Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520

NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520

Item# 15781520
This NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer provides heavy-duty cleaning power and quiet, reliable performance in a rugged, easy-to-push steel cart. Great for cleaning everything from heavy machinery to ATVs. Powered by a reliable Honda GX390 389cc engine featuring a horizontal shaft design to last up to five times longer than vertical shaft engines. The high-quality Comet pump features a forged brass manifold and thermal protector for added durability and protection. NorthStar pressure washers undergo thousands of hours of rigorous testing to ensure peak performance, plus include an industry-leading warranty to give you extra peace of mind. Adjustable Pressure Yes, Cart Push-down style steel cart, Chemical Injector Yes, Drive Direct, Engine Honda, Engine Displacement cc 389, Engine Model GX390 OHV, Engine Oil Included No, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Flow GPM 3.5, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.6, Fuel Type Gasoline, Gross Torque 18.5, Engine Oil Type SAE30, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Max. Output Water Temp F 140, Nozzle Type Quick-connect, Orifice Size 4.0, Hose 50-ft. gray high-pressure, Pump Comet, Pump Oil Included Yes, Thermal Protector Yes, Pressure PSI 4,000, Dimensions L x W x H in. 42.25 x 26 x 42.25, Pump Oil Type SAE 30, Gun Industrial rear entry w/ 3 ft. lance. Honda GX390 389cc OHV engine for quiet, reliable performance Comet direct drive triplex pump for efficiency and durability Engine's horizontal shaft design lasts up to five times longer life than vertical shaft engines Easy Start prevents pressure buildups for smoother, easier recoil pulling Adjustable pressure provides greater versatility Removable NorthStar nozzle holder system attaches to pressure washer or user's belt Welded push-down style steel cart with extended handle for smooth, balanced maneuvering Easy-roll 15in. pneumatic tires Sight glass allows for quick, convenient pump oil checks 1.6-gallon gas tank 3/8in. quick connection Includes 50-ft. nonmarking high-pressure hose, 3-ft. lance, downstream chemical injector, five professional quick-couple nozzles 0, 15, 25, 40 and chemical/soap 4-year consumer limited warranty 2-year commercial limited warranty 3-year limited warranty on Honda GX engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 16(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Review 1 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wow, great power!!!!!

,
June 28, 2014
By Wolfgang0
from Deerfield,Wi
"Great pressure washer with lots of power. Perfect for our painting business. The machine has two engineering issues: 1) The chemical injector is preset at a 15 to 1 part mx, completely inadequate to deal with mold on houses. I had to rebuild the injector for a new 5 to 1 mix for bleach. Why did they not put on an adjustable injector. 2) The adjustable psi knob has no stop so it came off and then was difficult to put back on with the spring creating tension and maybe I crossed the threads. 3) I had to rearrange the disconnects since they were backwards from the MTMs we had been using for the last twenty years and had to rework the wand, we have quick connects on all our grips so we can add whatever lengths we need.
One last note we received a great price on the machine and the customer service was great!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality

,
September 6, 2013
By Radioman113
from North East
"Received the pressure washer two days ago. It came in a box on a pallet. Easy unload with two guys. I unpacked the unit and had it together in 15 minutes. Very easy. The first thing i noticed was the physical size of the unit. It was much bigger than I expected. About the size of a large wheelbarrow. The quality of construction was top notch. The tubing used is heavy, well formed and welded together. All the components looked, felt, operated, smooth and exact. I was very impressed. I started it up and first trigger pull I felt as if I was holding a cannon! Just holding against the pressure was something you had to think about all the time or you'd get blown over! The adjustable pressure valve comes in very handy to adjust pressure to the job. The pressure adjust knob comes with a black plastic knob on it different from the catalog photos that show a bare brass post. I like that the pump has cooling fins cast into it to aid in cooling as I noticed some other pumps didn't have this feature. The unit is a heavy duty beast that will impress even the harshest critic! Highly recommended!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

pressure washer

,
January 10, 2013
By 02harley
from Pasadena, Md
"The pumps on the NorthStar pressure washers are junk. Only used a couple of times and had to replace the pump. The repair shop said the original pumps are junk."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolFebruary 15, 2013
The new line of NorthStar cold water pressure washers have been upgraded for improved performance. This review and all prior reviews are from the previous model.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power

,
March 21, 2011
By pauly2
from s plainfield nj
"washer works great , lots of power , starts reliably , have it 8 months now, use 3 times a week, no trouble"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
November 28, 2010
By Bill29456
from Ladson, SC
"I purchased this 4000psi washer due to the fact i had another brand stop in the middle of a job broken. This one started up every time and runs great. I would highly recomend it if your looking for a long lasting product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thorne

