Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"

Item# 158976
"The Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove is 78 efficient and creates 100,000 BTU. It is designed with removable stainless steel secondary combustion tubes and a high-quality vermiculite baffle that provides a clean burn for EPA certification. This technology produces nearly twice the heat with less wood. Firebrick-lined firebox is over 3.7 cu. ft., accepts 22in. logs, burns 9-10 hours per load while heating 1000-2400 sq. ft. Internal air-wash keeps the ceramic glass clean allowing you to enjoy and monitor the fire. Sits on pedestal with ash pan, Built-in air mate diffuses heat forward, with handsome nickel trim on louvers. Convenient air control sits on top of unit for easy access. Can be set only 10in. from back wall with double wall stove pipe, 5/16in' thick top, 6in. flue. BTU rating is related to seasoned cord wood, the more common fuel burned in this stove. Full Load Run Time Hours 8-12, Thermostat Included No, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 19, BTU Output 95,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,400, Igniter Manual, UL Yes, Dimensions W x D x H in. 28 1/2 x 29 1/2 x 34 1/3, Door Opening W x H in. 17 7/8 x 8 7/8, Clearance from Corner in. 11, Firebox Size W x D in. 22 7/8 x 17 1/4 x 14 1/2 3.93 cu. ft., Product Type Stove, Clearance from Side Wall in. 19, Fuel Type Wood, Blower Included No, Stove Pipe Included No, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 22, Heat Settings 4, Mobile Home Approved No. 78 efficiency 5/16in. steel plate on top 3.93 cu. ft. firebox lined with firebricks Large ash drawer Accepts logs up to 22in. long Heavy-duty cast iron door has adjustable handle Single, easy-to-operate air control above the door Optional blower available Item# 1589681 sold separately 3.9 g/hr of emissions"
Average Customer Rating:
4.921 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (63 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
62 of 63(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Review 1 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Big Modern Woodstove

,
January 13, 2016
By
from Virginia Beach
The HT-2000 is everything I thought it would be: easy to operate, plenty of heat output, well-made, accepting of long pieces of wood, and attractive. Its third fire is heating entire 2000 sq. ft. house as I write.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 2 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition

,
January 4, 2016
By
from Central Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I live in a home with a large great room that is hard to heat during the winter. The room is approximately 2500 sq ft with ceilings about 25 feet. Although it doesn't get extremely cold here, it will still get down into the mid-teens at night a few times a year. Sometimes when this comes it could come with winds as high as 50 miles per hour which it did just a couple of weeks ago. It was brutal cold outside! Here in Texas most homes are equipped with heat pumps, which are totally non-effective when it is that cold. Fortunately we have this stove!
We have not run our heat all this year. It is very effective at dealing with extremely cold weather as well as with basic cold weather that is common during every winter day. The air control on the unit effectively manages the amount of heat that is being produced so that it doesn't run us out of the room.
We added a magic blower to the stove pipe which has done a marvelous job of maximizing the wood being burned in the stove. We can put a load of wood into the stove at night and it will still be warm in the great room even eight hours later.
So far we have not even burned through one cord of wood with it being our entire means of heating this area and we have had the stove going nearly non-stop for a month. It is one of the best purchases, along with the blower that I have ever made.
We did have problems getting it last year. It was backordered several times for nearly three months. The communication from Northern wasn't great during this time, as I had to call multiple times checking on it. However, it was well worth the wait!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 3 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG

,
November 12, 2015
By
from Northern Pa
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
OMG - This stove is unbelievable ! We have been heating with wood for 16 years. The cast iron door on the 'old' wood stove warped slightly last year. We had enough wood cut and stacked for this year, and had ordered a load of logs to get ready for next year. Guy never should up, so we decided to put the money toward a new wood stove. SO GLAD WE DECIDED ON THIS ONE, AFTER READING REVIEWS ON MANY DIFFERENT BRANDS. It almost lights itself, is very easy to control - especially with the numbers on the damper settings. We cannot say enough about it. Our house is a Cape Code style home,(2000 Sq Ft) with the wood stove in the cellar, and an inside chimney. There is a hood over the stove, with a 6" x 10" register in it to 1st floor. That, and the cellar stairway is the only way heat gets upstairs. We have had no problem heating the house - RUNNING THE STOVE ON #1 or #2 SETTING AFTER IT STARTS. Even after the fire goes out the stove continues to hold heat for several more hours ! Do not even think about any other wood stove !!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wood stove

