Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120

NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120

Item# 15781120
This NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer offers professional performance and easy portability, making it ideal for tough cleaning jobs on boats, RVs, tractors, heavy equipment and more. The Honda GX160 OHV engine features a cast iron sleeve, and a horizontal shaft design for up to five times longer life than vertical shaft engines. Plus, it features a Comet AXD direct drive axial pump with forged brass manifold for extra durability. NorthStar pressure washers undergo thousands of hours of rigorous testing to ensure peak performance, plus include an industry-leading warranty to give you extra peace of mind. Adjustable Pressure Yes, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Drive Direct, Engine Displacement cc 163, Cart Push-down style steel cart, Chemical Injector Downstream, Engine Oil Type SAE30, Flow GPM 2.5, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.83, Fuel Type Gasoline, Engine Oil Included No, Hose 50-ft. nonmarking high-pressure, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Max. Output Water Temp F 140, Gross Torque 7.6, Gun 3-ft. lance, Pressure PSI 3,000, Pump Oil Included Yes, Thermal Protector Yes, Nozzle Type Five quick-couple, Orifice Size 3.0, Engine Honda, Engine Model GX160 OHV, Pump Oil Type Universal tractor transmission oil, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 21.5 x 38, Pump Comet AXD. Honda GX160 163cc engine for quiet, reliable performance Comet AXD direct drive axial pump for efficiency and durability Durable push-down style steel cart with extended handle 10in. pneumatic tires provides smooth, balanced maneuvering Easy Start prevents pressure buildup for smoother, easier recoil pulling Sight glass allows for quick, convenient pump oil checks Removable NorthStar nozzle holder system attaches to pressure washer or user's belt for easy access Adjustable pressure 3/8in. quick-connection Includes 50-ft. gray nonmarking high-pressure hose, 3-ft. lance, downstream chemical injector and five quick-couple professional nozzles 0, 15, 25, 40 and chemical/soap Full-featured accessory kit available, Item# 720152, sold separately 4-year consumer limited warranty 2-year commercial limited warranty 3-year limited warranty on Honda GX engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.805 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (87 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
85 of 87(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Review 21 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this pressure washer

,
May 7, 2012
By dbamafan
from Knoxville, TN
"This is the second NorthStar pressure washer we have purchased for our facility and both have exceeded expectations. These units are sturdy, easy to operate and perform wonderfully. The price is excellent as you receive the same or better performance than the higher priced brand(s) that we've used before."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versible good buy

,
December 4, 2011
By JohnnyTS
from Garner, NC
"Good pressure washer with default comet pump. Very versible engine GX engine, upgraded the pump and also have generator head for rest of year. Looking to also use for tiller if I can find the proper pully for the taper shaft."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid performer

,
October 17, 2011
By wyojim
from Wyoming
"I purchased my unit this spring and used it extensively for preping my house and decks prior to painting and for blasting the mud and crud from my vehicles. Always started easily and performed as expected.
A solid performer at a good price"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent All-Purpose Household Washer

,
October 17, 2011
By FlyNAVY
from Pleasant Garden, NC
"During the 15 months I've owned this machine it has proven itself to be dependable, powerful and easy to use. I was first impressed when it started on the first pull of the starting cord, right out of the shipping box. It has all the power I need to clean vinyl siding, concrete areas, vehicles and whatever else I find to use it on. It is well designed and made of durable materials. The 50' hose and interchangeable nozzles give it the versatility I need to get work done just about anywhere around the house with ease and in minimal time. The 10" pneumatic tires make it easy to maneuver around on hard surfaces or on the ground. When you grasp the spray wand you get the feeling that you're working with a high-quality tool. And with the "Honda" name on the engine, you know that you've got a machine that will last the average homeowner many years when properly maintained. As is the case with any pressure washer, this one also needs to be protected from freezing weather, however, to protect the pump. I highly recommend this machine for the occasional household user."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2.5 gallon 3000psi pressure washer

