Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"

Item# 158972
"Transform your old masonry fireplace into a high-efficient heat source Easy to install and easy to light. Requires a fireplace opening of 28 7/8in.W x 12 3/4in.D x 21 3/8in.H. Addition of the 29in. x 44in. faceplate is necessary. Firebox Size W x D in. 21 x 13 5/8, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 18, Product Type Fireplace insert, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,600, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, BTU Output 39,000, Fuel Type Wood, Full Load Run Time Hours 5-8, Heat Settings 4, Door Opening W x H in. 17 1/2 x 8, Blower CFM 130, Blower Included Yes, Clearance from Corner in. 0, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 0, Clearance from Side Wall in. 13, Dimensions W x D x H in. 27 x 23 1/2 x 20, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Igniter Manual, UL UL approved. Masonry wood insert features an ultra-quiet blower Heavy 1/4in. plate steel top 75 efficiency Airwash keeps glass clean Adjustable door handle and single air control Requires faceplate Item# 1589720 sold separately"
Average Customer Rating:
4.704 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (98 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
96 of 98(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Review 1 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

With some maintenance, we have a toasty home

,
February 6, 2014
By Jessi3
from NC
"The winter after moving into our new home, we soon realized the heat pump wasn't going to cut it and we needed supplemental heat. We chose this simple-looking insert with a window so we could still enjoy seeing the fire, plus Northern Tool's price and reviews on this insert were good.
At first, it consistently took an entire hour to get the box hot enough to turn the blower on. We moved the thermostat to a different location at the front of the unit and now it comes on within about 20 minutes, depending on how cold the house is.
This unit says it heats 1600 sq ft and our house is over 1900 sq ft, so we put a small wall-mount fan to blow the heat down the hallway to the bedrooms. On the most frigid days, we close off the extra bedrooms, turn the heat pump off completely (b/c it will just blow out cold air, anyway), make sure we keep the stove burning, and we are thankfully warm. Even when the record-setting temps were -10 windchill last month, we could keep the house at around 70 with some work. (We have old double-pane windows, and our house was built in 1975.)
Consider the size of the firebox when purchasing--I wish it was a little larger to hold enough wood to last through most of the night, but we have to get up at least once to keep it going.
Also, the cover on the front of our unit rattled like crazy, as did some others I've read about here. We stuck a shim under it to where you couldn't see it and this has worked fine.
We just had a VERY cold Dec. and Jan.-- we were able to come home to add wood at lunch time to keep the fire going and the heat pump never had to turn on. There are only two of us, and our electric bills were $138 and $123! This wood stove is well on its way to paying for itself."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stove for the $$

,
January 24, 2014
By Wood1burner
from Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Stove works really well. Puts off a nice amount of heat for its size and the blower unit is excellent. There is a learning curve on setting the air control so that stove doesn't burn too hot, but that is normal for any stove, as they all have unique burn qualities. A good buy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

,
January 19, 2014
By Dave15
from Michigan
"I purchased and installed this insert in December, I am in Michigan and it has been bitterly cold so far this year.I have 1500 Sq Ft home and this insert will heat the entire home. The chimney liner was a bit of a challenge to install, but otherwise the install was not that difficult. Others have complained of the fan noise, but mine is very quiet, I can not think of a single negative issue with this insert, if you are looking for a way to supplement or even heat your home, for the price, this insert is the ticket. It's not the fanciest looking unit, but I like the plain contemporary look of the insert. One of the best purchases I have made for the house. BTW , as usual, Northern Tool was awesome."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!!!

,
October 28, 2013
By Derb
from Ohio
"We love this stove! Installed in Dec. of 2011. We first thought would only use on the weekends. Now we burn it every night. Our family room is toasty at 78 degrees, and the heat flows easily through the rest of the house and upstairs in our 1900 sq ft home. I put a jumper across the temperature switch, so that the blower can be turned on sooner manually. Some people complain about rattle from the blower. Just put a piece of weather stripping on the bottom of the plate above the blower as a cusion, and everything is nice and quiet. This stove makes winter much more enjoyable. Highly recommend!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great insert

,
April 12, 2013
By lja1938
from rhode island
"i installed the drolet in late march have had six fires so far due to the cold spring.heater works great with the new flex liner.word of caution,invest in a 45 degree stainless ellbow,.six inch flex vent does not bend to well if the top of the fireplace is somewhat over the six inch outlet of the insert.the blower is super quiet.installed the larger faceplate looks great with the field stone fireplace,allthough had to do some filling in between the stone in order to have the faceplate fit fluch.you can't go wrong with this heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Stove is Awsome

