Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove - 45,000 BTU, Model# DP00045

Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove - 45,000 BTU, Model# DP00045

Item# 158971
This Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove lets you save on heating costs High-efficiency softwood or hardwood pellet stove is an amazing heat source, boasting 8200-45,000 BTU that heats an area up to 2000 sq. feet. BTU Output 45,000, Blower CFM 210, Blower Included Yes, Door Opening W x H in. 17 1/2 x 8, Fire Box/Hopper Capacity lbs. 60, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps Integrated within stove, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 2, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Dimensions W x D x H in. 25 1/2 x 28 x 33, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,000, Flue Collar Size in. 3, Fuel Type Pellet, Full Load Run Time Hours Up to 45, Heat Settings 6, Igniter Yes, Thermostat Included No. 80 1/2 efficiency rating Exclusive combex technology provides perfectly balanced pressure for more effective heating Keeps running even with door open Large hopper allows stove to run 45 hours Stainless steel heat exchanger on top of firebox Airwash system keeps glass clean Heavy-duty 3/16in. plate steel on top Wall thermostat or manual operation Fully assembled and approved for North America Mobile home approved Includes electronic automatic igniter, 3in. vent, large ash pan and adjustable handle Check state and local codes for approved EPA certified installation use in accordance with local codes and ordinances
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
8 of 11(73%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove - 45,000 BTU, Model# DP00045
Review 1 for Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove - 45,000 BTU, Model# DP00045
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pellet stove, overall

,
January 18, 2014
By Stoveuser
from PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is my first pellet stove. I used Selkirk 3-inch chimney pipe to vent through the roof (great customer service).
First off, the stove is well built and looks great. However, there is next to no insulation so the stove is pretty loud. I'd compare its noise level to standing across the basement of a forced air furnace. The manufacturer could easily reduce the noise levels by adding a few bucks of sound deadening material.
At first I was unhappy with the stove. Mainly, with its self-lighting capability, or lack thereof. The stove would fill the hopper with pellets, smoke a bit and nothing....I eventually found through the help of customer service (so-so) that there needs to be two felt washers in the burn pot that surround the igniter. With these in place, the stove lights consistently. They are included with the stove, but fell out of place.
I have the stove hooked up to a LUX digital thermostat. It is the sole source of heat in my small house (oil heat for backup). I've been using high quality pacific NW pellets and the ash isn't too bad.
It is important to scrape out the burn pot daily with a paint scraper. The air holes need to be clear to allow proper combustion air flow for efficient burning. You will definitely need an ash vacuum to clean this or any other unit out regularly.
Overall, I'd recommend this stove. But before jumping into pellet stoves, realize they they are generally pretty noisy, require daily upkeep and need to be fed just about every day. That said, they will save you tons over oil and they add a nice ambiance to any house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove - 45,000 BTU, Model# DP00045
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stove

,
April 22, 2013
By Scooter666
from Arlington VT
"Have had another stove. This stove is far better. No Issues. Better than described and is quiet"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove - 45,000 BTU, Model# DP00045
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good stove

,
February 22, 2010
By Driftwood
from Loma, MT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a good stove with great heat output. We are on our 3rd season with this stove and after replacing one sensor, we have had no real problems with it. Must clean once a week to keep it running smoothly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
12out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove - 45,000 BTU, Model# DP00045
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet Pellet Stove

,
February 16, 2010
By ELMBC4
from Vacaville CA
"This stove has provided excellent operational performance since installed in November. In taming our electric bill, it is a great value. Heating a 2300 sq. ft. home. The blower fans are audible, but not too distracting. Easy to use and maintain."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove - 45,000 BTU, Model# DP00045
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall good product, very satisfied

,
February 16, 2010
By kgasparky
from Allentown, Pa
"We are very satisfied with this product. It is performing very well. Just a few item that require attention from the manufacturer. Occasionally the stove will not light and requires emptying the burn pot and starting over. Also the door latch must be closed just right or you can get fumes escaping through the gasket that surrounds the door. Overall this is a good stove and I recommend it to anyone that is looking to go to a pellet stove for heating."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove - 45,000 BTU, Model# DP00045
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

