Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set

Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set

Item# 158121
This Northern Industrial Tools 71-Pc. Air Tool Kit includes a 3/8 in. ratchet wrench with 8-pc. socket set, a 1/2 in. impact wrench, 1/4 in. die grinder, a 150mm air hammer with round chisel set. Also includes a 10-pc. 25mm bit set, 10-pc. shank stone set, 5-pc. sanding paper set, plus hand wrenches, polish wheel, blow gun, hex key, adapters, nozzles and other accessories, all stored in a blow-molded case. Application Tool kit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.618 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (34 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 of 34(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Quality Great Price

,
May 14, 2014
By JKnc
from North Carolina
"Haven't had a chance to use any of the air tools yet but they seem to be of quality construction. There are no stray burrs or sharp edges on any of the tools. The case is decent. If there's any complaint I have so far its that the nipples for the impact and air hammer don't fit in the case very well. The case still closes fine and the tools fit ok, but it almost seems if these two tools were re-designed at some point but the case wasn't. If it weren't for this flaw, I'd give the product a 5 star rating. Bear in mind though that I have not yet used any of the air tools, and recommend reading other reviews citing tool performance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

air tools

,
February 6, 2014
By lilrock
from grand forks nd
"I have a 80 gal air tank and the air has a dryer on it. the tools work well they get oiled before I use them every time they will last a long time for the average user I have had this kit for a few years strong and they get the job done"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Things that don't suck.

,
February 4, 2014
By justsomeguy111
from Toms Brook, va.
"Very decent starter set. If you enjoy working on cars but don't have the money to shell out for big name brand tools this set is a great place to start. Great savings."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Basic Set

,
February 4, 2014
By Mick73
from Tx
"This set is perfect for the average amateur mechanic. It made the disassembly of my last project a breeze. My only complaint is that the thread tape deosn't stay in place when you close the lid. Big deal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Extreme Value for the DIY'er

,
February 4, 2014
By Donny2k1
from Madison, TN
"So far I've only used the impact gun and wrench from this set but I am pleased. For the price, I had very low expectations but I am very surprised at how well the tools performed. I use a 3 gal 2.5 HP compressor and it worked just fine with the tools from this set. Made the brake job on my Wife's car a breeze to complete. Some of the smaller pieces of the set seem a little cheaply made but you want this set for the air tools and they seem well made."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A quality filled tool case at an outstanding price

,
December 27, 2013
By HandyGuy77
from Marietta, Georgia
"I got this as a gift from my wife for Christmas. I think she got a really great deal.
This is a nice compact fitting setup. That has a well made case for easy tool transport,. It is stocked really well to get you started.
I was concerned about whether or not all the tools would stay put in their location. I see no issues with that.
I have tested out each tool and was quite impressed with how well they all worked. This is perfect for any handyman work you have around the home.
If the impact wrench had at least 200 ft. #'s more of torque, I would have rated 5 stars easy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT TOOLS TO HAVE

,
January 16, 2012
By BIGPUN
from EUSTIS FL
"WHAT A GREAT TOOL KIT I WILL RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ALL MY FRIENDS GREAT STARTER KIT AND PRICED RIGHT"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for the price

,
March 14, 2011
By pariddler
from Altoona, PA
"If you are an occasional mechanic. I mean you use this stuff every other month to work on things at home, this product is great!!! plenty of options and enough torque from a small compressor to get any job done."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lots of stuff for a great price!

,
May 24, 2010
By Hash
"This came with just about everything you need for around the house projects! I bought this about 6 months ago and I cant name one thing wrong with it. My boyfriend has used this set for tons of things and has never complained about anything wrong with it. I looked at many different places for the best deal and this was by far the best deal, everywhere else I looked was more expensive and didnt have half of the stuff in it that this one did!! This has been the best purchase I have made in a while!"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good deal

,
February 25, 2010
By Anonymous
from morgantown wv
"this product is excellent for around the home projects. the impact wrench is not the strongest but what do you expect for the price. all in all it is a good all around kit"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Starter Set

