Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820

NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820

Item# 15781820
This NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer offers superior cleaning performance for home and job sites. Equipped with a Honda GX270 OHV engine featuring a cast iron sleeve, low oil shutdown and a horizontal shaft design for up to five times longer life than vertical shaft engines. Premium Cat direct drive triplex pump with forged brass manifold offers thermal protection to prevent overheating and ceramic plungers for longer seal life. NorthStar pressure washers undergo thousands of hours of rigorous testing to ensure peak performance, plus include an industry-leading warranty to give you extra peace of mind. Adjustable Pressure Yes, Cart Steel push-down, Chemical Injector Yes, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Engine Displacement cc 270, Engine Model GX270, Engine Oil Included No, Engine Oil Type SAE30, Drive Direct, Fuel Type Gasoline, Gross Torque 13.1, Hose 50-ft. gray high-pressure, Flow GPM 3.0, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.4, Max. Output Water Temp F 140, Nozzle Type Quick-connect, Orifice Size 3.5, Pressure PSI 3,300, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Pump Oil Type SAE 30 nondetergent, Thermal Protector Yes, Pump Oil Included Yes, Engine Honda, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 21.5 x 38, Gun Industrial rear entry w/ 3 ft. lance, Pump CAT 4SPX. Honda GX270 270cc engine for quiet, reliable performance Cat direct drive triplex pump offers superior durability Rugged welded push-down style steel cart with extended handle for smooth, balanced maneuvering 10in. pneumatic tires Easy Start prevents pressure buildup for smoother, easier recoil pulling Sight glass allows for quick, convenient pump oil checks NorthStar nozzle holder system attaches to pressure washer or user's belt Includes 50-ft. gray nonmarking high-pressure hose, 3-ft. lance, 3/8in. quick-connection, downstream chemical injector and five quick-couple professional nozzles 0, 15, 25, 40 and chemical/soap Full-featured accessory kit available, Item# 720154, sold separately 4-year consumer limited warranty 2-year commercial limited warranty 3-year limited warranty on Honda GX engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (30 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 30(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Review 1 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power washer

,
June 22, 2014
By jcrab
from DeRuyter NY
"Excellant purchase! I have done the deck 22' X 24', 3 sets steps, cement pool surround and washed vehicles. Best pessure washer I have ever owned or used. Would recommend anyone looking for a washer to buy this one. Starts easy, runs quiet, and uses little gas."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, one important note regarding setup

,
March 12, 2013
By Buyerofwasher
from Dallas TX
"This product works as advertised and is a solid performer. I neglected to put enough oil in the machine initially, and couldn't start it, prompting a call to the Northstar service desk. They pointed out that the low oil sensor will prevent any spark (it looks like the sensor is tied into the on/off switch).
Once I put in sufficient oil the machine started quite easily and had plenty of power.
Be aware that the low-oil cutoff feature is very nice to have, but requires you to pay attention during the setup process. The manual mentions this fact, but I was suprised at just how much oil the machine was able to take during the initial setup.
5 stars - great product and great support when I called."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have one question about the product

,
March 10, 2013
By Hotwasher
from Eastern NC
"I've got one comment and one question. I just read a comment from some dissatisfied person who trashed the North Star (forgot the model) because he says the pump is junk. He must either not know how to use it or he/she just got a bad one. I have a North Star item 1578202-2106 and have had it for over two years and it runs like a fine woman. Perfect. It has the best pump going, the CAT 66DX. I love it and it has yet to ever let me down. So, that said, I have a question.
My washer has the Honda GX390 engine. Is it possible to have an electric starter retrofitted to this engine. I use it quite a bit and I'm not as young as I used to be and an electric starter would be a huge help. Thanks in advance for any info. It's a great product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pressure washer- I really like it

,
October 8, 2012
By Dave1949
from Wendell, NC
"I had previously owned a couple of the smaller pressure washers and had also borrowed a couple as well after mine wore out They were the typical low cost box store units washers. I Decided that I wanted something that would clean faster and save me time when I cleaned my house so I purchased this unit. I looked many many other brands and models. WOW! This thing is great! It will tire me out it puts out so much water and pressure that I get tired of holding the wand but man does it clean fast! It starts easy. The adjustable pressure is great and it is also really needed. The maximum capacity of this thing is too strong for some work so I like to turn the pressure down. Actually I run it at 2600 psi, that is plenty and the flow is very high. It is NOT the same as the smaller 2600 psi washers they must have a lower flow because this works much better. I love it. Well worth the extra money. I bought the pressure guage with it. Its a good investment because I can set it to the same pressue for each time so I get consistent results. BTW- it does create 3300 psi as advertised. I also don't run the engine at full throttle usually about full minus 10% so the guage really does help me be consistent. I really like the 50' hose. It allows a lot of movement. The only improvement I can think of is that the hose holder should be higher. I like to wrap the hose into a larger loop and it drags on the ground with this holder. So I end up wrapping it into a smaller loop than I prefer. This is a pretty small critique. I still give it 5 stars, can you give 6? If so I would. Buy this one its great!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolFebruary 15, 2013
The new line of NorthStar cold water pressure washers have been upgraded for improved performance. This review and all prior reviews are from the previous model.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar 3300 psi pressure washer

