Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020

NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020

Item# 15782020
This NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer is designed to handle the most demanding professional and rental applications. The industrial-grade Honda GX390 389cc OHV engine features a cast iron sleeve, and a horizontal shaft design for up to five times longer life than vertical shaft engines. A premium-quality Cat direct drive axial pump with ceramic plungers and a forged brass manifold provide superior performance and durability. NorthStar pressure washers undergo thousands of hours of rigorous testing to ensure peak performance, plus include an industry-leading warranty to give you extra peace of mind. Adjustable Pressure Yes, Cart Push-down style steel cart, Coupler Size in. 3/8, Drive Direct, Engine Honda, Engine Displacement cc 389, Engine Model GX390, Chemical Injector Yes, Engine Oil Type SAE30, Flow GPM 3.5, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.6, Fuel Type Gasoline, Gross Torque 18.5, Engine Oil Included No, Hose 50-ft. nonmarking high-pressure, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Max. Inlet Water Temp F 140, Max. Output Water Temp F 140, Nozzle Type Quick-connect, Pressure PSI 4,000, Pump Cat, Pump Oil Included Yes, Thermal Protector Yes, Orifice Size 3.5, Dimensions L x W x H in. 42.25 x 26 x 42.25, Gun Industrial rear entry w/ 3 ft. lance, Pump Oil Type 30W nondetergent. Honda GX390 389cc OHV engine for quiet, reliable performance Cat direct drive triplex pump for superior durability Premium push-down style steel cart with roll cage for smooth, balanced maneuvering and protection 15in. pneumatic wheels Easy Start prevents pressure buildup for smoother, easier recoil pulling Sight glass allows for quick, convenient pump oil checks Removable NorthStar nozzle holder system attaches to pressure washer or user's belt for easy access Includes 50-ft. gray nonmarking high-pressure hose, 3-ft. lance, downstream chemical injector and five quick-couple professional nozzles 0, 15, 25, 40 and chemical/soap Full-featured accessory kit available, Item# 720156, sold separately 4-year consumer limited warranty 2-year commercial limited warranty 3-year limited warranty on Honda GX engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.816 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (87 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
85 of 87(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Review 1 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not sure what to think

,
June 15, 2014
By FloridaGuy
from Florida
"I purchased this pressure washer last week based on the salesman recommendations. With it having a cat pump how could I go wrong?
Well I hooked up the pressure gauge to the Pump and upon using the machine I noticed I was only getting 3750 psi using the factory 3.5 orifice nozzles that came with the pressure washer. So where is my other 250 psi? It's a mystery!
If you search the Internet you will read mixed reviews on how to lower your pressure on a pressure washer. Some people say use the unloader to lower the pressure of the pressure washer others will say change out the nozzle to a different size orifice.
I had planned on doing a soft wash on my house and I only wanted to use about 1300 psi.
According to every pressure nozzle sizing chart a size 6 nozzle at 3.5GPM will get me around 1300 psi. Wrong! I was getting about 1950psi. A size 9.5 nozzle will get me around 1300 psi.
Either something is wrong with my pump or my pump is mislabeled. And I say that it is possibly mislabeled with the wrong model number because the pressure that I am showing corresponds to a pump that is putting out 4 gallons per minute, NOT 3.5 GPM like the model # shows. I have tried different size nozzles and all of them were way off from what the nozzle chart told me I should be getting for PSI. Thinking that my pressure gauge is off I bought another one and got the same exact readings. When the trigger on the wand is not squeezed the pressure gauge is reading a constant 3900 psi. So until I can figure out what exactly is going on this product only gets two stars
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fence Sitting

,
April 23, 2014
By tprenaldo
from Darlington, MD
"I researched several companies and similar products to finally decide on this one. Upon receiving the package and checking the packing list I find an item missing!! Not sure about you guys, but when I'm waiting on an item to arrive I want to try it out and make sure it works as advertised. Very disappointed! Can't even send parts with the product! Now I have to wait for a part. Not Happy Northern Tool!! I expected better. Can't give a proper rating if I can't use the product."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-12points
1out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Lot of Power

