BXD direct drive axial pump for efficiency and durability Engine's horizontal shaft design lasts up to five times longer life than vertical shaft engines Easy Start prevents pressure buildups for smoother, easier recoil pulling Adjustable pressure provides greater versatility Removable NorthStar nozzle holder system attaches to pressure washer or user's belt Welded push-down style steel cart with extended handle for smooth, balanced maneuvering Easy-roll 10in. pneumatic tires Sight glass allows for quick, convenient pump oil checks 0.475-gallon gas tank 3/8in. quick connection Includes 25-ft. nonmarking high-pressure hose, 3-ft. lance, downstream chemical injector, five professional quick-couple nozzles 0, 15, 25, 40 and chemical/soap Full-featured accessory kit available, Item# 720151, sold separately 90-day commercial 3-year consumer limited warranty
Average Customer Rating:
4.902 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (82 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
82 of 82(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Review 1 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Machine

,
April 11, 2014
By 5151
from winston salem, nc
"I like the performance of the machine real well. The only complaint I have is that the wheels squeaks like heck every time I move it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

professional

,
February 5, 2014
By lakebum
from Knoxville, TN
"Excellent product! This is my second one of these.(my first one was stolen) The motor is very powerful and it starts very easily. This pressure washer has all the power that I need around the house and farm. You won't be dissapointed!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good pressure washer

,
February 4, 2014
By OldFogy
from Union Valley, NY
"The experience with the washer has been great! Directions for assembly & set-up were a snap. Living in cold country I thought that winter would be a problem with water in the pump, but it turned out to be a simple task with RV antifreeze. The only negative is the nozzles vibrate out of their holder while operating the machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power Washer

,
February 4, 2014
By 1Okie
from Rush Springs, ok
"Quality power washer, works excellent I use it to was my Rhino off after riding and just use it around the house on various things. Has plenty of power and starts on the 1st pull every time.
Very happy with this power washer
No complaint at all with it"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great washer for the price!

,
February 4, 2014
By Colonel276
from Des Moines IA
"I love this little Machine! with different tips I can do anything that I want to do!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Complete Satisfaction

,
October 13, 2013
By Buggyman
from Franklin, NC
"This pressure washer is the best! I purchased it after I made the mistake of buying a different unit from another supplier and was totally disappointed with it. All of the problems I had disappeared once I returned it and purchased this NorthStar machine. From the stout design of the frame, which is very easy to move around, to the Comet pump / Honda motor configuration. One of the best things about it is that it starts on the first or second pull. Overall, in my opinion, it is the best one out there for the money. I did spend a little more on it than the last one but I certainly learned that you get what you pay for. Do yourself a favor and just go to Northern in the first place. I have never been disappointed with any of the many items I have purchased there over the years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Power Washer

,
October 9, 2013
By CR12
from Shelby,NC
"This is a great pressure washer. It is the easiest starting engine I have ever used. It will start on the first pull. Has great pressure and light weight enough to for one person to handle"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power to the washer in OKC!

,
August 10, 2013
By Tybo20
from Edmond,OK
"I love this power washer, easy to use, very powerful, not only am I impressed with the power washer,I'm very impressed with the knowledgable staff at store, well be coming back soon! Top notch staff at northern tool in OKC!!!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Choice Residential pressure washer

,
June 3, 2013
By Tgree
from WA State
"I generally don't write reviews when so many reviews that I feel are accurate, such as with this product, are already written. The reason I am today is the man-crush I have for this pressure washer. I have had my 10 yr old Excel (big box store bought) pressure washer that I thought was a good one. 2500 psi (not that I was actually getting that much) 6.5 hp made me feel as though it was adequate. What my amateur self (did not research) didn't know when I paid 300.00 for it was yea it has a 6.5 hp motor, but it is a briggs and stratton and I couldn't tell you what kind of pump it has.
Now the north star beauty; 190 cc Honda (more than just a name in Honda's case) and the awesome, proven comet BXD pump, for just 159.00 (on sale for 459.00 at the time) more. My old excel was never really reliable due to varying water pressure output and the motor was getting finicky as well the last couple years. This beast starts up first pull and the pressure is constant. The pressure, by the way, surprised me the first use and the wand almost shot out of my hand. That is not an exaggeration in the least. It easily stripped the mold/mud off my driveway, during a 4hr. session, and didn't vary at all in pressure.
Do yourself a favor and get THIS pressure washer. I tried to avoid the shipping charges from Northern Tool (fair price but other sellers offered cheaper) but the problem I found was the combination of the Honda motor and the Comet BXD pump didn't exist with other sellers. The pump, I believe, is the best for residential available. The cart the pressure washer is mounted on is quality heavy duty steel tubing, the wheels are quality complete with Zerk fitting for easy grease maintenance, and there is a oil drain on both sides of the motor with a cutout on one side so you don't have to drain the oil on the cart.
Some possible additions to consider at time of purchase- General Pump Pressure Washer Trigger Spray Gun — 5000 PSI, 10.5 GPM, Weeping to replace the gun that comes with the pressure washer. This item will not only protect the gun in freezing temps. but more importantly protect your pump from heat and pressure build up when the motor is running and you are not spraying. It is recommended that if you are not spraying you should turn off the motor. With the supplied 25 foot hose, moving your pressure washer is inevitable, not to mention the numerous other reasons to stop spraying momentarily. With this and a few fittings and another tube (maybe 25.00 not including gun) you know your pump will be protected for the long haul. I could keep going but you have probably already lost interest in this review due to the length so thats it for now.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product for the price

