Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000

Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000

Item# 158976
This Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove heats up to 2400 sq. ft. Built ruggedly with a 5/16in. steel top plate. The spacious 3.93 cu. ft. firebox is lined with firebricks and accepts logs up to 22in. long. Heavy-duty cast iron door has an adjustable handle. Single easy-to-operate air control above the door. BTU rating is related to seasoned cord wood, the more common fuel burned in this stove. Clearance from Rear Wall in. 19, Clearance from Side Wall in. 19, Heat Settings 4, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,400, Igniter Manual, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 22, BTU Output 95,000, Clearance from Corner in. 11, Dimensions W x D x H in. 28 1/2 x 29 1/2 x 34 1/3, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Blower Included No, Full Load Run Time Hours 8-12, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included No, UL Yes, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Stove, Door Opening W x H in. 17 7/8 x 8 7/8, Firebox Size W x D in. 22 7/8 x 17 1/4 x 14 1/2 3.93 cu. ft. 78 efficiency 5/16in. steel plate on top 3.93 cu. ft. firebox lined with firebricks Large ash drawer Accepts logs up to 22in. long Heavy-duty cast iron door has adjustable handle Single, easy-to-operate air control above the door Optional blower available Item# 1589681 sold separately 3.9 g/hr of emissions
Average Customer Rating:
4.906 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (53 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
52 of 53(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Review 21 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
April 11, 2011
By CBLENTZ
from Fort Bragg North Carolina
"Our home is 3200 sq.ft. all on one level, With or without the Majic Heat on this stove keeps our home in the 70s in the dead of winter we love it.
It looks great easy to load will burn 10 hours no problem.Use dry seasoned wood and the door will stay clean.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little stove.

,
March 14, 2011
By DSW99
from Broadway, VA
"This stove really puts out the heat. We also have the Magic Heat reclaimer. We heat the whole house (5700 sq feet) with this stove in the basement and just letting the heat diffuse up through the floor and basement door. What I don't like: the door is small in height, as is the fire box. You can only fit 2-3 layers of logs. Given that, it will burn 8-10h on a full load, with the draft just cracked open. The window does get sooty, even with dry, seasoned wood. I've had good results with a razor blade scraper to clean it. The ashes fall into the pan after you remove a plug in the floor of the stove. It's easier to just scoop them out with a shovel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Beepee
Canada 
 
Please wait while more information about Beepee is loaded.
Additional information about Beepee could not be loaded.
Why your stove soot the window
September 17, 2012
"The reason you get soot in the window is probably because 1) your wood is not seasoned - must be below 20% humidity. NT sells wood moisture meter.
2) You have a heat reclaimer. These are not recommended for High-efficiency EPA stoves. What you are doing in effect is reclaiming too much heat and your stove has lost most of its draft."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 23 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GET THIS ONE

,
February 28, 2011
By Sunsetgal
from TN mountains
"We compared many wood stoves before we decided to get this one. Pricing and BTU's was the most important to us. We love the warm cozy feeling from the wood stove, alot different from our central gas heat. We took out our "pretty fireplace". This stove is amazing! The air control on the top front works great and no trouble with the ash pan. We put it in our family room and it is not too warm to stay in the room. We got the blower fan (yes it is noisy, but it really improves circulation to all rooms). We have a 3400 SF two story home and it is toasty warm now (72). We are used to 64 degrees because the price of propane is so high and getting higher. We have already spent $2200. this winter. Wearing coats and caps in the house are a thing of the past! Having trouble keeping the glass clean."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic heater

,
January 31, 2011
By jdu49
from Thurmont, MD
"I installed this stove in my barn and the stove burns great. I generates a huge amount of heat and when finished burning, all that is left is mostly ashes. The add on fan really increases the heat generated. Recently, the outside temperature was 20 degrees and the inside temperature was over 75 degrees. I am extremely pleased with the stove and the way it performs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet Wood Stove

,
December 22, 2010
By Woodman2
from Gainesville, Georgia
"This stove runs circles around our prior wood stove - which we've used for the past three years to heat our home - both in efficiency, burn time, heat output, and beauty.
I would highly recommend the Drolet HT2000. We've had it for over two months, and have been burning fires in it every day, sometimes 24 hrs/day. I am able to heat ~3000 square feet 2-story with a 45-50 degree temp rise (15F out, 65F in). The stove is our only heat source in use. It is beautiful to watch when a fire is burning. I didn't get the fan, and it works fine without it - I have a ceiling fan in the room (with vaulted ceiling) which distributes heat to 1st and second floors of my home. A long straight stove pipe helps in efficiency and draw - I almost never get smoke coming in the room with the door opened. Ceramic glass is easily kept clean with glass cleaner (Windex, etc.) and newspaper (glass should not be hot when cleaned).
My only complaint is the burn time - with chamber stuffed full of red oak, and air intake to minimum, burn time ranges from 6 to 8 hours. However, large coals remain for 8 to 10 hours, although heat output is diminished."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Job !!

