Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720

NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720

Item# 15781720
This NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer offers superior cleaning performance for home and job sites. Equipped with a Honda GX160 OHV engine featuring a cast iron sleeve, low oil shutdown and a horizontal shaft design for up to five times longer life than vertical shaft engines. Premium Cat direct drive triplex pump with forged brass manifold offers thermal protection to prevent overheating and ceramic plungers for longer seal life. NorthStar pressure washers undergo thousands of hours of rigorous testing to ensure peak performance, plus include an industry-leading warranty to give you extra peace of mind. Pressure PSI 3,000, Engine Displacement cc 163, Cart Push-down style steel cart, Engine Oil Included No, Hose 50-ft. gray high-pressure, Max. Output Water Temp F 140, Fuel Type Gasoline, Nozzle Type Quick-connect, Gun Industrial rear entry w/ 3 ft. lance, Thermal Protector Yes, Engine Model GX160, Flow GPM 2.5, Engine Honda, Gross Torque 7.3, Adjustable Pressure Yes, Chemical Injector Yes, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Engine Oil Type SAE30, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Orifice Size 3.0, Pump Oil Type SAE 30 nondetergent, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.83, Pump Oil Included Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 21.5 x 38, Drive Direct, Pump CAT 4DNX. Honda GX160 163cc engine for quiet, reliable performance Cat direct drive triplex pump offers superior durability Push-down style steel cart with extended handle for smooth, balanced maneuvering 10in. pneumatic tires Easy Start prevents pressure buildup for smoother, easier recoil pulling Sight glass allows for quick, convenient pump oil checks Adjustable pressure provides greater versatility NorthStar nozzle holder system attaches to pressure washer or user's belt Includes 50-ft. gray nonmarking high-pressure hose, 3-ft. lance, 3/8in. quick-connection, downstream chemical injector and five quick-couple professional nozzles 0, 15, 25, 40 and chemical/soap Full-featured accessory kit available, Item# 720153, sold separately 4-year consumer limited warranty 2-year commercial limited warranty 3-year limited warranty on Honda GX engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.621 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (58 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
54 of 58(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Review 1 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cadillac of Pressure Washers

,
November 8, 2013
By JDStud
from Texas
"I have been pressure washing professionally for 10 years, and thus gone through many, many pressure washers. I had all my equipment stolen last year, and decided to get a loan, and get the equipment I really needed this year to start the season off right. North Star was the brand pressure I'd dreamed of owning, and I'm very satisfied that their product exceeded my expectations. The design and construction of the frame is superior in terms of durability, appearance, and even balance as you move the rig as you work. The beautiful Honda motor starts very easily, and runs quiet comparatively. Also, I very much appreciate the face that it same with a horizontal shaft motor. Now, I have peace of mind that it's going to last me longer than a year like any other brand purchased via retail. Last, but not least I opted for this model as opposed to the model right beneath it because of the CAT industrial grade pump. In my experience it's the most crucial component, and always the first to fail, or the cause for low performance. As a professional It's not uncommon for me to use a pump in excess of 12 hours, and CAT is the only brand that's been able to meet that need adequately. It performs well, and it's practically indestructible at the same time. I literally cannot think of anything negative to say about this machine. It even has a decent size gas tank, so save oneself from having to refill it multiple times in one day. It looks professional, and it's even more than meets the eye when put to the test on the job site. I last used a lesser quality brand, and during a commercial job pressure washing a parking lot I experience a drastic loss of pressure after about 4 hours that lasted about 15 minutes, and then re-began within even less time. I had to shut off the machine for over an hour, and let it cool, and it was never the same after that. The store replaced it due to my in store warranty, and it happened again after about 8 hours use. This repeated every time I didn't give the pump a break every 2-3 hours. This obviously cut into my completion time, and after I went through 4 of the same machine my decision to dwich to North Star was final. I can say I've used this rig for 12 hours strait with no problem whatsoever. I feel comfortable in saying it could last longer than I could physically use it for everyday from season to season without fail. You get what you pay for.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice

,
September 17, 2013
By WK001
from Roanoke, Virginia
"Engine starts easily, runs great! Superb water pressure. Compared to my last pressure washer the spray pattern tips are excellent with consistant spray across the width of spray pattern, HOWEVER, do not flush HP water through wand without having a tip installed, the o-ring in the quick-connect goes flying ;) ..... and the pressure control valve in the pump works flawlessly. Cycle the wand trigger on/off all day long with no water pressure control issues, [ My last pressure washer I could not let go of the wand trigger because the pump would go into bypass and stick in bypass causing low pressure at the wand tip]. I highly recommend this pressure washer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad wather pump