,
April 23, 2013
By retro
from colorado
"Old pressure washer bit the dust. Used it forever. Needed a reliable washer to do all the jobs I do around the home and for others. Jobs include washing autos, redwood decks, engines, outside of homes, blinds and many more items. This washer is great for the above jobs. Always starts and has variable pressure depending on how I use and set it up. Ease of setup was a must. Wife uses it also. Would purchase it again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

northern star pressure washer

,
October 15, 2012
By jay407
from florida
"i am a zillion percent happy with this pressure washer.i used it dozens of times and also for a jewish temple.and it is amazing the temple has been there for so long that when i rented a pressure washer stains would not come up.everything came up with this one.i love it.and i also like the fact that you can bring it in person and have it fixed and not have to send it off.all i can say is thumbs up to the gentleman who referred it to me to buy.thanks northern star i will always get my purchases from you in the future.from a very well satisfied customer and thankful.jay"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolFebruary 15, 2013
The new line of NorthStar cold water pressure washers have been upgraded for improved performance. This review and all prior reviews are from the previous model.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Pressure Washer

,
September 24, 2012
By DFToolGuy
from Kent, WA
"I recently purchased this pressure washer for home use and am extremely happy with the purchase. I just finished painting the exterior of my home and used this pressure washer to wash and remove the dirt/loose paint from the exterior of the house. The pressure washer worked great with plenty of power! Starts on the first pull and is very easy to operate! This is a fantastic home owner's pressure washer and should last a long time! I highly recommend it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power Plus +

,
August 20, 2012
By RNNY
from Phoenix, NY
"Great power for cleaning concrete, lawn mower decks and siding. I've only had this unit since last November, 2011, but already have accomplished more than with the one it replaced after 5 years. Many great features including adjustable pressure valve, long lasting brass pump (aluminum pump corroded on old unit and became unuseable). Pump on this unit is easily replaceable if needed (you won't need to). Honda engine is powerfull enough for any homeowner's task and starts on the first pull; great all-around unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure washer

,
August 13, 2012
By fisherman66
from Kannapolis, NC
"pressure washer assembled very easy with decent instructions. worked very well. I used it on the house, shed and deck. It did a very good job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hard working pressure washer

,
August 13, 2012
By Nechdm56
from Jacksonville, FL
"Great product, easy to put together, simple to operate and great fit & finish. The Honda motor was one of the main reasons for choosing this pressure washer. Strong and dependable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent unit

,
August 13, 2012
By tomatoman
from Minneapolis, MN
"This washer is well engineered and has operated flawlessly for me. Starts on one pull and has plenty of power. Excellent value!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should have bought this the first time!

,
June 1, 2012
By jrf1071
from Texas Hill Country
"This is a replacement for a smaller "consumer" electric, mostly all plastic, power washer. Man, is this thing the way to go! Yes, it is not cheap, but as the saying goes, you get what you pay for. This puppy will probably last longer than me. It is solid, all steel, brass, aluminum and very little plastic. Built like a tank. And that Honda motor runs like a baby Ferrari. Starts every time, first pull. This thing has all the power you need for around the house. Be sure and get the extra nozzle package(part#26451), they are indispensable. Highly recommended. It will give you years of service and keep your casa clean and spotless!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is everything other reviewers say

,
May 9, 2012
By hardatit1
from Findlay, Oh
"First, great assistance from Northern Tool while trying to decide.
Second, arrived on time and in good condition.
Third, set up was easy. Only takes a few minutes.
Fourth, it stared on second pull and it starts on first or second pull whether it is hot or cold. The quality of unit is excellent. It is very powerfull compared to the 2200 psi unit I had from a different manufacturer. You will need to buy the set of three extra tips and would suggest you also buy the pressure gauge that is available if you plan on adjusting the pressure since accourding to the Northern rep it is hard to determine what pressure you are getting without it. You will notice that the two spec sheets on the web site are different. I would suggest you be carefull using it on concrete driveway due to high pressure... it actually loosened some small stones on my driveway. I used the wide nozzle to clean bugs off my car and it worked great. If you haven't used a pressure washer before please keep in mind that you need to make sure you don't let the unit run for more than a minute or two without running water through it because it may burn up the pump.
As the title says.... it performs as advertised. I like it so well I bought a second unit for my cabin to clean my tractor, bulldozer, etc.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Do it yourselfer.

,
March 28, 2012
By Hgull
from Clanton Al.
"Received my washer in about 5 days from time of order. It took about 20 min to assemble. Really simple. As for what it will do, amazing. Make sure to get the blue turbo nozzle with your order. You want regret it. Oil already in pump but not in engine. Easy cranking Honda motor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15775440
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mid-range homeower pressure washer

,
January 29, 2012
By Foothills
from NW North Carolina
"I used the pressure washer for the first time today, washing two vehicles. If you're used to a commercial self-serve car wash, the power of this PW will surprise you.
The washer is built well with real rubber pneumatic wheels and a heavy frame. The Honda engine ran smoothly and started on the third pull, even brand new with no gasoline in the lines. I purchased the remaining tips since this PW only comes with the black chemical tip and the green general-purpose tip. The rubber hi-pressure hose (with quick disconnects) and gun worked well with no apparent leaking. This PW has an Italian-made Comet pump that has a sight glass and a drain plug for changing oil.
If you plan on using a PW more than once, don't buy a 299 special with a bottom-of-the-line engine and plastic wheels. Buy this one...remember, when you buy great tools you only cry once."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.