,
June 1, 2010
By Thorne
from Collegeville, PA
"This is the best Pressure Washer that I have ever used, day in and day out it starts right up and works all day without a hiccup. I needed the power to run the extended wand so I could clean a house and the windows from the ground, as I don't like working on ladders, and this unit works just great. I showed my wife how easy this unit is to use and now every thing we own is very clean...she just loves being able to blast dirt and grime off all the pool and outside furniture, and I love that I don't have to do it anymore."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

owner

,
November 2, 2009
By Paleface
from Santa fe, new mexico
"When I purchased my pressure washer I found it was so handy! I'm a professional. contractor and when my customers would see the grate job this tool was doing they too would want to purchase one. Fortunately for them they
no longer pay for my services: They are saving money. I found my pressure washer so handy, i purchased two of them. I keep one at my home, and one is for the job sites. PRESSURE WASHERS ARE SO HANDY! The uses are endless from washing your car to washing side walks to water blasting paint off of walls, ENDLESS I SAY, ENDLESS!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure washer

,
July 13, 2009
By 1rooster
from Arkansas
"Starts everytime and is exactly what I was looking for. I have had several other washers and they just did not hold up. This one is a keeper."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar 400 PSI, 3.5 GPM with Comet pump

,
April 29, 2009
By Phase3
from Palm Bay Fl
"I originally purchased this machine for my professional pressure washing business and it has worked flawlessly for me since the first of January. The only problem that I have had with this machine is one broken pull cord which was fixed overnight by the mechanic at the Melbourne Florida store. I decided to buy the identical pressure washer with the Cat pump to use as a backup should I ever need one, but it just sits there with only two hours use on it, giving me piece of mind should my Northstar Comet ever have a problem. I have changed the oil A couple of times and keep a spare plug on hand in case I need one but this pressure washer just keeps working flawlessly. If I had to choose between the Cat pump or the Comet pump my choice would have to wait for a few years as these machines are both still new and barely broke in but I am truly impressed with this Comet pump. I would recommend this machine to anyone who demands quality from their suppliers. Most of my customers are very impressed with the look of quality that Northern pressure washers have. I use this pressure washer with the General surface cleaner and they work great together. With 4000 PSI of cleaning power and a commercial quality surface cleaner such as the General, there is no better setup on the market today. I will match my setup against rigs costing twice as much money any day . Dollar for dollar there is not a cold water machine out there that is a better bargain (IMHO). With 4000 PSI it does a great job without the added expense of hot water."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

4000 PSI north star Pressure Washer.

,
February 5, 2009
By Phase3
from Palm Bay Fl
"I bought this pressure washer to use as the main unit for my pressure washing business and it works great. It starts on the first or second pull every time and it has never failed me. This particular model comes with the comet pump. I wanted to purchase a second unit to use as a backup in case I ever had a problem with this one so I bought another 4ooo pound unit, this time with the cat pump. They both run great . I am also very impressed with the helpful staff at the Melbourne Florida store. They answer your questions. They help you find the right product to meet your needs and they back their warranty with in store service and no BS. I am very happy with my many purchases from northern tool and it's because of their policies that I continue to go back and buy from them time and again.I don't mind spending money for quality and northern tool sells quality with their pressure washers, and they back up the promises that they make. That's a rare thing in today's world."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had for 9 years now

,
November 18, 2008
By Gungamellon
from Tracy CA
"I bought a northern pressure washer very similar to this one (4KPSI/3.5GPM) back in 1999 and it is still going strong. My recommendation is to buy big horesepower when you buy a pressure washer. Mine has the Honda 13HP and it just loafs along, it is not stressed at all...this thing will probably last a couple generations in our family."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar High Performance Pressure Washer - 4000

,
November 18, 2008
By Bob11
from Macon Ga
"I have used my pressure washer for more chores than I could have dreamed...from washing driveways, buildings, equipment, even blowing leaves our of flower beds...need at least the 4000 PSI. I would recommend this washer...you will not regret your deceision."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best value ever found

,
November 17, 2008
By rentalguy
from Chicago , IL
"I have been in the rental business 20+ years and purchased many - many pressure washers, all commercial grade. This is the 3rd Northstar in my fleet and they all get used a ton. For hundreds of dollars less than some other comparible brands the Northstar has given me the biggest bang for my buck. I have yet to put a dime into one except for oil and gas. The best out there!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pressure washer

,
August 18, 2008
By davethewave
from San Antionio, TX
"I bought this unit back in 2007 and it has not missed a beat. Very dependable. I recommend this one!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome

,
August 18, 2008
By RURALRt2
from Wisconsin
"I purchased this product prior to having my farm auction, I used it to clean my equipment line.It made a short work out os a long line of machinery, I also purchased the sandblaster attachment to be used with this item it to worked great. I was able to strip off 4 coats of paint from a tractor I was restoring in less than 1 hour, The motor always starts on the first pull. it is a great washer. I would recomend this item to all."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15781520
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Squeeze handle and hold on

,
April 21, 2008
By onestar
from north carolina
"4000psi is the real deal. I have used washers with less psi but this one really gets concrete clean and just about anything else you put it on. The Honda engine is wonderful and will start on the first pull if you choke it. This is an all around great washer. The only thing that would make it better is hot water and that is a whole different catagory. This get 2 thumbs up from me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.