Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"

"Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"

Item# 158967
"This Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove is mobile home approved. Stove features high-quality 5/16in. top, stainless steel baffle, cast iron door, adjustable door handle and king-size ash drawer. Has metallic black finish. Accepts logs up to 20in. long fire box holds 3.1 cu. ft., UL approved. Not for sale in Washington. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Flue Collar Size in. 6, Clearance from Side Wall in. 23, Heat Settings Variable, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,100, Igniter Manual, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 15, Blower CFM 75, Blower Included Yes, EPA Certified Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 18 1/4 x 20 1/4, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 115, BTU Output 85,000, Clearance from Corner in. 16, Mobile Home Approved Yes, Product Type Stove, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 20, Fuel Type Wood, Full Load Run Time Hours 8-12, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included No, UL UL approved, Door Opening W x H in. 15 1/2 x 10 3/4, Dimensions W x D x H in. 23 3/4 x 29 3/4 x 31 3/8. 75 efficiency Quality 5/16in. top Stainless steel baffle Adjustable door handle King-size ash drawer Metallic black finish Fire box is firebrick lined and holds 3.1 cu. ft. Clearances to combustible materials with double wall pipe Back 6in. Sides 23in. Corners 17in. Stove is mobile home approved"
Average Customer Rating:
4.836 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (55 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
54 of 55(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Review 1 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent wood stove

,
November 10, 2014
By ja64
from nc
" I like this stove. This wood stove is well made, and it isn't made in China. It has a big ash box. It had a much better price than others similar to it. I anticipate many years of good service from this stove. From everything I have read Drolet is an old, solid company. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice

,
April 4, 2014
By MisterD62
from Newland, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Just finished my second winter with this stove. This is my sole heat source and it does the job fantastically. Outdoor temps for winter here range from 30"s to Below zero on many nights. In our 1600 sq ft manufactured home indoor temps range from mid 70's to mid 80's depending on how hot you want to get it. Only flaw I have is that it is possibly too much stove for the size of my home. Spent many evenings with temps in the teens and one window open to even out the temp. Blower included is not needed at all and did not even install it. Holds fire for a good 8 hrs and coals for 10 to 12. Lots of surface area for cooking during power outages or when we just decide to use it. Love my stove as my wife doesn't really get comfortably warm until the temp reaches about 80 degrees so as long as she is happy I am happy. Did put an extra layer of fire brick in the stove to shrink the fire box area and give the ability to keep a smaller fire plus keeps giving off some heat long after the fire has gone out. Saved enough money the first winter by switching from fuel oil to pay for the stove so I will gladly open a window now and again for that kind of savings. My oil furnace rarely ever got my house to 70 on those below zero nights without running non-stop and closing the curtains and such to keep out the drafts. Getting ready to get another to put in my son's new double wide as well so that should tell you how much we like this one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Woodstove

,
December 1, 2013
By Craig51
from Shamong, NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Purchased the wood stove for a second home in Maine. Stove arrived in good condition. Had a neighbor unload the truck with his fork lift and move the stove to my home. Two of us slid it off the pallet onto a 4 wheel dolly. Moved it into position and two of us lifted while a third person pulled out the dolly. Minor adjustments and the stove was in place. Easy installation with 6" smoke pipe. Fired it up and followed the break in procedure. Burns and heats good. Hope to really test it out when it gets real cold. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real winner

,
October 25, 2013
By Redwoodude60
from Laytonville, CA
" This is the third wood stove I've had in my life and most certainly the best. My wood usage has dropped by close to half. With the use of a ceiling fan blowing downward on low speed it easily heats our 1,600 square feet with high living room ceiling. The blower fan is fairly quiet and I have only used it a few times on the lower setting. The installation was simple and straight forward and completed from top to bottom the next morning after arrival. Our winters get in the 20's with a few colder spells and this unit is going work out just great for us. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet Myriad High efficiency Wood stove.

,
October 19, 2013
By Hollandglade
from Dagsboro De.
" We ordered our Drolet in late August. Sitting here this afternoon on a cool October afternoon enjoying my Drolet . Everything spelled out in literature has lived up to my expectations. . Purchased this stove with outside fresh air hook up and it's working pefectly. This is our third wood stove. The prior two not efficient, needed to obtain a stove that ran through the night and limited the amount of wood I burned. Seems to be living up to my expectations. I will send a follow up review later on this winter. Customer service at Northern tools exellent from start to finish , including delivery.
Fred Dagsboro Delaware. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super heater

