Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120

NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120

Item# 15781120
This NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer offers professional performance and easy portability, making it ideal for tough cleaning jobs on boats, RVs, tractors, heavy equipment and more. The Honda GX160 OHV engine features a cast iron sleeve, and a horizontal shaft design for up to five times longer life than vertical shaft engines. Plus, it features a Comet AXD direct drive axial pump with forged brass manifold for extra durability. NorthStar pressure washers undergo thousands of hours of rigorous testing to ensure peak performance, plus include an industry-leading warranty to give you extra peace of mind. Adjustable Pressure Yes, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Drive Direct, Engine Displacement cc 163, Cart Push-down style steel cart, Chemical Injector Downstream, Engine Oil Type SAE30, Flow GPM 2.5, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.83, Fuel Type Gasoline, Engine Oil Included No, Hose 50-ft. nonmarking high-pressure, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Max. Output Water Temp F 140, Gross Torque 7.6, Gun 3-ft. lance, Pressure PSI 3,000, Pump Oil Included Yes, Thermal Protector Yes, Nozzle Type Five quick-couple, Orifice Size 3.0, Engine Honda, Engine Model GX160 OHV, Pump Oil Type Universal tractor transmission oil, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 21.5 x 38, Pump Comet AXD. Honda GX160 163cc engine for quiet, reliable performance Comet AXD direct drive axial pump for efficiency and durability Durable push-down style steel cart with extended handle 10in. pneumatic tires provides smooth, balanced maneuvering Easy Start prevents pressure buildup for smoother, easier recoil pulling Sight glass allows for quick, convenient pump oil checks Removable NorthStar nozzle holder system attaches to pressure washer or user's belt for easy access Adjustable pressure 3/8in. quick-connection Includes 50-ft. gray nonmarking high-pressure hose, 3-ft. lance, downstream chemical injector and five quick-couple professional nozzles 0, 15, 25, 40 and chemical/soap Full-featured accessory kit available, Item# 720152, sold separately 4-year consumer limited warranty 2-year commercial limited warranty 3-year limited warranty on Honda GX engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.821 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (84 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
82 of 84(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Review 1 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Machine

,
July 13, 2014
By k7cej
from Portland, OR
"This is a sturdily built and highly functional machine. Starts right up each time. The hose is very stout and longer than typical home-owner machines. I recommend a hose reel, which I added."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

From a woman's perspective

,
July 8, 2014
By ElljayMc
from Orlando, FL
"I normally don't write reviews but I thought it necessary for this product. I researched many pressure washers and knew I wanted a NorthStar based on the reviews, features and availability of a service center relatively close by. But, as a woman, would I be able to operate it? Once I got it home from the store (with help) and assembled it (with help), I was ready to go (without help). Please read the instructions to know how to start and operate the pressure washer correctly. Just two pulls started the engine and I was off cleaning my driveway. Other wands I've used must have been shorter so that my back hurt by bending over for the nozzle to be close to the cement; but this wand was a perfect length and my back didn't hurt after six hours of use. Another nice feature is the 50 foot hose. The engine can be located away from where I'm working to avoid any damage to the equipment and to somewhat muffle the sound of the engine.
A very important feature for me is the adjustable pressure. Getting too close to wood with the full power of a pressure washer is not a pretty sight. I purchased a PSI gauge at Northern Tool and installed it on the pressure washer. By turning the knob, I lowered the PSI from 3000 to 400-600 and cleaned my wood fence, the exterior of my home and the soffits with no problems or damage. I was keeping an old electric pressure washer around for those delicate items but now I don't have to.
I agree with a lot of other reviewers about some problems with the pressure washer. The pull cord is in very close proximity to the frame but I only had to start the engine three times during the course of my six hour use so it wasn't a huge deal for me. Also, out of the box, a tire stem was not threaded so I called the toll free number and Northern Tool mailed a new tire to me very promptly. And that's a huge difference when you purchase equipment from Northern Tool - you have their customer service behind you.
In conclusion, I'm extremely happy with this pressure washer. It exceeded my expectations with its power, ease of use and flexibility of use. This statement is a big deal coming from me because I'm extremely picky with my purchases - I don't give a five star rating lightly. Thank you."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great bang for the buck

,
March 26, 2014
By Addem123
from Tampa
"Just got done using my new pressure washer it ran like a beast and started on the first pull. Unfortunately when I was done there were three nuts on the floor the bolts that mount the motor to the frame had come loose. I have since tightend them hopefully that will do the trick. Defiantly check to make sure your bolts that secure the motor to the frame are tight. The only other issue is the fact that the pull cord is hard to get to. Overall I am very happy with my purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product but needs better assembely detail