,
April 18, 2014
By JROBAUTO
from TEXAS
"Wish I could review after owning/using for longer than a couple of months. What I can say is that for our purposes I'm very pleased with the performance so far. We will not be using it everyday commercially, but did need it to clean greasy engines and concrete as well as light wash vehicles. There is plenty of power. The Honda motor is the same as the one in my generator, so I expect excellent performance. The pump is the highest rated so I hope that it will last as long as the motor. I'm a big believer in regular maintenance, so I expect to use this machine a long time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

North Star 3.5 gpm 4000psi

,
February 4, 2014
By Gtwall
from Patrick Springs va
"A really great pressure washer. Does a great job! I love it! Good price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar Pressure washer

,
February 4, 2014
By mibfan
from Newport News,Va.
"I purchase this unit for the stores i handle. I have nothing but great things to say about the pressure washer. It fires right up and has enough pressure to do what every I want it to do. I would recommend these to anyone looking for a dependable pressure washer!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure washer

,
September 18, 2013
By Tommytfromafton39
from Greeneville, tn
"This machine is one if the best I have ever used . Go ahead and spend a little extra and get the cat pump !! You will love this machine . It has All kinds of cleaning power"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Pressure Washer I've owned

,
April 24, 2013
By Toolman81
from Jackson, LA
"I recently purchased the Northstar 4000psi pressure washer w/CAT pump for cleaning farm/heavy equipment and for use in a small business I own. After wearing out a previous non-Northstar unit, I needed something heavy duty that would last. This unit recently received a new roll cage and other features absent from the previous model. I wasn't sure how the roll cage would look or help but I was very pleased upon receiving it. One of the first things I noticed was how balanced the unit is, more so than any washer I've ever used. The frame and roll cage are top notch and very easy to manuever with the tall handle and large 15" tires. The engine and pump are very protected from side and top impacts which is important in my line of work. The Honda GX engine and Cat pump speak for themselves and I wouldn't settle for less. I did purchase a 100' Cox reel to mount on the washer to eliminate fighting with the hose while in use and trying to roll up. I appreciate the isolated rubber mounts on the engine plate as they significantly reduce vibration. I also added a 5000psi guage to be able to adjust working pressure depending on the job. Spend the extra money as I did and go for a bigger unit than what you think you need. With a large setup you can always adjust pressure but never have to worry about not having enough. 4000psi seems to be the best of all worlds. You definately get what you pay for in quality. This is by far one of the best equipment investments I have made and highly recommend to others."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

I own 4

,
April 23, 2013
By SmithAndSonsPowerWashing
from Missouri
"I own 4 of these machines and will continue to buy this item. The only thing I have an issue with is the tires. They don't last."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product & Investment

,
April 23, 2013
By ythanson
from Valparaiso, IN
"Ordered on a Tues and received on Fri two days early - great delivery. The machine was easily assembled and in action in under an hour. Started on the second pull and is an absolute beast of a pressure washer. Incredibly well built and cannot imagine anything it would not handle. First project was two straight days stripping deteriorated paint from my very large deck and the machine did not skip a beat. Was able to accurately dial in needed pressure and very good fuel consumption too. Great product and investment!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

There's a reason why this product is rated highly

,
April 23, 2013
By bbb2468
from Greensboro, NC
"Every reviewer here has it right! This pressure washer is built to last. I have the older model as well, but I gave it to my parents because they needed one. I recently purchased the newer model with the black powder coated frame - what an impressive and functional design change. It has heavier tubing, and it has a protective cross-plate that can hold a hose reel. Like the older model, the Honda engine and CAT pump are unstoppable. It costs a little more than some other pressure washers out there, but you get what you pay for.... so buy this one!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cat pump pressure washer

,
December 23, 2012
By bz28
from ventura calif
"purchased the washer in 1996 the Honda / cat pump combo, this truly is the bargain for the money. i have only replaced the plug twice [ and i don't think it needed it ] and the oil every two years it still runs like the day i bought it 16 years ago !- this is used on everything from greasy cars to fab work to ready for paint. it is the most powerful unit for the money just add good gas and go .
B L Schulze
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolFebruary 15, 2013
The new line of NorthStar cold water pressure washers have been upgraded for improved performance. This review and all prior reviews are from the previous model.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Owner

