Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"

Item# 158976
"The Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove is 78 efficient and creates 100,000 BTU. It is designed with removable stainless steel secondary combustion tubes and a high-quality vermiculite baffle that provides a clean burn for EPA certification. This technology produces nearly twice the heat with less wood. Firebrick-lined firebox is over 3.7 cu. ft., accepts 22in. logs, burns 9-10 hours per load while heating 1000-2400 sq. ft. Internal air-wash keeps the ceramic glass clean allowing you to enjoy and monitor the fire. Sits on pedestal with ash pan, Built-in air mate diffuses heat forward, with handsome nickel trim on louvers. Convenient air control sits on top of unit for easy access. Can be set only 10in. from back wall with double wall stove pipe, 5/16in' thick top, 6in. flue. BTU rating is related to seasoned cord wood, the more common fuel burned in this stove. Full Load Run Time Hours 8-12, Thermostat Included No, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 19, BTU Output 95,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,400, Igniter Manual, UL Yes, Dimensions W x D x H in. 28 1/2 x 29 1/2 x 34 1/3, Door Opening W x H in. 17 7/8 x 8 7/8, Clearance from Corner in. 11, Firebox Size W x D in. 22 7/8 x 17 1/4 x 14 1/2 3.93 cu. ft., Product Type Stove, Clearance from Side Wall in. 19, Fuel Type Wood, Blower Included No, Stove Pipe Included No, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 22, Heat Settings 4, Mobile Home Approved No. 78 efficiency 5/16in. steel plate on top 3.93 cu. ft. firebox lined with firebricks Large ash drawer Accepts logs up to 22in. long Heavy-duty cast iron door has adjustable handle Single, easy-to-operate air control above the door Optional blower available Item# 1589681 sold separately 3.9 g/hr of emissions"
Average Customer Rating:
4.921 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (63 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
62 of 63(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Review 21 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressive stove

,
January 5, 2013
By
from Hazard NE
What a nice stove for the money. When we ordered this stove from Northern tool I was sceptical because I have always believed in the term you get what u pay for. I'll tell you what, we have gotten way more than we have paid for in this stove. We moved into our 1850 square foot home and it heats it with ease. Its usually shut way down because it will heat us out. Very good quality, not a scratch or ding in it and it looks very nice!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 22 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Wood Stove

,
December 30, 2012
By
from Virginia
I bought this wood stove for my dad for Christmas he has a two story home which is usually hard to heat. This stove heats the entire house so much you have to crack a window. It holds a good fire and he uses less wood. I would recommend this stove to anyone; it is well worth the price. Just make sure you have help putting it in your home it is Heavy !!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet HT2000

,
October 15, 2012
By
from Colorado
I have had this stove for 3 years now. Living up in the Colorado mountains at an elevation of 9500', it really heats my 1500 sq ft. log home more than enough.....actually too much sometimes....have to open windows. I like the ash drawer and no I don't think it is too small. I added the Magic Heat blower above the stove (see my review on that) to speed up the heating time of the house. The firebox is huge.....I can fit a lot of wood in there for a long overnight burn or day burn when at work all day. I have had my house at 80 degrees one morning inside while outside it was 20 degrees below zero.....talk about a stove that delivers heat!! My last stove was a Country Stove and it developed a crack in the top because of the thinner top plate steel....it couldn't stand up to high heat apparently. The Drolet HT2000 has a thicker top plate of steel that holds up to heat....no discoloring or cracking or pitting of the steel here like the Country Stove did. Very pleased with the Drolet stove and it has saved me a ton of propane since my furnace doesn't have to run very much at all any more. I fill my propane tank up now every 2 years (with the Drolet HT2000 installed) instead of 3 times during each winter without using a wood burning stove....has paid for itself quickly.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 24 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet HT 2000

,
October 10, 2012
By
from Elverson, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I couldn't be happier with this stove! I researched buying a new stove for about 3 months. At first my choices were stoves with price tags double to almost triple the price. Then I started researching the Drolet Stoves. The HT 2000 is a very well built stove made in Canada not China and you can't beat the price. As always Northern had the best price and service. The stove I replaced (a Vogelzang Mountaineer) I bought from Northern over 8 years ago. It has held up well but only had a 3 to 4 hour burn time.I'm almost 60 and I work very hard for my wood and hated seeing it burn away so fast. If I fill the Drolet up at 10:30 at night and bank it down I'll have cherry red hot coals still in the stove when I get up at 7:00am All I have to do is throw a few logs on and the fire takes right off, plus the house is still hot. That was what I was looking for it this stove and I got it. The draft setting works perfectly. With the size of the fire box I can place 20" logs left to right and front to back. It is created well with wood and is fully assembled except a small piece on the bottom when delivered. Get help to move it for it's over 500 lbs. If you are looking for a large stove that puts out a lot of heat with and long burn time, at a great price, look no further. This is the one! Some people by reading the reviews don't care the gold trim, but I think it kooks great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 25 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pastor

,
August 21, 2012
By
from NJ
I have the stove in the basement. the blowers do a great job of distributing the heat to the vents cut in the floor. I burns wood efficiently, the venting allows for longer burn times overnight. Glad I selected this model. The price through NT was $300 less than nearest competator.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 26 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very fine wood stove--very powerful

,
February 22, 2012
By
from marquette, mi
I heat a 1200 square foot "camp" in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan with this stove. I can keep the camp warm even when it is 20-30 below 0. Very easy to start and when you turn down the baffle, it heats all night without adding wood. The stove is so powerful I would not recommend it for a small home unless it has poor insulation. Very heavy stove, I had movers put it in place on a concrete slab in the middle of my camp.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 27 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Tool goes the extra mile.

