Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"

Item# 157795
"Ideal for trimming, outlining and shearing of various sheet metal. The heavy-duty cutting blades make a clean cut in cold rolled steel up to 20-gauge. Lightweight, durable composite pistol grip for great control. The shear is ideal for body shop, sheet metal shop and machine shop. Case Included No, Cutting Capacity Aluminum gauge 14, Cuts Per Minute CPM 2,600, Min. Hose Size in. 3/8, Cutting Capacity Steel gauge 20, Air Consumption CFM 4, Cutting Capacity Sheet Metal gauge 16, Air Inlet Size in. NPT 1/4. Aluminum head with hardened steel shear blades"
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
23 of 24(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Review 1 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Tools Air shears

,
January 17, 2016
By
from Pittsburgh, Pa
These shears have worked excellent for us so far. We are using them to cut .040 aluminum sheet for a race car body and they cut smooth and effortless. These were a great buy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 2 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Air shears

,
September 22, 2014
By
from Atlanta,ga
works better than I thought it would, just need to adjust air pressure and place the tool at the correct angle and it works fine
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Tool

,
September 8, 2014
By
from Vestal NY
I am pleased with this and all tools I have purchased through Northern Tool. Quality is always good and can't beat their pricing. I will always look to Northern Tool first when tool shopping.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

,
April 28, 2014
By
from Chicago
Does nice job for the price. Fits nice in the hand. Little low on power with stainlessd.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Metal shearing

,
April 17, 2014
By
from MI
Works as advertized
Great buy
professional quality
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

air grip shears

,
February 4, 2014
By
from seacoast,nh
good price, performs very well, fits well when using, a fine addition to the tool box, makes nice clean cuts.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

#1 Nibbler

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Weimar,Texas
Used it on the construction of my metal building. It performed better than the big buck tools. I rate this product with 5+ stars. As with other shears you need to keep it clean and keep it oiled. I purchased the swivel intake connector with the shear and this made a complete all around metal cutting tool.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Tool

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Northeast PA
I purchased this tool to assist me in building two 4'Wx2'Hx10'L Chicken runs/tractors. In order to accomplish this project I was required to cut 50+ feet of 1/2 inch hardware cloth. This tool cut it like a hot knife through butter. Of course I had to clean up the mess with a huge magnet. I would highly recommend this tool for hardware cloth, flashing, and any other project that needs a lot of cutting. It is quite, doesn't use a huge amount of air, and is light weight and easy to maneuver.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best

,
February 25, 2012
By
from st.louis mo
i just purchased these shears i work as a trailer repair mechanic replacing roofs panels and so on i tried these shears out at work the day after i received them and they cut like a hot knife through butter i have used other shears and none of them cut like these do the rotating 360 degree head make it a breeze to cut in any position these shears are great and i would highly recommend them to any one from a beginner to a pro
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a Champ!

,
November 18, 2010
By
from VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I am installing a corrugated steel ceiling in my garage and needed a way to cut the material. I had heard people using a wide array of saws and even a plasma cutter. The saws would bend the material and the plasma cutter is not in the price range so the shears were the way to go. I love them, clean cuts, they don’t wander off of the line and even through the corrugated steel, minimal effort is needed. The only thing that I wish they could do is have the ability to rotate the handle 90 degrees left or right . This would prevent you from having to bend the material that you are cutting so that the air hose doesn't hit it and stop your forward progress. Outside of that, no problems or worries.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

what I expected

,
August 23, 2010
By
from Kansas city
This tool is just what I expeced for the price. Does a good job with flat sheet metal. Has a little trouble with corrigated, such as metal roofing. Overall good tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice tool

,
July 23, 2009
By
works well, a real time saver, clean edges. Takes a little time to get use to but well worth the price
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cut that metal

,
July 13, 2009
By
from McVytown, Pennsylvania
This tool is definitly worth the money you pay. It was affordable and works great! I love it, wouldn't wanna be without it! I definitly would recomend this product. So far it seems to be very safe to use, my grandson loves it, i might need to get him his own only because he always has it!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Performs better than expected.

,
November 19, 2008
By
from Lebanon Mo
Performs better than expected. Works great no issues no problems. Great value
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works good

,
November 17, 2008
By
from Janesville mn
For the price works very good, clean cuts, smooth action. Have used several times and have beem impressed with the ease of use
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pistol Grip Air Shears

,
August 18, 2008
By
from Atlanta
This is a well-made and extremely versatile tool. We've used it to cut a variety of metals and also a number of different plastic panels. The double-blade action cuts a strip of material, which must be considered in your measurements. It sounds a lot like a pneumatic impact wrench (without the hammer sound) or a pneumatic starter on a semi, so in close quarters hearing protection might be advisable. A right-angle or swiveling connector for the air hose can solve some of the clearance problems mentioned by earlier reviewers. Keep it well-oiled.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Air Shears

,
April 21, 2008
By
from Colorado
I like this tool. Heavy duty and well made. Capable of cutting everything advertised. If you don't need to cut tight curves, this is a great tool.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great results with Pistol Grip Shears

,
April 21, 2008
By
from Raleigh, NC
I purchased the pistol grip air shears several months ago when my son an I were resheeting a racecar. We have been very pleased with the capabilities of the shears and at times have cut through several sheets of 16g aluminum sheetmetal with very little difficulty. The shears work best when cutting in a straight line. Curves are a little more difficult unless they have a large arc. The angle at which you hold the shears makes a big difference we have found. the lower the back of the shear is the better and quicker it cuts. This may require that you get a 90 degree adapter for the air intake if you are cuttling long sheets of metal. We keep them oiled up after and prior to each use and they perform without flaw.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shears

,
April 19, 2008
By
from Elko, NV.
These shears are very good for the price. Awesome straight line and radius cuts, however they do struggle a bit if using them on wavy material such as metal roofing. I plan on using them for many different projects for a long time.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Pistol Grip Shears - 4 CFM, 2600 CPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works good when in works

,
January 21, 2008
By
from Wausau, WI
I really don't have any complaints about this shear except that about 3 times now in the 8 months I've had it, the motor has locked up. All you have to do is take of the head and manually rotate the motor shaft with a wrench, but it's a bit of a pain. Otherwise it works great for rip cuts, it's fast and clean.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.