Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720

NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720

Item# 15781720
This NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer offers superior cleaning performance for home and job sites. Equipped with a Honda GX160 OHV engine featuring a cast iron sleeve, low oil shutdown and a horizontal shaft design for up to five times longer life than vertical shaft engines. Premium Cat direct drive triplex pump with forged brass manifold offers thermal protection to prevent overheating and ceramic plungers for longer seal life. NorthStar pressure washers undergo thousands of hours of rigorous testing to ensure peak performance, plus include an industry-leading warranty to give you extra peace of mind. Orifice Size 3.0, Pump Oil Included Yes, Thermal Protector Yes, Pressure PSI 3,000, Flow GPM 2.5, Gun Industrial rear entry w/ 3 ft. lance, Fuel Type Gasoline, Pump CAT 4DNX, Chemical Injector Yes, Cart Push-down style steel cart, Engine Displacement cc 163, Engine Oil Included No, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Hose 50-ft. gray high-pressure, Gross Torque 7.3, Engine Oil Type SAE30, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.83, Drive Direct, Adjustable Pressure Yes, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Max. Output Water Temp F 140, Engine Honda, Engine Model GX160, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 21.5 x 38, Nozzle Type Quick-connect, Pump Oil Type SAE 30 nondetergent. Honda GX160 163cc engine for quiet, reliable performance Cat direct drive triplex pump offers superior durability Push-down style steel cart with extended handle for smooth, balanced maneuvering 10in. pneumatic tires Easy Start prevents pressure buildup for smoother, easier recoil pulling Sight glass allows for quick, convenient pump oil checks Adjustable pressure provides greater versatility NorthStar nozzle holder system attaches to pressure washer or user's belt Includes 50-ft. gray nonmarking high-pressure hose, 3-ft. lance, 3/8in. quick-connection, downstream chemical injector and five quick-couple professional nozzles 0, 15, 25, 40 and chemical/soap Full-featured accessory kit available, Item# 720153, sold separately 4-year consumer limited warranty 2-year commercial limited warranty 3-year limited warranty on Honda GX engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.621 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (58 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
54 of 58(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Review 21 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
August 31, 2010
By J1778
from Jonesville, LA.
"I recently purchased this pressure washer. I am really pleased with it so far. Assembly was easy and it started right up. It really does a good job, I have washed my daughters driveway and my house with great results. The Honda engine uses very little gas and he CAT pump is very well built."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
August 30, 2010
By CECM
"Best product I have used for commerical and residential use. I would recommend this product for anyone looking for a dependable pressure washer that is easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power To Keep Washing

,
August 30, 2010
By Tickmountain
from Missouri and Illinois
"I purchased this power washer several years ago and it has performed flawlessly. It does all of the chores I have asked it to do both in my urban home (cleaning off the lawn mower and under it (yuck), washing driveways and sidewalks, etc.) as well as at my rural property (washing siding, sidewalks and small farming equipment).
I have not been diligent in winterizing the power washer other than draining the water out, yet it comes back to life every spring. It is important to follow the startup procedures or you will struggle gettting going, but I would recommend this power washer for all but the most extreme cleaning requirements and at what I believe to be a reasonable price!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PRESSURE WASHER

,
August 30, 2010
By PARTZMAN
"I BOUGHT THIS UNIT WITH GREAT EXPECTATIONS. I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED. THIS IS A GREAT PEICE OF EQUIPMENT.
EASY TO START AND OPPERATE. DOES A GREAT JOB OF CLEANING JUST ABOUT ANYTHING.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

check oil

,
August 30, 2010
By txhardhead
from Texas
"Purchased unit and am well pleased. Was told pump and motor oil not included and was needed. Pump came with oil installed. Engine came with some oil installed. I did not need all the oil I purchased. Unit does a good job of cleaning."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power washer

,
August 23, 2010
By hayraker
from st. louis, mo
"I'm very happy with this power washer. The Honda engine has plenty of power, is dependable, and starts easy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda powered pressure washer

,
June 2, 2010
By BigLon
from Ramsey, MN
"The CAT pump is the "cat's meow." A pressure washer is only as good as the pump, and the CAT pump is the best! Of course, the Honda engine is no slouch either! A GREAT unit! Properly maintained, will outlive you!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This does the job the best

,
June 2, 2010
By Jeff100
from San Diego, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
""I have been using this model pressure washer for close to two years now and am extremely happy with it. I have used it to wash my car, truck, fence house, driveway, kids wooden playground set, plus customers houses, porches & driveways. But I bought this to start a washing business with. There is enough pressure to do the jobs quickly and still ensure that they are clean, without using a lot of water. I am able to wash a complete gas station with less than 60 gallons of water, and do it in less than two hours. The easily changeable nozzles make so easy to get the right pattern and pressure for the job I am working on.
I highly recommend this product ."
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Profession Series Pressure Washer 3000PSI

,
May 24, 2010
By Hollandglade
from Dagsboro De.
"I have been using the P/S 3000 PSI now for three months and it has lived up to all my expectations. Honda engine starts every time, the fit and finish of this machine is excellent. From the powder coated paint job to location of all operating devices this machine was designed to give years of excellent service. I would highly recommend this for either the Home Owner or a power wash business."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought one, now buying another one.

