Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"

"NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"

Item# 15781720
"This NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer offers superior cleaning performance for home and job sites. Equipped with a Honda GX160 OHV engine featuring a cast iron sleeve, low oil shutdown and a horizontal shaft design for up to five times longer life than vertical shaft engines. Premium Cat direct drive triplex pump with forged brass manifold offers thermal protection to prevent overheating and ceramic plungers for longer seal life. NorthStar pressure washers undergo thousands of hours of rigorous testing to ensure peak performance, plus include an industry-leading warranty to give you extra peace of mind. Engine Honda, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Thermal Protector Yes, Pump CAT 4DNX, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Engine Displacement cc 163, Pressure PSI 3,000, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 21.5 x 38, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.83, Engine Oil Type SAE30, Pump Oil Included Yes, Cart Push-down style steel cart, Gross Torque 7.3, Adjustable Pressure Yes, Flow GPM 2.5, Gun Industrial rear entry w/ 3 ft. lance, Engine Oil Included No, Pump Oil Type SAE 30 nondetergent, Nozzle Type Quick-connect, Engine Model GX160, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Orifice Size 3.0, Drive Direct, Chemical Injector Yes, Hose 50-ft. gray high-pressure, Fuel Type Gasoline, Max. Output Water Temp F 140. Honda GX160 163cc engine for quiet, reliable performance Cat 4DNX direct drive triplex pump offers superior durability Push-down style steel cart with extended handle for smooth, balanced maneuvering 10in. pneumatic tires Easy Start prevents pressure buildup for smoother, easier recoil pulling Sight glass allows for quick, convenient pump oil checks Adjustable pressure provides greater versatility NorthStar nozzle holder system attaches to pressure washer or user's belt Includes 50-ft. gray nonmarking high-pressure hose, 3-ft. lance, 3/8in. quick-connection, downstream chemical injector and five quick-couple professional nozzles 0, 15, 25, 40 and chemical/soap Full-featured accessory kit available, Item# 720153, sold separately 4-year consumer limited warranty 2-year commercial limited warranty 3-year limited warranty on Honda GX engine"
Average Customer Rating:
4.657 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (70 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
66 of 70(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Review 1 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
March 30, 2015
By HappyWasher
from Gig Harbor, WA
" I have only had opportunity to use it a few times so far. The instruction manual for first time starting was not current and was in conflict with tags on the machine. But it was no big deal and got an immediate response from the support group at NorthStar.
The machine started on the first pull of the starter rope. And on subsequent use of the machine it started on first pull each time.
On the second running it developed a vapor lock (for lack of other words) and there was no high pressure water available from the machine. Had to turn it off and restart twice before it finally gave out full pressure. It appears to be a one time thing as I've had no further problems of this nature.
This is my second pressure washer. I had nothing but problems with my first washer. My local small engine repairman advised me to purchase this model when my first machine gave up the ghost. And though a bit on the spendy side for home use, I decided to bite the bullet and purchase the Honda with a Cat pump for it's reliability. So far it has proven to be a good decision and I'd recommend this machine to others. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar Pressure Washer

,
February 26, 2015
By ToolUp77
from Saint Louis, MO
" My wife came with me to the store to pick it up, although she did not know why we were going. I told her it was for something "practical, useful, and necessary". When she saw it, she rolled her eyes and repeated "practical, useful, and neccesary". Got it home, assembled, and fired up. Assembly was very easy. I needed to grease the wheels b/c they didn't come greased, but that is no big deal. Fired up on first pull. Washed some concrete, part of the house, and gutters while she was out, and when she saw the difference it made, she was convinced that it was indeed "practical, useful, and neccesary". Good engine + good pump, and the 2 wheel cart is great. Thanks NTE! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good unit

,
October 7, 2014
By BR0000
from Michigan
" I have to run the unit for some time before it builds pressure coming out of the nozzle. I am not sure why it takes time for that to happen but it happens each time I take the unit out and start it.
Once it pushes (pressure) it does what I need. Engine starts on first pull and design of unit looks solid.
Like to see a better place to carry hose, tends to drag under wheels readily. I tried rolling it up tighter, smaller diameter but no can do. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great machine