,
March 21, 2014
By jkh62
from Amerhst , Ohio
"I replaced my now dead former pressure washer with this Northern unit. The unit arrived UPS quickly with no major damage to the box ( 2 separate boxes). Opening the box the contents is packaged well. Nothing really needed to remove the unit from the box which lifted out easily. Once I removed the pressure washer I noticed a large bolt laying on the bottom of the box. I tipped the unit back to look at the underside and I could see one of the motor mounting bolts was missing. There are four (4) total and one of mine was definitely missing. I located a nut that fit , dropped the bolt thru the top side and attached the nut from underneath. Checking the other three motor mount bolts ALL of them were loose, REALLY loose. It looks like someone screwed up during assembly. Once I got all four bolts in and torqued I put the rest of the unit together. No tools needed except for the gun hanger nuts which you need a deep well socket or a wrench. The only other things you need to do is replace the pump shipping plug with the vented plug that is supplied and put engine oil in the Honda engine / 10W-30 that is not supplied.The engine fired up the 1st pull and runs like a Swiss watch. Its quite and very smooth. The washer does a nice job and the gun / wand is comfortable and a perfect length. I would have given it 5 stars if not for the loose motor and bolt laying in the bottom of the box. When you see something this obvious it slowed me way down putting it together and really trying to check everything. I will be giving it a work out when the weather warms up and I can do some serious cleaning. I do not anticipate any other surprises and need to hit the hardware store sometime to get the correct nut to match the other motor mount nuts."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cleanin

,
February 4, 2014
By CLANCY66
from LC,LA
"Have used alot. Tough, dependable,
Trouble free. Now I look for stuff to clean.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tough working machine

,
December 27, 2013
By Floridian4
from Spacecoast, Florida
"Purchased this model to replace my old Simpson. Use it in my painting business. Runs like a top all day long and sometimes gets abused by the help. Added the hose reel package. Best upgrade ever. Expensive, but when you add up all the components of the reel package, it’s not that much. An extra 50 ft of hose comes with reel. Handles a total of 100 ft with zero loss in pressure per added gauge. At end of day, reeling up hose takes two minutes. Before it was a pain trying to roll just 50 ft of hose and stow it in a trailer. Recommend this set up to any contractor that needs a dependable worker!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Commercial use...

,
October 17, 2013
By SpecializedDetail
from Nashville
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Purchased to replace a B&S Pressure washer.
First: The Briggs worked fine for about 20 hours and then would no longer start - in the shop under warranty but costing me $$$ in down time.
First impressions of the Northstar:
Well built, easy to assemble, Great documentation. Other reviewers claimed problems with wobbly wheels and crooked frame/handle issues. None of these were present on my unit. Just take your time assembling and make sure you are lined up at the correct screw holes. Wheels as Pre-installed, no issues with their functionality.
I did have some leakage of water in the wand/lance assembly and will double check all fittings for tightness and gasket integrity.
Overall, I am initially very impressed with the Honda motor and Comet pump. If you are in the Nashville area, see Holly at the Madison store, she is an absolute expert in most departments, but positively brilliant in Pressure Washers.
I'll add updates as the hours increase on the unit - My company specializes in Aircraft and Vintage auto detailing, so my washers are used for several hours a day and I can provide some real world torture test review follow up.
Cheers!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Pressure Washer #15781120

,
September 30, 2013
By OldJoe1948
from Oklahoma City, OK
"This is a great power washer. I have owned it for over a year now and have used it to wash the driveway, brick on house, a deck, an engine and bugs from the front of my vehicles. I have rented pressure washers in the past but decided to take the plunge and buy one and I am sure glad I bought this one. The Honda engine starts the first time every time. I would recommend a dab of Pool and Spa lube on male connections to aid with coupling, in particular, the one on the machine as mine was very hard to couple. Excellent product!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerful washer needs some attention to detail

,
September 8, 2013
By oldcarguy
from Plano, TX
"I've used pressure washers in the past, but none with this much power. I think most homeowners buy a cheap electric-powered model, or maybe an entry-level gasoline model. I bought this one for it's increased CFM & pressure, Honda GX engine, and 4-year (!) warranty.
The engine started literally the first time I pulled the starter cord! 15 years worth of mildew on a sidewalk was no match for this washer, even with cold water and no detergent. It also did a good job of cleaning crud off an old Chevy intake manifold, but I did spray it with some engine cleaner first. The pressure washer even blew off some gaskets missed by a scraper.
My negative comments are:
The handle is cocked to one side when viewed from the front or rear. No effect on operation, but it screams "poor craftsmanship".
The wheels wobble like a drunken sailor.
The starter cord is hard to reach.
The sprayer wand almost hits the ground when stored in its bracket.
These negatives keep me from giving this capable and powerful pressure washer 5 stars."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value and performance

,
April 28, 2013
By David1959
from Georgia
"We purchased one of these awhile back and have been very happy with the purchase. The Honda engine is a great performer but with "all gas powered engines" ethanol will be a problem if proper care isn't taken.
P.S.A. Use a quality fuel conditioner during usage and storage or find a service station that sells an ethanol free grade of gas,( yes they do exist) to prevent gumming and clogging of the fuel system. Bottom line this has been a great performing pressure washer!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pressure washer