,
April 3, 2013
By Tutu2008
from Holliston, MA
"I bought this stove on December 2011, I did the installation almost by myself. The liner was a little tricky I had to get some professional help with it. The stove has been amazing the first winter, I only have two oil deliveries due to automatic Delivery. These 2 two deliveries were about 50gallons each. I told the oil company that I will call them when I need oil. I just spent this winter which was a very cold one without buying any oil. I started with 3/4 of a 275-gal oil tank. I still have 1/4 of a tank left. I wish everybody would consider doing the same thing, this would contribute in lower demand in Oil which would force the Oil companies to lower the price. I just wished the installation manual was more explicit, I spent a few hours trying figure out certains parts. Overall, I am very happy with my little stove."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exactly what I paid for

,
December 16, 2012
By Tacmedic32
from Orange County, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this stove to install as a supplementary source of heat in a 1890 Victorian that is 1700sq ft. There is an existing old fireplace that is very small and hasn't had a fire in over 40 yrs. I installed a dura vent ss liner without issue and then this stove. The stove is very compact ( although still a little large for my fireplace I had to make some modifications to the brick) and gives off great heat for its size. I wish I could have gone bigger but for what I have this is working great. The fan circulates a lot of air and on high is still quiet enough not to be annoying. It did take a while to get the first burn going but then caught right on. I am only on my first overnight burn but I made it about 5 hours, which I expected from reading the reviews. I think with some practice and proper wood choice we can stretch that to about 7. Overall, seems to be a well crafted product that performs to expectation. If you are looking to heat a 2000 sq ft ranch, find another stove, but for a nice supplement to other heat sources on smaller two story houses....look no further."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grandma is toasty warm

,
December 3, 2012
By ToastywarmGrandma
from Boerne, TX
"Installed the Drolet insert in our 1200 ft2 guest(grandma) house.
The stove has exceeded our expectations. It uses very little wood and puts out tremendous heat. Ready for colder weather and lower electric bills. This is our second Drolet from NT (have Myriad in our house) and would highly recommend them.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best investment

,
December 2, 2012
By Lumberjack8
from Seven Hills OHIO
"Took only around 2 hours to install with 2 people. Very easy to install. I ran 6" stainless steel liner from the insert to the top of the chimney, a total of 13' long. The draft is incredible and this thing puts off some heat. Once the blower gets going it heats my whole house easily to 75 degrees with the fan on half power. I have a 200sq ft split level and the heat does disperse nicely. Best investment ever. I did not use the front flashing piece because i have corner fireplace thats open on 2 sides. Looks perfect without it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Fireplace!

,
October 20, 2012
By BusterJiggs
from Sheridan, WY
"Purchased and installed this fireplace insert in August of 2011. Used it all last winter with great results, the old firebox unit used about 9 cords of wood, with this one I cut that down to about 3 with leftovers. I have a small house with poor insulation in the roof and the heat output is intense. It takes about 20 minutes to get the blower to kick in and within an hour can have the temp in the entire house up by 10 degrees! It is great! A small fire on those cold mornings will keep the house warm all day and keep the furnace from running. I would recommend this fireplace to anyone that is looking for a quality insert. The only draw back I encountered was the surround is awkward to install.
Awesome Fireplace!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy and warm

,
October 15, 2012
By OldMountainMan
from Tiger Mountain, Washington
"The only drawback is that the fan (heat controlled) takes a long time to come on but the insert went in easily, it burns the wood down to white ash and keeps our home very comfortable. Because of the wood and setting we use, a load lasts about 3 hours but one only need toss more in and the coals from the last load fire off the new load. The bare fireplace barely kept the living room at 55, the insert keeps the house comfortably warm."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Installatiion

,
May 7, 2012
By GWRWILLIE
from NJ,
"it was a littole costly nto have put in, it took 2 men 5 hours to install a lot of modifications had to be made to0 my chimney.
Worked very well for the winter used mainly at night and on weekends. Worked well with hardwoods.
Very happy with product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWSOME

,
February 27, 2012
By Anonymous
from boston
"This stove is worth all the money and then some.once you become accustomed to the stove you will love it !!!!!!!! i was shocked at my electric bill with this running almost every night and all weekend for a month >WOW!!!! The blower cranks out the heat,very powerful!!!
GREAT BUY!!!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2nd winter

,
January 22, 2012
By Countrygirl88
from Indianapolis, IN
"This insert continues to be amazing! With the money saved, it has paid for itself and then some. It burns amazingly efficient and when we did our fall check up of the flue, there was almost no soot. While the quality of wood we burn has been great, having almost no soot also speaks to the efficiency of the insert. So easy to install, so easy to maintain, so happy we bought it!
The only issue we have is getting the cats to move from out in front of it so we can add more wood!
Luv it!"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert

