Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"

"NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"

Item# 15782020
"This NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer is designed to handle the most demanding professional and rental applications. The industrial-grade Honda GX390 389cc OHV engine features a cast iron sleeve, and a horizontal shaft design for up to five times longer life than vertical shaft engines. A premium-quality Cat direct drive axial pump with ceramic plungers and a forged brass manifold provide superior performance and durability. NorthStar pressure washers undergo thousands of hours of rigorous testing to ensure peak performance, plus include an industry-leading warranty to give you extra peace of mind. Adjustable Pressure Yes, Cart Push-down style steel cart, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Drive Direct, Engine Honda, Engine Displacement cc 389, Engine Model GX390, Chemical Injector Yes, Engine Oil Type SAE30, Flow GPM 3.5, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.6, Fuel Type Gasoline, Gross Torque 18.5, Engine Oil Included No, Hose 50-ft. nonmarking high-pressure, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Max. Output Water Temp F 140, Nozzle Type Quick-connect, Pressure PSI 4,000, Pump Cat, Pump Oil Included Yes, Thermal Protector Yes, Orifice Size 3.5, Dimensions L x W x H in. 42.25 x 26 x 42.25, Gun Industrial rear entry w/ 3 ft. lance, Pump Oil Type 30W nondetergent. Honda GX390 389cc OHV engine for quiet, reliable performance Cat direct drive triplex pump for superior durability Premium push-down style steel cart with roll cage for smooth, balanced maneuvering and protection 15in. pneumatic wheels Easy Start prevents pressure buildup for smoother, easier recoil pulling Sight glass allows for quick, convenient pump oil checks Removable NorthStar nozzle holder system attaches to pressure washer or user's belt for easy access Includes 50-ft. gray nonmarking high-pressure hose, 3-ft. lance, downstream chemical injector and five quick-couple professional nozzles 0, 15, 25, 40 and chemical/soap Full-featured accessory kit available, Item# 720156, sold separately 4-year consumer limited warranty 2-year commercial limited warranty 3-year limited warranty on Honda GX engine"
Average Customer Rating:
4.86 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (86 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
85 of 86(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Review 21 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

A mixed bag

,
May 14, 2012
By jadp
from VA
"After using power washers for 30 years, and longtime N. Tools customer, I decided to step up to this unit.
Plus: 1. Powerful and fast. Does the job in significantly less time.
The Honda commercial engine and CAT pump seem exceptional
Minus: 1. Very sensitive to water intake. If you don't have adequate water infeed volume and pressure (either too much or too little), you have priming problems
2.Cannot draw antifreeze in for the winter easily. Need to disconnect filter and cleaning supply tube and turn on its side.
3. Tech support was poor in attitude and knowledge on both calls.
Since I must choose one or the other, I'd choose " not recommended" for most users. I'd recommend this unit to some, depending on specific needs, but not others.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

More Than You need, But You'll Love It!

,
May 7, 2012
By Gars
from Illinois
"I split the price with my brother to make this more affordable.
We also bought the reel hose, an inline water pressure guage, and the turbo rototip.
The Honda engine and Cat pump are the top of the line and it shows with the performance of this machine.
Easy to start and plenty of pressure to clean anything you need to clean.
The optional inline waster pressure guage shows you the pressure you have by adjusting the throttle. It ranges from 2000psi to the 4000psi.
The optional turbo tip is a rotary zero degree tip that will literally eat through concrete. I used it at 4000psi to clean many layers of paint off of concrete before repainting it. I had to wear long pants, a long sleve shirt, and goggles to protect myself from the stinging bit of concrete coming off the porch. Tiny sand size pieces of concrete.
The new coat of paint stuck like glue!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Powerful!!!