,
April 23, 2013
By jimpj
from eagan,mn
"starts on first pull.runs great.plenty of pressure."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Time saver

,
August 15, 2012
By TJS1
from Indiana
"I use this to wash a large vinyl deck with railings and stairs plus lawn equipment... my previous washer was electric and would take me a full day to just do the deck... I cut my time by 40%+ using this washer and that was my first use of it... I also have a turbo nozzle and all I can say is it is amazing and would highly recommend one... the Honda GX160 started right up and runs very smoothly... there is a pressure adjust on the pump which is preset at some pressure... not sure if it is max?... most likely I will not use it as I'm happy with the current setting... my only "complaint" is the pneumatic tires and rims are not of the quality the rest of the washer is... the rims are not uniform and the tires wobble... I did deflate the tires and reposition them as well as making a small adjustment to the rim hubs... obviously this has no effect on washer ability which is great... it was more of a quality expectation issue for me when I purchase a upper end piece of equipment... Tnx"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolFebruary 18, 2013
The new line of NorthStar cold water pressure washers have been upgraded for improved performance. This review and all prior reviews are from the previous model.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
August 14, 2012
By Ralphy
from Fairmont, WV
"I have been very satisfied with the use and easy handling of this unit. Easy starting even after prolonged sitting."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied

,
August 13, 2012
By Nunya
from Northern Lower Michigan
"I rented a commercial pressure washer before buying the NorthStar High-Performance Pressure Washer - 3000 PSI, 2.5 GPM. It provides all the cleaning power I need. The assembly is minimal and easy. The Honda engine starts every time.
Service is great. The pressure hose developed a leak about three feet from the wand. Northstar sent a replacement and return shipping label within a week."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome !!!

,
June 17, 2012
By kroni3us
from california
"Its been great from the beginning , it came to my company door when promised, put it together the next day , filled it with fuel and oil, checked all connections , the choke was already on , turned on the water and with one pull it fired right up! I let it warm up hit the wand a couple times then turned it off and rechecked everything, all looked good . Then again , one pull fired right up and man it does a great job. I was really surprised for the price you cant beat it , its powerful and will wear you out ! I highly recomend it . thank you northern tool !!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A world of difference

,
May 15, 2012
By jcurran
from Warrenton, VA
"Solid piece of equipment. You may pay more for one of these compared to a off the shelve model from a department store but it will last you many more years and you will be able to find replacement parts. That is why the other washers are called "throw away" washers, but replacement parts to exsist. If you believe in buying quality and buying it once, you cant go wrong with a Northstar pressure washer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed with My First North Star Pressure Washer

,
May 14, 2012
By SterlingT
from Seven Valleys, PA
"I needed a pressure washer for cleaning deck, patio and driveway surfaces.
Researched and found this one made by North Star. The combination of a Honda GX engine and the Comet pump, plus many very favorable reviews of the P/W and also Northern Tool and Equipment's prices and customer service reputation was enough to catch my attention.
Assembly and setup of the unit took me about 1 hour.
Our home is on a well water source and even though I was was using a 3/4" hose at my garage faucet I didn't have sufficient water volume to run the P/W at full capacity. Relocated my hose to a full port 3/4" PVC line closer to my water system and never had feed volume iisues again.
Within three hours I had cleaned our 15' x 30' patio, a pressure treated picnic table w/ four benches and all of the patio furniture.
This unit really moves a lot of water and meets my needs perfectly. The 50' hose coupled with this spray gun and nozzles combination really works well.
The only issue that I encountered was with the wheels of the unit; it arrived with one flat tire and one bent wheel (hub welded on to wheel incorrectly). Inflated the tire and it has been fine since then. Called customer service and they sent out a replacement wheel which arrived within three days.
Overall I'm very pleased with this pressure washer and hope to be using it for many years.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this pressure washer

,
May 7, 2012
By dbamafan
from Knoxville, TN
"This is the second NorthStar pressure washer we have purchased for our facility and both have exceeded expectations. These units are sturdy, easy to operate and perform wonderfully. The price is excellent as you receive the same or better performance than the higher priced brand(s) that we've used before."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versible good buy

,
December 4, 2011
By JohnnyTS
from Garner, NC
"Good pressure washer with default comet pump. Very versible engine GX engine, upgraded the pump and also have generator head for rest of year. Looking to also use for tiller if I can find the proper pully for the taper shaft."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid performer

,
October 17, 2011
By wyojim
from Wyoming
"I purchased my unit this spring and used it extensively for preping my house and decks prior to painting and for blasting the mud and crud from my vehicles. Always started easily and performed as expected.
A solid performer at a good price"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.