Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"

"Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"

Item# 157830
"High-quality Northern Industrial Air Impact Wrench tackles the big jobs in the shop. Adjustable second-hand support handle gives you additional control. Operating PSI 90, Reversible Yes, Min. Hose Size in. 1/2, Tool Length in. 24, Inlet Size in. 1/2, Drive in. 1, Variable Speed Yes, Case Included Yes, Hammer Mechanism Pinless, Average Air Consumption CFM 8.7, Noise Level dB 118, CFM at Load 8.7, Impacts Per Minute IPM 400, Speed - No Load RPM 3,200, Standard Bolt Capacity in. 1.72, Tool Weight lbs. 37, Forward Torque ft.-lbs. 2,300, Max. Reverse Torque ft.-lbs. 2,300, Working Torque ft.-lb. 2,300, Max. Torque ft.-lbs. 2,300, Nut Busting Torque ft.-lbs. 2,300. Polished aluminum case Through-handle exhaust Forward/reverse settings with RPM control D-handle Rubber bumper rings protect tool"
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Review 1 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heavy duty wrench

,
November 19, 2014
By KDSTrucking
from Spring Green, WI
" We use this on our semi trucks and trailers. It is heavy duty and handles the job great. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1" impact gun

,
October 15, 2014
By Jh2000
from Alabama
" Great product for the money. Yes it's heavy, but if it wasn't you would have a trouble Controlling the torque. We use it to break down hydraulic cylinders on heavy equipment. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1" gun

,
August 20, 2014
By howareyadoin55
from va
" Strong and has done all I've needed it for. From dual wheel bolts to adaptor plate bolts. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

May be good for tires but not indicated power

,
May 25, 2014
By Industrialuser
from Newbern, TN
" We use a torque multiply to assembled / disassemble decks. the need is for 1,800 ft. lbs. of torque to assemble and remove the nuts. The impact gun says it will do 2,300 ft. lbs. of force but it won't even touch it. Even after being broken loose it won't remove the nuts when a normal IR impact will. The comparable IR mode says it will do 1,475 ft. lbs. of force. It also says it takes 37 CFM to do this rather than 8.7. It is also lighter. 1,475 is not strong enough for my application but fact full rating information is extremely important to me. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

value for power

,
February 11, 2013
By quadman
from southern, IL
" In the fall of 2012 I needed to change wheels on a combine that I knew were torqued to over 1200 ft.lbs.
My old big 1" drive simply would not budge the bolts,so the search was on to find a stronger impact.
When I found this one on sale at an incredable low price I figured that it couldn't be any good , but I'll give it a try. To my surprise it did the job.
But (there is always a but right) this tool is heavy and there is a problem that I consider to be a safety issue.
The trigger to operate it is on the outside of the handle and is very very easy to bump with the top of your hand while holding and positioning the tool causeing it to run unexpectedly. for that reason I only gave it 3 stars
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

saving money

,
August 20, 2012
By Trailershop
from Dayton Oh.
" This impact is a real money saver.
We used to buy the big guns from the other big name makers and they would only last 6 months to one year before they needed rebuit and the cost was about the same price as this new gun and would not be as good as it was when new .
This gun cost less then the rebuilt cost of our old guns and they would not have the power we needed to remove lug nuts after being rebuilt
This gun has the power
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

truck drive

,
June 2, 2012
By crunch0187
from baltimore md
" Great gun, it is a little heavy but it packs big power. I would recommend anyone to purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very powerful gun

,
July 12, 2011
By Turbo10
from Snyder county PA
" use it in the truck shop everyday, great quality and build, excellent air tool, has just as much power if not more then any of the other 1 inch guns i used, "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Air Hammer

,
February 15, 2010
By jr1850
from Spring Valley NY
" good when it's hot or normal no good when it's very cold "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Quality

,
November 17, 2008
By boogie2510
from Georgia
" I bought this gun in a pinch and found it to be quite powerful (actually stronger than most), well made, and used the same amount or less air than the leading brands. I actually used it once by tapping directly into the truck air tank and sped the engine up to make enough air - it had plenty of power to remove lug nuts and worked just like I was plugged into a stationary compressor. I thought I was buying a cheap gun to tie me over until I could afford a good one, but this thing is a really good gun - quite impressed. Looks like it will be quite a while before it needs replacing. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
October 15, 2007
By Anonymous
from NC
" Works great, good quality "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.