Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity

Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity

Item# 158520
"This Northern Industrial Log Cart makes woodpile work easier by helping you move large logs from your pile to your fireplace. Spoked wheels roll right over bumps or up and down stairs. Heavy-duty galvanized steel frame. Handy bark and dirt catcher on bottom panel. Big capacity bed size 30in.L x 20in.W x 48in.H with 16in. x 2.125in. wheels. Capacity lbs. 220, Dimensions L x W x H in. 30 x 20 x 48, Material Heavy duty galvanized steel. 16in. dia. spoked wheels roll right over bumps or up and down stairs Heavy-duty galvanized steel frame holds up to 220 lbs. Handy bark and dirt catcher on the bottom panel keeps floors clean Large capacity bed for large loads Weight is balanced over the wheels for easy handling"
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (59 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
55 of 59(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log transporter

,
November 1, 2014
By KZlumber
from Howell, NJ
"I think this is a great product. However, I don't think the instructions were very clear. I think a YouTube video of someone putting it together would really be great for future owners. I had some trouble with the bolts and had to use some of my own. I may add a piece of metal to block smaller logs from rolling off. In general, I think it's great. If you are moving firewood logs, this is for you."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but with issues

,
October 23, 2014
By KathyDavis
from Alaska
"The material that the cart is made with is good but we found that some of the holes needed to be cleaned up, due to burrs, the handle could have fit better, maybe so it would fit Inside the bottom tubes then bolted and the bolts could have been just a little longer had some trouble getting nuts on the bolts when pushed through the holes. It was simple to assemble but with just a few modifications we was able to get it done."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very handy cart

,
October 14, 2014
By TipDon
from Bellwood, PA
"Most reviews I read said that it was very easy to assemble. Either I got the wrong size screws or I was doing something wrong. I actually had to go to the hardware store and get longer screws to fit through the bars. Once I did that I was able to assemble it. As for use, it works well for me. I take it in the woods to haul logs out of the woods and it works great. Also use at home to move wood from where I split to the shed. Very easy to use. Only problem is that if the wood is not cut long enough it falls through. I actually took a tarp and put around it to place the logs on so the small ones don't fall through."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cart

,
October 3, 2014
By Mx190
from Georgia
"This cart is great for hauling firewood over rough ground. The size specs are miss-leading. The specs that are noted as bin size are actually the overall size of the cart."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had this 5 years, still going strong!

,
September 26, 2014
By mithrandor
from Oakham, MA
"When I got this I was hoping that it would help with bringing in the wood. I was concerned about it going up stairs and how much wood it could carry at once, and would I, an average sized female of 5'6 be able to move it. Turns out it makes a LOT of wood very easy to move, and it is not only possible, but simple to get this up stairs. We've had this 5 years, and it is by far one of the best purchases I have ever made. It has totally changed brining in wood from a long and drawn out chore to a simple cart moving task that takes a few minutes."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

8 yrs old and still going!

,
October 13, 2013
By Miladi
from maine
"Bought this cart in 2005 when we moved to our home(old farmhouse) and over the years, we have used it almost every day between end of September and beginning of April plus for bringing in the firewood during the summer. This has been an absolutely wonderful "find" and has performed beyond well. I like to fill it pretty full and it has definitely stood the weight and pressure demands I have put it through. I was looking to order the replacement wheels as they are now fully shot and my wife suggested we buy a second one as well as the wheels since we use it so much! I couldn't believe she was the one that said those words. They have definitely gotten it right with this cart...the large wheels are extremely important for ease of steering around walls and furniture and the cart is just built very well. You know its good when my wife wants to have two of them :-)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log Cart

,
September 26, 2013
By MTGuy
from Montana
"This appears to be a good cart for the money. It went together easily and with little frustraion. The wheels are holding air after 2 weeks and appear large enough to handle the snow depth we receive here. It loads easily, tilts and wheels with no problem. My last cart had 20 inch wheels and eventually they warped out of true and then collapsed under load, these smaller wheels appear less likely to do that."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

money well spent on wood management

,
September 10, 2013
By Snodrifter
from Adirondacks, NY
"Have had this cart for going on 10 years and wouldn't part with it.
larger wheels make it much easier to balance & go up stairs. Holds a generous, all night portion of wood. Two trips and I'm done bringing in wood for the day.
Why only 4 stars? The "dirt and bark catcher" in a word, doesn't. But hey, comes with territory, I guess. I'm going to put a bottom in it like another reviewer did, for that and the odd 1/2" too short logs that fall through. The wheels and the wheel base are narrow, so it can tip and get away from you if you"re not careful.
Also, I put a length of foam insulation on the handle for those february < 0 days
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real back saver.