,
August 27, 2014
By Trees23
from New Jersey
" Machine started on first pulled smoked white from being started for the first time. After the second use all the bolts that held the engine in place vibrates loose so I had to find them and tighten them up other wise great machine "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
August 24, 2014
By Darkhorse396
from California
" The unit seems to be very good. It started on the second pull. And did a good job of washing a house.
Initially I was a little nervous as there were a couple of bolts and nuts in the bottom of the box. Found they were the hardware used to secure the engine to the base of the platform. Wow!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well built piece

,
August 2, 2014
By WillyH
from Woodlake, ca
" This thing is solid and has some power. Very well built and seems like it will last! Im not sure if it is just my water supply but it seems like it really bogs down when when the trigger is pulled. I ran it out of gas in the first tank and it was very hard to pull start. I had to wait for it to cool. Dont know what happend there but other than that, great unit and quality is far above the rest. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice unit for the price

,
July 21, 2014
By HHman
from Cleveland,OH
" I received the unit fairly quickly after ordering it. It came well packaged and was not hard to put together. The handle, hose assembly and oil, gas. The unit started right up the first time, took about a minute to prime the pump and line but had good pressure after that. I worked it pretty hard that day and was pleased with the way it ran. The main reasons I bought this unit was not so much the motor, because the Honda"s do have a good track record. It was the pump and some other features. One was the way the frame was made, the wheels are in the rear so all you have to do to move it is push down and roll it. Not like other where you have to pick up the rear to move them. The second is the Cat pump, I did some checking on pumps and the Cat can be rebuilt by the owner and is like a commercial pump. The last is the 50 hose, a lot of the others come with 25 feet of hose. All in all a nice unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Product

,
July 12, 2014
By Kentucky1
from Benton, KY
" So far it works great. Paid the extra money for the CAT pump everyone recommends. It was great having a courtesy call from Northern Tool to see if my purchase was what I expected. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome So Far

,
June 23, 2014
By SeriousHandyman
from Michigan
" Never used a power washer before and never owned one. I did my homework though and decided on the Northstar with the Cat pump. Came undamaged. Added required oil to the Honda motor and off and running. Did a small project first and was very pleased with the ease of use and the quality of the unit and its performance. Next did all of my patio furniture. What a great job. Removing 12 year old mildew with ease. Now for the big test. 60 ft long x 5 feet tall cedar fence. Fence was dark grey after 20 years of no care. I was concerned if the washer could run almost continuously for the two hours it took to do the job. Absolutely no issue and a great looking fence now. Over all, I feel this unit has paid for itself already in the three jobs I have done with it. Just need to find some more stuff to wash now! This is a great machine and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a high quality product. Buy it once. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pressure Washer

,
June 4, 2014
By blocker
from Lancaster, PA
" It worked very well as per instructions. Started right up. Used it to wash our deck and block retaining wall. Soap applicator worked good. Easy start made it easy to start without relieving the water pressure. I would recommend this washer for anyone looking for a great product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than homemade cabbage rolls

,
April 24, 2014
By Kize
from Stevens Point, WI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This Pressure washer is completely amazing. From the shipping truck dropping it off, 30 min later I pull the engine once, than twice and i've got the power to make the mud go flying. Everything was as expected and i can't wait to tell my friends about why my truck looks clean every day. This is my first pressure washer that I've purchased and i can't believe i waited this long. Thank You Northern Tool, I won't be going through a car wash again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Consistant, Durable, Well Made & Very Pleased

,
February 4, 2014
By JAPA
from Pennsylvania
" I am a swimming pool professional. We've gone through a few other well known pressure washers. This one has outperformed them all. We use it for many things especially during our pool opening season as we clean a variety of covers and decks.
We bought the reel attachment for it which makes it very nice and easy to keep the hose neatly rolled up and untangled.
The only problem i ever had with this unit was when i orignially went to use it and there was an issue with the wand. I called Northern and they immediately sent out a replacement free of charge. I can only say that their customer service is second to none. I wouldn't go anywhere else to buy equipment of this nature. We've also bought their trash pumps too. All have Honda motors.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cadillac of Pressure Washers

