Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Air Angle Grinder - 5in. Disc Capacity, 1/4in. Inlet, 5 CFM, 10,000 RPM

Northern Industrial Tools Air Angle Grinder - 5in. Disc Capacity, 1/4in. Inlet, 5 CFM, 10,000 RPM

Item# 1577960
Heavy-duty angle grinder features stall torque resistance that's twice as much as regular tools. Powerful twin-chamber motor delivers higher torque and power than that of conventional air motors and substantially increases work efficiency. The ergonomic grip handle is a textured rubber that maintains a comfortable temperature in the hand while reducing vibration. Air Inlet Size in. NPT 1/4, Disc Diameter in. 5, Air Consumption CFM 5, Speed RPM 10,000, Tool Length in. 8 3/8. Disc not included Adjustable disc shield Side exhaust vent Includes spanner wrenches
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Air Angle Grinder - 5in. Disc Capacity, 1/4in. Inlet, 5 CFM, 10,000 RPM
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Angle Grinder - 5in. Disc Capacity, 1/4in. Inlet, 5 CFM, 10,000 RPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

1 complaint, lots of positives, Good price point

,
August 27, 2014
By Jeffthegrinder
from Madison, WI
"We are a steel fabricating shop. I put one of these tools in a grinding station to compare it to a tool that is 5 times the cost of this tool. The power was similar the feel was similar. The only big complaint was that the head is not a true 90 degrees from the body. This makes it feel a little different when using the tool. The body is a little shorter than the much more expensive tools.
We have only had this tool on the floor for a couple weeks, so I cannot speak on the longevity of the tool, but it feels much more durable than similar products produced by Sioux that are about four times the cost of this unit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Angle Grinder - 5in. Disc Capacity, 1/4in. Inlet, 5 CFM, 10,000 RPM
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Stick with electric models

,
February 4, 2014
By wvuredneck
from Morgantown, WV
"For the same price and reduced time working on projects I'd stick with a nice electric grinder. Not near enough power in my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Angle Grinder - 5in. Disc Capacity, 1/4in. Inlet, 5 CFM, 10,000 RPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Medium Capacity Air Grinder

,
April 23, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"At 5" in size, it uses all of the standard 4, 4 1/2" and 5" grinding accessories. I usually keep a flap disc on mine to do finish work on body panels. It's quick (even for an air grinder) and even under load it doesn't bog down. It's not as heavy duty as my 7" version, but it definitely holds it's own and is a "best bang for the buck" version of the big grinder I use mostly for cutting."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Angle Grinder - 5in. Disc Capacity, 1/4in. Inlet, 5 CFM, 10,000 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Airsander

,
October 15, 2012
By Jr88342
from Cassville Mo
"I got a 6 in air industeral sander about 2 years ago use it a lot it has plenty of power gave no trouble , use it for cutting and grindeing good tool"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Angle Grinder - 5in. Disc Capacity, 1/4in. Inlet, 5 CFM, 10,000 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT GRINDER

,
December 26, 2011
By FLEETMAN
from CHICAGO LAND
"THIS GRINDER IS GREAT
IT'S BETTER THE CP OR I/R! TRUELY A STEAL FOR THE MONEY GREAT POWER NOT TO NOISY
WITYH THE 5/8 /8 THREAD IT FITS ALL KINGS OF WIRE BRUSHES AND DISC ALSO A 7/8 OPEN ARBOR
I BOUGHT 10 FOR OUR SHOP THE MECHANICS LOVE THEM
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Angle Grinder - 5in. Disc Capacity, 1/4in. Inlet, 5 CFM, 10,000 RPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good tool for the money

,
March 14, 2011
By jimhar
from La Crosse, WI
"For the guy at home this is a good tool. We use it in a heavy welding shop and it holds up pretty well to the abuse it takes. A spindle lock would be a great addition, but for the price, it carries a lot of value."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Angle Grinder - 5in. Disc Capacity, 1/4in. Inlet, 5 CFM, 10,000 RPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

My first air grinder

,
November 17, 2010
By practicalman
from So. Oregon
"Air tools are tough. I like that they last well and are hard to hurt. You can stall them without harm. I have a lot of air tools, this is my first air powered side grinder. I am very familiar with electric side grinders, having used them professionally for many years. This tool seems to run well. I like that you can feather the speed with it, running slow if you want to for cleaning up and weld prep work. Electric is full on, all or nothing, this thing you can vary and run it slower. This unit is not as strong or torque-y as an electric model but it runs nice and doesn't seem to use too much air. Seems very ruggedly made and is heavier than I expected. It is more compact than an electric unit. The disc shaft is not square to the unit, it is more than 90 degrees but that is nice it gets your hand more away from the disc. I miss that it doesn't have a spindle lock: you hold the flats on the shaft with another wrench when changing discs. I was expecting it to be a little more powerful (just because I'm used to the electric ones...). All in all, it is a nice tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Angle Grinder - 5in. Disc Capacity, 1/4in. Inlet, 5 CFM, 10,000 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase

,
March 6, 2010
By luckyfrog
from new york
"nice light weight grinder ,the 5/8x11 arbor enables it to accept many acc.,overall would recomend to any one"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Angle Grinder - 5in. Disc Capacity, 1/4in. Inlet, 5 CFM, 10,000 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

157796 or 1577960 comparison

,
February 25, 2010
By HouseRat
from Colorado
"Both the 157796 and 1577960 are great grinders. The major difference is the 960 has a 5/8 in arbor and the 96 does not. Both have adequate power for most applications. I can't tell any power difference between the two grinders. I use the grinder for granite grinding and the 5/8 arbor to fit my wheels is a must. If you don't need the 5/8 arbor I would recommend the 96 grinder. The red body on the 960 tends to get dirty the 96 is easier to keep clean. It's an air tool you need ear protection.
These grinders can hold their own with any of the name brand high priced grinders. Regardless of which grinder you choose you are going to like it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Angle Grinder - 5in. Disc Capacity, 1/4in. Inlet, 5 CFM, 10,000 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great grinder

,
February 22, 2010
By phoenix1
from Amargosa Valley ,Nv.
"This is the best of all the grinders I own for serious work on frames and body work . We work on heavy trucks and hot rods and haven't been able to make this one fail so far .we use it daily ......"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.