,
September 16, 2013
By ANestoro
from New Jearsy
"I have this power washer for 1,5y and I use it few times until June this year and its keep braking since than. Costumer sevice in Nortstar are not very helpful and also the srvice places where thay send you.I lost lot of time and money with this machine im wrating this coment for 2nd time now I hope will show on the reviews. Now I know how thay get only good reviews beacuse thay dont publish the bad."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pressure Washer

,
August 20, 2012
By the2js97
from Charlotte, NC
"I purchased this PW because of the reliability of the Honda engine and Cat pump. I only used it for 10 hours thus far and it seems great! Even quicker than the Troy Bilt 3000psi 2.5gpm I borrowed last year to do my driveway. I believe the difference is in the pump."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolFebruary 15, 2013
The new line of NorthStar cold water pressure washers have been upgraded for improved performance. This review and all prior reviews are from the previous model.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2 years old

,
August 20, 2012
By Lh197
from NE
"Have owned for two years. Friends and family have borrowed many time. Have had no problems. The tips do where out, so keep a extra one of the size you normally use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Performance

,
August 14, 2012
By Jaby
from Kent, WA
"I bought this pressure washer because of the reliability of the Honda engine and cat pump. I have had to use it several times and it has always started up right away and keeps on running until my jobs have been done. I'm believing with proper maintenance and care I won't have to buy another one for many many years"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar wonder washer

,
January 17, 2012
By jesse123
from maryland
"great machine , used my father in laws washer to clean my house and driveway and this thing rocks , easy to use spary tips , i wish i could give 10 out 10 stars on this , i will buy in the future from northen tools"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

no power

,
November 10, 2011
By toter
from Kansas
"Over the entire washer is well built the 160cc Honda is very under powered for this pump the same pump with a 200 cc engine is a much better combo. After using a this unit I returned it and purchased a unit with a larger engine same PSI and GPM it doesn’t bog down and performs much better uses less fuel and develops more tip pressure the exhaust doesn’t glow red all the time either"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
11out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro series power washer

,
October 10, 2011
By Mazzy
from Massachusetts
"Wow, this unit looks and feels like something a professional would use and better yet it performs better than I expected. It is easy to start, there are all of right nozzles you'd expect, the chemical nozzle works great and the stream reaches out to the top of my house - no more contractors coming to power wash here!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent machine

,
July 9, 2011
By anything
from Florida
"This is an excellent machine; frankly better than expected. Initially worried about "not enough power" vs the "big" 4000 psi unit with three times the engine horsepower. CAT pump reputation and that of the Honda GX engine is legendary. Ease of starting . . . wish all my other machines started so well! Plus great "gas mileage" to boot!
Northern's Tech-Support department is excellent, far unlike the majority of businesses selling any product, computers or otherwise. Their knowledge and service was excellent across two calls for help (a defective pressure-relief valve when delivered; new one sent without question.)
Hose stiffness is my sole gripe - it is miserably stiff under pressure, ALSO without pressure when trying to simply coil or wind. There's got to be a better solution; it's otherwise a major wrestling match and very tiring while using because of the stiffness.
One fix that's been very helpful is applying a long twist-tie to the pistol grip trigger to keep it ON when doing extensive jobs (cleaning a concrete driveway as an example). Locked "on" it is far less tiring to the hand and wrist, allows better overall control of the wand. (Have never figured out why machines of this type come with a "Lock Off" lever (a chain saw I can well understand). A lock "ON" choice is far more useful.
Information about the CAT pump itself, its operation and adjustments, is noticeably lacking in material sent, and that's surprising for an expensive pump.
Overall: money well spent on a quality unit. I suspect it'll last a lifetime, mine at least!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pressure Washer

,
June 13, 2011
By GreasePro
from Carolinas
"This unit works very well for us. I have been in the grease cleaning industry for 10 years and have used many different washers. For our specialized application it is almost perfect. I would prefer it to be 3 gpm, but overall the 2.5 gpm works fine. The Cat pump seems to be virtually indestructible."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Professional Series Pressure Washer - 3000 psi

,
May 28, 2011
By eaglerest
from Gilbertsville, KY
"The two things that sold me on this pressure washer after I decided how much pressure I needed, was the Honda engine and the Cat pump. I live on a lake so everything gets pressure washed. Docks, ramps, walkways, patios and decks, etc. The box the washer came in was damaged and must have been dropped. On close inspection one wheel was bent. Having been around the block before with this problem of whose to blame game, I quickly ordered another wheel for $15 and solved the problem. I used the washer for 7 hrs. the first time and it performed perfectly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This pressure washer excites me!