,
November 11, 2015
By
from TX
well built. puts out lots of heat, nice viewing window easy to install
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Stove I have ever owned

,
January 13, 2015
By
from Upper Michigan
I have been burning wood for over 40 years and have had many wood stoves in that time.
Bought this stove this fall and have been extremely happy with it's performance.
We have the unit in the basement and it will heat our entire home with ease.
Since starting it up we have not used any other source of heat even as it got down to -17 below in the last few weeks.
My last stove was a Napoleon smaller unit, bought it used 1 year old, and I see why the guy sold it. Burned wood but never through heat.
The Drolet is a marvel and I wish I would have purchased it long ago.
Everyone says that the new EPA stoves are no good, well they haven't seen the HT2000 in use. It will amaze you with the heat even at the lower air settings.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy well worth the money

,
November 1, 2014
By
from tennessee
Love the stove. Very efficient. Long burn times. All around great stove
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet HT2000

,
October 17, 2014
By
from Pikeville, KY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This stove ain't the old Buck style my parents had when I was a kid. I'm getting ready for my second season with this stove and had a great experience last year. There is a learning curve with loading the wood, how you set the air intake etc. We had many evenings with the windows open and the outdoor temps below 20F and sometime in the single digits. Most of windows open deal was figuring out how to operate the stove efficiently.
I built my own hearth from poured concrete, constructed wall heat shields from angle and roof metal, and installed the chimney and stove. I can't say it was a snap but it's something any home handyman can do with the proper tools and experience. I informed my insurance company prior to installation, did the install, took photos and wrote up a little report, submitted to them and said "looks good". No issues.
Also you need to ensure that the firebrick and insulation in the top inside of the stove is installed properly. Ours had shifted during shipping/installation. Took me a couple weeks to figure that out. If these are not in the proper location the pipe will run a little hot, you'll burn wood at a higher rate and you won't be able control the fire and keep coals all night. But...after consulting the manual and actually getting down and looking up in the stove, I figured it out. With good dense wood this stove will easily keep coals all night and the next morning restart is a snap.
I did crack a firebrick and have chipped the edges on others. This is from me being a little to rough loading large pieces of wood. These firebrick are industry standard and are relative easy/cheap to replace. I'm planning on purchasing a box of the different sizes so that I have replacements on hand.
I just cleaned the chimney from last year and probably got a quart of soot out of it. I will say that I was adamant with the family about operating the stove within the proper temp range to prevent creosote build up. We didn't have nearly enough wood for winter and ended up purchasing at least 75% throughout the winter and once winter was on, we burned 24/7 using the stove exclusively to heat our 1700 sq ft single story 30 yr old home. While we had some good red and white oak the majority of what we burned was tulip poplar, box elder, pine and other low quality firewood.
My conclusions on the stove:
This stove is great. Easy to operate and maintain.
It's efficiency with the secondary smoke gas burn allows for the burning of less than ideal fuel. While burning lower grade woods you will use more fuel, but less density equals less heat. With the way the air is controlled, if the stove is set up properly, it's hard to get it too hot. I can't say anything bad about the stove.
Suggestions:
Read the manual and know your stove. Ensure proper setup for best performance.
Buy the pipe thermometer and operate the stove in the proper range as much as possible.
Overkill the installation of the stove and chimney for safety and peace of mind.
Figure out the best placement and how to move air around your home. My placement isn't ideal but we figured out how to move the air with a single box fan and even though the stove is at one end of the house we are able to get the bedrooms on the other end nice and cozy.
Do your research. All these stove are not equal. I choose this stove based on forum reviews, it was made in north America, my friends have one and price.
You won't go wrong with this one.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet HT2000 - 95,000 BTU

