Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000

Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000

Item# 158976
This Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove heats up to 2400 sq. ft. Built ruggedly with a 5/16in. steel top plate. The spacious 3.93 cu. ft. firebox is lined with firebricks and accepts logs up to 22in. long. Heavy-duty cast iron door has an adjustable handle. Single easy-to-operate air control above the door. BTU rating is related to seasoned cord wood, the more common fuel burned in this stove. Clearance from Rear Wall in. 19, Clearance from Side Wall in. 19, Heat Settings 4, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,400, Igniter Manual, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 22, BTU Output 95,000, Clearance from Corner in. 11, Dimensions W x D x H in. 28 1/2 x 29 1/2 x 34 1/3, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Blower Included No, Full Load Run Time Hours 8-12, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included No, UL Yes, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Stove, Door Opening W x H in. 17 7/8 x 8 7/8, Firebox Size W x D in. 22 7/8 x 17 1/4 x 14 1/2 3.93 cu. ft. 78 efficiency 5/16in. steel plate on top 3.93 cu. ft. firebox lined with firebricks Large ash drawer Accepts logs up to 22in. long Heavy-duty cast iron door has adjustable handle Single, easy-to-operate air control above the door Optional blower available Item# 1589681 sold separately 3.9 g/hr of emissions
Average Customer Rating:
4.906 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (53 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
52 of 53(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Review 1 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Mo

,
April 26, 2014
By Boli
from Maine
"This unit is Awesome. I love this stove I have this in my basement in Maine. Get a fan with this unit The basement is un insulated This unit will bring the basement to 100 Deg. if I wanted it to. There are no vents in the main floor to the basement . It will heat the main floor as well. Of the two stoves I bought from Northern this is a great stove. I am going to upgrade to the Drolet HeatMax Wood Furnace — 130,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# DF01000
Item# 39678 then duct work it through the house.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great woodstove!

,
February 10, 2014
By Bo24
from Madison,Va
"I purchased the Drolet HT 2000 woodstove in November 2013. this is a great stove. I have it in the basement, and it heats the upstairs well. I read alot of the other reviews before purchasing this stove and can agree strongly about how good this stove is. I didnt get the blower for the stove, but it heats well without it. Although it would probably be a plus. I can usually get about 8 to 10 hrs of good burn time with seasoned wood, but always have good hot coals when i reload. I feel like the materials in this stove are of high quality."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving this stove!

,
February 9, 2014
By donnag854
from Cut-N-Shoot, Tx
"We installed this stove in our 2500 sq foot barndominium and it heats the entire house. It is a great looking stove with the big viewing window, and the ash drawer makes cleaning it out very convenient. We designed the house so that there is an air return in the ceiling near the stove. We turn our system on and occasionally recirculate the air and even the back bedrooms are heated very nicely. Our heat does not even come on and we have had temperatures down into the 20s. We have learned to conserve more wood by getting a big fire going and then shutting the air down and it puts out more heat. This heater will burn all night if you shut it down all the way and then the next morning add more wood and open the air back up. Definitely glad we chose this heater. We get lots of compliments on it too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

,
February 5, 2014
By Dougtaes
from Shepherdsville, KY
"This wood stove is amazing! My home is 1600 sq. Ft. And it heats the entire house without the blower. It burns very nicely you can load it around 11:00 and it is still going in the morning. I also love the ash bucket it keeps it vey clean."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best wood stove I have worked with!

,
February 4, 2014
By Arvid
from Anoka, MN
"All I can say is this stove works great!! It uses about a 3rd less wood than my old one, fill it up go away for 10 hours, stir the coals add wood no problem. Great stove!
Would recommend it to any one burning wood. The glass does not break like I thought it would.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

HT2000

,
February 4, 2014
By MarkRecycler
from Warren,Pa
"The new tech that is involved in burning wood will be surpassed someday. But the current tech in this stove is great. I can't tell how much wood I have saved as there are numerous people here that burn it differently. I can say this: if you live in moderately cold temps 15 degrees and above,this stove cannot be beat.Once it gets below then only a constant feeding3-5 hrs can keep my well insulated 2 story 2300 sq ft home warm. And still in all this is a very nice looking gentleman stove. You will have lots of coals 4"-6" deep or more to start the next load."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Excellent Woodburner

,
September 5, 2013
By hr351
from KY
"I believe this stove is as close to perfection as you can get. This upcoming winter will be going on year 3 with the Drolet HT 2000 in my home and the last two it did an excellent job keeping us toasty in our 1100 sq.' home.
It holds fire extremely well. I can load it with seasoned hardwood on a very cold night and shut it down at 10:30 pm and get up at 7:00 and its got plenty of hot coals left to ignite fresh wood. I've lived with a woodburning stove all my life and this is by far the best I've seen. Its made in Canada and that along with its great customer reviews ultimately helped me to decide to purchase it. One of my thoughts was hey, Canada has cold winters, so our Canadian neighbors should know how to design a good stove. And I was right. I wouldn't immediately review this stove because I knew time would tell the tell, and at two years use its fine. During this time I've learned that if you want to clean the glass just wait for a cold day and burn about a half load of dry seasoned hardwood wide open, that glass will be spotless, but that Drolet will be kickin' out quite a bit of heat too. Thats the easiest way to clean your glass.
Under normal use the glass stays about half dirty, you can still easily see flames through it but like I said, its not hard to get it spotless.
My recommendations are if you get this unit read your owners manual follow their recommendations.
I installed a damper in the pipe only as a precautionary measure against a glass breakage which could potentially cause a runaway fire which if uncontrolled could get the stove too hot. This is a possibility with a glass door in any woodburner.
The pipe damper has never been used but its there just in case the glass in the door ever gets broken, it'll prevent an out of control fire.
I've always shoveled the ashes out because to me it was immediately evident this was the best way to get 'em out, but thats no problem.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Going on Year 3