drolet pellet stove DP00045

,
January 14, 2010
By hollie
from california
"This is my 3rd season using this stove sadly there always seems to be an issue. I have replaced many parts and there still seems to be problems with the unit. The thing I truly dislike is the noise level from the blower. The unit is in the living room and we rarely sit in there when the stove is running as it is to loud. Sometimes the stove will just go out for no reason without giving an error reading. Usually this occurs when the stove has been running for about 10minutes.I know the stove can shut down if it becomes to hot but this occurs before it reaches optimum running temperature. Sometimes the fuel pot will fill but will not light. I have checked the igniter, the quality of the pellets, the damper, cleaned the fuel pot etc. sometime it just refuses to light. Other times it starts right up. This stove has a complete mind of it's own. I am currently shopping for a replacement. This stove is no reflection on NORTHERN TOOL they are a great company and I will continue to buy from them in the future. Glad to read the reviews where someone is happy I just believe I got a lemon"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove - 45,000 BTU, Model# DP00045
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

super value

,
December 28, 2009
By muff
from derby vermont
"I had A wood burning Drolet in my former home and liked it a lot. I bought the mod dp45 a week ago & have it on a thermostat ,NO PROBLEMS WHATS SO EVER its heating my lower rooms 1600ft and conventing up thru stair well to maintain 3000+ ft at 2nd feed rate to 68 deg.Buy with confidence-- use a thermostate for better fuel economy.
warm in northern VT. J.H.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove - 45,000 BTU, Model# DP00045
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kinks

,
June 23, 2008
By Bernd
from Bobcaygeon, ON
"After ironing out a few kinks this particular model (1700 range) needed a different auger to produce a slightly stronger pellet feeding. I contacted the manufacturer directly (located in Quebec, google for "Drolet" stoves). The company has support services in english or french. They even sent me a few extra parts such as: gaskets, heat sensor (F-140).
I am very satisfied now and am using the product with an external thermostat and therefore the pellet usage is very economical.
I suggest to keep the stove reasonably clean including vacuuming the convection fan screens once a week.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove - 45,000 BTU, Model# DP00045
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet High-Efficiency Eco-45 Pellet Stove

,
April 15, 2008
By MarkInMaine
from Dover-Foxcroft, ME
"Looking to save on our heating oil bill, a friend of mine turned me to Northern Tools website where we found the Drolet Eco-45 pellet stove. At it's rating maximum of 45,000 BTU/hr it was more than adequate to heat my house. I would rather buy a model that is more than capable of reaching a comfortable temperature than one that will struggle on its highest setting. This one was a perfect match. I ordered it through Northern Tool & Equipment and their friendly and helpful staff. They gave me patience when I had an arms-length of questions to ask, answered as many as they knew and told me who to call that would know the rest of the info I was looking for. I installed this pellet stove on February 24, 2008 and have been heating my home with it ever since. My oil delivery for the month of March was an all-time low of 49 gallons! I still heat my water through the oil furnace, but otherwise it saw almost nothing for heating the house. I had to call everyone and tell them what a difference it made! I hope to look into an on-demand hot water system to cut the oil even further. Although there was some damage in shipment (not Northern's fault!) they went good on replacing the bottom floor platform no questions asked! Now that's service! I am very impressed with this pellet stove and I am glad I did not buy one that was way more expensive for the same amount of heat output. The bottom line says that I would buy from Northern Tool & Equipment again due to how smoothly this went for me. Thanks Northern!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove - 45,000 BTU, Model# DP00045
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Drolet 00045

,
January 31, 2008
By Disspleased
from Northern Pa.
"This is my first winter using this unit. I have not had a complete cycle keeping it burning, I thought that i did my homework since it is the second brand of stove that i have had this winter..
The manufacturer is in Canada and they are hard to reach and sometimes helpful, not seeming to go out of their way to call you back.
I still have issues with them on giving me answers, my unit cannot run on high for long. They are not specific on the cause or correction, My suggestions have gone unnoticed. I have a background in technology .
I have an external thermostat and it will function if I can get these issues resolved.
They sent me a heat blanket but was not specific as to its installation on its effect on the warrenty."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Drolet High-Efficiency Pellet Stove - 45,000 BTU, Model# DP00045
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

ECO45 - Good or Bad?

,
January 18, 2008
By njchaos
from New Jersey
"This is my second winter using this unit. There are pros and cons to this particular unit. I would do your homework before getting into this one. The first year I had nothing but problems with it staying lit. I was on the phone with the manufacturer MANY times. I was getting all kinds of errors. I spent more time fixing it then enjoying it that is for sure.
As for the manufacturer – they are in Canada…helpful but hard to reach and hard to understand unless you speak French.
This year I must say that after figuring out what the problem was I am happy. There were two issues that needed to be corrected which turned out to be the cause of all my issues. One was a missing heat blanket in the stove protecting a sensor – that was found last year. This year I have not had too many issues and have been overall happy after replacing the F-140 sensor.
I also added an external thermostat which helps keep the heat stable.
A final note: Do your homework and find a local company if you have one in your area that offers service and a warranty."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.