,
May 7, 2012
By sparky3780007
from Minneapolis, MN
"I have owned my pressure washer for 5 years and I use it frequently. It is great for many jobs around the house and shop. It is powerful enough to remove caked on mud, grease and sludge from cars. It will also remove paint from houses and can be used for cleaning concrete,as well.
My one concern is that you have to be very careful when it is turned up to maximum pressure! You can easily remove paint from surfaces if you get too close!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

so far so good

,
March 6, 2012
By mfgdude
from omaha, ne
"Very nice unit with honda motor and cat pump. Only con so far is the cart handle on little light weight.
Bought the hose real mount accesory it fit good just waiting for the hose reel it is shipped from factory. The hose reel is a must as the 50 ft hose is a little stiff and hard to hang on the unit. The hose reel will make it much more convenient to manage the hose.
Engine start and runs great. Lots of power at the nozzle on this one. Back off the throttle and it reduces pressure and potential damage to sensitive items.
Very happy so far I dont think you can go wrong with this unit with the honda 390 and cat pump. You get what you pay for."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Ever !!!

,
March 5, 2012
By rkief
from Ft Lauderdale, FL
"I have owned four pressure washers over the years and this is the best washer I have ever had. The Honda starts easily first pull and the Cat pump has unbelievable power.
Great value in my opinion.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Great Unit

,
January 17, 2012
By Jim69
from Pryor, OK
"We bought this unit to wash and sand blast our chimney. It worked great with lots of pressure to do even the hardest task. Gets the job done fast and complete. Excellant buy for the heavy duty work needing to be done. It gets used alot on the farm cleaning the tractors and other equipment."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best

,
January 16, 2012
By sscycle
from cullman al
"i had a 1500 psi 3gpm honda before this and it was strong this thing is crazy we put the zero tip on and trimed the bush's around the shop. we only us it on about 1/4 throttle setting 90% of the time if you want the bigest badest one on the block this is for you plus it's a honda with a cat there is no better!!!!we use it every day washing atv's,utv,s,pwc,s,and tractors it works great for paint removel also"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Pressure Washer

,
January 16, 2012
By Tankfarmer
from charlotte, nc
"This pressure washer has outlasted all the other pressure washers we have bought in the past. We use it primarly to Clean Concrete and Painted Steel Tanks It works great. the assortment of heads helps as well. I also ordered the Reel attachement so that we could use a longer hose, it was well worth the investment. The Cost is reasonable it is simple to use. Just make you have the proper water supply before using this product. You can damage the pump if not."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
jperry4879
NJ 
 
Please wait while more information about jperry4879 is loaded.
Additional information about jperry4879 could not be loaded.
Water Supply?
March 27, 2012
"What would be a proper water supply? I'm getting a water/flow gauge to check the house... just not sure what's adequate to run the pump."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 29 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply one of the best!!!

,
January 9, 2012
By robdunstan
from Byron, Georgia
"I have tried many other pressure washers over the years and this one is well worth the extra money.
The power and the extreme ease in starting is has made me a life long owner of this brand from here on. I even let it sit for about two months and with barely one pull on the start cord, it fired right up.
I use to have to stop midway thru jobs to refill the gas tank but with this unit, it now last throughout the entire job with gas to spare.
The washer is easy to move from site to site and is easy to store.
It is just about the best investment i've made and well worth the extra money!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

You get what you pay for

,
October 12, 2011
By DavidinGranbury
from Granbury, Texas
"I'm a home builder and general contractor. I couldn't be happier with this machine. Honda motor, CAT Pump. Starts on the first pull every time. I power wash buildings before painting. This machine cut my washing time by nearly 50%! I'm so glad I bought it. It's truly meant for pro/commercial use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Choice

,
October 11, 2011
By Maddog11capt
from Alabama
"After much comparative shopping around, decided to purchase this Northstar pressure washer. Glad I did.
You won't regret having the 4000 PSI. I use mine on a Surface Cleaner and it works great.
Starts first time even after sitting for extended periods. Can't go wrong with Honda in my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Washer

,
June 13, 2011
By Pert
"Bought the pressure washer after checking on a number of different brands and talking with people that own them. This washer has proven to be very dependable. The engine cranks easily and the machine does an excellent job. It has all the power I will ever need. I use it to clean around my ranch. Does a great job of cleaning off lots of mud and dirt from everyday work. I will recommend this washer to my friends."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Customer Service

,
June 7, 2011
By bigafly
from Jackson,MS
"I bought this power washer at the Memphis store and I live 250 miles away. When I unboxed it at home a couple of days later the lance was missing. I called the store and they shipped the part that day without any hassle. This is a great power washer, plenty power for cleaning industrial equipment and around the farm. Very pleased so far."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am Satisfied

,
May 31, 2011
By Seemonkey
from LA
"Received the new pressure washer today. Some assembly required, filled the engine w/ oil, filled the tank w/ gas and it cranked first pull. Pleanty of power and runs great"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money for the long haul!