,
August 23, 2013
By M35A2
from Mahopac, NY
"Just wanted to review this product again after 2 full years of running it. It's a great stove and I have a 3,800 sqft house and it almost heats the whole house! I only use about 100gal of oil to supplement it. One thing that Durolet could improve on this unit is the ash box. They could have made it larger/longer as there is plenty of room behind the box and since I run it allot I have to change it out more than if it was longer. Plus when the box is full of ash it leaks out the handle in the back and gets all over.. sometimes. I would pay for a longer ash box or may consider having one made.
As far as burning goes I fill it up around 11pm, turn down the air handler almost as low as it goes and go to bed, at around 7:30 am I move the coals around and they are red hot to fire up anything you put in it.
A few times when I ran the unit for a long period of time and then was away from home, 24 hours later I still had some hot coals left to start her back up.. amazing!
This is the best unit on the market for the $$!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet 95k heater

,
April 25, 2013
By DS2000
from North Central Arkansas
"Excellent stove, heats a large room and the whole house with box fan. Sent back squirrel cage fan, noisy, ineffective. Can take large logs 10" x 2 foot, I broke out the glass foolishly but found and installed a replacement easily. One man installation. Goes eight hours, no problem, with good load, stays hot for four hours after wood is burnt. Good instructions for placement and venting. Highly recommended to cut electricity cost in Winter. Best deal I found on the internet, after days of search. Love it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Stove

,
March 19, 2013
By Duhbears
from Donnellson, Iowa
"Like many others I researched for months to come to terms in selecting the right stove. Bought the HT2000 in 2011 on sale just under $1000 from N.T. fInally got it up and going after completing man caving our basement in 2013. No need to go on about how great this stove is because all other reviews explain it.
What I want to add is that in the 2 years this stove was in the basement crated up I did have to move it several times. Get (4) 2 inch heavy pvc pipe to put under the palet. Roll it anywhere you want. Even out of the crate and ready to put in its place I did this.
I did not get the blower for the stove but I did get a Magic Heat flu heater like one other reviewer. The Magic Heat blower works great.
I personally think the fire box is ok. Not as big as I thought but I was used to older stoves that you could stuff 1/2 wheel barrel of wood in and hope it would last all night. I did purchase this brand-style and Northern Tool from all the reviews that I read on this stove. I am glad I did.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressive stove

,
January 5, 2013
By CLL01
from Hazard NE
"What a nice stove for the money. When we ordered this stove from Northern tool I was sceptical because I have always believed in the term you get what u pay for. I'll tell you what, we have gotten way more than we have paid for in this stove. We moved into our 1850 square foot home and it heats it with ease. Its usually shut way down because it will heat us out. Very good quality, not a scratch or ding in it and it looks very nice!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Wood Stove

,
December 30, 2012
By Deputy115
from Virginia
"I bought this wood stove for my dad for Christmas he has a two story home which is usually hard to heat. This stove heats the entire house so much you have to crack a window. It holds a good fire and he uses less wood. I would recommend this stove to anyone; it is well worth the price. Just make sure you have help putting it in your home it is Heavy !!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet HT2000

,
October 15, 2012
By Golfnuts
from Colorado
"I have had this stove for 3 years now. Living up in the Colorado mountains at an elevation of 9500', it really heats my 1500 sq ft. log home more than enough.....actually too much sometimes....have to open windows. I like the ash drawer and no I don't think it is too small. I added the Magic Heat blower above the stove (see my review on that) to speed up the heating time of the house. The firebox is huge.....I can fit a lot of wood in there for a long overnight burn or day burn when at work all day. I have had my house at 80 degrees one morning inside while outside it was 20 degrees below zero.....talk about a stove that delivers heat!! My last stove was a Country Stove and it developed a crack in the top because of the thinner top plate steel....it couldn't stand up to high heat apparently. The Drolet HT2000 has a thicker top plate of steel that holds up to heat....no discoloring or cracking or pitting of the steel here like the Country Stove did. Very pleased with the Drolet stove and it has saved me a ton of propane since my furnace doesn't have to run very much at all any more. I fill my propane tank up now every 2 years (with the Drolet HT2000 installed) instead of 3 times during each winter without using a wood burning stove....has paid for itself quickly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet HT 2000

