Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA

Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA

Item# 158339
This air impact wrench delivers the power and performance to tackle tough jobs with ease, including tire rotation, brake jobs, crank pulley bolt removal, and more. Inlet Size in. 1/4, Forward Torque ft.-lbs. 450, Hammer Mechanism Twin, Min. Hose Size in. 3/8, Standard Bolt Capacity in. 9/16, Drive in. 1/2, Impacts Per Minute IPM 1,200, Speed - No Load RPM 8,000, Average Air Consumption CFM 4.2, CFM at Load 22, Noise Level dB 94, Working Torque ft.-lb. 25-350, Reversible Yes, Tool Length in. 7.3, Tool Weight lbs. 5.8, Max. Reverse Torque ft.-lbs. 590. In-handle exhaust directs air away from work area Pressure-fed lubrication system Adjustable power regulation
Average Customer Rating:
4.759 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (29 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 29(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Review 1 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best tool in my tool box

,
February 5, 2014
By Polaris2006
from stafford, ct
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"my grandfather bought me this Ingersoll rand gun as a gift. I used a craftsman impact #919982 and this one definetly out performs that one. I was taking the lugs off my mothers 1999 Durango like a pit crew. with my craftsman it was faster for me to use a 4 way or the lug wrench the vehicle came with. I have tried this with a 20, 30, 33 and a 60 gallon compressor and it performs the same on all of them.... THIS IS A MUST IN EVERYONES TOOL BOX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brand Names can be good, too

,
April 23, 2013
By Gladiator
from Louisiana
"I purchased this I-R Impact Wrench because my no-name brand just didn't have the torque. The specs on the tools are the same, but the performance is totally different. Lug nuts that no-name couldn't loosen were easily removed by the IR tool. You really do get what you pay for!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
August 23, 2010
By Goodwrench
from Hawkinville, GA.
"I have and impact just like this one it is twenty years old. It has been rebuilt many times from heavy use. I am a heavy equipment mechanic use a impact all day every day. This is one tough tool would recommend to anyone who wants a impact for home or shop."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Newbie

,
April 17, 2010
By actus10
from midwest
"Never owned any air tools and bought a set for 100 bucks at a tool sale . The set included an Air impact rated at 230ft lbs i thought wow thats a lot . Was i wrong it wouldnt turn anything so then i thought it was my 5 gallon 1 1/2 air compressor nope again . So after talking to some mechanic friends they all recommended i get an IR impact and this is the model many used . They are right it has done everything i have asked of it and more . lesson learned !---------My only beef is that Northern guranteed the lowest price and since purchase i have seen this same gun at a lower price ! But lesson learned again over all its a tank ! I love using it !"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

1/2" Drive Impact

,
February 22, 2010
By phil123
"Good impact with plenty of power, holds up under excessive use without any sign of power loss due to wear. The only problem I found with this impact is the tool retainer on the drive got bent out of shape and I had to remove it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

IR impact wrench

,
February 16, 2010
By Scotty36
from Manlius,NY
"I bought this IR air wrench as a Christmas gift, I bought an identical IR tool 19 years ago. It has seen much use on the farm, as long as you use an inline oiler there is no reason it shouldn't last a life time. Mine is a bit beat up but still works just fine. You can pay more but you can't get more. The best part about this wrench is you can adjust the tork, so you don't break as much."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1/2 air gun

,
November 2, 2009
By CHANIC
from Alabama
"Great Gun @ this price, plenty of power, just as powerful as my expensive ones. Looking to by more!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

solid gun

,
October 18, 2009
By otis311
"I have had this gun for a few years now. It is a solid no frills impact wrench. It sounds beautiful even though it doesn't spin very fast, but fast enough. For the price you can't go wrong. I like the trigger on this version compared to the similar 231. I was a little disappointed when it wouldn't remove my lug bolts on my car. That may have been user error though. Other than that is has powered through everything I throw at it (exhaust clamps, crankshaft bolts, lag bolts)."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand does it again

,
March 16, 2009
By danvick
from Central Minnesota
"I have been using air tools for about 35 years and this is by far the best air impact wrench I have ever used (except some high level commercial guns). I will never buy anything but Ingersoll Rand and I will more than likely get it at Northern Tool & Equipment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
farmoo7
New York State 
 
Please wait while more information about farmoo7 is loaded.
Additional information about farmoo7 could not be loaded.
Farmer Vern
July 14, 2011
"What the smallest size air compressor you can buy to operate this IR.....
Thanks"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

