Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity

Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity

Item# 158520
This Northern Industrial Log Cart makes woodpile work easier by helping you move large logs from your pile to your fireplace. Spoked wheels roll right over bumps or up and down stairs. Heavy-duty galvanized steel frame. Handy bark and dirt catcher on bottom panel. Big capacity bed size 30in.L x 20in.W x 48in.H with 16in. x 2.125in. wheels. Capacity lbs. 220, Dimensions L x W x H in. 30 x 20 x 48, Material Heavy duty galvanized steel. 16in. dia. spoked wheels roll right over bumps or up and down stairs Heavy-duty galvanized steel frame holds up to 220 lbs. Handy bark and dirt catcher on the bottom panel keeps floors clean Large capacity bed for large loads Weight is balanced over the wheels for easy handling
Average Customer Rating:
4.537 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (54 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
50 of 54(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

8 yrs old and still going!

,
October 13, 2013
By Miladi
from maine
"Bought this cart in 2005 when we moved to our home(old farmhouse) and over the years, we have used it almost every day between end of September and beginning of April plus for bringing in the firewood during the summer. This has been an absolutely wonderful "find" and has performed beyond well. I like to fill it pretty full and it has definitely stood the weight and pressure demands I have put it through. I was looking to order the replacement wheels as they are now fully shot and my wife suggested we buy a second one as well as the wheels since we use it so much! I couldn't believe she was the one that said those words. They have definitely gotten it right with this cart...the large wheels are extremely important for ease of steering around walls and furniture and the cart is just built very well. You know its good when my wife wants to have two of them :-)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log Cart

,
September 26, 2013
By MTGuy
from Montana
"This appears to be a good cart for the money. It went together easily and with little frustraion. The wheels are holding air after 2 weeks and appear large enough to handle the snow depth we receive here. It loads easily, tilts and wheels with no problem. My last cart had 20 inch wheels and eventually they warped out of true and then collapsed under load, these smaller wheels appear less likely to do that."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

money well spent on wood management

,
September 10, 2013
By Snodrifter
from Adirondacks, NY
"Have had this cart for going on 10 years and wouldn't part with it.
larger wheels make it much easier to balance & go up stairs. Holds a generous, all night portion of wood. Two trips and I'm done bringing in wood for the day.
Why only 4 stars? The "dirt and bark catcher" in a word, doesn't. But hey, comes with territory, I guess. I'm going to put a bottom in it like another reviewer did, for that and the odd 1/2" too short logs that fall through. The wheels and the wheel base are narrow, so it can tip and get away from you if you"re not careful.
Also, I put a length of foam insulation on the handle for those february < 0 days
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real back saver.

,
April 23, 2013
By MrCo
from Myrtle Point, OR
"I have a bad back and carrying boxes of firewood was no longer an option. With this cart I can load boxes on it directly from the wood pile without having to do much bending over. The large wheels make it easy to roll it up onto the porch and then into the house. The only problem is that the tires collect mud and dirt and then leave it on the floor in the house and I then have to clean that up. I am considering buying a second one so that I have one for the house that stays clean and one for outside. It is easy to move a box of firewood sideways from one to the other. One of the best "tools" I have purchased in a long time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Learn with age

,
January 9, 2012
By TwoDutch
from Delhi, N.Y.
"We heat our home with wood. This cart beats a hand truck all to heck .We have to move firewood over threshold, down steps then over next threshold then up steps, it is nice when I don't loose any logs or bang in to walls.Now even my wife will haul wood when necessarily. At our age a long needed and smart investment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy and sturdy cart

,
January 9, 2012
By me123
from Iowa
"Bought a couple of months ago, easy to assemble and works great. I have put as many pieces of wood as will fit and still is easy to move. I also modified with a plywood platform and use it to move other heavy items as well. Very happy with my purchase."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Log Cart

,
March 14, 2011
By dude01520
from Princeton, MA
"Bought this cart just before a minor surgery that would limit my ability to carry in firewood for a few weeks. The reviews seemed promising and overall I'm very pleased. It was easy to assemble, does a great job over bumps and down a couple of small steps I have, and allows you to carry in a few loads of wood in each trip. Plus you can store wood in it near the stove. I wish I bought one long ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Cart

,
March 14, 2011
By vicnicknameistooshort
"Pro: Solid, works well
Con: needs a shelf in carrying area, high center of gravity
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Log Cart

,
March 14, 2011
By Geezer99
from Danbury, Ct
"Great for moving a lot of logs quickly even down steep stairs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Cart

,
January 3, 2011
By roblee5
from Central New York
"What an exceptional item to also carry water softener pellets bags thru the snow!! Large bottled Water Jugs, This cart has gotten more use than just getting firewood into the house. The ease for a 5' woman and doing it all on my own,PRICELESS!!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Cart

,
November 16, 2010
By VTWoodsman
from Vermont
"This is a perfect replacement for old style log slings that can only handle what you can carry by weight. I used to take 10+ trips to fill two hoppers inside the house. With this log cart 4 trips and I am done. With the large wheels it is easy to get up steps and roll right into the house. Easy on the back and well constructed. There are only two minor points that I would improve on and that would be to a) put some sort of metal band, similar to the two already provided, on the bottom in order to be able to use it with smaller length logs and b) improve assembly instructions. You need more than one pair or hands to get assembly started. Otherwise a great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid construction