,
October 11, 2011
By STOSH
from Buladean NC
"This not being my first purchase of a pressure washer from Northern made my decision easy. This Honda engine is the same as my log splitter also, which makes maintenance easier. The pressure washer starts easy, is easy on gas and delivers as advertised in every aspect. This is a good reliable unit with a proven track record of reliability. If I had to do over again I would make the same purchase decision."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Machine

,
September 9, 2011
By Seym
from Petaluma California
"I'm happy with my machine. The workmanship and the appearance as well as the performance are excellent. I'm cleaning all my concrete surfaces and it is doing an excellent job.
I have two gripes, after waiting 9 days for delivery I assembled the washer. I started the machine up very easily. I inserted a nozzle and the water went in 10 different directions, tried another nozzle with the same results, I then called customer service and was informed that it was probably sent out without the necessary O ring, They will send another, Also going to buy the hose reel, The hose drags on the tire making it difficult to steer the unit around. Other than those minor inconvenentcies I am happy with the unit. I went to my local hardware store purchased 10 O rings in a package for $2.29 and the machine and I are happy.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

,
June 26, 2011
By weekendwarrior11
from Basking Ridge, NewJersey
"Recently bought this p washer to handle home projects, vinyl siding, deck, fence, outdoor furniture...So far it has worked out great, this washer has lots of power and has made fast work out of these jobs.I really appreciate the extra tips and the 50 ft hose and would recommend buying this unit over the cheaper one because you will end up purchasing these items separately anyway, so you will ultimately get more bang for the buck by getting this unit. One more note, the staff was very helpful with my purchase of the unit though you really need to do the research on your own because you dont deal with people that have actually run these units. Overall, a great buy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda powered pressure washer

,
June 15, 2011
By retyred
from usa
"Great machine. Starts on 1st pull. I built a bracket and mounted a hose reel.(a must have item)"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my driveway + a surprise use

,
June 13, 2011
By Spider77
from Houston, TX
"I got this to clean my driveway. It did that REALLY well. Since it has adjustable pressure, I did decided to try an usual use. I had been having trouble with our pool filter cartridges clogging quickly. I rinse them many times but the clogged again within days. I turned the pressure way down and used the pressure washer. The cartridges are now like new. Is saved me a lot of money and the filter has worked great for weeks!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better Than I Expected

,
June 13, 2011
By DAaryl
from Bakersfield, CA
"I did a lot of research prior to buying a pressure washer because I have never owned one and needed to educate myself. I also believe in buying quality, buying an item only once, and not having buyer's remorse for making a poor decision. What sold me on this model is the Honda GX engine, the direct drive axial pump and Northern Equipment's reputation for quality. I have had this for a couple of months and use it primarily for cleaning the exterior of the house, sidewalks and patio. It works exceptionally well and cleans better than I expected. I had some hard mud caked under my truck for some time and it was no problem to remove it quickly. The heavy duty hose is a little stiff to be coiling up by hand. One of the earlier reviewers recommended getting the hose reel and I think that will be my next purchase. A friend recommended buying the turbo nozzle and that was another good choice. I tried the single nozzle vs the turbo and the turbo nozzle was very efficient and a real time saver. I am very happy with my purchase and can honestly recommend it to others."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

P-washer/Hover tool

,
June 13, 2011
By SouthFlorida
from South Florida
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Killing it with this thing what a great money making product......used it all over town.....also used your Hover to clean the Streets....
For more before and After.
Graffiti Removal.....
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Purchased

,
May 30, 2011
By Jimbo54
"I must have researched pressure washers for months before choosing this unit. It was quite a bit more money than competitor's models but I am glad I did. The washer worked flawlessly last summer - starts first pull every time and seems to have plenty of power for what I purchased it for. I even loaned the washer to 2 other people to clean their decks and they loved it. This spring when I went to use it for the first time - the engine started first pull, but when I pulled the trigger, water came out the quick release at the nozzle. Ran to the store in my area, and found that the o-ring in the quick release was missing. Purchased a new quick release and everything operates fine. It did a nice job on my driveway. Glad a bought this unit over the lower cost units I was considering."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better then I expected.