,
November 23, 2010
By alice1971
from Huntsville, Al
"We purchased this in 2009. We love it. Heating is excellent. Always coals for morning restart. Always open the top damper before adding wood. Our heating bill was next to nothing. We heat 2200 sq feet with this one. Plus it is an attractive addition to our living room. !!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

stove

,
November 23, 2010
By kkhip
from Northwest PA
"I purchased this stove alittle over 2 years ago, I have a 1900 sq ft log home in NW PA, I went from filling my 500 gallon propane tank 4 times a year to once in 2 years, this stove heats my house with no problem, I could get it 80 degrees in this house easily if i wanted to. I, like some of the other reviews had some problems at first with smoke, but it was my chimney and not the stove, just added another section of pipe and a high wind cap. The only thing that could be better is the air damper, i have had to take the cover off mine a few times and tighten the nuts so it seals better, they could have put heavier piece of steel their, but thats the only thing, i would change. great stove, stays hot long after fire goes out."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

geat stove

,
June 1, 2010
By j3807
from Morgan, UT
"I have used this stove for 2 years in northern Utah, and it is a wonderful stove. The only draw backs I can find is the small ash drawer,(which I just got a steel bucket and a shovel), and the large firebox consumes more wood (but puts out more heat than a smaller firebox). No need for chemicals to clean the glass door , soapy water does just fine. It is a beautiful stove , especially with a fire burning."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best stove ever

,
January 17, 2010
By moo0
from eastern p.a.
"after reading all the reviews . I drove all the way to south carolina to pick it up. that was the closest store to have in stock.1200 miles round trip i had it fired ip for a week. it was well worth . the money i will save in wood,this stove burns all night long .it also puts out allot of heat. i have a 4 bedroom 2 story house.i do have an oil heater for back up ,but i wont be using much of that.thank u drolet.also northern tool.comment on review about controling fire ,the control is on top u can see at a glance.no bending over to guess where setting is.the drawer on the bottom is large .onnce aweek empty.ash burns complete verry little ashi purchased the optional blower overall great investment"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet Model HT2000

,
November 30, 2009
By MoCowboy
from Ozarks of Missouri
"This heater has satisfaction built through out. This is our 2nd air tight heater, the first was an Avalon. The Avalon was an okay heater, but the Drolet is so much easier to control. The Drolet burns the wood completely, has less ash to remove, and does a great job of heating our home. Thanks Drolet and Northern Tool!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet HT2000 means HEAT

,
November 4, 2009
By RodentOne
from Upperco, Maryland
"This is the best stove and I have had 3 of them all good ones but this is the mother load. It heats, no smoke and last along time. House is 3300sqft. First 2 floors are mid 70s and the sleeping floors are 65 degrees (great for sleeping) load it 2X in a 24hour period. last year burned 3 1/2 to 4 cords from 1DEC 08 till 15 MAR 09. This stove saved us about $800 in heating bills last year so for this year we should brake even as far as the cost of the stove and be in the black for heating. This year already have 5 cords ready to go, Old Man Winter bring it ON. Upperco MD
THANKS NORTHERN TOOL.!!!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Wood Stove

,
November 2, 2009
By Tireseller
from Indiana
"I've had my stove now for about 3 years, and like almost every thing about it! Weighing in at over 800lbs, it is very energy efficient, being fire-brick lined bottom, sides and even top. Once I get a good hot fire started, I slide the air draft control to nearly closed and watch (through the front glass window) the row of tubes in the top of the stove. In each one their are holes. As the unburned gasses are forced through them , they ignite and produce a blue flame (reclaiming energy that in most stoves, would go straight up the chimney. The optional blower is also a good investment as it easily attaches to the back of the stove and is variable speed. It pushes the air through the inside stove jacket, then out into your room."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Hairlip
Smyrna Georgia 
 
Please wait while more information about Hairlip is loaded.
Additional information about Hairlip could not be loaded.
800 lbs? -they are now 503 lbs
January 18, 2011
"I had a problem getting my 503 lbs unit inside. If you really have one at 800 lbs then it takes awhile to heat it up but it will heat you up for a long time also."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 33 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PAYS FOR ITSELF IN A MATTER OF MONTHS!