,
October 8, 2014
By
from NC
We purchased the Drolet HT2000 2 years ago and are entering our 3rd winter heating our 2,800 sq ft 1920 home with it. We are very pleased with its performance. With our 1.5 story farm house, the heat tends to rise to the 2nd floor leaving a few rooms cold downstairs. This isn't the fault of the stove and doesn't reflect the review.
The blower is great and if turned on high really throws out a lot of heat.
The glass front door stays clean with exception to the times that a lot of wood is added and the damper is closed off before the coals get hot. Cleaning the glass is simple with a few water dampened paper towels. No chemicals are needed.
There are plenty of coals in the morning to start up a hot fire fast.
The door seal needs replacing this year but still works great as is.
No complaints at all with this stove.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built in Heat Shield

,
September 23, 2014
By
from AZ
One positive of this wood stove that I was unaware of when ordering, is the built-in heat shield it has on the sides and on the back, a very nice feature. This built-in heat shield effectively helps to draw colder air from underneath the stove through a chimney type effect and create a natural breeze to help keep it cooler. This effect reduces the heat around the stove that would otherwise radiate directly to walls as many other wood stoves do. Actually, I have never seen another stove with this feature included.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heats my whole 1200 sq. ft. cabin at 20 below

,
September 2, 2014
By
from Marquette, MI
I have had this woodstove for 3 years. It is very powerful and efficient. I have it in a remote cabin in the central Upper Peninsual of Michigan where it reaches -30F in the winter. The cabin is well insulated. It throws a lot of heat so only use it in a large cabin. I don't run it until late fall. It can keep a fire all night with one loading. You may need two loads if you run it at a higher setting.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Mo

,
April 26, 2014
By
from Maine
This unit is Awesome. I love this stove I have this in my basement in Maine. Get a fan with this unit The basement is un insulated This unit will bring the basement to 100 Deg. if I wanted it to. There are no vents in the main floor to the basement . It will heat the main floor as well. Of the two stoves I bought from Northern this is a great stove. I am going to upgrade to the Drolet HeatMax Wood Furnace — 130,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# DF01000
Item# 39678 then duct work it through the house.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great woodstove!

,
February 10, 2014
By
from Madison,Va
I purchased the Drolet HT 2000 woodstove in November 2013. this is a great stove. I have it in the basement, and it heats the upstairs well. I read alot of the other reviews before purchasing this stove and can agree strongly about how good this stove is. I didnt get the blower for the stove, but it heats well without it. Although it would probably be a plus. I can usually get about 8 to 10 hrs of good burn time with seasoned wood, but always have good hot coals when i reload. I feel like the materials in this stove are of high quality.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
19out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving this stove!

,
February 9, 2014
By
from Cut-N-Shoot, Tx
We installed this stove in our 2500 sq foot barndominium and it heats the entire house. It is a great looking stove with the big viewing window, and the ash drawer makes cleaning it out very convenient. We designed the house so that there is an air return in the ceiling near the stove. We turn our system on and occasionally recirculate the air and even the back bedrooms are heated very nicely. Our heat does not even come on and we have had temperatures down into the 20s. We have learned to conserve more wood by getting a big fire going and then shutting the air down and it puts out more heat. This heater will burn all night if you shut it down all the way and then the next morning add more wood and open the air back up. Definitely glad we chose this heater. We get lots of compliments on it too.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

,
February 5, 2014
By
from Shepherdsville, KY
This wood stove is amazing! My home is 1600 sq. Ft. And it heats the entire house without the blower. It burns very nicely you can load it around 11:00 and it is still going in the morning. I also love the ash bucket it keeps it vey clean.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best wood stove I have worked with!