,
March 27, 2013
By tnhonestabe
from tennessee
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This is one great stove. Heats 1500 Sq. House with ease. One thing I recommend is the fresh air vent from the outside. Drolet makes a complete kit for their stoves. Using the fresh are kit eliminates the smoke and the dust in the house, which you get from any wood stove. It also helps with the burning. You can fill this stove for the night at 10 pm, cut the stove back, and when you wake at 6am you will still have hot coals to start the day. You do need good, dry wood for any wood stove to perform well. Have a blessed day. John "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deal

,
February 27, 2013
By Drolet
from Massachusetts
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Our first wood stove and I bought because of the reviews.....It arrived in perfect condition, very heavy duty...it feels like a solid peice of steel. Because I do not live any where near a northern tool I had it shipped.....to compare the size of the stove I went to lowes any sized up one of their stoves with the myraids demensions. Once hooked up the stoved fire right up and with only a few small peices it heated the house quickly........I would buy this product again in a heart beat.......good luck! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and HOT

,
December 21, 2012
By Chainsaw15
from NJ
" I own a 2,100 sq foot home. I was tired of buying oil and dealing with the price games. I canceled my oil delivery and installed my myriad wood stove a few weeks ago. So far the weather in NJ hasn't been to cold lows in the teens since I've installed the stove. So far the stove warms my house up to the mid 70's with a small fire. The burn off smell gets to me after a while and had to keep the window open for the first 6 fires or so. Other then that the mayriad keeps us warm and cozy so far. The stove produces a lot of heat with a small amount of seasoned oak wood. I will check back in and let you know how the winter goes once it gets cold out. No more oil games to deal with !!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet

,
November 6, 2012
By chilli
from Va
" Great wood burner. I have had a lot of wood stove experince in my lifetime. I have found that this stove will hold the fire for a long period of time. If you know what you are doing.If you don't then your install is not right or you don't know what you are doing. This stove does evreything advertised. I can get the 8-12 burn time on seasoned wood everytime. I like the glass door it smokes up a little but its wood burning it smokes. i would say that if you are goin to buy a stove this is the one to get. i plan on using this for a long time. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Stove!

,
October 9, 2012
By Endreaw
from Wartburg,TN
" I have had many wood stoves over the years, some were brand names. This stove by far has beat them out!
It puts out a lot of heat with very little wood! It heats my 2 1/2 car garage easily. The air wash system is wonderful. It seems to be made well and overall it is a great purchase. The blower works well also. It is not that noisy overall. I had delivery to the store and the stove was in perfect shape when I went to get it, not a ding! You can't go wrong with this stove if heat is what you need!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stove

,
September 16, 2012
By sawoff
from upstate NY on the BIG LAKE
" Just got done installing the stove fired it up to burn it off boy this is nice with the small fire I had in it to burn it off the heat was GREAT 7 small logs and burned for 8 hrs. This should heat this 1800 ft house great this winter and many more to come very well built. the glass door is nice "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home Handyman

,
May 11, 2012
By GodsChild
from Sioux Falls, SD
" Started this stove for the first time, May 9th.2012. Very satisfied with the initial burn in. This stove is replacing a Fisher-Baby Bear & it did a excellent job but was not efficient in that you had to put wood in every two and half hours. No doubt in my mind that this stove will heat my 1800 sq. foot home easily & have a run time of 8 to 12 hours. Familiarize yourself with the directions that come with the stove and enjoy clean wood heat in the coming winter's. Looking forward to the next winter. Did a lot of Research before choosing this model & Northern Tool & Equipment had the best price & is a great place to do business with. 5 Star Rating with me! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

4 star

,
February 23, 2012
By bigwood
from nebraska
" this stove would probably work really well in a large family room where the heat doesn't have to travel. it needs an outer housing on the stove so the blower is effective, most heat felt is from the door. make sure to build a good chimney-didn't expect a chimney to cost that much. i used it in a basement and had to run a fan to move the hot air around. i never could get 12hr burn time. i use large ash for wood and wish it had a shaker grate. i needed something this season b/c propane cost is so high but this stove will probably go to garage after i build my outdoor boiler. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

,
January 16, 2012
By SeldomSeen
from Mansfield, PA
" After two winters in North Central PA we decided to find and alternate heat source to lighten the fuel oil cost we had been burdened with. Deciding to go with the Drolet woodstove was one of the best decision we have ever made. This stove quickly heats our 1600 square ft ranch home very nicely. The glass is a bit of a pain to keep clean to maintain a nice view of the burning fire. I would suggest this product for anyone looking for a well built wood stove to heat their home. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

,
January 11, 2012
By JCMarine
from North Carolina
" This stove is easy to use and easy to install. It has a large cooking area on top. It is designed to safely load more wood and no smoke blows back into the house. I could not ask for anything more than what I got with this stove. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What else is there to say?

