Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000

Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000

Item# 158976
This Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove heats up to 2400 sq. ft. Built ruggedly with a 5/16in. steel top plate. The spacious 3.93 cu. ft. firebox is lined with firebricks and accepts logs up to 22in. long. Heavy-duty cast iron door has an adjustable handle. Single easy-to-operate air control above the door. BTU rating is related to seasoned cord wood, the more common fuel burned in this stove. Clearance from Rear Wall in. 19, Clearance from Side Wall in. 19, Heat Settings 4, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,400, Igniter Manual, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 22, BTU Output 95,000, Clearance from Corner in. 11, Dimensions W x D x H in. 28 1/2 x 29 1/2 x 34 1/3, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Blower Included No, Full Load Run Time Hours 8-12, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included No, UL Yes, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Stove, Door Opening W x H in. 17 7/8 x 8 7/8, Firebox Size W x D in. 22 7/8 x 17 1/4 x 14 1/2 3.93 cu. ft. 78 efficiency 5/16in. steel plate on top 3.93 cu. ft. firebox lined with firebricks Large ash drawer Accepts logs up to 22in. long Heavy-duty cast iron door has adjustable handle Single, easy-to-operate air control above the door Optional blower available Item# 1589681 sold separately 3.9 g/hr of emissions
Average Customer Rating:
4.912 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (57 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
56 of 57(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 63 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Review 21 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Tool goes the extra mile.

,
January 9, 2012
By etchersketch
from North Florida.
"I never wrote a review before, however, Northern Tool deserves credit! After many months of looking and researching online, I ordered this stove for our home. I got it quick and and opened the crate and found it to be dented. This can happen during shipping with any product. I have ordered many things from NT but I never had a problem. I called NT and told them. They rushed me another stove right away and I got it in 4 days. Opened it up and it is perfect!!! Got it installed before the holidays. I have 2 other wood stoves in a large home, about 5800 square feet. They don't compare to this one. It was 17 outside and the indoor temp was 80. THIS STOVE WILL HEAT YOU UP!!!!! the living room is 32 x 46 and has three other rooms connected to it, all with 14 foot ceilings. This stove warms them all when the temp outside is ice. I spent 2 years looking and doing my homework and found this same stove for 550 dollars cheaper than anyone else online at NT. It is built like a tank and will last for a very long time. Great room in the fire box and the coals last for at least 12 hrs after a full load the night before. No more morning cold starts. Northern Tool has the best service department. Fast and helpful, if you want help after your purchase, you WILL get it!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HOT

,
January 4, 2012
By plshd
from Cleveland Ohio
"Had this stove for five years, used it for heating a 17k sq ft split and can tell you it will cook you out of it!!
I would only use the blower when the temps fell in the singles or -0, would have to close the bedroom door or it would become too hot to sleep in!
Im moveing and will miss it, but am planing on buying there fireplace insert.I would recomend it to anybody who needs to heat a larger home in a cold area.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
December 27, 2011
By DangerousDan
from York, Pa
"This stove exceeded my expectations in performance . I ordered the ht2000 and a savanah to heat my 2670 sq-ft ,1855 built brick/stone farm house . I have not installed the savanah yet and was surprised when the ht2000 and a magic heat made me shed a cover on 26* f night . My house has 10ft ceilings and original windows . I don"t think it will quite do the job when winter is in top gear but it will come close . I use this stove in conjunction with an 20 and 25k btu lp thermostatically controlled infrared heaters . They very rarely come on after the stove is heated up . I wish this unit came with a blower rather than having order it separate . I am very please thus far with my Drolet stoves and northern tool ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cranks out the heat

,
August 3, 2011
By TedW
from Western Wisconsin
"We've had this stove for about a year now and could not be more pleased. It's in the basement and heats both levels of our house totaling about 3000 sq. ft. With the stove on low and the air handling fan running, the back upstairs bedrooms stay about 68 degrees while the rest of the upstairs is about 72 degrees. We would wear shorts and t-shirts in the basement during the winter!
It is very efficient and easily gets 8 hours of good heat in a load on low and is still too hot to touch long after the fire is out. Enough coals left after 12 hours to start up the next day's fire. We used half the firewood as our old stove and don't have to wake up at night to keep it going.
As other reviews mentioned, it does smoke a little when it starts if you leave the door open, but with a good fire starter and the door just propped open it really isn't a problem. When it gets hot it vaporizes the wood as it burns so we usually put it on high a few seconds before opening it to add more wood, this burns the vapors up avoiding a possible "woofie" as the fresh air hits the gases. We then leave it on high for a minute to get the new logs up to temp. Other than that we don't have much need to move it from it's low setting and still get more heat than is necessary.
It's nice looking too! Extremely pleased with this unit and wish I had another house so I could buy a second one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
April 11, 2011
By CBLENTZ
from Fort Bragg North Carolina
"Our home is 3200 sq.ft. all on one level, With or without the Majic Heat on this stove keeps our home in the 70s in the dead of winter we love it.
It looks great easy to load will burn 10 hours no problem.Use dry seasoned wood and the door will stay clean.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little stove.