,
May 24, 2010
By Askmediy
from Middleown
"I was a little nervous at first but after many decks and house wash's I love this unit. We run it sometimes all day long, going from one job to the next. The only thing that stops it is when I run out of gas."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

workhorse

,
February 23, 2010
By gakk
from Clarksville In.
"Mine is seven years old, no problems, starts first or second crank and if you don't want it clean don't use this machine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Pressure Washer - good investment

,
February 22, 2010
By SGroveM
from Yardley, Pa. (Philadelphia area)
"I've owned a Northstar Professional series Pressure Washer (3000psi, 2.5 GPM) model for 7 years. I use it strictly around the house for "homeowner-type" applications. This machine has not only performed according to the stated specifications and expectations, but has been submerged several times by Delaware River flood waters (2004 and 2005). Each time this has happened, I've cleaned it, changed the oil several times, and resumed using it. Not only has it been used for standard applications such as power washing vinyl siding, driveway surfaces, car washing, removing algae and lichens from outbuildings and roof surfaces, etc; but also for major post-flood clean-ups on 3 separate occasions.
It has logged many hours of use during the past 7 years and stil is running strong. I also purchased the "Giraffe" extension wand which allows me to easily reach second story elevations without the use of a ladder. The combination of CAT pump and Honda internal combustion engine is virtually bullet proof. I had owned several "generic" pressure washers prior to purchasing this one. These machines lasted for only several years with relatively modest operation time. This Northern machine still shows no signs of a slow down. The only thing I've replaced are some of the couplers and nozzles.
It has more than enough power for demanding applications, but is fairly light weight and easy to transport. I've owned it long enough and "challenged it" under enough extraordinary conditions to recommend it, without reservation, to anyone who is looking for a very reliable machine and has been frustrated with the inferior durability of the pressure washers available in most "big box" stores.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
February 22, 2010
By JohnMck
from Moreno Valley California
"I use my NorthStar Pressure washer to clean my cars, home, Farm Equipment. I have had my NorthStars pressure washer for 4 years and it starts everytime on the first pull. I use it to clean my drive way and with the chemical adapter I am able to use a varity of chemicals from acid to soap. I strongly recomend my NorthStar pressure washer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome washer

,
November 3, 2009
By hriser
from Eden Prairie
"This washer is the perfect size for any job! It performs all types of cleanning jobs with ease. The pump is the best in teh business and the Honda power is second to none."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gas pressure washer

,
November 2, 2009
By Possumrod
from Catawba,S.C.
"I purchased this product at the local store. I have used it numerous times and have nothing but praise!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer - 5 stars

,
November 2, 2009
By maggeroo19
from Milwaukee, WI
"A Great pressure washer for the money. Incredibly durable pump and Honda motor combination. I purchase this to wash my deck, I also found the sandblaster attachment useful at cleaning rusty machinery prior to painting. It is got plenty of power for all the jobs that I have encountered."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works as described

,
November 2, 2009
By Rick7
from Pittsboro, NC
"Very pleased with this pressure washer. Had no prior experience with pressure washers, but did a great deal of research. reliability and length of life is important to me as I only use this unit once a month or so, and I want it to start and work without drama each time. This unit performs exactly as described in the write-up on the website. Excellent pressure, easy to start, easy to use, and, so far, very reliable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pressure washer

,
November 2, 2009
By Mattie123
from Houston, Texas
"I really like my pressure washer, it is easy to start and does a great job. I am an older petite woman and I really needed a washer that was easy to start. It has plenty of power and performs to my expectations"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pressure Washer

,
October 21, 2009
By Jim1950
from Lafayette, LA
"I have used and/or owned pressure washers in the past. This is by far the best one that I have had the opportunity to use. It has plenty of power and enough spray tips to meet any of my requirements. Thanks for a good product at a much less expensive cost than what is available locally."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A workhorse

,
October 20, 2009
By RWKINCH
from Killingworth, Ct.
"This unit starts with two pulls. It delivers enough force to clean anything I have attempted including greasy machinery."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.