,
January 9, 2012
By
from North Florida.
I never wrote a review before, however, Northern Tool deserves credit! After many months of looking and researching online, I ordered this stove for our home. I got it quick and and opened the crate and found it to be dented. This can happen during shipping with any product. I have ordered many things from NT but I never had a problem. I called NT and told them. They rushed me another stove right away and I got it in 4 days. Opened it up and it is perfect!!! Got it installed before the holidays. I have 2 other wood stoves in a large home, about 5800 square feet. They don't compare to this one. It was 17 outside and the indoor temp was 80. THIS STOVE WILL HEAT YOU UP!!!!! the living room is 32 x 46 and has three other rooms connected to it, all with 14 foot ceilings. This stove warms them all when the temp outside is ice. I spent 2 years looking and doing my homework and found this same stove for 550 dollars cheaper than anyone else online at NT. It is built like a tank and will last for a very long time. Great room in the fire box and the coals last for at least 12 hrs after a full load the night before. No more morning cold starts. Northern Tool has the best service department. Fast and helpful, if you want help after your purchase, you WILL get it!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 28 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HOT

,
January 4, 2012
By
from Cleveland Ohio
Had this stove for five years, used it for heating a 17k sq ft split and can tell you it will cook you out of it!!
I would only use the blower when the temps fell in the singles or -0, would have to close the bedroom door or it would become too hot to sleep in!
Im moveing and will miss it, but am planing on buying there fireplace insert.I would recomend it to anybody who needs to heat a larger home in a cold area.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 29 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
December 27, 2011
By
from York, Pa
This stove exceeded my expectations in performance . I ordered the ht2000 and a savanah to heat my 2670 sq-ft ,1855 built brick/stone farm house . I have not installed the savanah yet and was surprised when the ht2000 and a magic heat made me shed a cover on 26* f night . My house has 10ft ceilings and original windows . I don"t think it will quite do the job when winter is in top gear but it will come close . I use this stove in conjunction with an 20 and 25k btu lp thermostatically controlled infrared heaters . They very rarely come on after the stove is heated up . I wish this unit came with a blower rather than having order it separate . I am very please thus far with my Drolet stoves and northern tool .
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 30 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cranks out the heat

,
August 3, 2011
By
from Western Wisconsin
We've had this stove for about a year now and could not be more pleased. It's in the basement and heats both levels of our house totaling about 3000 sq. ft. With the stove on low and the air handling fan running, the back upstairs bedrooms stay about 68 degrees while the rest of the upstairs is about 72 degrees. We would wear shorts and t-shirts in the basement during the winter!
It is very efficient and easily gets 8 hours of good heat in a load on low and is still too hot to touch long after the fire is out. Enough coals left after 12 hours to start up the next day's fire. We used half the firewood as our old stove and don't have to wake up at night to keep it going.
As other reviews mentioned, it does smoke a little when it starts if you leave the door open, but with a good fire starter and the door just propped open it really isn't a problem. When it gets hot it vaporizes the wood as it burns so we usually put it on high a few seconds before opening it to add more wood, this burns the vapors up avoiding a possible "woofie" as the fresh air hits the gases. We then leave it on high for a minute to get the new logs up to temp. Other than that we don't have much need to move it from it's low setting and still get more heat than is necessary.
It's nice looking too! Extremely pleased with this unit and wish I had another house so I could buy a second one.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 31 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
April 11, 2011
By
from Fort Bragg North Carolina
Our home is 3200 sq.ft. all on one level, With or without the Majic Heat on this stove keeps our home in the 70s in the dead of winter we love it.
It looks great easy to load will burn 10 hours no problem.Use dry seasoned wood and the door will stay clean.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 32 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little stove.