,
March 14, 2011
By DSW99
from Broadway, VA
"This stove really puts out the heat. We also have the Magic Heat reclaimer. We heat the whole house (5700 sq feet) with this stove in the basement and just letting the heat diffuse up through the floor and basement door. What I don't like: the door is small in height, as is the fire box. You can only fit 2-3 layers of logs. Given that, it will burn 8-10h on a full load, with the draft just cracked open. The window does get sooty, even with dry, seasoned wood. I've had good results with a razor blade scraper to clean it. The ashes fall into the pan after you remove a plug in the floor of the stove. It's easier to just scoop them out with a shovel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Beepee
Canada 
 
Please wait while more information about Beepee is loaded.
Additional information about Beepee could not be loaded.
Why your stove soot the window
September 17, 2012
"The reason you get soot in the window is probably because 1) your wood is not seasoned - must be below 20% humidity. NT sells wood moisture meter.
2) You have a heat reclaimer. These are not recommended for High-efficiency EPA stoves. What you are doing in effect is reclaiming too much heat and your stove has lost most of its draft."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GET THIS ONE

,
February 28, 2011
By Sunsetgal
from TN mountains
"We compared many wood stoves before we decided to get this one. Pricing and BTU's was the most important to us. We love the warm cozy feeling from the wood stove, alot different from our central gas heat. We took out our "pretty fireplace". This stove is amazing! The air control on the top front works great and no trouble with the ash pan. We put it in our family room and it is not too warm to stay in the room. We got the blower fan (yes it is noisy, but it really improves circulation to all rooms). We have a 3400 SF two story home and it is toasty warm now (72). We are used to 64 degrees because the price of propane is so high and getting higher. We have already spent $2200. this winter. Wearing coats and caps in the house are a thing of the past! Having trouble keeping the glass clean."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic heater

,
January 31, 2011
By jdu49
from Thurmont, MD
"I installed this stove in my barn and the stove burns great. I generates a huge amount of heat and when finished burning, all that is left is mostly ashes. The add on fan really increases the heat generated. Recently, the outside temperature was 20 degrees and the inside temperature was over 75 degrees. I am extremely pleased with the stove and the way it performs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet Wood Stove

,
December 22, 2010
By Woodman2
from Gainesville, Georgia
"This stove runs circles around our prior wood stove - which we've used for the past three years to heat our home - both in efficiency, burn time, heat output, and beauty.
I would highly recommend the Drolet HT2000. We've had it for over two months, and have been burning fires in it every day, sometimes 24 hrs/day. I am able to heat ~3000 square feet 2-story with a 45-50 degree temp rise (15F out, 65F in). The stove is our only heat source in use. It is beautiful to watch when a fire is burning. I didn't get the fan, and it works fine without it - I have a ceiling fan in the room (with vaulted ceiling) which distributes heat to 1st and second floors of my home. A long straight stove pipe helps in efficiency and draw - I almost never get smoke coming in the room with the door opened. Ceramic glass is easily kept clean with glass cleaner (Windex, etc.) and newspaper (glass should not be hot when cleaned).
My only complaint is the burn time - with chamber stuffed full of red oak, and air intake to minimum, burn time ranges from 6 to 8 hours. However, large coals remain for 8 to 10 hours, although heat output is diminished."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Job !!

,
November 23, 2010
By alice1971
from Huntsville, Al
"We purchased this in 2009. We love it. Heating is excellent. Always coals for morning restart. Always open the top damper before adding wood. Our heating bill was next to nothing. We heat 2200 sq feet with this one. Plus it is an attractive addition to our living room. !!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

stove

,
November 23, 2010
By kkhip
from Northwest PA
"I purchased this stove alittle over 2 years ago, I have a 1900 sq ft log home in NW PA, I went from filling my 500 gallon propane tank 4 times a year to once in 2 years, this stove heats my house with no problem, I could get it 80 degrees in this house easily if i wanted to. I, like some of the other reviews had some problems at first with smoke, but it was my chimney and not the stove, just added another section of pipe and a high wind cap. The only thing that could be better is the air damper, i have had to take the cover off mine a few times and tighten the nuts so it seals better, they could have put heavier piece of steel their, but thats the only thing, i would change. great stove, stays hot long after fire goes out."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

geat stove

,
June 1, 2010
By j3807
from Morgan, UT
"I have used this stove for 2 years in northern Utah, and it is a wonderful stove. The only draw backs I can find is the small ash drawer,(which I just got a steel bucket and a shovel), and the large firebox consumes more wood (but puts out more heat than a smaller firebox). No need for chemicals to clean the glass door , soapy water does just fine. It is a beautiful stove , especially with a fire burning."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best stove ever

,
January 17, 2010
By moo0
from eastern p.a.
"after reading all the reviews . I drove all the way to south carolina to pick it up. that was the closest store to have in stock.1200 miles round trip i had it fired ip for a week. it was well worth . the money i will save in wood,this stove burns all night long .it also puts out allot of heat. i have a 4 bedroom 2 story house.i do have an oil heater for back up ,but i wont be using much of that.thank u drolet.also northern tool.comment on review about controling fire ,the control is on top u can see at a glance.no bending over to guess where setting is.the drawer on the bottom is large .onnce aweek empty.ash burns complete verry little ashi purchased the optional blower overall great investment"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet Model HT2000

