Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"

"Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"

Item# 1589
"Jitterbug air sander. 3 5/8in. x 6 1/2in. sander has constant 3/16in. orbit for fine finishing. Very versatile, can be operated with one hand. 6 CFM air consumption @ 90 PSI. Side Handle No, Pad Diameter in. 3 5/8 x 6 1/2, Min. Hose Size in. 3/8, Speed RPM 6,000, Vacuum Ready No, Air Consumption CFM 6, Variable Speed Yes, Case Included No, Random Orbital Yes, Air Inlet Size in. NPT 1/4. Built in regulator Quiet muffled rear exhaust Steel plates for long tool life Positive paper retention Not for commercial use"
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 of 12(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"
Review 1 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

It worked for a little this fall.

,
August 22, 2015
By
from USA
" I had it for 16 months before I used it. I oiled it before and after using it and now in the 17th month it will not vibrate at all. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice unit, good fit and finish & function

,
June 28, 2015
By
from Western, North Carolina
" Bought this unit for wet sanding concrete counter tops. Was teetering between this and another brand that looks identical. Chose this one for several reasons, the better warranty for a year, the stated CFM draw was a little less, and the top RPM speed was significantly less. Glad I did, this is a real solid unit and pretty quiet.
It will require a real compressor, not just a small pankcake or DIY houshold special. I am using a 60gallon Puma compressor rated at 12cfm @ 90 and it not only drives this perfect but also allows for full recovery while the sander is running constantly. A smaller compressor would have issue and the unit would not run right. Also found it to be quieter than I would think with the variable speed cranked down it goes slow and silent. . I can actually see using this for more in the future than just the counter top sanding that it was purchased for. Get one, you will be glad you did. Wish I bought one long ago. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

DOA

,
July 26, 2013
By
from Pittsboro, NC
" It almost worked but not quite. It did work for about 5 seconds then never would work again. Store will be getting this back in am. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Workhorse!

,
October 9, 2012
By
from Greenfield, Tennessee
" I own a powder coating shop specializing in Mopar parts restorations and custom one-offs. As a result, I do a LOT of metal work and polishing. The jitterbug sander is powerful, fully adjustable and well balanced. Although it's a bit heavy for me (about 7 pounds) and took a little getting used to, that's the only drawback I've experienced ... and it's not enough to reconsider my purchase. I'd gladly buy another one of these sanders without hesitation. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air sander

,
October 8, 2012
By
from Murphy, NC
" This is a good Chinese built sander. I had one identical to it, had a different brand name, but was the same and lasted me many years. They've doubled in price since I bought the first one, but what hasn't. Shipping was fast and fair, good product and would do it again. If you need a sander of this type, you can't go wrong. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

This sander is a buy for the $s

,
November 16, 2010
By
from Aurora, Co
" For the price, I was expecting much less. After using this sander I felt as if it were a top line product. Did a great job. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Air Orbital Sander

,
February 15, 2010
By
from Pittsburgh
" Best tool for the money I ever bought. I have used it on my car and in my woodshop. Sander worked great for both jobs. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

air sander

,
July 20, 2009
By
from albany,ga
" sander is a good quality tool. expect to years of service .tool is light weight,easy to handle. thanks for the great service on my orders. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern tools orbital sander

,
November 18, 2008
By
from Montrose MI.
" When I recieved my sander I immediately tried it out. I found this sander very easy to use and saved a lot of time. You can control the speed of the sander and this makes it good for many applications. I would reccomend this tool for anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Long lasting 'throw-away'

,
April 14, 2008
By
from Aurora, NY
" This is the second time that I've purchased this air drive orbital sander from Northern Tool. The first lasted through 2 years of hard use...often dry sanding in surface preps on vehicles before painting and in wet sanding on the clearcoat finish after painting...and often without regular oiling and in the absence of close attention to maintenance. Because of the price, it was treated as a 'throw away' tool.
The second sander failed after just a week but was replaced without question or delay by NT. The replacement has been completely reliable.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
January 21, 2008
By
from NC
" For the money, this is the best sander on the market. I used mine to sand three autos so far with no problems! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
January 14, 2008
By
from south dakota
" its awkward tell you put a swivel attachment on the sander that makes it easy to run the power is great on mine.with out the swivel its not balenced . "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.