,
March 23, 2011
By nelsond7004
from nelsondvance@gmail.com
"Has there ever been a tool that you use that gets you all excited to use? I honestly have to say I like using this pressure washer. I have owned two other pressure washers before this unit and both have failed miserably. I know the price is a little steap for most people, but you do honestly get what you pay for. After a long talk with a northern tool associate, I was able to narrow it down to this unit.
I can only think of one dislike that I have and that is it does not come with a hose and reel assembly. My other pressure washers had this and it made it very easy to store your hose. I did end up purchasing the hose and reel for this unit and I do not regret it.
What do I like most about this unit? Well for one it has the Honda GX motor which is a step up from the GC. Everything about this pressure washer is rated for commercial use. My way of thinking, the average home user will have this one for a life time. This thing is built like a tank.
It cranks generally on the first or second pull in warmer weather. For a Honda the motor is very quite and "purs like a cat!" All of the controls are easy to use from the throttle, choke, fuel shut off, and on/off switch.
I use this pressure washer on my decks, tractor, ATV, and vehicles and I have no complaint.
I personally can't think of a reason why someone looking for a lifetime investment wouldn't consider this unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Your moneys worth

,
March 21, 2011
By ZOMBIEWOOF73
from LAWRENCEVILLE,GA.
"I recently purchased this washer after a lot of research. You can't beat a Honda engine/Cat pump combo. The engine starts easily and comes up to operating status quickly. Variable pressure is really an excellent feature as this makes it suitable for many more types of washing. The pump comes filled with oil and is ready to go. The engine has to be filled with oil. Both units use easy to get oil and both will last a LONG time if given proper care. I recommend the addition of a variable adjustment spray nozzle to your list, as that makes it easy to change cleaning styles during use. The unit holds enough fuel to clean until you need a break! This unit will satisfy all but the most extreme commercial uses and will give good service for years to come"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Power Washer

,
March 21, 2011
By jamban95
from Katy, Texas
"We have used it to wash the house/garage, the car and truck, driveway and sidewalk, patio furniture ice chests, and just about anything else we can think of. This is a great power washer. The engine starts fast and doesn't use that much fuel. The wand works fine, as does the 12' extension we bought with the washer. If this is in your price range, you should give this machine serious consideration."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great power washer

,
March 21, 2011
By cmil5
from Redding,CA
"This is a great machine I have the older model with the 9 horse honda motor I bought it in 2004 and it still works perfect. I can only say good things about this machine. What more is there to say honda motor and Cat pump speak them self. Miller Painting"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power washer

,
March 14, 2011
By 29hunter
from Centralia, Kansas
"This power washer is by far the easiest startin gas motor I have ever purchased. The honda engine starts no matter if is cold engine or hot. The cat pump runs smooth and has all the pressure I need to clean vehicles or remove oil from my farm equipment."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pressure Washer

,
November 26, 2010
By MrShop
from SoCal
"We struggled with an old B&S driven pressure washer for years. It kept working, so we kept using it. Finally it died and we replaced it with this unit. The best thing that old unit did was die!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

North Star Power Washer

,
November 24, 2010
By crhatchery
from Colorado
"This washer has some serious power. We've used it to wash down walls in fish hatchery raceways. It has removed years of algae and mineral deposits down to the concrete where other power washers only touched the surface. We also us it to disinfect tanks and vehicles, and have even washed down buildings prior to repainting. Very good tool, especially for the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Northstar Pressure Washer

,
September 8, 2010
By beware
from Pennsylvania
"Purchased unit and is just out of two year warranty. You have to constantly adjust valve to allow cleaning fluid to flow on low pressure. Replaced spray gun and tires - even though just out of warranty, NorthStar will not do anything for me (some companies will honor warranty if just expired). NorthStar did say that tires will dry rot even after two years. For price I have paid and cost of replacing parts, I could have paid someone else to wash my house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.