Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020

Item# 158969
This Drolet Savannah Wood Stove features 83 efficiency and is mobile home approved Variable-speed blower is included and already mounted. Stove features high-quality 5/16in. top, welded stainless steel baffle, cast iron door, adjustable door handle and king-size ash drawer. Has metallic black finish. Accepts logs up to 19in. long UL approved. Not for sale in Washington. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. EPA Certified Yes, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 19, Full Load Run Time Hours 4-7, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 115, Heat Settings Variable, Clearance from Corner in. 12, Product Type Stove, Igniter Manual, Fuel Type Wood, Blower Included Yes, Thermostat Included No, Door Opening W x H in. 17 1/2 x 7 1/2, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,500, Stove Pipe Included No, Blower CFM 75, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 15, Clearance from Side Wall in. 18, Firebox Size W x D in. 20 1/4 x 11 1/4 1.41 cu. ft., UL UL approved, Dimensions W x D x H in. 25 x 21 x 28, Mobile Home Approved Yes, BTU Output 55,000, Flue Collar Size in. 6. 1.41 cu. ft. firebox is lined with firebrick Quality 5/16in. top Welded stainless steel baffle Cast iron door Adjustable door handle King-size ash drawer Metallic black finish Clearances to combustible materials with double wall pipe Back 6in. Sides 18in. Corners 12in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.671 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (79 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
16
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
76 of 79(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Review 1 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drolet Savannah

,
February 5, 2014
By RangerJim
from Texas Hill Country
"We've been using this stove since November 2013 through an unusually cold winter so far. It heats our 1440 sq. ft. home incredibly well where the central heat unit doesn't come on even when the outside temp is 22 degrees! My only dislike is the small firebox is not always easy to feed logs into but a bigger stove would cook us! After a lot of research and choosing this stove for value & efficiency, I'm very happy with this purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet Savannah

,
February 4, 2014
By ML616
from Nixa Missouri
"4th year with this stove, use almost exclusively to heat my home. The good, I believe the BTU rating is under rated. Air wash works fair, but plan to clean it manually a couple of times a week in the season. Stove has no issues & heats great, burn time could be longer, but this is a very compact stove. Of course depends on what kind of wood you burn & how dry it is. Does not like partially seasoned wood at all, but that is a characteristic of the high efficiency stove. When up to temperature makes no smoke at all through the flu, only a heat signature. Welded Shelf, should be made different, I use a professional to clean my stove each season, if I could remove the shelf I would do it myself. Definitely good value for the money. Stove arrived well crated & undamaged 3 days after ordered. Only real complaint is the fan is pretty loud at full speed, but thankfully that is not necessary most of the time. Home is 2200sq ft."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stove

,
February 4, 2014
By Rickfromstaunton
from Staunton, Va
"I've had this Stove about three months and am very pleased with the performance. It will hold a fire almost 12 hours on low."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet Savannah

,
December 8, 2013
By Yankeefan327
from Absecon, NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"2 years now and this stove has heated our house almost exclusively. Super efficient and low maintenance. Love it!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Baffle Troubles

,
October 21, 2013
By Axe7
from Reserve, NM
"I've had this stove for a year. Loved it all last winter. Heats wonderfully and Is easy to use. I am a woman and took my time reviewing stoves before I bought. I saw welded baffle in the benefit side and thought that was something good. Wrong. I kind of fell out of love with it about a week ago when I learned what a welded baffle meant. Not an easy cleaning of the stove pipe because there is no inside opening for the soot to fall into the firebox. Instead it remains stuck inside the baffle and stovepipe with no easy way to get to it. I went up on my roof and ran the brush down the stove pipe. Then I had to hire someone to help me take the stove pipe apart inside the house in order to clean the soot out. Had to use a vacume and it was a mess. Ended up with soot on the carpet and wall even though I had plastic in a good 10 ft radius. Vacumes often leak soot because it is so fine. I used a shop vac and it was a disaster even with a clean filter. I like many features of this stove but unless you like cleaning up a sooty mess, I recommend you think twice. In my case, welded baffle means the soot lands on the shelf and you're stuck until you take the stovepipe down to clean the baffle. An option is a slip joint but am not real excited about having to deal with it. Still messy. If I had it to do over, I would get a stove without a welded baffle. Otherwise I was happy until that point. Northern is a good company. I am just unhappy with the end result of this product because of the welded baffle. Not a neat person's stove because of this feature.. Very inconvenient. Too bad because all was good until the cleaning experience, but it is very efficient and good otherwise."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+15points
21out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heater

,
February 26, 2013
By 1freeheat
from tn.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"i am very pleased with this wood heater.
This is my fourth winter and i save about $500 a year heating with my free wood verses propane.I mostly use oak wood.
i clean it out about every four days using a scoop through the door and not the ash drawer that it has .Clean up takes less than two minutes and its ready to go for four more days.
I use the outside air connection into the back .so no air from inside the home is drawn in.This makes the heater more efficient..
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent stove!