,
May 8, 2011
By raykrv6a
from Maple Grove, MN
"Assembly was easy. The wand, hose, and quick connects are very high quality. Started first pull and ran smoothly and quietly. I cleaned out the bed of my pickup and it almost looks like new. Better have a good grip on the wand as there is plenty of force going out of it. I burned up two electric units before buying this unit. The difference between 1600 psi and 3000 is huge. You won't be unhappy if you get this unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful unit!

,
April 29, 2011
By GoTwins
"When I started my research on buying a pressure washer, I'm glad I stopped here!! The features this unit has are great! The engine started on the first pull and the puurrrrr'd during use. The idle switch is nice when working in confined areas when you don't need the full pressure to prevent any spray back. The unit is made with quality parts in a nice compact size. Overall NorthStar hit a home run with this machine!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

saved my sanity

,
March 21, 2011
By pman
"After being laid off for a year I decided to start my own little businees.6 months ago I purchased my pressure washer ( named "little mule"),it runs on average 6 hours a day,6 days aweek with never any troubles.Starts first pull and keeps going.I love my machine and the with the help and advice from the boys at my northern i'm enjoying my new venture!Best buy ever!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product so far!

,
March 21, 2011
By smkymtnman
from TN
"Well, I just wanted to say that I was looking for a commercial duty pressure washer for a reasonable price. As I own a motel and every spring I do a lot of pressure washing, I wanted a tool that would hold up to the job without a lot of maintenance. I looked online a bit before I discovered the Honda Northstar Pressure Washer. What got me hooked right away was the fact that it had the heavy duty Honda GX series engine. Furthermore, it had the larger gas tank for longer run time and at 3000 psi this baby handled every job I needed it for. I cleaned our plastic chairs, awnings, swimming pool, concrete walkway with ease. This thing is a great product and so far everything has been working great. Thanks Northern Tool and Equipment!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
March 15, 2011
By biggdave
"This is a quality pressure washer. For general use around the house and using to maintain equipment and vehicles it is great. The cleaner pickup is great. I put it straight in the bottle of cleaner and apply it with the power washer instead of putting the cleaner in a pump up sprayer and spraying seperately. It starts right up and has all the power I need. It's also easy to move around ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolFebruary 15, 2013
The new line of NorthStar cold water pressure washers have been upgraded for improved performance. This review and all prior reviews are from the previous model.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for the buck

,
November 12, 2010
By MDSledhead
from Western Maryland
"Looked everywhere at pressure washers... you can't find one with these features and this quality for a anywhere near this price.
The honda engine is awesome. Starts on the first pull (provided you've turned the gas on). It is very difficult to see all the the features of these on the internet... This unit has an adjustable throttle, choke, and fuel shutoff. The HP hose is top quality with quick-connect ends. The wand is also top quality - not cheap like some of the other units you'll find. I really like the adjustable pressure & 5 quick connect tips.
Would recommend using this with two hands...
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
September 14, 2010
By Viking56
from Whitley City, Ky
"I purchased this item six months ago and it more then does what it promised. Starts everytime with ease and water pump delivers the pressure needed for any job !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781120
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works as advertised

,
August 30, 2010
By silentsam
from SugarLand , Texas
"I have used other pressure washers to clean my driveway and sidewalk but it took one day and left me with a sore back and a streaky looking driveway. I purchased the Northstar high performance pressure washer and the super heavy duty turbo nozzle and cleaned my driveway and sidewalk in 4 hours without the streaks. The engine starts on the first pull and is much quieter than others.The turbo nozzle is fantastic.This machine has the adjustable pressure control.My son cannot wait to borrow it !!.The only negative is that it is difficult to recoil the pressure hose because of its stiffness."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.