Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"

"NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"

Item# 15781820
"This NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer offers superior cleaning performance for home and job sites. Equipped with a Honda GX270 OHV engine featuring a cast iron sleeve, low oil shutdown and a horizontal shaft design for up to five times longer life than vertical shaft engines. Premium Cat direct drive triplex pump with forged brass manifold offers thermal protection to prevent overheating and ceramic plungers for longer seal life. NorthStar pressure washers undergo thousands of hours of rigorous testing to ensure peak performance, plus include an industry-leading warranty to give you extra peace of mind. Thermal Protector Yes, Chemical Injector Yes, Orifice Size 3.5, Engine Oil Type SAE30, Gross Torque 13.1, Flow GPM 3.0, Pressure PSI 3,300, Engine Honda, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Pump CAT 4SPX, Max. Output Water Temp F 140, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Drive Direct, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.4, Gun Industrial rear entry w/ 3 ft. lance, Fuel Type Gasoline, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Engine Oil Included No, Hose 50-ft. gray high-pressure, Engine Displacement cc 270, Pump Oil Type SAE 30 nondetergent, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 21.5 x 38, Cart Steel push-down, Nozzle Type Quick-connect, Engine Model GX270, Adjustable Pressure Yes, Pump Oil Included Yes. Honda GX270 270cc engine for quiet, reliable performance CAT direct drive triplex pump offers superior durability Rugged welded push-down style steel cart with extended handle for smooth, balanced maneuvering 10in. pneumatic tires Easy Start prevents pressure buildup for smoother, easier recoil pulling Sight glass allows for quick, convenient pump oil checks NorthStar nozzle holder system attaches to pressure washer or user's belt Includes 50-ft. gray nonmarking high-pressure hose, 3-ft. lance, 3/8in. quick-connection, downstream chemical injector and five quick-couple professional nozzles 0, 15, 25, 40 and chemical/soap 4-year consumer limited warranty 2-year commercial limited warranty 3-year limited warranty on Honda GX engine"
Average Customer Rating:
4.854 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (41 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 of 41(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Review 1 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It is the little things.

,
March 31, 2016
By
from Charlottesville, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Awesome motor, after filling tank and turning the fuel on it started on the first pull and has every time. The cat pump works great. The quick connects are very nice, except for the 3rd time using the retainer ring split and shot the nozzle into the side of truck door. See pictures.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Machine

,
January 22, 2016
By
from Luraville, FL
Awesome machine, never had one before, this is the best one for sure, it is a fine piece of equipment.It works excellent.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy duty pressure washer.

,
January 1, 2016
By
from Bellevue, Ohio
Very well built. Nice cart to move it around. Can't beat a Honda motor with a cat pump.Very powerful and well made. Not a cheap big box store unit.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Strong Pressure Washer

,
September 20, 2015
By
from Ooltewah, Tn
I used the North Star 3300PSI pressure washer right out of the box, after putting the pressure washer together (very easy) and installing the motor oil and fuel, the engine started on the first pull. I was really impressed with how much pressure this unit has. Looking forward to receiving my surface cleaner from Northern Tool to clean my driveway.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

For serious handymen only.

,
September 11, 2015
By
from Palm Bay, FL
If all you want to do is clean your driveway or wash your wooden deck, go get one of those 1500-2000 psi models. This model is for the big boys! I have a concrete pool which includes a concrete enclosure with 2-foot walls, pillars and lintel. After applying a chlorine solution, this machine knocked the mildew off like it was nothing. It made my 100 foot driveway sparkle. I used a 12 inch surface cleaner and finished the job in two days. I would still be working on it with a smaller unit. Worth the money!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good pressure washer

,
September 3, 2015
By
from MN
I opened it up and it was very easy to assemble.
It has lots of power and does the job very well.
No complaints all.
It is very well made and the pressure can be adjusted
by the throttle.
Make sure you buy oil for it because it doesn't come with it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded expectations, excelent product

,
July 29, 2015
By
from Oro Valley, Az.
Instillation very smooth clear instructions.
First usage, after single pull of starter cable.
Very effective cleaning tool.
Very satisfied.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PRESSURE WASHER

,
June 8, 2015
By
from CLEVELAND OH
SUPERIOR CLEANING POWER WITH VERSATILITY QUALITY HOSE ALTHOUGH A LITTLE STIFF (NEEDS TO BE BECAUSE OF THE HIGH PRESSURE AND VOLUME) PREFER GUN WITHOUT WAND THAT WAS PURCHASED SEPERATELY WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND HOSE SWIVELS AS HOSE CAN BE A LITTLE DIFFICULT TO WORK WITH (SWIVELS WERE ON BACKORDER) OVER ALL QUALITY PIECE OF EQUIPMENT WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

washer

,
April 6, 2015
By
from New England
This washer is used for days on end with great reliability. Will be purchasing another soon.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pressure washer

,
January 13, 2015
By
from Gig Harbor, WA.
The packaging and delivery was very acceptable and the product did perform much better than the previous products that I had used. The setup for the hose connections is excellent and easy to use. The product needs a better mechanism for storing the hose as the current location is close to the hot muffler and can damage the hose. Overall I am very pleased with the performance of the pressure washer, it has great pressure and works for cleaning everything that I have tried it on.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best machine!!!!!!!!!!

