Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High

Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High

Item# 158501
"Custom wood crib holds your firewood in a neat stack and helps organize your woodpile Customizable to any length with two 2 x 4s not included. Moisture resistant baked-on finish prevents corrosion. Rack helps keep wood dry and termite-free. Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 x 44, Material Tubular steel. Raised rack reduces damage from bugs, mold and rot Customizable length to suit your needs Durable 1in. round tubular steel rack Rack ends are 13in. W x 44in.H Easy to assemble"
Average Customer Rating:
4.707 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (116 reviews)
5 stars
94
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
114 of 116(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Review 1 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Basic and Functional

,
April 23, 2014
By ADelawareGuy
from Delaware
"Tubular steel wood crib brackets would be a more accurate description of this product, as the end user will need to provide nominal 2"x4" lumber to set this product up. The brackets were well packaged and are sturdy. Only complaint is that the brackets could use a few pilot holes in the areas where the 2x4 fit through as a means of keeping them from slipping around. I just used a few screws on either side of each bracket (not as elegant, but workable.
Users might also want to raise the brackets off the ground (if in a direct contact situation) by adding cross pieces under the long 2x4's making up the base of the crib."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Any length you want.

,
February 4, 2014
By Bodypainter
from Antonia,Mo
"Super easy to assemble. I made mine 8' wide which holds a lot of wood. I purchased my second one last week but haven't put it together yet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as Intended

,
February 4, 2014
By orbital02
from Dallas, TX
"First off, I like this product. It's cheap and does the job intended. However, the metal side supports are a little flimsy. I fixed this by drilling holes in the plates of the metal supports where the 2x4 (not provided) goes through. Then, I screwed the metal support to the 2x4. With the right tools and screws on hand, you can do this in 5 mins. Overall, I would recommend this for anyone wanting to organize their firewood, but doesn't care if it gets wet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just perfect!

,
February 4, 2014
By ChrisInHixson
from Chattanooga TN
"I don't burn a lot of firewood each year so I usually buy it by the "rick", which is about as much as you can fit in the bed of a Ford Ranger. This unit was very well-priced at Northern tool and the simplicity of assembly much it a slam dunk. The 2 x 4s fit into the slots perfectly and I was stacking wood in it within 5 minutes. It is sturdier than I expected and I believe I could easily expand it another 4 ft from the current 8 ft. I have no negatives."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Rack

,
February 4, 2014
By JWP1
from NC
"Just the thing that I needed to store wood on my porch. Good that it can be lengthened or shortened depending on the location where it will be used."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

An easy product to use and enyoy

,
October 12, 2013
By Outpost22
from Oregon
"After my last debacle buying the "Shelter Logic" bunks that came with bolts that were too short and receiving no help from them, I decided to try these. I wish I started with these instead. So simple to use and very inexpensive. If you have extra 2x4's lying around then this is your ticket. They actually are sturdier than the other style (SL) bunks as they have firm ground contact instead of small points of contact of the raised bunk style. This works out well for me as the bunks sit on slightly sloping gravel. If you have a level concrete base, then either should work well.
I liked these so much I just bought 2 more. So long to Shelter Logic and their poor service.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Quality

,
August 26, 2013
By hanna
from Huntington,MA
"I bought this wood crib thinking it would be the same grade as last year's model. Was I mistaken. The brackets are very flimsy. The tubing is about half as strong. There were no pre-drilled holes for 2 by 4 to connect to. VERY DISAPPOINTED. Last year's model is shown in the catalog. No more purchases from this company for me."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased

,
October 8, 2012
By stcrjo
from Tyler, TX
"Purchased firewood rack(crib) and then purchased two 2x4's(pressure treated) eight feet long. Assembly was a snap and it seems like it will be strong and durable. Have about a third of the capacity filled but will be cutting some more firewood soon."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertized

,
October 8, 2012
By panda23
from NJ
"Easy to set up. Must buy or use old 2X4s. Should probably use preservative. Also for long lengths support the middle of the 2X4s"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inexpensive and versatile wood crib

,
October 8, 2012
By 330CX
from Slanesville, WV
"This is my second purchase of this item. I like the fact that you can set it to any width. I have one with eight foot 2x4s in the garage that holds enough wood for a couple of weeks. I stained and varnished two shorter boards for use near the woodstove indoors. We have hardwood floors, so I placed two adhesive felt pads under each of the brackets. Set at three foot width it easily holds enough wood for a weekend. It provides a neat stack that is easy to clean under and around."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Crib

,
August 14, 2012
By GWILLDO
from Ventura,CA
"The ability to set your own size was essential. I bought two sets to fit in the back of my Outdoor Fireplace.There are two plug outlets in tne middle of the back of the pit so one is placed to the left and one to the right of the plug. One Crib is about Six feet long and the other Crib is about Eight feet long. Also for added protecton I placed the Cribs on some concrete pads for added height so I keep the critters reachable and be able to clean under it. Now I have the space for Two Cords of Wood and have access to my two plugs and the Wel-Belt cover to protect it all."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Crib

,
August 13, 2012
By jwwtp
from Yantis,TX
"Simple design, but great product. Easy to use. Just add a pair of 2" x 4" 's cut to the desired length to give great flexibility on size of the crib. Reasonable price. Purchased a second one for additional firewood storage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Mr

,
August 13, 2012
By Redwitch
from Florida
"Excellent product, I used 2x4's across the bottom and then 2 x 2 's x 16 inch perpendicular to keep the main 2 x 4's off the ground. These act as kind of a sacrificial wood to any rot and are easy to replace. OIL STAINED all the wood. Should last for years with no expense."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple, easy

,
May 7, 2012
By phatbasstrd
from Rochester NY
"Simple and easy to put up. I used 12 foot 2x4. There is enough weight that the end hoops are bending a little but there is a lot of weight on them with the long boards. Use shorter boards and you will probably not have a problem."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent investment

,
May 7, 2012
By CoExSy
from Marlboorugh, MA
"Solid product and easy to assemble. Would recommend fastening to bottom rails."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice wood crib

,
May 7, 2012
By Varmithunter
from Barney, GA
"I bought these for my father and I was suprised how good of quality they were. I had bought some similar previously from a big box store and these Northern Tool cribs were much higher quality. Can not go wrong with these."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

These Wood Cribs do the job

,
May 7, 2012
By Polobbie
from Austin, Texas
"I bought two of these to store wood in my garage for my heating furnace. They certainly do the job. It helps if you can push these up against a wall and/or up against something heavy in order to keep the load from forcing the tubing out. The tubing won't bend, but it just looks disturbing leaning out under load. The leaning comes from the bottom where there is play between the square tubing and the 2x4's. These are a value for the price, and they look better than the vertical 2x4 racks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

simple to assemble

,
January 13, 2012
By fuzzy1
from Imperial, Pa
"Simple to assemble and good value. Keeps the wood beside our downstairs whole house woodburner neat and ready to use. Thank you"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT WOOD RACK

,
January 9, 2012
By berrylady
from Powder Springs, GA
"Exceptional product where you can create the size firewood stack you want-easy to put on any 2 x 4, as long as you desire it to be. I have 8 of them for my stacks of firewood-keep mine at 8 feet thus easy to cover with tarps and/or special covers available for 8 foot stacks."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tubular Steel Wood Crib - 44in. High
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wood rack

,
January 9, 2012
By woodraven
from Hamilton, MA
"I was happy with this product. The fact that it can be adjusted by changing the 2X4s makes it a valuable addition to my wood storage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.