,
March 14, 2011
By
from Broadway, VA
This stove really puts out the heat. We also have the Magic Heat reclaimer. We heat the whole house (5700 sq feet) with this stove in the basement and just letting the heat diffuse up through the floor and basement door. What I don't like: the door is small in height, as is the fire box. You can only fit 2-3 layers of logs. Given that, it will burn 8-10h on a full load, with the draft just cracked open. The window does get sooty, even with dry, seasoned wood. I've had good results with a razor blade scraper to clean it. The ashes fall into the pan after you remove a plug in the floor of the stove. It's easier to just scoop them out with a shovel.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Beepee
Canada 
 
Please wait while more information about Beepee is loaded.
Additional information about Beepee could not be loaded.
Why your stove soot the window
September 17, 2012
" The reason you get soot in the window is probably because 1) your wood is not seasoned - must be below 20% humidity. NT sells wood moisture meter.
2) You have a heat reclaimer. These are not recommended for High-efficiency EPA stoves. What you are doing in effect is reclaiming too much heat and your stove has lost most of its draft. "
0points
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 33 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GET THIS ONE

,
February 28, 2011
By
from TN mountains
We compared many wood stoves before we decided to get this one. Pricing and BTU's was the most important to us. We love the warm cozy feeling from the wood stove, alot different from our central gas heat. We took out our "pretty fireplace". This stove is amazing! The air control on the top front works great and no trouble with the ash pan. We put it in our family room and it is not too warm to stay in the room. We got the blower fan (yes it is noisy, but it really improves circulation to all rooms). We have a 3400 SF two story home and it is toasty warm now (72). We are used to 64 degrees because the price of propane is so high and getting higher. We have already spent $2200. this winter. Wearing coats and caps in the house are a thing of the past! Having trouble keeping the glass clean.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 34 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic heater

,
January 31, 2011
By
from Thurmont, MD
I installed this stove in my barn and the stove burns great. I generates a huge amount of heat and when finished burning, all that is left is mostly ashes. The add on fan really increases the heat generated. Recently, the outside temperature was 20 degrees and the inside temperature was over 75 degrees. I am extremely pleased with the stove and the way it performs.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 35 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet Wood Stove

,
December 22, 2010
By
from Gainesville, Georgia
This stove runs circles around our prior wood stove - which we've used for the past three years to heat our home - both in efficiency, burn time, heat output, and beauty.
I would highly recommend the Drolet HT2000. We've had it for over two months, and have been burning fires in it every day, sometimes 24 hrs/day. I am able to heat ~3000 square feet 2-story with a 45-50 degree temp rise (15F out, 65F in). The stove is our only heat source in use. It is beautiful to watch when a fire is burning. I didn't get the fan, and it works fine without it - I have a ceiling fan in the room (with vaulted ceiling) which distributes heat to 1st and second floors of my home. A long straight stove pipe helps in efficiency and draw - I almost never get smoke coming in the room with the door opened. Ceramic glass is easily kept clean with glass cleaner (Windex, etc.) and newspaper (glass should not be hot when cleaned).
My only complaint is the burn time - with chamber stuffed full of red oak, and air intake to minimum, burn time ranges from 6 to 8 hours. However, large coals remain for 8 to 10 hours, although heat output is diminished.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 36 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Job !!

,
November 23, 2010
By
from Huntsville, Al
We purchased this in 2009. We love it. Heating is excellent. Always coals for morning restart. Always open the top damper before adding wood. Our heating bill was next to nothing. We heat 2200 sq feet with this one. Plus it is an attractive addition to our living room. !!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 37 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

stove

,
November 23, 2010
By
from Northwest PA
I purchased this stove alittle over 2 years ago, I have a 1900 sq ft log home in NW PA, I went from filling my 500 gallon propane tank 4 times a year to once in 2 years, this stove heats my house with no problem, I could get it 80 degrees in this house easily if i wanted to. I, like some of the other reviews had some problems at first with smoke, but it was my chimney and not the stove, just added another section of pipe and a high wind cap. The only thing that could be better is the air damper, i have had to take the cover off mine a few times and tighten the nuts so it seals better, they could have put heavier piece of steel their, but thats the only thing, i would change. great stove, stays hot long after fire goes out.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 38 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

geat stove

,
June 1, 2010
By
from Morgan, UT
I have used this stove for 2 years in northern Utah, and it is a wonderful stove. The only draw backs I can find is the small ash drawer,(which I just got a steel bucket and a shovel), and the large firebox consumes more wood (but puts out more heat than a smaller firebox). No need for chemicals to clean the glass door , soapy water does just fine. It is a beautiful stove , especially with a fire burning.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best stove ever

,
January 17, 2010
By
from eastern p.a.
after reading all the reviews . I drove all the way to south carolina to pick it up. that was the closest store to have in stock.1200 miles round trip i had it fired ip for a week. it was well worth . the money i will save in wood,this stove burns all night long .it also puts out allot of heat. i have a 4 bedroom 2 story house.i do have an oil heater for back up ,but i wont be using much of that.thank u drolet.also northern tool.comment on review about controling fire ,the control is on top u can see at a glance.no bending over to guess where setting is.the drawer on the bottom is large .onnce aweek empty.ash burns complete verry little ashi purchased the optional blower overall great investment
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for "Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 100,000 BTU, EPA-Certified HT2000, Model# DB07200"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet Model HT2000

,
November 30, 2009
By
from Ozarks of Missouri
This heater has satisfaction built through out. This is our 2nd air tight heater, the first was an Avalon. The Avalon was an okay heater, but the Drolet is so much easier to control. The Drolet burns the wood completely, has less ash to remove, and does a great job of heating our home. Thanks Drolet and Northern Tool!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.