,
November 18, 2008
By captainneil
from SWFL
"I purchased this kit to have a set of general use air tools in one place (the case). This is a good kit for the money. The impact wrench does not have enough power to remove high torqued bolts (like lug nuts) but it does a fine job for light to medium duty applications."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Review of Air Tool Kit

,
October 15, 2007
By Jetfan
from Greenwich, CT
"I have owned the Air Tool Kit now for a couple months. It is a nice collection of air tools for the homeowner. I suspect the tools provided would not satisfy a professional, but as a homeowner, I am completely satisfied. Buying a kit sure saves a lot of time compared to accumulating these tools piece by piece.
If my wife gives me a hard time, I tell her I am going to take my new air tools and do some bodywork on her car. She has seen the outcome of some of my other projects and that is usually enough to end the argument."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent beginner kit

,
April 2, 2007
By NSXTACY
from North carolina
"This is a very decent beginner kit. Very cheap for getting all this stuff. The impact wrench has very little torque, at most 250 ft. lbs. but i wasn't expecting much. I couldn't get this one lug nut on my car's hub off with the impact wrench, i had to get out the old breaker bar. It works good for most everything else.
Nothing leaked except the attachments on the 4 piece tools, but with a little sealant tape (provided) and some of my own strength the leak was fixed! The ratchet was also a little disappointing: not much torque, extremely low rpm, surely need another ratchet. All the other tools were great!
One thing i think it was missing from the kit was a die grinder, thats a very important tool, especially for me.
It comes with almost everything a beginner needs except for hose and a compressor and a die grinder.
Before you get a refund for leaks around the attachments use sealant tape the proper way and brute strength."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price, for this 71-Pc Air Tool Kit

,
August 4, 2014
By 99HEARTBEAT
from Calif.
"I Had been looking at this 71-Pc Air Tool Kit for sometime before buying, The Kit came as Shown in the Pictures, and at this point I've Used just about all of the Tools and I've been Very with Impressed, with the Quality of the Air Tools.
As far as The Case goes,....all of the Tools Fit Perfectly in this Case......none of them have come Loose, or have Falling out when Opening the Case.
Its a Excellent Set of Tools for the Price...."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Tools Set

,
February 4, 2014
By Brad135
from California
"This Air Tool set is high quality and contains several handy attachments for working on automotive applications. If you are looking for a good set of Air tools I recommend this set. We used the set to remove and replace the entire running gear in a VW BUS in less than 3 days."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kit!

,
February 4, 2014
By cm2700
from Kansas City, MO
""The kit came as shown. It has everything you need if you're starting out with air tools. I've used each and have no issues with any of the tools. I have not owned it for very long, but it seems really durable. I believe that it is a great deal for the price.""
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kit

,
April 25, 2013
By SFD71
from Scarborough maine
"The kit came as shown. It has everything you need if you're starting out with air tools. I've used each and have no issues with any of the tools. I have not owned it for very long however I see no reason to believe that it will not last. Great price for a home handyman not looking to invest big money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great combo

,
October 15, 2012
By tjNorth
from Rugby, ND
"I received this Air Tool Kit as a gift back in 2010. I use it a lot around the house for working on the mower, snowblower, snowmobiles, boat, and lots of other things that need fixing. I use the 3/8" ratchet wrench and die grinder the most, and they have not given me any trouble. My Dad and brother have a kit and carry it with them in their farm pickup and use it with their portable air compressor, it has worked great for them as well. You will need to purchase more sockets as this kit is limited on the number of metric and standard sockets, preferably deep sockets. Overall a great combo!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great case

,
May 15, 2012
By multitasking
from Van Buren, AR
"I was concerned about whether or not all the tools would stay put in their location. Shipping is a good test of that. The kit arrived packed in a different box with some other tools and goodies. When I opened the case, all was in the proper place, except the blower hand-piece. They snap in secure, but not so hard that you'd need a screwdriver to pry them out. I know they aren't the best-of-the-best, but for my usage, they should be just fine. I'd have to put more miles on them before I could be sure of their longevity."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Tool Kit - 71-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

71 pc.air tool kit

,
June 14, 2011
By debbfromfl
from Homosassa, FL.
"surprisingly good quality tools for the price..,.
tested out each tool and was quite impressed..
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.