,
May 23, 2011
By Gdee
from Florida
"Just picked up this pressure washer ( Item# 1578202) and here is my preliminary review; Well worth the price. This is my second pressure washer – my previous about 6 years, but the last three years before it died was riddled with issues.
My criteria this time was 1) Honda GX Engine and 2) “Cat” piston pump. Looking all over, this is the lowest price I have found for this package. The Honda GX is worth the extra money if you anticipate keeping a unit a long time or using the heck out of it. I have a Honda GX in a cart we just acquired with over 1,800 hard hours and runs like a dream! I also purchased an “hour meter” for this setup (Item# 160590). Cat Pumps are the "Roll Royce" of pressure pumps. This model CAT pump even has the ceramic coated pistons to resist corrosion.
Assembly is straight forward. I purchased a hose reel for ease (159187). Not too thrilled with the reel; the angle of the hose onto the “spin able” fitting is a hard angle. You will kink the hose unless you leave a big loop - then that hits the frame when you spin it. I should have spent the extra for the larger reel. For the reel set up, you have to buy the reel, Mounting Kit and attachment hose. Don’t forget 4 bolts and nuts to mount it (not included). Best way to use the reel is unroll all the hose before you use it. Rolls right up afterwards.
Pump has oil, engine you must fill. Got it all assembled, hooked to water, primed and gassed. Started on the first pull! Compared to my old Troy unit, the pressure is amazing. I did get a pressure gauge (Item# 32154) and it shows about 3400 – 3500 psi while spraying. I was going to adjust it higher but no need.
Pull the trigger and hold on. Cleaned my driveway in less than half the time of the old one. Same with the house soffits and roof overhangs. Another big difference with this more powerful unit, it cleans so much quicker so you don’t flood things as bad (pushing water into places). The engine does not miss a beat or “bog” when you hit the handle. This is truly a “Professional” setup. Keep it clean!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Professional Quality Machine

,
April 14, 2011
By Pro123
from Minnesota
"If you're going to make a living off of 1 of NT's cold machines, make it this one.
My Cat pump has over 3k hours on it without anything but an oil change. Great with surface cleaners up to 20ish inches.
I'd have only 2 critiques:
Swap out the factory nozzles for 4.5's
Foam filled, never flat tires.
I'll buy another in 5 years when this 1 finally goes."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Condowasher

,
March 24, 2011
By Condowasher
"Great pressure washer.Very powerful.Commerical level. Non- stop all day with the honda motor.Only stopped to fill with gas.Cleaned over ten Condo on the first day."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power Washers

,
March 14, 2011
By chiprchk
from Benicia Ca.
"This is a must have, great machine. I sold mine with my business and very shortly realized I needed to buy another one. Starts easily and cleans anything and everything that gets in it's way. Very well designed and compact. Spend a little more and get this machine I promise you won't be sorry!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

North star pressure washer 4000 psi

,
November 24, 2010
By rcm321
from kingsport tn
"I would recommend this washer very highly. I like mine so much that I picked up a second one. I use one for work and one for home. It is the best washer I have ever used It starts on the first pull every time and has great pressure for all my jobs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Honda Engine, Model# 15782020"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep things clean easier

,
November 23, 2010
By dawgman
"I have an older 4000 psi still running strong and I will not be without one. Being able to clean things fast and easy with water is a huge time saver. I don't have a single negative angle to having a pressure washer. These work great. Just make sure you store correctly during freezing temps."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.