Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set

Item# 15803
1 chisel gauge, 5 pin punches, 2 center punches, 5 starter punches, and 3 flat chisels. Storage tray not included. Gauge Included Yes, Starter Punches qty. 5, Pieces qty. 16, Center Punches qty. 2, Storage Case Included No, Pin Punches qty. 5, Flat Chisels qty. 3. Diameter of Punches 1/2in. Starter Punch Sizes 3/32in. x 5 1/4in. , 5/32in. x 6in., 1/8in. x 5 3/4in., 3/16in. x 6 1/4in. and 1/4in. x 6 3/4in. Pin Punches 3/32in. x 4 1/4in., 1/8in. x 4 3/4in., 5/32in. x 5in., 3/16in. x 5 1/4in and 1/4in. x 5 3/4in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 15(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great chisel and punch set

,
May 8, 2013
By HandyMatt
from Benton Harbor, MI
"I'm a DIY/handy man that uses my garage as my "shop" for all kinds of wood and metal projects. This chisel and punch set is a very welcome addition. Recently used it to remove 1/4" steel rivets from angle iron pieces and it worked perfectly. Saved a lot of grinding otherwise. I use them a few times a month for about a year now and have yet to need to sharpen or reshape them. Very tough chisel and punch set. I highly recommend for an DIY/welder/handyman."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Extensive punch set

,
April 26, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"I normally only need 1 or 2 punches or chisels for a project, but I could pass up the bargain on these. Some are more useful than others (the small punches are all mostly useless) but they do come as a set for less money that I could pay for a few on their own."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pretty and pretty SOFT

,
December 23, 2012
By Oiler
from Driggs,ID
"I have used this set for two years on my service truck. When I recieved them I was very impresed with the high quality look of them. But they bend easily. Even using your starter punch, as you should, I can turn a pin punch into an "S" with with one moderate blow."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent set

,
August 14, 2012
By Jcart
from Jackson,MN
"This Chisel and Punch set is an excellent purchase for the value and variety of sizes. It has come in very handy and seems to have some real lasting values."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Home Garage set

,
April 26, 2012
By PoultryFarmer
from Athens,AL
"Good Quality set. Maybe not The best set for major work but if buying with the thought of needing a good set just home or small projects this is a good set for the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Chisels are ok quality with a nice variety of size

,
October 15, 2011
By 2004ElectraglideRider
from Burlington, VT
"For the money this is a good set of chisels with a good range of sizes. Good value for what you pay for them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good value

,
March 24, 2011
By NYCMechGSE
from New York
"Not perfect at last for me. The big ones deliver the smaller ones kind of got bend trying to push some pins out. maybe I just didn't hit it dead center but still great and I do work with heavy equipment."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bargain for the price

,
March 21, 2011
By tkz2000
"This is a really great product for the price and will buy agian when the current set is no longer usable. I tell everyone were I got it and to get one.
Thanks Northern Tool!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good basic set of punches

,
March 14, 2011
By Protege01
from Brookfield, MA
"I bought these punches for everyday tasks and because they have longer sized shafts than other punches Ive seen. They've worked great for everday repair tasks, including some automotive work. I have not used them for any heavy hitting yet but for average use they work great. The shaft of the 3/32 punch was bent slightly when I got the set but I bent it back with a little heat and its been fine since. Good product and worth it if you need some everyday use punches."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Punches - Chisels

,
May 24, 2010
By HandyTim
from NY
"I knew I needed a set of punches and didn't know where to start. Then I saw this set with chisels, but the price seemed too good, but for the price I thought I give it a try. SURPRISE! They are great, strong, and of course great to have around. I've been beating on then and they stand up strong on my tractor restoration project. A great tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
November 2, 2009
By cpayne5
from Warrenton, Virginia
"A nice, cheap set for the day that I need it. I didn't have any and figured I should buy them before I *had* to have them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Punch Chisel Set Ever

,
July 13, 2009
By jhazy46
from Plattburgh, NY
"The punch and chisel set I resently purchased from Northern has to be by far the best set I've owned and used ever! Non chipping construction make this at least the strongest set I've owned and used. I would recommend this set and all of Northern's tools to anyone who needs quality tools at a reasonable cost, as I haver saved hundreds of dollars on the purchases I have made here at Northern."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality and price.

,
April 14, 2008
By Notacop
from Virginia Beach, Va.
"Title says it all. I have used these many times and they never slip or dull."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Punch & Chisel Set

,
October 15, 2007
By Springer
from Arizona
"Average quality, but the price was right. This set is good for occasional use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Punches & Chisels - 16-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Punch Set

,
March 7, 2007
By MAC44
from Kansas City, Missouri
"This product is made of quality material and is precision turned for accurate use. It does meet the need of the woodworker, metal worker, or sheet rock worker in punching the proper size holes in material or as a match up tool for lining up a set of holes to be connected.
I highly recommend this product ,for its quality and price, to be added to any Do it yourselfer who desires a quality product in their tool cabinet and on the job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.