,
November 8, 2013
By JDStud
from Texas
" I have been pressure washing professionally for 10 years, and thus gone through many, many pressure washers. I had all my equipment stolen last year, and decided to get a loan, and get the equipment I really needed this year to start the season off right. North Star was the brand pressure I'd dreamed of owning, and I'm very satisfied that their product exceeded my expectations. The design and construction of the frame is superior in terms of durability, appearance, and even balance as you move the rig as you work. The beautiful Honda motor starts very easily, and runs quiet comparatively. Also, I very much appreciate the face that it same with a horizontal shaft motor. Now, I have peace of mind that it's going to last me longer than a year like any other brand purchased via retail. Last, but not least I opted for this model as opposed to the model right beneath it because of the CAT industrial grade pump. In my experience it's the most crucial component, and always the first to fail, or the cause for low performance. As a professional It's not uncommon for me to use a pump in excess of 12 hours, and CAT is the only brand that's been able to meet that need adequately. It performs well, and it's practically indestructible at the same time. I literally cannot think of anything negative to say about this machine. It even has a decent size gas tank, so save oneself from having to refill it multiple times in one day. It looks professional, and it's even more than meets the eye when put to the test on the job site. I last used a lesser quality brand, and during a commercial job pressure washing a parking lot I experience a drastic loss of pressure after about 4 hours that lasted about 15 minutes, and then re-began within even less time. I had to shut off the machine for over an hour, and let it cool, and it was never the same after that. The store replaced it due to my in store warranty, and it happened again after about 8 hours use. This repeated every time I didn't give the pump a break every 2-3 hours. This obviously cut into my completion time, and after I went through 4 of the same machine my decision to dwich to North Star was final. I can say I've used this rig for 12 hours strait with no problem whatsoever. I feel comfortable in saying it could last longer than I could physically use it for everyday from season to season without fail. You get what you pay for.. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice

,
September 17, 2013
By WK001
from Roanoke, Virginia
" Engine starts easily, runs great! Superb water pressure. Compared to my last pressure washer the spray pattern tips are excellent with consistant spray across the width of spray pattern, HOWEVER, do not flush HP water through wand without having a tip installed, the o-ring in the quick-connect goes flying ;) ..... and the pressure control valve in the pump works flawlessly. Cycle the wand trigger on/off all day long with no water pressure control issues, [ My last pressure washer I could not let go of the wand trigger because the pump would go into bypass and stick in bypass causing low pressure at the wand tip]. I highly recommend this pressure washer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad wather pump

,
September 16, 2013
By ANestoro
from New Jearsy
" I have this power washer for 1,5y and I use it few times until June this year and its keep braking since than. Costumer sevice in Nortstar are not very helpful and also the srvice places where thay send you.I lost lot of time and money with this machine im wrating this coment for 2nd time now I hope will show on the reviews. Now I know how thay get only good reviews beacuse thay dont publish the bad. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-12points
3out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pressure Washer

,
August 20, 2012
By the2js97
from Charlotte, NC
" I purchased this PW because of the reliability of the Honda engine and Cat pump. I only used it for 10 hours thus far and it seems great! Even quicker than the Troy Bilt 3000psi 2.5gpm I borrowed last year to do my driveway. I believe the difference is in the pump. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolFebruary 15, 2013
The new line of NorthStar cold water pressure washers have been upgraded for improved performance. This review and all prior reviews are from the previous model.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2 years old

,
August 20, 2012
By Lh197
from NE
" Have owned for two years. Friends and family have borrowed many time. Have had no problems. The tips do where out, so keep a extra one of the size you normally use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Performance

,
August 14, 2012
By Jaby
from Kent, WA
" I bought this pressure washer because of the reliability of the Honda engine and cat pump. I have had to use it several times and it has always started up right away and keeps on running until my jobs have been done. I'm believing with proper maintenance and care I won't have to buy another one for many many years "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar wonder washer

,
January 17, 2012
By jesse123
from maryland
" great machine , used my father in laws washer to clean my house and driveway and this thing rocks , easy to use spary tips , i wish i could give 10 out 10 stars on this , i will buy in the future from northen tools "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15781720"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

no power

,
November 10, 2011
By toter
from Kansas
" Over the entire washer is well built the 160cc Honda is very under powered for this pump the same pump with a 200 cc engine is a much better combo. After using a this unit I returned it and purchased a unit with a larger engine same PSI and GPM it doesn’t bog down and performs much better uses less fuel and develops more tip pressure the exhaust doesn’t glow red all the time either "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-6points
11out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.