,
October 10, 2012
By Gman2641
from Elverson, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I couldn't be happier with this stove! I researched buying a new stove for about 3 months. At first my choices were stoves with price tags double to almost triple the price. Then I started researching the Drolet Stoves. The HT 2000 is a very well built stove made in Canada not China and you can't beat the price. As always Northern had the best price and service. The stove I replaced (a Vogelzang Mountaineer) I bought from Northern over 8 years ago. It has held up well but only had a 3 to 4 hour burn time.I'm almost 60 and I work very hard for my wood and hated seeing it burn away so fast. If I fill the Drolet up at 10:30 at night and bank it down I'll have cherry red hot coals still in the stove when I get up at 7:00am All I have to do is throw a few logs on and the fire takes right off, plus the house is still hot. That was what I was looking for it this stove and I got it. The draft setting works perfectly. With the size of the fire box I can place 20" logs left to right and front to back. It is created well with wood and is fully assembled except a small piece on the bottom when delivered. Get help to move it for it's over 500 lbs. If you are looking for a large stove that puts out a lot of heat with and long burn time, at a great price, look no further. This is the one! Some people by reading the reviews don't care the gold trim, but I think it kooks great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pastor

,
August 21, 2012
By PRandy
from NJ
"I have the stove in the basement. the blowers do a great job of distributing the heat to the vents cut in the floor. I burns wood efficiently, the venting allows for longer burn times overnight. Glad I selected this model. The price through NT was $300 less than nearest competator."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very fine wood stove--very powerful

,
February 22, 2012
By noddingtriliumcamp
from marquette, mi
"I heat a 1200 square foot "camp" in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan with this stove. I can keep the camp warm even when it is 20-30 below 0. Very easy to start and when you turn down the baffle, it heats all night without adding wood. The stove is so powerful I would not recommend it for a small home unless it has poor insulation. Very heavy stove, I had movers put it in place on a concrete slab in the middle of my camp."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Tool goes the extra mile.

,
January 9, 2012
By etchersketch
from North Florida.
"I never wrote a review before, however, Northern Tool deserves credit! After many months of looking and researching online, I ordered this stove for our home. I got it quick and and opened the crate and found it to be dented. This can happen during shipping with any product. I have ordered many things from NT but I never had a problem. I called NT and told them. They rushed me another stove right away and I got it in 4 days. Opened it up and it is perfect!!! Got it installed before the holidays. I have 2 other wood stoves in a large home, about 5800 square feet. They don't compare to this one. It was 17 outside and the indoor temp was 80. THIS STOVE WILL HEAT YOU UP!!!!! the living room is 32 x 46 and has three other rooms connected to it, all with 14 foot ceilings. This stove warms them all when the temp outside is ice. I spent 2 years looking and doing my homework and found this same stove for 550 dollars cheaper than anyone else online at NT. It is built like a tank and will last for a very long time. Great room in the fire box and the coals last for at least 12 hrs after a full load the night before. No more morning cold starts. Northern Tool has the best service department. Fast and helpful, if you want help after your purchase, you WILL get it!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HOT

,
January 4, 2012
By plshd
from Cleveland Ohio
"Had this stove for five years, used it for heating a 17k sq ft split and can tell you it will cook you out of it!!
I would only use the blower when the temps fell in the singles or -0, would have to close the bedroom door or it would become too hot to sleep in!
Im moveing and will miss it, but am planing on buying there fireplace insert.I would recomend it to anybody who needs to heat a larger home in a cold area.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
December 27, 2011
By DangerousDan
from York, Pa
"This stove exceeded my expectations in performance . I ordered the ht2000 and a savanah to heat my 2670 sq-ft ,1855 built brick/stone farm house . I have not installed the savanah yet and was surprised when the ht2000 and a magic heat made me shed a cover on 26* f night . My house has 10ft ceilings and original windows . I don"t think it will quite do the job when winter is in top gear but it will come close . I use this stove in conjunction with an 20 and 25k btu lp thermostatically controlled infrared heaters . They very rarely come on after the stove is heated up . I wish this unit came with a blower rather than having order it separate . I am very please thus far with my Drolet stoves and northern tool ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cranks out the heat

,
August 3, 2011
By TedW
from Western Wisconsin
"We've had this stove for about a year now and could not be more pleased. It's in the basement and heats both levels of our house totaling about 3000 sq. ft. With the stove on low and the air handling fan running, the back upstairs bedrooms stay about 68 degrees while the rest of the upstairs is about 72 degrees. We would wear shorts and t-shirts in the basement during the winter!
It is very efficient and easily gets 8 hours of good heat in a load on low and is still too hot to touch long after the fire is out. Enough coals left after 12 hours to start up the next day's fire. We used half the firewood as our old stove and don't have to wake up at night to keep it going.
As other reviews mentioned, it does smoke a little when it starts if you leave the door open, but with a good fire starter and the door just propped open it really isn't a problem. When it gets hot it vaporizes the wood as it burns so we usually put it on high a few seconds before opening it to add more wood, this burns the vapors up avoiding a possible "woofie" as the fresh air hits the gases. We then leave it on high for a minute to get the new logs up to temp. Other than that we don't have much need to move it from it's low setting and still get more heat than is necessary.
It's nice looking too! Extremely pleased with this unit and wish I had another house so I could buy a second one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.