IR 1/2in. impact#231HA

,
November 18, 2008
By everlast1773
from Alexandria,La
"Good overall quality,just should have spent a little more money for something with more oomph! Don't care for the trigger,pretty noisy, but other then that for the money a good impact."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersol Rand 1/2 " drive impact wrench

,
November 18, 2008
By cobrajet
from Opelika, Alabama
"I used to useone of these impact wrenches as a mechanic. It was one of the best wrenches I had. I never had a problem with loosening bolts. It always had enough torque."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

All around great wrench

,
November 17, 2008
By seabeeman
from Chippewa Falls, WI
"I use this for home mechanic type work, for which it is almost overkill. It will do just about anything I need, and is more than reliable. I'm the kind of guy that will buy the cheap tool, and if I break it, then buy the expensive one. That way, if I can't manage to break it, I certainly didn't need the high end tool. If I do break it, I know I'll use it and I'm only out $20-$30. This is well worth its price and will save you many a headache.
Runs great off 5.9CFM @ 90psi and 3/8" hose."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ingersol rand M/N# 231ha

,
November 17, 2008
By my1986cj7
from santa maria cal
"I have used one at work never had a complaint or problem. works great every time"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand Impact

,
November 17, 2008
By BestBodyMan
from CA
"I’ve been working as an auto body technician since 1975 Ingersoll Rand has always been my choice for durability. I ordered this impact wrench for work.
I was doing a brake job on my car at home so I took my Ingersoll Rand Impact Wrench home to take the wheels off car, I didn't think it would work well with my
small 30gl 5hp air compressor, anyway I snapped it to my air hose and BAM it zapped the lug nuts off just like it does at work. I like it, good Torque at ft.-lbs. 590
If you’re a professional mechanic, body man or home can buff swich to Ingersoll Rand.
Also Northern Tool has a really good price on this quality Impact Wrench."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

,
August 18, 2008
By louey
from North Carolina
"I have been in the automotive repair industry for 18 years and have used many makes and models of air wrenches only to fall back on my IR230. When other guns wouldn't loosen bolts my IR230 would come to thier rescue. This unit is well balanced and quite rugged. My current IR230 is approx. 10 years old and I have had little or no problems with it. I highly recommend buying this gun if you want dependability and a long lasting tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Tool for Tire Shop

,
April 24, 2008
By L132
from Stafford, VA
"I have 6 of these impact guns in my tire shop. Perfect for pretty much every situation/tire/application. Can withstand more than a few high drops and requires very little maintenance (other than regular oiling and greasing occasionally). Would highly recommend for anyone in need of a reliable impact gun."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ingersoll

,
April 21, 2008
By ctire
from houston tx
"I own a commercial tire repair service and I have 5 of these impacts. They have all done a terrific job . They are used every day and most are over 2 years old . We punish our tools here let them hammer on bolts and nut longer than we should to break them loose. Needless to say they take better care of us than we do them."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air tool

,
April 21, 2008
By mowermechanic
from north carolina
"Excellent air tool. Has more power than any other brand that I have used in the past. I only buy Ingersoll Rand air tools"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench

,
April 16, 2008
By surfdude
from New York, NY
"I work at a shop for Toyota and use my impact gun daily it take all the abuse i give it and there is no bolt i cant loosen
I have no complaint.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for the price

,
January 25, 2008
By superduper
from Walnut Creek, CA
"I've owned many impact wrenches over the years and know which ones to stay away from now. I can say that this one is a terric impact tool and is extremely durable. Back when I purchased it, it was one of the top/line available and priced much higher than it is today. When others failed, this one never missed a beat. I can't tell you how much torque it actually has (how can you tell?) but I do know that it can snap bolts if you aren't careful, can zip lugs on tigher than you can remove by hand, and has removed every nut/bolt/pulley thrown it's way. I've had mine for over 20 years now. I no longer wrench anymore so it is rarely used but when I need it, it still zips like it always does without fail. Stay away from CP tools that deteriorate even when not being used. Apparently, those had some plastic parts in them that were not very resistant to petroleum (you have to lube these tools regularly) and the contact with the lubricating fluid causes the plastic to become brittle and break. I know this firsthand as I have a couple of air rachets that were hardly ever used and when I last dug them out, sure enough, they no longer work and have become nice looking paperweights."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.