Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720

NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720

Item# 15781720
This NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer offers superior cleaning performance for home and job sites. Equipped with a Honda GX160 OHV engine featuring a cast iron sleeve, low oil shutdown and a horizontal shaft design for up to five times longer life than vertical shaft engines. Premium Cat direct drive triplex pump with forged brass manifold offers thermal protection to prevent overheating and ceramic plungers for longer seal life. NorthStar pressure washers undergo thousands of hours of rigorous testing to ensure peak performance, plus include an industry-leading warranty to give you extra peace of mind. Chemical Injector Yes, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Drive Direct, Adjustable Pressure Yes, Cart Push-down style steel cart, Engine Oil Included No, Engine Oil Type SAE30, Flow GPM 2.5, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.83, Engine Displacement cc 163, Engine Model GX160, Hose 50-ft. gray high-pressure, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Fuel Type Gasoline, Gross Torque 7.3, Orifice Size 3.0, Pressure PSI 3,000, Pump Oil Included Yes, Max. Output Water Temp F 140, Nozzle Type Quick-connect, Pump Oil Type SAE 30 nondetergent, Thermal Protector Yes, Engine Honda, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 21.5 x 38, Pump CAT 4DNX, Gun Industrial rear entry w/ 3 ft. lance. Honda GX160 163cc engine for quiet, reliable performance Cat 4DNX direct drive triplex pump offers superior durability Push-down style steel cart with extended handle for smooth, balanced maneuvering 10in. pneumatic tires Easy Start prevents pressure buildup for smoother, easier recoil pulling Sight glass allows for quick, convenient pump oil checks Adjustable pressure provides greater versatility NorthStar nozzle holder system attaches to pressure washer or user's belt Includes 50-ft. gray nonmarking high-pressure hose, 3-ft. lance, 3/8in. quick-connection, downstream chemical injector and five quick-couple professional nozzles 0, 15, 25, 40 and chemical/soap Full-featured accessory kit available, Item# 720153, sold separately 4-year consumer limited warranty 2-year commercial limited warranty 3-year limited warranty on Honda GX engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (68 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
64 of 68(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Review 21 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pressure Washer

,
June 13, 2011
By GreasePro
from Carolinas
"This unit works very well for us. I have been in the grease cleaning industry for 10 years and have used many different washers. For our specialized application it is almost perfect. I would prefer it to be 3 gpm, but overall the 2.5 gpm works fine. The Cat pump seems to be virtually indestructible."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Professional Series Pressure Washer - 3000 psi

,
May 28, 2011
By eaglerest
from Gilbertsville, KY
"The two things that sold me on this pressure washer after I decided how much pressure I needed, was the Honda engine and the Cat pump. I live on a lake so everything gets pressure washed. Docks, ramps, walkways, patios and decks, etc. The box the washer came in was damaged and must have been dropped. On close inspection one wheel was bent. Having been around the block before with this problem of whose to blame game, I quickly ordered another wheel for $15 and solved the problem. I used the washer for 7 hrs. the first time and it performed perfectly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This pressure washer excites me!

,
March 23, 2011
By nelsond7004
from nelsondvance@gmail.com
"Has there ever been a tool that you use that gets you all excited to use? I honestly have to say I like using this pressure washer. I have owned two other pressure washers before this unit and both have failed miserably. I know the price is a little steap for most people, but you do honestly get what you pay for. After a long talk with a northern tool associate, I was able to narrow it down to this unit.
I can only think of one dislike that I have and that is it does not come with a hose and reel assembly. My other pressure washers had this and it made it very easy to store your hose. I did end up purchasing the hose and reel for this unit and I do not regret it.
What do I like most about this unit? Well for one it has the Honda GX motor which is a step up from the GC. Everything about this pressure washer is rated for commercial use. My way of thinking, the average home user will have this one for a life time. This thing is built like a tank.
It cranks generally on the first or second pull in warmer weather. For a Honda the motor is very quite and "purs like a cat!" All of the controls are easy to use from the throttle, choke, fuel shut off, and on/off switch.
I use this pressure washer on my decks, tractor, ATV, and vehicles and I have no complaint.
I personally can't think of a reason why someone looking for a lifetime investment wouldn't consider this unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Your moneys worth

,
March 21, 2011
By ZOMBIEWOOF73
from LAWRENCEVILLE,GA.
"I recently purchased this washer after a lot of research. You can't beat a Honda engine/Cat pump combo. The engine starts easily and comes up to operating status quickly. Variable pressure is really an excellent feature as this makes it suitable for many more types of washing. The pump comes filled with oil and is ready to go. The engine has to be filled with oil. Both units use easy to get oil and both will last a LONG time if given proper care. I recommend the addition of a variable adjustment spray nozzle to your list, as that makes it easy to change cleaning styles during use. The unit holds enough fuel to clean until you need a break! This unit will satisfy all but the most extreme commercial uses and will give good service for years to come"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Power Washer

,
March 21, 2011
By jamban95
from Katy, Texas
"We have used it to wash the house/garage, the car and truck, driveway and sidewalk, patio furniture ice chests, and just about anything else we can think of. This is a great power washer. The engine starts fast and doesn't use that much fuel. The wand works fine, as does the 12' extension we bought with the washer. If this is in your price range, you should give this machine serious consideration."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great power washer