,
December 28, 2012
By teslafan
from Clayton, IN
"When I first saw this stove out of the crate, I thought it was going to be WAY too small for my house. I was WRONG! The specs on the Savannah say will heat up to 1200 sq. ft. However, with a couple of well placed, and inexpensive, box fans, this stove will heat more area. It is easy to maintain a good heat level with two moderate sized logs at a time,(stovepipe thermometer), even in my roughly 1300 sq. ft. home with 3 main rooms with 9+foot ceilings, with outside temps in the 20s'. I keep my propane furnace set at 77, and it won't kick on till fire has been out for 30-60 minutes. The only downside is the 4-6 hour burn time. However, the coals stay red hot for several hours after, so restart is very easy. In short, well built, great heat production, air intake is well balanced, and excellent for the price!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stove

,
December 26, 2012
By Page69
from Lewisville, Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a really great wood burning stove. It's easy to load, has a good draft, and gets crazy hot. When they say 2 pieces of fire wood, that's all you need to heat a small (1400 sqft) ranch style home. It's made very well and the tempered window makes it fun & relaxing to watch the fire...
The only issue I found is how the ash can sit on the inside of the door and falls out if you open the door to fast. But don't let that put you off from this great stove. We love ours. We have it out back in our covered patio and use it as an outdoor fireplace and stove. The top surface is a bit small for large cast iron skillets, but small skillets and dutch ovens fit ok. Great for heating up some BBQ Beans and such...
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent wood stove for any location

,
October 26, 2012
By Rob11
from Dallas, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Excellent product. Instructions for installation were simple. We live in a 1500sf double wide. We have used it three times so far and it has preformed better than expected. Although it has only been in the 40's this wood stove keeps the house very comfortably in the 70s with only a few logs. The style of the stove is really fantastic and a real eye catcher. The fan is a little loud but we don't use is much as we have ceiling fans to circulate the rising heat. We installed the fresh outside air kit that is required in mobile homes and it really helps to burn the wood more effeciently and cleanly without using the air from inside the home. I would definitely recommend this wood stove unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied Customer

,
September 25, 2012
By CDRay
from Weaverville, N.C.
"I purchased the Savannah from Northern Tool in early September after spending much time online researching the many stoves on the market. I made my decision based on price, craftsmanship, and all the positive reviews. I've only had three fires in it so far, but that is enough to let me know that this is an exceptional stove. I was concerned about the draft since my flue is 8" but the stove draws excellent if you build a fire with kindling to heat up the flue before loading it up with firewood. For anyone reading this review and researching stoves as I did, take my word, you won't go wrong with the Savannah. There are a lot of stoves that could cost twice as much and not deliver any better results. Also, the personnel at Northern Tool were very helpful when I made the purchase. I know it's hard to make a decision sometimes, but I hope another positive review will help you make the right choice."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wood stove!

,
September 21, 2012
By bzmomfor5
from South Central VA
"We owned a wood stove for 20 years in our first home. When we came to this house, everything was electric (base board) heat and the first winter cost us 300 to 400 a month and barely warm. We searched Northern and found the Savannah. Couldn't be happier. It holds a decent amount of wood and will burn for over 8 hours on a fully packed stove so that I can get up and refill in the morning. Always has coal enough to start up the morning fire and if done right can keep a small fire throughout the day and then stoke it up again before bedtime. We keep a cast iron water holder on the stove to keep the air moist. The stove is at one end of a 78 foot house and the bedrooms at the other end of the house are not frigid even on the coldest days. We still use one of the baseboards at the farthest end of the house, but only on the lowest setting and our electric bill has been below 120 a month for the 2 winters we have owned the wood stove. Wood is a little more labor intensive (well a lot more) than gas or electric heat. We can drive down the road and find downed trees on the side of the road and pick them up and carry them home. We also have friends cutting down trees and will let us have the wood. Even in buying wood, at 55 dollars a pick up load, we have only had to buy 3 loads the first winter. It was a cold one here too. Those 3 pick up loads kept us warm from November until early April. I am so glad that we have the stove. We dropped a tree this year and two friends have dropped one apiece as well and will not have to buy wood this season at all even if it is a hard one. Awesome product, could not have made a better choice. Amazing wood stove. Happy we have it. Northern prices could not be beat and the delivery was off of a city pub (small freight 18 wheeler) he backed up to our pickup and slid it right in, we drove pickup to the back of the house and brought it right in to the house. Everything was done on time and any questions I had were answered immediately by Northern. Awesome customer service as usual from Northern Tool. Cannot beat the way they treat their customers."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drolet savannah

,
May 14, 2012
By GeneK
from PA
"Great little wood stove. I have had mine for about 5 years keeps my basement warm and greatly reduces my furnace from running saving me alot on heating."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The little engine that can!