,
October 26, 2009
By SKYDRIFTER
from Wapwallopen, PA
"We own an all electric, bi-level home that is 1800 sq. feet. This unit replaced a 30 year old coal stove.The Drolet HT2000 heats the entire house and a load will last all day while we are at work. With plenty of coals when we return, I just throw a few logs on for it to fire up again. This sure beats a $400 electric bill! I would highly recommend this unit to anyone! This will pay for itself in a matter of months! + you get a certificate for the tax credit! Very user friendly and it looks like the $3000 units! Thanks Drolet for a great product!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet woodburner

,
August 6, 2009
By ColoradoHunter
from Colorado
"We installed this stove in our 2000 sq. ft. cabin in SW Colorado. It is faultless. Great view of the fire and it will heat our place with 14' vaulted ceilings in the dead of winter with no problem. We keep two ceiling fans going and only use our backup baseboard heaters when we first arrive. Temperatures in our area can reach -30F. This is a fantastic wood stove at an exceptional price. Cleaning ashes is really easy with the drawer location and the air control is accurate and convenient."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bang for Buck

,
May 30, 2009
By ChicagoKurt
from Chicago
"Purchased this unit two years ago as temporary heat source for unoccupied 1,200 SF single family residence.
It's heavy. After uncrating to get it through a patio door, it crushed the extruded aluminum threshold I "thought" I had protected with some plywood.
But heavy turns out to be a positive, as heavy is a great heat sink/reservoir. In the middle of January, when pre-fire-up internal house temperatures are about 30 F, I can pack the enormous stove cavity about 2/3 and enjoy 65- 70 F in about 40 minutes. This will last me the entire winter "work" day.
The key for me is to use fast burning (no moisture) wood at the beginning of the cycle and then throw in the less-than-dry logs once 400 F is reached inside the chamber. I use a digital laser heat thermometer. This pretty much eliminates the smoke, though there is always nominal smoke until the unit reaches temperature.
As for maintaining clean glass... No longer a problem. After much experimentation (cleaning after each cycle), I learned that once the stove gets really hot (600+ F) it burns off the residue. Moreover, the $1K Drolet air curtain works a heck of a lot better than that of my $3K Regency insert.
Frankly, the reason I'm back on the Northern Tool/Drolet website is to see if Drolet makes a 90K+ insert model to replace my Regency. Looks like I'm out of luck on that one.
As for the fan and the ash tray: Agreed. fan is too noisy and weak; ash tray could easily be enlarged as there is plenty void space in the base."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome stove

,
March 20, 2009
By moose5
from upstate,ny
"This stove is far superior to my vogelzang mountaineer! Glad I bought it. Works awesome. Have used it for 3 months and love it. Stoke it up at night and 8 hours later there were still red coals. Keeps our 2000sf. two story colonial very warm with EASE. Highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Stove

,
December 16, 2008
By RCM911
from Verona, KY
"We have had several different wood stoves and inserts in different houses we have lived in. None of them compare to this one. It did take a little while to come in. Ordered it in November and was told it would ship around 11/24. It didn't. When I called, I was told that it would not ship until 12/23. I almost cancelled this order because of this since I found another stove, although smaller, that could ship same day. To my surprise, the stove was delivered to the house 12/15. Wow, am I glad I didn't cancel the order. A few reviewers have said things about the flimsy crate. It is a little flimsy, but actually better than some of the other stoves we have purchased. Also, as far as the issue of smoking coming into the room when refueling, just like any stove, you have to open the air all the way and simply crack open the door for a few seconds and there is no problem whatsoever. (It does tell you this in the manual) There was also a comment regarding the air control being on top, which a reviewer did not like. I think this feature is great and requires little effort to slide. Our last insert had it at the bottom and was very difficult to slide.
I really don't think you will find a better stove, especially for the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet EPA Stove

,
November 18, 2008
By Digz
from NE
"The stove arrived in a timely manner. The quality is very good and the instructions were very easy to understand."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drolet Wood Stove

,
November 17, 2008
By GreenBuoy
from Long Island, NY
"easy set up, Amazing stove for the money...
big fuel saver... heats the whole cabin.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Drolet High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 95,000 BTU, Model# HT2000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

,
November 15, 2008
By woodjunkie
from iowa
"Have had the stove for a couple of weeks, very attractive and convenient to use. Be careful loading wood so as to avoid smoke escaping (true for many stoves unfortunately). Good manual. Really puts out heat, so much better and easier to use than my first smaller stove. Great price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.