,
March 21, 2011
By cmil5
from Redding,CA
"This is a great machine I have the older model with the 9 horse honda motor I bought it in 2004 and it still works perfect. I can only say good things about this machine. What more is there to say honda motor and Cat pump speak them self. Miller Painting"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power washer

,
March 14, 2011
By 29hunter
from Centralia, Kansas
"This power washer is by far the easiest startin gas motor I have ever purchased. The honda engine starts no matter if is cold engine or hot. The cat pump runs smooth and has all the pressure I need to clean vehicles or remove oil from my farm equipment."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pressure Washer

,
November 26, 2010
By MrShop
from SoCal
"We struggled with an old B&S driven pressure washer for years. It kept working, so we kept using it. Finally it died and we replaced it with this unit. The best thing that old unit did was die!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

North Star Power Washer

,
November 24, 2010
By crhatchery
from Colorado
"This washer has some serious power. We've used it to wash down walls in fish hatchery raceways. It has removed years of algae and mineral deposits down to the concrete where other power washers only touched the surface. We also us it to disinfect tanks and vehicles, and have even washed down buildings prior to repainting. Very good tool, especially for the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Northstar Pressure Washer

,
September 8, 2010
By beware
from Pennsylvania
"Purchased unit and is just out of two year warranty. You have to constantly adjust valve to allow cleaning fluid to flow on low pressure. Replaced spray gun and tires - even though just out of warranty, NorthStar will not do anything for me (some companies will honor warranty if just expired). NorthStar did say that tires will dry rot even after two years. For price I have paid and cost of replacing parts, I could have paid someone else to wash my house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
August 31, 2010
By J1778
from Jonesville, LA.
"I recently purchased this pressure washer. I am really pleased with it so far. Assembly was easy and it started right up. It really does a good job, I have washed my daughters driveway and my house with great results. The Honda engine uses very little gas and he CAT pump is very well built."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
August 30, 2010
By CECM
"Best product I have used for commerical and residential use. I would recommend this product for anyone looking for a dependable pressure washer that is easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power To Keep Washing

,
August 30, 2010
By Tickmountain
from Missouri and Illinois
"I purchased this power washer several years ago and it has performed flawlessly. It does all of the chores I have asked it to do both in my urban home (cleaning off the lawn mower and under it (yuck), washing driveways and sidewalks, etc.) as well as at my rural property (washing siding, sidewalks and small farming equipment).
I have not been diligent in winterizing the power washer other than draining the water out, yet it comes back to life every spring. It is important to follow the startup procedures or you will struggle gettting going, but I would recommend this power washer for all but the most extreme cleaning requirements and at what I believe to be a reasonable price!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PRESSURE WASHER

,
August 30, 2010
By PARTZMAN
"I BOUGHT THIS UNIT WITH GREAT EXPECTATIONS. I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED. THIS IS A GREAT PEICE OF EQUIPMENT.
EASY TO START AND OPPERATE. DOES A GREAT JOB OF CLEANING JUST ABOUT ANYTHING.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

check oil

,
August 30, 2010
By txhardhead
from Texas
"Purchased unit and am well pleased. Was told pump and motor oil not included and was needed. Pump came with oil installed. Engine came with some oil installed. I did not need all the oil I purchased. Unit does a good job of cleaning."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power washer

,
August 23, 2010
By hayraker
from st. louis, mo
"I'm very happy with this power washer. The Honda engine has plenty of power, is dependable, and starts easy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda powered pressure washer

,
June 2, 2010
By BigLon
from Ramsey, MN
"The CAT pump is the "cat's meow." A pressure washer is only as good as the pump, and the CAT pump is the best! Of course, the Honda engine is no slouch either! A GREAT unit! Properly maintained, will outlive you!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This does the job the best

,
June 2, 2010
By Jeff100
from San Diego, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
""I have been using this model pressure washer for close to two years now and am extremely happy with it. I have used it to wash my car, truck, fence house, driveway, kids wooden playground set, plus customers houses, porches & driveways. But I bought this to start a washing business with. There is enough pressure to do the jobs quickly and still ensure that they are clean, without using a lot of water. I am able to wash a complete gas station with less than 60 gallons of water, and do it in less than two hours. The easily changeable nozzles make so easy to get the right pattern and pressure for the job I am working on.
I highly recommend this product ."
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Profession Series Pressure Washer 3000PSI

,
May 24, 2010
By Hollandglade
from Dagsboro De.
"I have been using the P/S 3000 PSI now for three months and it has lived up to all my expectations. Honda engine starts every time, the fit and finish of this machine is excellent. From the powder coated paint job to location of all operating devices this machine was designed to give years of excellent service. I would highly recommend this for either the Home Owner or a power wash business."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 2.5 GPM, 3000 PSI, Model# 15781720
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought one, now buying another one.

,
May 24, 2010
By Askmediy
from Middleown
"I was a little nervous at first but after many decks and house wash's I love this unit. We run it sometimes all day long, going from one job to the next. The only thing that stops it is when I run out of gas."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.