Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM

Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM

Item# 1589
Jitterbug air sander. 3 5/8in. x 6 1/2in. sander has constant 3/16in. orbit for fine finishing. Very versatile, can be operated with one hand. 6 CFM air consumption @ 90 PSI. Air Consumption CFM 6, Vacuum Ready No, Random Orbital Yes, Air Inlet Size in. NPT 1/4, Variable Speed Yes, Case Included No, Min. Hose Size in. 3/8, Speed RPM 6,000, Side Handle No, Pad Diameter in. 3 5/8 x 6 1/2. Built in regulator Quiet muffled rear exhaust Steel plates for long tool life Positive paper retention
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 10(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

DOA

,
July 26, 2013
By justintimeabc
from Pittsboro, NC
"It almost worked but not quite. It did work for about 5 seconds then never would work again. Store will be getting this back in am."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Workhorse!

,
October 9, 2012
By CudaChick1968
from Greenfield, Tennessee
"I own a powder coating shop specializing in Mopar parts restorations and custom one-offs. As a result, I do a LOT of metal work and polishing. The jitterbug sander is powerful, fully adjustable and well balanced. Although it's a bit heavy for me (about 7 pounds) and took a little getting used to, that's the only drawback I've experienced ... and it's not enough to reconsider my purchase. I'd gladly buy another one of these sanders without hesitation."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air sander

,
October 8, 2012
By fishconnect
from Murphy, NC
"This is a good Chinese built sander. I had one identical to it, had a different brand name, but was the same and lasted me many years. They've doubled in price since I bought the first one, but what hasn't. Shipping was fast and fair, good product and would do it again. If you need a sander of this type, you can't go wrong."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

This sander is a buy for the $s

,
November 16, 2010
By mrrhart
from Aurora, Co
"For the price, I was expecting much less. After using this sander I felt as if it were a top line product. Did a great job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Air Orbital Sander

,
February 15, 2010
By Bodyman2010
from Pittsburgh
"Best tool for the money I ever bought. I have used it on my car and in my woodshop. Sander worked great for both jobs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

air sander

,
July 20, 2009
By patljack
from albany,ga
"sander is a good quality tool. expect to years of service .tool is light weight,easy to handle. thanks for the great service on my orders."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern tools orbital sander

,
November 18, 2008
By mcnova
from Montrose MI.
"When I recieved my sander I immediately tried it out. I found this sander very easy to use and saved a lot of time. You can control the speed of the sander and this makes it good for many applications. I would reccomend this tool for anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Long lasting 'throw-away'

,
April 14, 2008
By Papa1
from Aurora, NY
"This is the second time that I've purchased this air drive orbital sander from Northern Tool. The first lasted through 2 years of hard use...often dry sanding in surface preps on vehicles before painting and in wet sanding on the clearcoat finish after painting...and often without regular oiling and in the absence of close attention to maintenance. Because of the price, it was treated as a 'throw away' tool.
The second sander failed after just a week but was replaced without question or delay by NT. The replacement has been completely reliable.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
January 21, 2008
By leba
from NC
"For the money, this is the best sander on the market. I used mine to sand three autos so far with no problems!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Orbital Sander - 6 CFM, 90 PSI, 6000 RPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
January 14, 2008
By tary
from south dakota
"its awkward tell you put a swivel attachment on the sander that makes it easy to run the power is great on mine.with out the swivel its not balenced ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.