Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V

FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V

Item# 1592007A
Ingersoll Rand's legendary Type-30 air compressors have been providing unsurpassed performance in the most demanding applications for over 75 years. The Type-30 compressors are recognized as the industry's benchmark for quality, power and reliability - that's why they remain the world's best-selling reciprocating compressor. Whether you're a small shop owner, auto body or repair business owner, or work in a demanding industrial environment, there is a Type-30 air compressor that will meet your needs. Warranty on the reciprocating pump extends from 1 year to 2 years with the use of appropriate maintenance kit. see below. Motor Phases Single, Volts 230, Tank Type Vertical, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 x 33 x 69, Package Type Standard, Portable or Stationary Stationary, Pump V-Block, cast iron, splash lubricated, Pump Life hrs. 10,000, Max. PSI 175, Amps 22.5, Drain System Manual, Drive Belt, Duty Cycle 100, HP 5, Air Tank Size gal. 60, After-Cooler Included No, Air Outlet Size in. 1/2, CFM at 90 PSI 14.3, Stage 2, CFM at 175 PSI 14.3, Working Pressure PSI 140 - 175. 100 cast iron construction 1-pc. connecting rod Finned copper intercooler Extended 2-year warranty on the pump when you use maintenance kit #1592008 Motor runs at 3,450 RPM Pump runs at 700 RPM 85dB sound level
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 22(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor

,
January 29, 2014
By kobaltblue
from Daphne,Al
"I use it for automotive restoration painting sandblasting and running air tools always has the air I need its one of my most valuable tools it gets a workout, Had a problem with the motor 2 months out of warrantee and Ingersoll Rand customer service was right on it took less then 24 hours to get a call back and is repairing it free of charge. Great product great customer service."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good compressor

,
September 17, 2013
By Taquero
from Yuma, AZ
"I purchased this compressor about 3 years ago. I did have a problem a couple of months into using it. It started taking too long to fill and eventually it would no longer build up pressure. I called Ingersoll and described the problem as it was still under warranty. They diagnosed it as blown head gasket on the compressor block. They said that they could send a technician but it would take some time. They asked if I felt competent to change the gasket myself and I said sure. They sent a gasket out next day with the torque spec's. I pulled the head off and sure enough the gasket had blown. I put the new one on and torqued it to spec's and it's been running ever since. I use it for various air tools from die grinders to impact wrenches. I also use it for painting. I would have given it 5 stars except that the head gasket did fail."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compresso

,
April 23, 2013
By whatshpin
from Harrison Twp. Mi.
"This compressor is awesome. I have owned this for two years. It has all the power I need. I changed the drain valve and ran brass pipe from the bottom down to the front and put on a quarter turn brass valve. I then routed with tygon tubing to outside. When I am done using I can easily open the drain valve. I also use the Ingersoll Rand synthetic compressor oil. It should last forever."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

new compressor

,
April 23, 2013
By Karlscom
from Washougal, WA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Great compressor, quiet, quick and powerful. It was easy to install. As you can see the electrical hookup is temporary in the picture."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
April 23, 2013
By 05sprcrw
from Rural Nebraska
"This is a great compressor, at a great price. I picked up the compressor and the start up kit for it to get the extended warranty. I have it setup in my machine shed to run various air tools and a tire machine. It fills up fast I think its under 7 min to completely fill from empty. It keeps up with everything I ask of it and is well made and very heavily built. I have no doubt that it will last for years to come."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Air Compressor

,
April 23, 2013
By Bluepig
from South Jordan
"I ordered this compressor to replace an almost new Home Creepo unit that was worthless. My sand blaster needed said it needed 9cfm @ 90psi. My current compressor said it could do 5.5 @ 90, or translated that means it can inflate tires, but not run any air tools.
When this thing arrived it was impressive. Not only was it stout, it was well built. Not only does it run my 40# blasting cabinet, but it handles all of my air tools that have been unused due to the previous cabinet.
If you're getting this for home like I did, know that you need 50 amp service where ever you land it. I went ahead a put a 100 amp service in my shed for this and my welder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Air Compressor

,
October 16, 2012
By Kellie2
from Mitchell, IN 47446
"We have a fabrication shop and ordered this compressor for various projects. It has proven to be an outstanding purchase. I went with the IR brand because of it's reputation and it being American made. I would not have purchased it had it been made out of the country. I would recommend this product to any shop owner or homeowner."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
October 8, 2012
By brd0
from Ontario, CA
"Very heavy duty compressor. Useful for automotive work (grinders, impact wrenches) would recomend. CFM is very good on it, never have to wait for air to build up no matter what the job!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