,
December 1, 2011
By Mindseye
from Northern Burbs of Atlanta
" Simply put, 3200 sq foot house "two floors" with a very open floor plan. The stove sits in a open 800+ sq foot area on the ground floor with other rooms off to the side. My pre-fab fireplace could reach mid to high 60's on a temp gauge place on the far wall in 40 degree outside temps "pushing it safe limits" This stove hit 80 degrees plus on that same gauge in it's paint curing stages w/temps down to 28, and I have yet to unleash this beast! My wood supply is not the most seasoned oak, as that is hard to find here. After a week of burning, I checked the stove pipe/chimney. There was some build up at the lower portions. I'll clean it an go forward. I have learned that this stove wants to burn very hot! During the day time, I keep lightly loaded n the damper wide open. Yes it goes through wood, but much less then the fire place. At night I load it with one "all niter" log and a few other smaller relatives, let it fire up for a hr and then damper it all the way down. This morning "8 hours later" and 28 degrees outside, I awoke to 72 degrees down stairs, chilly in my upstairs bed room, and a warm feeling in the upstairs foyer. Best of all is, I had the mother of all glowing coals beds with two large chunks of still flamming ambers. Open the draw, add 4 more pieces of wood and a minute later she is cranking again! Even if i go through a $90 face-cord of cheap unseasoned wood this month, with scrubbing my chimney every two weeks it will be a bargain! Don't dare ask what it would cost me to keep this hut warm "like this" with my dual zone natural gas heat. At the end of this season I will load up on firewood and keep it stacked right allowing it to be the seasoned wood that I know will lift this already GEM LIKE STOVE to another level. Thanks Drolet and NorthernTools for ed-u-ma-kating-me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good stove.

,
October 22, 2011
By John3322
from Piney Flats, Tennessee
" I live in northeast Tennessee and I am very pleased with this stove. It uses very little wood and is very easy to regulate compared to the last time I tried to use a wood stove. It radiates heat better than I thought it would. Very nice. My wife and I like laying on the couch and watching the fire. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Stove, Good Price

,
October 10, 2011
By tricia2222
from Dallas, Texas
" I'm new to woodstoves and I have learned alot in the first months of burning this wood stove.
For Woodstove experts, please don't laugh, I had to learn for myself.
1. Install stove pipe to the length the manufacture recommends.
2. If you have an airtight house with a bunch of forced exhaused furnaces, get a fresh air kit or crack a window. Stoves need air to burn.
3. Burn your fire hot and quickly to get the flue heated and create a good draw.
4. I recommend double wall pipe to help keep a good flue temp.
If you install this stove as recommended and get a good draw it will not smoke one bit, even when you add new wood. I cheat and use a small wood starter to make sure it gets going good, before I add the big logs.
Our house is 3500 sq feet with 20 foot ceilings which equates to about 5000 sq feet of air to heat. This stove would keep the main part of the house warm all night, our house is zoned so it was no big deal to keep on the two small furnaces and let the stove heat over 2500 sq feet of space.
We burn Mesquite wood and it will burn all night and leave a nice bed of coals in the morning. Stir them up and add more wood. I love being able to keep my feet warm in the winter now. I had looked at many stoves that were 4 or 5 times the price and decided on this one.
We installed it in Jan, so I can't give a good estimate of how much propane we saved. This winter I will be able to determine the savings, my guess is it will pay for itself soon. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Pleased with Drolet Myriad

,
August 9, 2011
By BuckinFlagstaff
" I am a 51 yr old Mechanical Engineer. Live at 7,000' elevation in N. AZ. I purchased this Drolet Myriad a little more than a year ago after tons of research.
I used this stove to heat my two story 1800' home as the primary heat source for an entire winter. Burned a variety of wood: aspen, ponderosa pine, juniper and pinon pine. Wood was seasoned to a large variety of dryness.
I did the entire install myself. I installed an outside air source. My experience with this stove is near perfection. Saved a ton of money on forced air gas heating. I love the bypass for adding fuel, and the ability to put in wood in the N-S orientation. I also loved the glass so I could view the fire. I am a super pleased owner! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Drolet Myriad High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 85,000 BTU, Model# DB03050"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great stove

,
June 13, 2011
By handyguy38701
from Greenville, MS
" have used this for the whole season now got mine at the end of the season in 2010 so never got use it until this season works better then I thought it would fill it and close it down after it it burning well and tomarrow around mid day fill it again as long as your wood is seasoned no trouble I have a 1500 square foot home and heated with this only did the job I live in mississippi and it only gets cold for a few months where you need to heat things up so it was hard not to over heat the house till I got used to it so if your space is small then dont put in to much or it will be 100 before you know it the fan unit works great makes a little noise till the thing heats up but nothing to complain about I love mine been heating with wood most of my life this one is one of the best and is the best value I have ever had would fight for it no one taking mine from me "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.