,
April 8, 2012
By Dublin4
from Naples ME
"My wife and I own a 3-season lakefront cottage in Maine and when our old Vermont Castings Vigilant finally died-the seams all gave out-we were in the market for a new wood stove. We have a wood stove in our home in Boston so are very familiar with the entire principle of heating with wood so we perused,questioned,studied (as an engineer I am used to that) all possibilities and as the main heat source we needed a stove with enough BTU's to heat the cottage without turning it turn it into a "crematorium" as some stoves do-all or nothing.We settled upon the Savannah as the price,size and ease of use were all within our range,
We installed the unit on April 2nd and right from the start this proved to be a solid buy.One of our main concerns was the burn time overnight (it was actually SNOWING up there) and were delighted to still have a decent bed of embers after 7 hours so we just put in another log and off it went again,
We used seasoned hardwoods but as an experiment and the fact that we had no wood left,we purchased a couple of bundles of kiln-dried hardwoods and got a comfortable 9 hour burn.
In conclusion,this is shaping up to be one of our better purchases and would have no hesitation in recommending this stove as it turned our 1,500 sqft. cottage into a veritable cocoon of warmth and comfort!
Dublin 4
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely the best buy

,
February 22, 2012
By earthangel
from Darlington Pa
"When my husband and I were looking to buy a wood burner what we both wanted was different. I researched many different products compared them. Safety issues were a concern because we lived in a mobile home. I was convinced that this product would more than serve our needs and be safe for our home, we purchased it in 2005. I have never seen one that is as efficient as this stove. I would say that it is more than 85%. I only have to get up once during the night to reload. If it is extremely cold, single digits, then I may have to reload every 3 to four hours. Depending on how seasoned the wood is. Hardwoods burn longer and if cured properly will burn very hot. My husband passed away last March, 2011 and I reinstalled it in my new home. I built a 4" concret slab and used slate for the stone. I also put outriggers under the area to help with the weight distribution. Used steel studs and cement boards and concreted it together. So far this winter I have used 3/4 of a cord of wood and have been burning every day since Dec. 1st, 2011. My house maintains a roaring 85 degree temp sometimes hotter in the main living area and in the far bedroom 78. Absolutely love this product. Best investment we ever made. It is well constructed, love the blower, the air flow adjustment is easy. It has a sweet spot once you find it you'll be able to fire it up get it hot and not worry about it for an hour or two. I only load it up if I am not going to be home for hours 5 or more or before going to bed. The key to this stove is burning hot continuously until you have a bed of coals about 3 inches thick. Once you have that you put in any log and it will automatically catch fire. It will remain a constant temp, but only if you have a hot bed of coals. You can stoke it down so that you can let it go until morning and still have enough coals to get it going again. I have had hot coals in it three to four days after I stopped using it in the spring. If you want the best overall product this is it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

You will like this stove.

,
January 20, 2012
By Longville
from Minnesota
"This is a wonderful stove! Terrific features include flat stovetop, roomy ash drawer, easy operation, the blower set-up, and great price. The value for what you get is amazing. This stove costs half the price of an equivalent Lopi stove, yet the Savannah is equal or better. I've used both in Northern Minnesota."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

,
January 9, 2012
By Jsc316
from Michigan
"This unit looks good and does a great job heating the area it is in, I read the other reviews and made my choice from there good reviews and have to agree this is a great unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
January 9, 2012
By ConstantRemodeling
from Wichita, KS
"This is our first wood stove and we are in the process of installing it right now. I will update this review once we start using it, but I researched online for weeks before we purchased it. There is no better value online with almost all 5 star reviews than this stove. And Northern Tool was so easy to purchase through."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet Savannah

,
October 20, 2011
By ryan1985
from Lafayette, LA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I researched wood burning stoves for countless hours and websites. Northern was the most affordable and had very honest reviews. I bought this stove and it arrived within a week and just lit my first fire last night. The stove performed as promised. It was just a small fire to cure the paint but warmed the house a great deal. I was amazed with the draft that was created once the fire took. This stove seems to be worth the money. Finally an affordable heat source."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Stove

,
October 17, 2011
By MikeB
from CA
"We have had this stove for two seasons and have enjoyed it greatly!
This stove will heat our home whether we feed it lumber scraps or oak. A great product!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Drolet Savannah High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 55,000 BTU, Model# DB03020
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pyro's Place

,
October 10, 2011
By Pyro2000
from Cleveland Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I just love it. No extra expence because it has a blower and a large ash pan. I WILL BE ABLE TO SAVE $$$$ BIG TIME. I put this in my new addition and cut the wall out to the house, Now I don't even need to run the furnace at all. I BURN TIME : I had it going and went to bed a 8pm and got up at 6am. It still had a bed of coal's so I threw some wood on it. By the time my coffee was done it was blazing. I live right on the lake in Cleveland so when that snow blow's down from Canada I will be toasty warm. I looked for a stove for over 2 year's and I'm happy I found this one. ONLY thing I wish is that the blower had a thermostat on it. Beside's that it's great !!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.