,
April 23, 2013
By MrCo
from Myrtle Point, OR
"I have a bad back and carrying boxes of firewood was no longer an option. With this cart I can load boxes on it directly from the wood pile without having to do much bending over. The large wheels make it easy to roll it up onto the porch and then into the house. The only problem is that the tires collect mud and dirt and then leave it on the floor in the house and I then have to clean that up. I am considering buying a second one so that I have one for the house that stays clean and one for outside. It is easy to move a box of firewood sideways from one to the other. One of the best "tools" I have purchased in a long time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Learn with age

,
January 9, 2012
By TwoDutch
from Delhi, N.Y.
"We heat our home with wood. This cart beats a hand truck all to heck .We have to move firewood over threshold, down steps then over next threshold then up steps, it is nice when I don't loose any logs or bang in to walls.Now even my wife will haul wood when necessarily. At our age a long needed and smart investment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy and sturdy cart

,
January 9, 2012
By me123
from Iowa
"Bought a couple of months ago, easy to assemble and works great. I have put as many pieces of wood as will fit and still is easy to move. I also modified with a plywood platform and use it to move other heavy items as well. Very happy with my purchase."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Log Cart

,
March 14, 2011
By dude01520
from Princeton, MA
"Bought this cart just before a minor surgery that would limit my ability to carry in firewood for a few weeks. The reviews seemed promising and overall I'm very pleased. It was easy to assemble, does a great job over bumps and down a couple of small steps I have, and allows you to carry in a few loads of wood in each trip. Plus you can store wood in it near the stove. I wish I bought one long ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Cart

,
March 14, 2011
By vicnicknameistooshort
"Pro: Solid, works well
Con: needs a shelf in carrying area, high center of gravity
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Log Cart

,
March 14, 2011
By Geezer99
from Danbury, Ct
"Great for moving a lot of logs quickly even down steep stairs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Cart

,
January 3, 2011
By roblee5
from Central New York
"What an exceptional item to also carry water softener pellets bags thru the snow!! Large bottled Water Jugs, This cart has gotten more use than just getting firewood into the house. The ease for a 5' woman and doing it all on my own,PRICELESS!!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Cart

,
November 16, 2010
By VTWoodsman
from Vermont
"This is a perfect replacement for old style log slings that can only handle what you can carry by weight. I used to take 10+ trips to fill two hoppers inside the house. With this log cart 4 trips and I am done. With the large wheels it is easy to get up steps and roll right into the house. Easy on the back and well constructed. There are only two minor points that I would improve on and that would be to a) put some sort of metal band, similar to the two already provided, on the bottom in order to be able to use it with smaller length logs and b) improve assembly instructions. You need more than one pair or hands to get assembly started. Otherwise a great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid construction

,
August 23, 2010
By DPLew
from Houston, TX
"The cart is well made, exactly as presented in the add. My 10 year old grandson helped me assemble it. Fortunately, they included one extra nut. I have used it to move several cords of wood from my trailer to the woodshed and no complaints except I wish they offered one with a motor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great log carrier and mover for large indoor loads

,
June 2, 2010
By IndianaAnna
from North Central Indiana
"I put this together with the assistance of my niece as a Christmas gift for my husband. We love the amount of wood it can move from outside stacks to indoor storage. We can easily move the load up stairs, like a hand truck, and use a large box on the tines of the mover to keep the amount of log dirt down and out of the house. We have used it for one winter and it has withstood the wear and tear my 18 year old son can dish out when he is asked to bring in wood! Now that is a testimonial! If you use wood to help heat your home, this will get the job done in one fell swoop; I don't have time to fool around with small loads."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

220 lb capacity Log Cart

,
May 26, 2010
By JimPA
from Lancaster, PA
"This is a great cart for the money. My only criticism is that because the center of gravity is relatively high, a little wider wheel base would give it a little more stability. It seems to be well built and strong where it needs to be. It handles a large load of wood with ease."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tired of lugging chopped logs 2 or 3 at a time??

,
May 24, 2010
By RockinRobyn
from Wisconsin
"We have a very wooded lot, and are constantly cutting downed trees in a remote part of the property. To have to carry them all back to the campsite would be horrendous. This allows you to make short work of an otherwise back breaking job. Make sure and put air in the tires before you load it up !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.