Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM

Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM

Item# 157788
Ideal for general automotive and industrial fastener removal and installation work. This rugged air ratchet has variable speed and reversing capabilities. Its paddle-style trigger provides precise speed control. The composite body helps maintain temperature while insulating vibration. Average Air Consumption CFM 3, Case Included No, CFM at Load 3, Drive in. 3/8, Inlet Size in. 1/4, Reversible Yes, Speed - No Load RPM 175, Variable Speed Yes, Max. Torque ft.-lbs. 50, Min. Hose Size in. 3/8. Adjustable exhaust vent
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
10 of 13(77%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Air Ratchet

,
November 17, 2013
By ChassisMonkey
from MN
"I have found this tool useful on many occasions. As a chassis mech, there are many tight spots to get into, as well as many, many bolts to try and turn off by hand. This tool is compact enough to fit into the bolster and remove the bolts for handles as well as putting them back in. It has made taking the hub cap bolts out on brake/seal replacements a breeze, since lately my right arm wears out quite quickly since the surgery. Yes, you can stop the ratchet from turning with your hand, but under a good load this seems to not be a problem. Overall, a fine tool with good torque and speed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very useful tool

,
August 14, 2012
By scottishhomehandyman
from columbia,sc
"This is a great home handyman air wrench. It has quickly made it's way to my go to tools because of it's light weight and balance. The price makes it a good value. As I get older, my arms get tired sooner. This is a good assistant that is always ready to go unlike my grandchildren."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Power

,
July 9, 2012
By PickerBob
from Muskego, WI
"Bought this to help breakdown an old car. Right out of the box, I knew this product was not up to the task. I could hold the socket in my hand and stop the ratchet from turning. I have a medium size compressor with 5.0 SCFM and had 90 psi going to the tool. Also bought a Klutch impact wrench and that worked great so I returned and upgraded to a Klutch ratchet which was fantastic with lots of torque and power. The old adage that you get what you pay for is true with this low cost tool. I recommend spending a few bucks more to get something that works correctly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cannot go wrong

,
June 6, 2011
By niel2112
from LI, NY
"For the price you cannot go wrong, bought this one to replace my snap-on one and it is just as tough for a 1/3 of the cost....."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Absolutely worthless - 5lbs of torque

,
May 3, 2011
By OldGeek
from Hampton, Va
"Bought this today to remove a bolt in a tight place on my Jeep. Claims to have 50lbs of torque on package. Would not budge the bolt. I grabbed the end of the ratchet with my hand and was able to keep it from spinning. They need to change the package to say 5lbs of torque. Had a full 90lbs of air on it. No torque. Would not recommend to anyone. Less torque than my 12volt Hitachi drill. Spend $10 more and get a real tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Strong Tool for the $$$$

,
June 1, 2010
By BRADinAlaska
from Homer, AK
"Have only used in once so far but was really impressed with the tool weight (metal guts), HI/LOW speed setting, and the overall torque strength. Well made overall."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT TOOL

,
February 19, 2010
By TIMF
from Sussex NJ
"GREAT TOOL BEEN USING FOR AWHILE AND ALOT OF ABUSE AT MY SHOP AND IS HOLDING UP GOOD"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Reverses itself

,
August 12, 2009
By nrhino
from Killbuck, Ohio
"I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone for any application. It has a tendency to reverse under the lightest of conditions. The only reason I gave it 1 star is because 0 stars was not an option"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

,
July 20, 2009
By bigern
"This air ratchet is very nice for the price, I would compare it to the hundred to two hundred dollar high end air ratchets but with out the high price."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

air socket wrench

,
March 17, 2009
By review34
from warren,mi
"this is a good wrench. used it on the head bolts on a lawnmower. freed those bolts up no problem. this is a good tool. im a small engine mechanic and this helps alot."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air ratchet wrench

,
March 16, 2009
By Geezer
from Extreme Southwest Georgia
"Since I have become affluent enough to be able to afford this miracle tool, I will no longer have to worry about developing arms like Pop Eye when rebuilding pontoon boats.
There must be about eleventeen zillion hex head self tapping screws used in those things that have to come out and then be replaced!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
November 19, 2008
By DTRPro
from Northern California
"I bought this to speed up maintenance on a tractor that required lots of bolt loosening/tightening to service. It works well, and I appreciate the low torque (55ft lbs.) which is well matched to the 3/8" drive. The rubberized handle gives a good gripping service, even with a greasy glove. The air consumption is a little higher than typical, but for the price, it is a great unit, and better than some costing several times as much."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Air Ratchet Wrench - 3/8in. Drive, 3 CFM, 175 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
March 21, 2008
By Ethan
from Virginia
"I purchased this product for my home garage and I am very glad that I did. It works great and is priced right for someone who does not need a $120 Air Ratchet. I have not used it more than 10 times so I don't know about durability, but so far so good. It has plenty of power and is fast too. I would highly recommend this to the "Do It Yourself" people."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.