,
January 9, 2012
By Daseaman
from New Jersey
"This wood stove insert works great. I have a 2 story, 2100 sf home in NJ. I believe it is providing 95% of my heat this year. I can load it up, and slow down the burn, it will go for about 6 hrs. I installed this because my oil furnace bill was very high, even with temp setting low. I had no problem installing with the manufacturers directions, and yellow trucking shipped right to my door. This is a good solid unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

fan

,
January 9, 2012
By montyluke
from new york
"stove heats my entire house 3yrs now 1600sq ft.it looks great in my old brick fire place .price is great. i would have given it five stars but the fan rattles the steel plate cover and really annoys me. the fan case should be one piece"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Stove

,
November 3, 2011
By Kansasreview
from Kansas
"I purchased this stove a year ago and burned it all last season. I have a 2100 sq. ft ranch style house that is all brick and is all electric for heat. I live in western Kansas and don't see cold temps like the neighbors to the north but do see temps into the -10 to -15 degrees at times. The stove heated our house fine into the mid 70's until the temps get into the single digits outside and then the back bedrooms got into the lower to mid 60's and the rest of the house in the 70's.
I like most all things about the stove. A friend built the face plate for it as the opening to our fireplace was in the style of an arch and thought it would look better left that way. This was not difficult and works great with the stove.
The fire box is a little small but is still very adequate. I load it up around 10:30 at night and it still has enough hot coals to start a fire around 6:00 am.
I read where some people did not like the thermostat as it took to long to turn on. It does take awhile for the stove to heat up enough for the blower to turn on however, I found that if you build your fire near the thermostat (front lower left corner) it doesn't take too long and the blower will turn off as the stove cools down when you are sleeping.
I did not install a chimney liner with this stove. I read that most people do but for the cost I decided to try it without. So far I don't see any issues with not putting in a liner. I live in the country and do not have any regulations requiring one. If you do not put in a liner I would CAUTION you to burn your stove hot and to burn extremely dry wood. My wood has been cut and split for over a year before I burn it. When I cleaned my chimney last fall it looked very good and almost didn't need cleaning.
The glass in the front really does stay clean if you have a good draft.
Overall it is a good stove and I had good luck purchasing from Northern!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product, excellent company

,
October 17, 2011
By hoosierguy
from Northern Indiana
"I ordered the stove on a Friday and it was in my driveway on the following Thursday. I found the stove to be carefully packaged in a strong, heavy crate which did a more than adequate job of protecting it. For two people, on a single story home, the installation was a breeze because my home already had a fireplace. I let the calk dry overnight on the chimney cap and fired it up the next day; it has been very nice and very warm, and I expect it will help with my heating bills this winter. The included built in blower is already a favorite of my dog who parks hmself directly in front of it.
This was my first experience dealing wiht Northern Tool and I am very pleased both with the product and the quality of the service and support I received."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

warm feelings about great stove

,
October 17, 2011
By elvo
from Downingtown PA
"Read all reviews before purchasing stove and accessories. Stove is constructed well and has made my exsisting open fire place more efficient. This stove was installed in my house to off set the cost of my monthly electric bill. ( my house entirely electric) Cant wait till the heating season is over to view the total savings from the Drolet wood stove."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "Drolet Fireplace Wood Insert, Model# DB03120"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy with the Drolet insert.

,
July 10, 2011
By Dan01
from Chesterfield Co, VA
"We purchased and installed the Drolet insert in Oct 2010, used it all winter and are very pleased with it.
Read where people were complaining about fine ashes getting into the fan from the gap between the fan top plate and stove, (under the door).
I solved this problem by cutting the straight portion and part of a curved end off of a wire coat hanger. Straighten the curved end so that you have a straight length of wire about 17 3/4 inches long. Any wire about that diameter and length will work.
I used a pair of pliers and bent a small loop on one end, this helps to remove the wire from the gap. You don’t need the loop but it does make it easier to remove the wire, I have a short piece of wire with a hook that I use to grab the loop when I want to remove it.
I would think the gap length is the same on all of the stoves; mine was about 17 3/8 inches long, which is what I ended up cutting my wire after the loop was formed.
Lay the wire in the gap between the fan top plate and stove (under the door) and it will stop most of the fine ashes from falling into the fan compartment. Before removing the fan top plate just brush off or vacuum the ashes that have accumulated over the wire or clean it as needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.