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Anoka, MN
All I can say is this stove works great!! It uses about a 3rd less wood than my old one, fill it up go away for 10 hours, stir the coals add wood no problem. Great stove!
Would recommend it to any one burning wood. The glass does not break like I thought it would.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

HT2000

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Warren,Pa
The new tech that is involved in burning wood will be surpassed someday. But the current tech in this stove is great. I can't tell how much wood I have saved as there are numerous people here that burn it differently. I can say this: if you live in moderately cold temps 15 degrees and above,this stove cannot be beat.Once it gets below then only a constant feeding3-5 hrs can keep my well insulated 2 story 2300 sq ft home warm. And still in all this is a very nice looking gentleman stove. You will have lots of coals 4"-6" deep or more to start the next load.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Excellent Woodburner

,
September 5, 2013
By
from KY
I believe this stove is as close to perfection as you can get. This upcoming winter will be going on year 3 with the Drolet HT 2000 in my home and the last two it did an excellent job keeping us toasty in our 1100 sq.' home.
It holds fire extremely well. I can load it with seasoned hardwood on a very cold night and shut it down at 10:30 pm and get up at 7:00 and its got plenty of hot coals left to ignite fresh wood. I've lived with a woodburning stove all my life and this is by far the best I've seen. Its made in Canada and that along with its great customer reviews ultimately helped me to decide to purchase it. One of my thoughts was hey, Canada has cold winters, so our Canadian neighbors should know how to design a good stove. And I was right. I wouldn't immediately review this stove because I knew time would tell the tell, and at two years use its fine. During this time I've learned that if you want to clean the glass just wait for a cold day and burn about a half load of dry seasoned hardwood wide open, that glass will be spotless, but that Drolet will be kickin' out quite a bit of heat too. Thats the easiest way to clean your glass.
Under normal use the glass stays about half dirty, you can still easily see flames through it but like I said, its not hard to get it spotless.
My recommendations are if you get this unit read your owners manual follow their recommendations.
I installed a damper in the pipe only as a precautionary measure against a glass breakage which could potentially cause a runaway fire which if uncontrolled could get the stove too hot. This is a possibility with a glass door in any woodburner.
The pipe damper has never been used but its there just in case the glass in the door ever gets broken, it'll prevent an out of control fire.
I've always shoveled the ashes out because to me it was immediately evident this was the best way to get 'em out, but thats no problem.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Going on Year 3

,
August 23, 2013
By
from Mahopac, NY
Just wanted to review this product again after 2 full years of running it. It's a great stove and I have a 3,800 sqft house and it almost heats the whole house! I only use about 100gal of oil to supplement it. One thing that Durolet could improve on this unit is the ash box. They could have made it larger/longer as there is plenty of room behind the box and since I run it allot I have to change it out more than if it was longer. Plus when the box is full of ash it leaks out the handle in the back and gets all over.. sometimes. I would pay for a longer ash box or may consider having one made.
As far as burning goes I fill it up around 11pm, turn down the air handler almost as low as it goes and go to bed, at around 7:30 am I move the coals around and they are red hot to fire up anything you put in it.
A few times when I ran the unit for a long period of time and then was away from home, 24 hours later I still had some hot coals left to start her back up.. amazing!
This is the best unit on the market for the $$!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet 95k heater

,
April 25, 2013
By
from North Central Arkansas
Excellent stove, heats a large room and the whole house with box fan. Sent back squirrel cage fan, noisy, ineffective. Can take large logs 10" x 2 foot, I broke out the glass foolishly but found and installed a replacement easily. One man installation. Goes eight hours, no problem, with good load, stays hot for four hours after wood is burnt. Good instructions for placement and venting. Highly recommended to cut electricity cost in Winter. Best deal I found on the internet, after days of search. Love it!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Stove

,
March 19, 2013
By
from Donnellson, Iowa
Like many others I researched for months to come to terms in selecting the right stove. Bought the HT2000 in 2011 on sale just under $1000 from N.T. fInally got it up and going after completing man caving our basement in 2013. No need to go on about how great this stove is because all other reviews explain it.
What I want to add is that in the 2 years this stove was in the basement crated up I did have to move it several times. Get (4) 2 inch heavy pvc pipe to put under the palet. Roll it anywhere you want. Even out of the crate and ready to put in its place I did this.
I did not get the blower for the stove but I did get a Magic Heat flu heater like one other reviewer. The Magic Heat blower works great.
I personally think the fire box is ok. Not as big as I thought but I was used to older stoves that you could stuff 1/2 wheel barrel of wood in and hope it would last all night. I did purchase this brand-style and Northern Tool from all the reviews that I read on this stove. I am glad I did.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.