,
September 1, 2012
By JM9905
from Portland OR
"I've used the washer for about 8 hours now and it works great. Lots of pressure even with a 50' garden hose and 150' of high pressure hose. I purchased the additional 100' hose and it's well worth it because now I can do the entire driveway without moving the machine. It started the first time on the second pull and now starts on the first pull. It's very well constructed and the wand is much heavier duty than my old one, as is the hose. I'm really happy with this purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Pressure Washer

,
August 15, 2012
By javagirl
from Battle Ground, WA
"Don't hesitate to purchase this awesome pressure washing beast!! Box arrived promptly on a flat bed truck. Driver helped us unload without any problem. Washer required some assembly. Honda motor and CAT pump are the best. Sips gas and is easier to manuver than the 4 gal/minute model of this washer we have used in the past without compromising power. Starts on first pull and runs until it's out of gas!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
August 13, 2012
By RP76
from Roswell, NM
"This is the real deal. If you need to get some serious pressure washing done, this is the machine. It is not light or quiet but puts out a tremendous amount of water. It also seems like it is going to hold up to a lot of abuse."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Incompatible wand connector

,
May 30, 2012
By ABACman
from GA
"Product arrived and I was pleased with the quality. I have not been able to use it as the wand that was shipped had a connector that is not compatible with the lance that is provided or any other pressure washer extension or lance I own. The connector is impossible to remove from the wand with the hand tools I own. Northern has shipped me another connector, but I plan on calling tomorrow and bargaining for a complete wand assembly that has the correct connector. I would make sure Northern has corrrected this problem before ordering this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeds all expectations !!

,
May 17, 2012
By FreeSpirit
from Concord, NC
"I purchased this pressure washer on a recommendation from my brother in 2004. He purchased his pressure washer from Northern Tool many years earlier because it had a "Cat" pump. his was used daily as he bought and sold used cars. Told me to by the same type of pump, direct drive, Honda engine etc., and I should expect to share the same experience. Well I have been impressed with this purchase. My experience is echoed by many here. Starts first pull after sitting for a season. I am able to run the engine at lower RPM for most cleaning due to the incredible pressure it produces. Fuel ?? Sometime I can't believe that it hasn't used hardly any. The washer has been used sometimes for 10 hours at a time and consistently gave great service.
I did discover that you must rinse out the Downstream chemical injector or the venturi may clog. Also the injector will not work for 20' high applications useing an optional wand. This operation would require some creativity in pre pressurizing the chemical. That accomplished I was able to use the washer to "soap up" the eves of my building while I was standing on the ground.
All in All I would purchase this model again but probably won't have to as I expect it to last many more years."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Pressure Washer I Have Used

,
July 15, 2011
By Cincinnatus
from Cincinnati
"After doing the research, I had high hopes for this machine, and it exceeded my expectations. After filling it with oil, I put the machine on choke, set the throttle mid range pulled the rope. The Honda motor started on the first pull. Moreover, the machine is quiet and powerful.
My original intent was to buy a smaller machine because of weight considerations. However, this machine is well within tolerances and it has power to perform a wide array of shop and home tasks.
The first job for this pressure washer was cleaning the concrete apron outside my shop. For years, I had groused about stains in the concrete created by a vendor who dumped a load of dyed wood chips on the concrete pad years ago. My mistake was leaving these dyed chips on the apron far too long before spreading them. The stain used to dye the chips brown had washed off during a subsequent rain and nothing would remove the annoying brown spot: not strong detergent, not clorox, not elbow grease.
I put on a narrow (15 degree, yellow) spray nozzle and went after the stain that had bothered me for years. The stain is no longer there and the concrete looks like new. It also does a great job removing tire marks.
My wife later tried it out on a gray plastic lawn chair that had acuired a heavy coat of mold over the years. That chair now looks as good as the day she purchased it. She tried it out on the barbecue grates and they now look new---all without oven cleaners and rubber gloves.
My plans are to buy an X Jet and use various chemicals to clean items around the shop: engines, stained exterior siding, greasy parts. Plus, it will make cleaning the boat and RV much easier."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good, solid machine