,
October 15, 2012
By mikewll2005
from Russellville, AR
"A friend bought this for me, It's great ! starts every time, cut our clean up time way down, it is very adjustable , we clean everything with this thing. I have used it for over a year with no problems, just check the oil and put gas in it and go to work. If you are a pro, this is a pro quality tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

,
October 15, 2012
By workingstiff
from PA
"I spend 4 months comparing units and even contacted CAT company technicians on what each pump woud do. This unit is pretty darn close to what it is rated at. I got a pressure gauge from NT and measured my unit and it was almost 3800PSI. I know too much but most it help doing stuff a lot faster. I did my 800 sq ft deck in half the normal time. If you only want to buy one kick butt unit.. this is a good choice at this price point."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT POWER WASHER

,
October 8, 2012
By badboyoutlaw
from central IN
"EXCELLENT POWER WASHER . I have had a power washer that has lasted only a few years but this new one will for years , with the cat pump& the HONDA ENGINE they both have LOTS OF POWER. I did get the pump lube, and a pressure gage for the outlet on the pressure hose so I know how much it is putting out . I i have cut the pressure down as I need or turn it up if I need it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power washer

,
August 23, 2012
By 248jb
from oxford, Mich.
"I love this power washer, it has lots of power,4000psi &4.5 gpm. the best thing i like is that it starts seconds pull every time"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure washer

,
August 21, 2012
By Dalphus
from Fayetteville GA
"Purchased 4 years ago. This machine has performed flawlessly every time. It always starts on first or second pull. It has a long run time. Pressure is adjustable to desired pressure. I normally use full pressure and hold the sprayer to desired distance from work area to get the results desired."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

POWERFUL TOOL USE WITH CARE

,
August 20, 2012
By ct351
from Scotts Valley, CA
"This power washer has lived up to every expectation I could possibly have. After 5 years of ownership it starts right up with one or two pulls. It performs perfectly with plenty of pressure for even the most demanding jobs. A word of caution though. It is easy to use too much pressure on things such as wooden decking, laminated items,painted items and on window seals. Pre-adjust the pressure and do a test blast prior to using on the actual work and you will be as happy as I am."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it so far

,
August 20, 2012
By blackriverhabitats
from Fennville, MI
"So far it has been a great machine, much better than the box store washer with the briggs or the cheaper honda motors they now make. The smooth running honda is just what I expected it to be (two pulls out of the box and up and running) and the pump has plenty of power. The only thing I would like different is the wheels should be on bearings to make it smoother to move and longer lasting."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine!

,
August 9, 2012
By jw23
from Chino, CA
"Machine arrived timely. Aired up tires and followed the Owner's Manual Instructions. Machine started on firt pull. Preassre appeared o be set near maximn at factory.. Soap injector worked as advertised.
The top mounted hose reel is a must. No need for Turbo Nozzle as the nozzles which are provided do the job. I used a 5/8 inch feeder hose. This is a great machine for washing down white stucco siding (white nozzle) and for cleaning concrete and brick. I am very pleased."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar Gas Cold Water Pressure Washer - 3.5 GPM, 4000 PSI, Model# 15782020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Review after years of professional use.

,
July 15, 2012
By MonsterCoatings
from Rockaway, NJ
"I rarely review products but this has served me so well I need to share. I take very good care of her and it has been over 10 years of great use. Honda starts after winter storage after 2-3 pulls I use fuel stabilizer and I run full synthetic oil in everything so it runs like new . I have since replaced several turbo heads (best for speed and production on concrete and siding used carefully) Added three hoses (replaced one). I added slime to the tires as they loose air after all those years. Chassis holding up well some scrapes but still strong. I have made a lot on money with this unit. If you want reliability that you NEED to count on the Honda with the Cat pump Is REALLY tough to beat. Spending the money for quality its something that pays itself back repeatedly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.