,
August 23, 2010
By DPLew
from Houston, TX
"The cart is well made, exactly as presented in the add. My 10 year old grandson helped me assemble it. Fortunately, they included one extra nut. I have used it to move several cords of wood from my trailer to the woodshed and no complaints except I wish they offered one with a motor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great log carrier and mover for large indoor loads

,
June 2, 2010
By IndianaAnna
from North Central Indiana
"I put this together with the assistance of my niece as a Christmas gift for my husband. We love the amount of wood it can move from outside stacks to indoor storage. We can easily move the load up stairs, like a hand truck, and use a large box on the tines of the mover to keep the amount of log dirt down and out of the house. We have used it for one winter and it has withstood the wear and tear my 18 year old son can dish out when he is asked to bring in wood! Now that is a testimonial! If you use wood to help heat your home, this will get the job done in one fell swoop; I don't have time to fool around with small loads."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

220 lb capacity Log Cart

,
May 26, 2010
By JimPA
from Lancaster, PA
"This is a great cart for the money. My only criticism is that because the center of gravity is relatively high, a little wider wheel base would give it a little more stability. It seems to be well built and strong where it needs to be. It handles a large load of wood with ease."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tired of lugging chopped logs 2 or 3 at a time??

,
May 24, 2010
By RockinRobyn
from Wisconsin
"We have a very wooded lot, and are constantly cutting downed trees in a remote part of the property. To have to carry them all back to the campsite would be horrendous. This allows you to make short work of an otherwise back breaking job. Make sure and put air in the tires before you load it up !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Major Wood-burner Review

,
May 14, 2010
By NYOD
from Upstate NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I burn between 20 and 25 face cord every year in my masonry stove -- and have done so since about 1997. My background is historic preservation contracting and the particularly unique problems that come with adaptively using contemporary technology on historic properties.
I've used this cart for two seasons. I owned what I believe was the predecessor to this cart. This cart is a significant upgrade for less money than my previous cart. It is structurally sound and I've had no problem whatsoever hauling full loads. Steps would be easier to negotiate if the tires were bigger, but on the other hand, bigger tires would rise above the horizontal bars and might interfere with longer cuts of wood.
Unlike previous reviewers', my cart came without rust and was an easy assembly with power drill and drivers. Obviously, ratchets, sockets and wrenches will be less convenient, but hardly daunting.
The cart is sized for standard split-wood lengths of about 18". If your cuts are shorter, you might want to retrofit the horizontal load-bearing bars with a plywood support as another reviewer has, but I haven't found that necessary. Another reviewer indicated some "play" between the axle and frame when the cart is subjected to lateral stress. Given the quantity I haul, I find that the cart is sufficiently substantial to endure such minor stresses when fully loaded.
Maintenance: After two years, I notice that the washers and nuts have some pitted rust spots. I might replace them in another year perhaps. The plastic inserts that go into the open ends of the frame-pieces are cracked or missing -- hardly significant to the function of the cart. The wear on my previous cart occurred where the metal frame hit the ground -- rust developed and concrete wore it thin. After the season, I store this cart with the resting-portion of the frame off the ground to minimize any chance of rust -- very minor so far, but worthy of some attention before I store it. As I recall, one reviewer thought that galvanized steel is supposed to be rust-free. NOT. Galvanized steel is rust-inhibited with zinc, but in time, it will rust where it was nicked or worn. There IS some rust on the tire frame and the wheel housing that fits over the axle. That metal is not galvanized.
This cart is essential to managing my wood. I just recommended it to a relative and after checking its availability, was prompted to write this review. We can generally find fault with any item we buy . . . we wish it had this, or that. I have found that this cart, for the money, is more than adequate. With just a little attention to the small rust spots at the end of every season, it should last at least as long as the 8 - 10 years my previous, flimsier cart was used."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Logcart

,
February 22, 2010
By Bernie333
from Lake Arrowhead,Ca(In the San Bernardino Mtns)
"Dear NT
I would recommend this product ,and I all ready have to my neighbors. It is very handy,especially if there are stair to contend with,as I have .
Respectfully
Bernie333
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Log Cart

,
February 15, 2010
By Woodlugger
from Marlow, NH
"This log cart is the best invention since split wood. Can handle a load easily down 3 steps. Even my wife uses it. Now that's a plus!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Hauler

,
February 15, 2010
By Haulin
from Baltimore Md.
"I was the only person bringing wood to the house from the wood shed. Now ther are 4 of us because of how well the cart works. You've already figured out why I love the cart !! We have moved 3 cords of wood with it without a problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Log Cart - 220-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Cart To The Rescue

,
December 14, 2009
By Rancherranj
from WI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Just got the cart 12-9-09. Put it together in about an hour. It smells like it's fresh from the factory. No rust. Used it over the weekend at the cabin. I love it. My wood burner takes very large logs thus I have a large wood bin next to it. It would take me 5 or 6 trips to fill and afterwards, I'd be very tired. Now, I can fill the bin in less than 2 trips and not break a sweat. I go back for another load and now I have another portable wood bin in the next room. I took the advice of the other reviews and bolted on a 3/8" plywood base right away and I'm glad I did. The scraps fall on the base instead of the floor and I don't have to worry about a piece slipping through. Cart is very well balanced. I loaded it up and went through 10 inches of snow without a problem. Suggestion: If you make a base for it, mount it "under" the frame. You'll get a tad more clearance but more over, the scraps will be less likely to fall off."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.