,
October 10, 2014
By
from san jose
I just got the this pressure washer 3 weeks ago,
wow! looking good machine. engine start first pull!
I am very happy to got this machine.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power washer

,
June 22, 2014
By
from DeRuyter NY
Excellant purchase! I have done the deck 22' X 24', 3 sets steps, cement pool surround and washed vehicles. Best pessure washer I have ever owned or used. Would recommend anyone looking for a washer to buy this one. Starts easy, runs quiet, and uses little gas.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, one important note regarding setup

,
March 12, 2013
By
from Dallas TX
This product works as advertised and is a solid performer. I neglected to put enough oil in the machine initially, and couldn't start it, prompting a call to the Northstar service desk. They pointed out that the low oil sensor will prevent any spark (it looks like the sensor is tied into the on/off switch).
Once I put in sufficient oil the machine started quite easily and had plenty of power.
Be aware that the low-oil cutoff feature is very nice to have, but requires you to pay attention during the setup process. The manual mentions this fact, but I was suprised at just how much oil the machine was able to take during the initial setup.
5 stars - great product and great support when I called.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
5out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have one question about the product

,
March 10, 2013
By
from Eastern NC
I've got one comment and one question. I just read a comment from some dissatisfied person who trashed the North Star (forgot the model) because he says the pump is junk. He must either not know how to use it or he/she just got a bad one. I have a North Star item 1578202-2106 and have had it for over two years and it runs like a fine woman. Perfect. It has the best pump going, the CAT 66DX. I love it and it has yet to ever let me down. So, that said, I have a question.
My washer has the Honda GX390 engine. Is it possible to have an electric starter retrofitted to this engine. I use it quite a bit and I'm not as young as I used to be and an electric starter would be a huge help. Thanks in advance for any info. It's a great product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pressure washer- I really like it

,
October 8, 2012
By
from Wendell, NC
I had previously owned a couple of the smaller pressure washers and had also borrowed a couple as well after mine wore out They were the typical low cost box store units washers. I Decided that I wanted something that would clean faster and save me time when I cleaned my house so I purchased this unit. I looked many many other brands and models. WOW! This thing is great! It will tire me out it puts out so much water and pressure that I get tired of holding the wand but man does it clean fast! It starts easy. The adjustable pressure is great and it is also really needed. The maximum capacity of this thing is too strong for some work so I like to turn the pressure down. Actually I run it at 2600 psi, that is plenty and the flow is very high. It is NOT the same as the smaller 2600 psi washers they must have a lower flow because this works much better. I love it. Well worth the extra money. I bought the pressure guage with it. Its a good investment because I can set it to the same pressue for each time so I get consistent results. BTW- it does create 3300 psi as advertised. I also don't run the engine at full throttle usually about full minus 10% so the guage really does help me be consistent. I really like the 50' hose. It allows a lot of movement. The only improvement I can think of is that the hose holder should be higher. I like to wrap the hose into a larger loop and it drags on the ground with this holder. So I end up wrapping it into a smaller loop than I prefer. This is a pretty small critique. I still give it 5 stars, can you give 6? If so I would. Buy this one its great!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolFebruary 15, 2013
The new line of NorthStar cold water pressure washers have been upgraded for improved performance. This review and all prior reviews are from the previous model.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar 3300 psi pressure washer

,
September 1, 2012
By
from Portland OR
I've used the washer for about 8 hours now and it works great. Lots of pressure even with a 50' garden hose and 150' of high pressure hose. I purchased the additional 100' hose and it's well worth it because now I can do the entire driveway without moving the machine. It started the first time on the second pull and now starts on the first pull. It's very well constructed and the wand is much heavier duty than my old one, as is the hose. I'm really happy with this purchase.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Pressure Washer

,
August 15, 2012
By
from Battle Ground, WA
Don't hesitate to purchase this awesome pressure washing beast!! Box arrived promptly on a flat bed truck. Driver helped us unload without any problem. Washer required some assembly. Honda motor and CAT pump are the best. Sips gas and is easier to manuver than the 4 gal/minute model of this washer we have used in the past without compromising power. Starts on first pull and runs until it's out of gas!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Roswell, NM
This is the real deal. If you need to get some serious pressure washing done, this is the machine. It is not light or quiet but puts out a tremendous amount of water. It also seems like it is going to hold up to a lot of abuse.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Incompatible wand connector

,
May 30, 2012
By
from GA
Product arrived and I was pleased with the quality. I have not been able to use it as the wand that was shipped had a connector that is not compatible with the lance that is provided or any other pressure washer extension or lance I own. The connector is impossible to remove from the wand with the hand tools I own. Northern has shipped me another connector, but I plan on calling tomorrow and bargaining for a complete wand assembly that has the correct connector. I would make sure Northern has corrrected this problem before ordering this product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3300 PSI, 3.0 GPM, Honda Engine, Model# 15781820"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeds all expectations !!

,
May 17, 2012
By
from Concord, NC
I purchased this pressure washer on a recommendation from my brother in 2004. He purchased his pressure washer from Northern Tool many years earlier because it had a "Cat" pump. his was used daily as he bought and sold used cars. Told me to by the same type of pump, direct drive, Honda engine etc., and I should expect to share the same experience. Well I have been impressed with this purchase. My experience is echoed by many here. Starts first pull after sitting for a season. I am able to run the engine at lower RPM for most cleaning due to the incredible pressure it produces. Fuel ?? Sometime I can't believe that it hasn't used hardly any. The washer has been used sometimes for 10 hours at a time and consistently gave great service.
I did discover that you must rinse out the Downstream chemical injector or the venturi may clog. Also the injector will not work for 20' high applications useing an optional wand. This operation would require some creativity in pre pressurizing the chemical. That accomplished I was able to use the washer to "soap up" the eves of my building while I was standing on the ground.
All in All I would purchase this model again but probably won't have to as I expect it to last many more years.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.