IR TYPE 30

,
August 14, 2012
By 450ASEmastertech
from MN
"I am a master mechanic who does a lot of side work out of my garage. After going through my third compressor in 5 years, decided it was time to do some research and find one that will last. This compressor is more then capable of handling all of my needs and is very quiet.i would recommend this compressor to anyone who expects a lot out of a compressor, best bang for the buck!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compresso

,
October 11, 2011
By wattshpin
from Metro Detroit, MI
"This compressor will be my last. It has all the air I need, can run any tool I own and keep up (drills grinders). It is not as loud as the two HP compressor it replaced. I replaced the drain valve with a brass 90 and run brass pipe out from under the bottom and placed a 1/4 turn brass valve where I can easily reach it, Then I ran tygon tubing out the garage and clamped it to the outside wall. Now I easily drain it after each use. This should help it last"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
9out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should have bought it years ago

,
June 17, 2011
By KenSinNY
from Pearl River, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"After dealing with noisy, underpowered, leaking compressors for years, I'm finally happy. It's a great product. It's not nearly as loud as previous ones I've owned. We've run two die grinders/cutoff tools simultaneously without a problem. It powers my sandblaster without any trouble. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
15out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor

,
March 14, 2011
By JKREV
from MISSOURI
"This was a really good buy on a high quality compressor. In the shop it gives us the ability to use air tools, a tire changer, and spray paint without worrying about low pressure air.
It is much quieter than the compressors that preceeded it, although it would be wrong to say it is quiet, but does not run the extended time the others required to produce the same volume and pressure of air."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Compressor

,
June 1, 2010
By FortWorthJeff
from Fort Worth, TX
"The Ingersoll Rand Type-30 is one of the best compressors on the market. If you own a 2 or 3 man shop, this is the unit for you. At 14.0 CFM, this can run many air tools at one time, or a media blasting cabinet or even a paint spray gun.
Good choice & excellent quality."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine!

,
June 1, 2010
By dave57
from IL
"This thing will run forever! You will probably never buy another compressor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Will last you a lifetime!

,
February 25, 2010
By TommyVB
from New Jersey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a great compressor! I have a home workshop and am currently building a Cobra kit car. I could not do it without this unit. It runs strong, fills fast, and keeps up with 2 air tools running at the same time. Don't waste your money on anything else, I did and had to buy this anyway so get it in the first place."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

model2340

,
March 18, 2009
By coater
from Marlboro,NJ
"Very good compressor. Fast recovery time and plenty of air. Much quieter than even my smaller 33 gallon Craftsman compressor. I would definitely recommend this compressor to others."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine

,
November 19, 2008
By aarnone99
from Buffalo ny
"This compressor will do anything you will ever need to do in a shop or at home. I have never needed more compressor. I would recomendthis to anyone!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overkill

,
November 18, 2008
By HandymanDave
from Des Moines, IA
"I have had this compressor for 6 months now and I have not once had to wait for air, it will run a sand blaster with no problems which can't be said for some of the other 5Hp rated compressors that I have seen. It is quiet compared to my old Craftsman Professional that was said to be 40% quieter. I have read reviews and opinions about IR compressors that they are a little over rated with 5Hp TS flowing 14.7 CFM @ 175 PSI or the SS Flowing 18.1 @ 90 PSI but after using this one I am a believer. I highly recommend this unit for anyone with a need for a lot of air."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Runs Anything In My Garage

,
November 18, 2008
By HossJ
from Richmond VA
"I have a good sized home garage. This compressor has run any air tool I have ever needed and still had plenty of reserve.
Examples:
Impact Wrenches
Air Drills
Needle Scalers
Die Grinders
Cut Off Tools
Spray Guns
Sandblasters
I am very happy with this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 230 Volt 1 Phase, Model# 2340L5-V
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ergonometrics could be better

,
November 17, 2008
By NewfySwede
from MA
"I purchased this compressor about a year ago. The compressor operates dependably and appears to be well made. My one complaint has to do with the location of the tank's drain valve - at the bottom of the tank.
My compressor is floor mounted so you have to kneel down and reach under the compressor's stand to feel for the drain valve. The valve itself has a tiny knurled knob which is at times difficult to turn. The operations manual states you should do this daily which I do - I just wish it were more convenient. ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-7points
4out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.