Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"

"Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"

Item# 157830
"High-quality Northern Industrial Air Impact Wrench tackles the big jobs in the shop. Adjustable second-hand support handle gives you additional control. Reversible Yes, Working Torque ft.-lb. 2300, Variable Speed Yes, Operating PSI 90, Tool Weight lbs. 37, Drive in. 1, Case Included Yes, Speed - No Load RPM 3200, Max. Reverse Torque ft.-lbs. 2300, Inlet Size in. 1/2, Max. Torque ft.-lbs. 2300, Tool Length in. 24, Min. Hose Size in. 1/2, Standard Bolt Capacity in. 1.72, Average Air Consumption CFM 40, Impacts Per Minute IPM 400, Noise Level dB 118, Hammer Mechanism Pinless, CFM at Load 40, Forward Torque ft.-lbs. 2300, Nut Busting Torque ft.-lbs. 2300. Polished aluminum case Through-handle exhaust Forward/reverse settings with RPM control D-handle Rubber bumper rings protect tool"
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Review 1 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product for a great price

,
November 4, 2015
By
from los angeles
Came to the door nicely packed all parts fitment was right on. have had no trouble since we started using it and have been very happy with its performace
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
April 17, 2015
By
from Orlando Florida
I am surprisingly impressed. This thing performed up to or maybe beyond my expectations.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heavy duty wrench

,
November 19, 2014
By
from Spring Green, WI
We use this on our semi trucks and trailers. It is heavy duty and handles the job great.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1" impact gun

,
October 15, 2014
By
from Alabama
Great product for the money. Yes it's heavy, but if it wasn't you would have a trouble Controlling the torque. We use it to break down hydraulic cylinders on heavy equipment.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1" gun

,
August 20, 2014
By
from va
Strong and has done all I've needed it for. From dual wheel bolts to adaptor plate bolts.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

May be good for tires but not indicated power

,
May 25, 2014
By
from Newbern, TN
We use a torque multiply to assembled / disassemble decks. the need is for 1,800 ft. lbs. of torque to assemble and remove the nuts. The impact gun says it will do 2,300 ft. lbs. of force but it won't even touch it. Even after being broken loose it won't remove the nuts when a normal IR impact will. The comparable IR mode says it will do 1,475 ft. lbs. of force. It also says it takes 37 CFM to do this rather than 8.7. It is also lighter. 1,475 is not strong enough for my application but fact full rating information is extremely important to me.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

value for power

,
February 11, 2013
By
from southern, IL
In the fall of 2012 I needed to change wheels on a combine that I knew were torqued to over 1200 ft.lbs.
My old big 1" drive simply would not budge the bolts,so the search was on to find a stronger impact.
When I found this one on sale at an incredable low price I figured that it couldn't be any good , but I'll give it a try. To my surprise it did the job.
But (there is always a but right) this tool is heavy and there is a problem that I consider to be a safety issue.
The trigger to operate it is on the outside of the handle and is very very easy to bump with the top of your hand while holding and positioning the tool causeing it to run unexpectedly. for that reason I only gave it 3 stars
Describe Yourself: Professional
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

saving money

,
August 20, 2012
By
from Dayton Oh.
This impact is a real money saver.
We used to buy the big guns from the other big name makers and they would only last 6 months to one year before they needed rebuit and the cost was about the same price as this new gun and would not be as good as it was when new .
This gun cost less then the rebuilt cost of our old guns and they would not have the power we needed to remove lug nuts after being rebuilt
This gun has the power
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

truck drive

,
June 2, 2012
By
from baltimore md
Great gun, it is a little heavy but it packs big power. I would recommend anyone to purchase.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very powerful gun

,
July 12, 2011
By
from Snyder county PA
use it in the truck shop everyday, great quality and build, excellent air tool, has just as much power if not more then any of the other 1 inch guns i used,
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Air Hammer

,
February 15, 2010
By
from Spring Valley NY
good when it's hot or normal no good when it's very cold
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Quality

,
November 17, 2008
By
from Georgia
I bought this gun in a pinch and found it to be quite powerful (actually stronger than most), well made, and used the same amount or less air than the leading brands. I actually used it once by tapping directly into the truck air tank and sped the engine up to make enough air - it had plenty of power to remove lug nuts and worked just like I was plugged into a stationary compressor. I thought I was buying a cheap gun to tie me over until I could afford a good one, but this thing is a really good gun - quite impressed. Looks like it will be quite a while before it needs replacing.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Impact Wrench - 1in. Drive, D-Handle"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
October 15, 2007
By
from NC
Works great, good quality
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.