,
June 6, 2011
By MIKEB2
"This power washer does all that I hoped it would. It's easily assembled, starts right up, and produces an easily-controlled powerful water jet. Too, it's quiet. The selection of nozzles, and its ability to siphon up whatever additive one might need to use, enable it to handle any of the tasks I might imagine. And that's right out of the box without having to purchase any extras."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Professional Series Pressure Washer - 33

,
March 22, 2011
By hollywood3926
"I like that the washer is very handy. It is balanced well. It has excellent pressure. The interchangeable nozzles are great. It works great for prepping the outbuildings for painting. I can reach the peak without standing on a ladder. The wand is very lightweight and easy to use. It works well when washing the truck and trailer. Very happy with my purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pressure

,
March 21, 2011
By Python
from Lansing, Michigan
"With the amount of gallons per minute...this power washer does the job so well..you actually don't need to crank the pressure the amount of water coming out of the tip does just about every job I have used it for, like drive ways, paint stripping, wood decks, and wahing down the grease on my tractor. Is the only waher you will ever need."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Reliable Pressure Washer

,
March 21, 2011
By EdwinMansfieldTexas
from Mansfield, Tx
"We own rental homes & needed something which would withstand the rigors of contract laborers & would be reliable. The people at Northern Tool were experts & helped educate me on which models have the various features. We have owned this for 3 yrs & haven't had any problems with it. It's used several times per month for cleaning the outside of homes, patios, decks & occasionally for washing cars. I was ignorant of how to use the unit when we first purchased it... the guys in the store kindly educated me & sent me on my way; happy overall.
I highly recommend this pressure washer for frequent usage & for us it has proven to be an excellent value.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

overall experience

,
August 30, 2010
By jiminmountains
from NC
"I have had the pressure washer for over two years with intermittent use. The unit has been used for floor preparation prior to painting concrete, driveway cleaning, house cleaning, and gutter cleaning. The unit has worked flawlessly. I cut off the fuel at the end of use and let the fuel run out. It has started very well at the next use, even if several months between uses. I would definitely recommend this item."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

After 6 years.....still better that expected....

,
June 1, 2010
By rhanan
from Castro Valley, CA
"I have owned this pressure washer for almost 6 years now and I can not say enough about it. People are in awe everytime I use it. Blasts brick, stone, sidewalks and driveways clean of mold and grime, use it all the time to prep decks for sealing. Makes old wood look like new. I used it to blast off a barn roof (made of cedar shakes) before I applied a sealant. Everyone thought I put on a new roof. Removes graffiti from concrete with ease too. Blasts white plastic yard chairs to look like new. I use the pin point tip to blast old wasps nests from the 2nd story eves on my house. This is a spring cleaning must have. I always find new uses for it. Comes with a variety of tips to regulate the output power. No need for a regulator, just change tips. Honda engine starts up everytime. Cat pump is awesome and powerful. I recommend changing the pump oil regularily as stated in the manual! Highly Recommended product!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great power washer

,
February 15, 2010
By joeray
from Chicago, IL
"The Northstar professional series power washer lives up to its name. The wand is easy to handle and the pressure delivered is top notch. It moves around easily and is easily transported. The choice of nozzles covers any situation that it is used for."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works well - Difficult to move over steps

,
July 20, 2009
By Mdane
from Mass
"Got this unit about two months ago. The unit is well made and starts right away. The only BIG drawback are the 10" wheels - Very difficult to transport it over steps - The wheels should be about 2" bigger in diameter. Considering it costs approx $1000, I would imagine the manufacturer could well afford a bigger wheel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice machine, Solid components

,
July 14, 2009
By EEPilot
from Ohio
"Very solid pressure washer, good power, smooth running, and easy to operate. I expect this to work for many years to come."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.0 GPM, 3300 PSI, Model# 15781820
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

North Star Powerwasher with the Cat Pump

,
November 18, 2008
By Northstar2005
from Rural Minnesota
"I purchased this power washer 3 years ago and have used it periodically, The Honda motor always starts good even after sitting over the winter season and the performance of the washer is great, more power than I had anticipated. The quick change nozzles and the quick change hoses really make this washer easy to configure from the tough stubborn jobs to the routine car wash. I would purchase this product again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.