,
November 30, 2009
By MoCowboy
from Ozarks of Missouri
"This heater has satisfaction built through out. This is our 2nd air tight heater, the first was an Avalon. The Avalon was an okay heater, but the Drolet is so much easier to control. The Drolet burns the wood completely, has less ash to remove, and does a great job of heating our home. Thanks Drolet and Northern Tool!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet HT2000 means HEAT

,
November 4, 2009
By RodentOne
from Upperco, Maryland
"This is the best stove and I have had 3 of them all good ones but this is the mother load. It heats, no smoke and last along time. House is 3300sqft. First 2 floors are mid 70s and the sleeping floors are 65 degrees (great for sleeping) load it 2X in a 24hour period. last year burned 3 1/2 to 4 cords from 1DEC 08 till 15 MAR 09. This stove saved us about $800 in heating bills last year so for this year we should brake even as far as the cost of the stove and be in the black for heating. This year already have 5 cords ready to go, Old Man Winter bring it ON. Upperco MD
THANKS NORTHERN TOOL.!!!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Wood Stove

,
November 2, 2009
By Tireseller
from Indiana
"I've had my stove now for about 3 years, and like almost every thing about it! Weighing in at over 800lbs, it is very energy efficient, being fire-brick lined bottom, sides and even top. Once I get a good hot fire started, I slide the air draft control to nearly closed and watch (through the front glass window) the row of tubes in the top of the stove. In each one their are holes. As the unburned gasses are forced through them , they ignite and produce a blue flame (reclaiming energy that in most stoves, would go straight up the chimney. The optional blower is also a good investment as it easily attaches to the back of the stove and is variable speed. It pushes the air through the inside stove jacket, then out into your room."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Hairlip
Smyrna Georgia 
 
Please wait while more information about Hairlip is loaded.
Additional information about Hairlip could not be loaded.
800 lbs? -they are now 503 lbs
January 18, 2011
"I had a problem getting my 503 lbs unit inside. If you really have one at 800 lbs then it takes awhile to heat it up but it will heat you up for a long time also."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 37 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PAYS FOR ITSELF IN A MATTER OF MONTHS!

,
October 26, 2009
By SKYDRIFTER
from Wapwallopen, PA
"We own an all electric, bi-level home that is 1800 sq. feet. This unit replaced a 30 year old coal stove.The Drolet HT2000 heats the entire house and a load will last all day while we are at work. With plenty of coals when we return, I just throw a few logs on for it to fire up again. This sure beats a $400 electric bill! I would highly recommend this unit to anyone! This will pay for itself in a matter of months! + you get a certificate for the tax credit! Very user friendly and it looks like the $3000 units! Thanks Drolet for a great product!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet woodburner

,
August 6, 2009
By ColoradoHunter
from Colorado
"We installed this stove in our 2000 sq. ft. cabin in SW Colorado. It is faultless. Great view of the fire and it will heat our place with 14' vaulted ceilings in the dead of winter with no problem. We keep two ceiling fans going and only use our backup baseboard heaters when we first arrive. Temperatures in our area can reach -30F. This is a fantastic wood stove at an exceptional price. Cleaning ashes is really easy with the drawer location and the air control is accurate and convenient."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bang for Buck

,
May 30, 2009
By ChicagoKurt
from Chicago
"Purchased this unit two years ago as temporary heat source for unoccupied 1,200 SF single family residence.
It's heavy. After uncrating to get it through a patio door, it crushed the extruded aluminum threshold I "thought" I had protected with some plywood.
But heavy turns out to be a positive, as heavy is a great heat sink/reservoir. In the middle of January, when pre-fire-up internal house temperatures are about 30 F, I can pack the enormous stove cavity about 2/3 and enjoy 65- 70 F in about 40 minutes. This will last me the entire winter "work" day.
The key for me is to use fast burning (no moisture) wood at the beginning of the cycle and then throw in the less-than-dry logs once 400 F is reached inside the chamber. I use a digital laser heat thermometer. This pretty much eliminates the smoke, though there is always nominal smoke until the unit reaches temperature.
As for maintaining clean glass... No longer a problem. After much experimentation (cleaning after each cycle), I learned that once the stove gets really hot (600+ F) it burns off the residue. Moreover, the $1K Drolet air curtain works a heck of a lot better than that of my $3K Regency insert.
Frankly, the reason I'm back on the Northern Tool/Drolet website is to see if Drolet makes a 90K+ insert model to replace my Regency. Looks like I'm out of luck on that one.
As for the fan and the ash tray: Agreed. fan is too noisy and weak; ash tray could easily be enlarged as there is plenty void space in the base."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome stove

,
March 20, 2009
By moose5
from upstate,ny
"This stove is far superior to my vogelzang mountaineer! Glad I bought it. Works awesome. Have used it for 3 months and love it. Stoke it up at night and 8 hours later there were still red coals. Keeps our 2000sf. two story colonial very warm with EASE. Highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.