Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V

FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V

Item# 1592012A
Ingersoll Rand's legendary Type-30 air compressors have been providing unsurpassed performance in the most demanding applications for over 75 years. The Type-30 compressors are recognized as the industry's benchmark for quality, power and reliability - that's why they remain the world's best-selling reciprocating compressor. Whether you're a small shop owner, auto body or repair business owner, or work in a demanding industrial environment, there is a Type-30 air compressor that will meet your needs. Warranty on the reciprocating pump extends from 1 year to 2 years with the use of appropriate maintenance kit. see below. Max. PSI 175, Motor Phases Single, Drain System Manual, Drive Belt, Pump Life hrs. 10,000, Air Tank Size gal. 80, CFM at 175 PSI 14.7, Dimensions L x W x H in. 24 x 33 x 69, After-Cooler Included No, Duty Cycle 100, HP 5, Air Outlet Size in. 1/2, Tank Type Vertical, Package Type Standard, Portable or Stationary Stationary, Volts 230, Stage 2, CFM at 90 PSI 14.3, Low Oil Protection No, Pump Cast iron. 100 cast iron construction 1-pc. connecting rod Finned copper intercooler Pump speed 1,725 RPM Extended 2-year warranty on the pump when you use maintenance kit #1592008
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 of 12(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Burnt Motor

,
September 19, 2013
By Caneman
from Louisiana
"Motor burned up after three years of moderate use, far shorter a time than I would have expected from this brand. I won't be buying another from this manufacturer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

TOTAL DISGUST

,
December 1, 2012
By hunteriniraq
from Arizona
"DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT IF YOU WANT A QUALITY MACHINE. I BOUGHT THIS COMPRESSOR ON THE IR NAME AND REPUTATION. WHEN IT ARRIVED, GOT IT UNWRAPPED, TO MY SHEAR DISGUST THE PUMP IS MADE IN INDIA AND THE MOTOR COMES FROM MEXICO....WHO KNOWS WHERE THE TANK IS MADE!?!? INGERSOLL RAND HAS GONE FROM A SUPERIOR PRODUCT, TO AN INFERIOR PRODUCT!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-19points
7out of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
August 26, 2010
By shoot1
from Madison, AL
"I have operated this compressor every day for about 6 months now and it has exceeded my expectations and done everything I have required of it with ease. I have painted several cars using it and it handled running 2 dual action sanders and running 2 paint sprayers. I am happy with this compressor and would recommend anyone looking for an all purpose compressor to purchase this one. For the money and what you get, its great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingesoll model 2340N5

,
January 22, 2010
By Ramiro
from Oxford, CT
"Recieved this and install this compressor,today. need to men to jog this in position, took 20 minutes to wire it, Purchase compressor oil at a local hardware store, could not find the recommened "All season synthetic lubricant ". would of liked to of used the recommened fluid. so plan a head. Much quiter then the one we replace, which was a oil-less pump compressor, 40 gal. 120volt, that we had for 6.5 years. My three son and their buddies should get decades use of the Ingersoll-Rand."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shop Compressor Upgrade

,
July 20, 2009
By JohnDeereCollector
from Huntsville, AL
"I bought this compressor last year as an upgrade for my shop building. I maintain several tractors and mowers and also do some tractor restoration work. The compressor is mounted inside the shop and the noise level is almost unnoticeable. Installation and hookup were extremely easy and I have had absolutely no problems even with extensive use. The air volume is more than adequate for all applications in my shop. I would highly recommend this air compressor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

compressor

,
July 14, 2009
By buchanan383
from nc
"fast shipping, hooked up first day and have not stopped using. works great. i have a small shop. enough air for 4 techs all day."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

air compressor

,
July 13, 2009
By ag8630
from Rosendale, MO
"I bought this air compressor a couple of months ago. The compressor is used in a farm shop and has enough power for everything that I am working on. This machine is worth purchasing."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand Type-30 5HP 80 gallon compressor

,
November 17, 2008
By cantscrap0
from Ottawa Lake, Michigan
"I just opened a small automotive repair shop, and a friend talked me into buying this compressor because he has one like it. Good choice. I couldn't be more satisfied. I plumbed it into 4 outlets around the perimeter of my building and it has all the power and capacity I require."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS THING BLOWS!

,
August 25, 2008
By JDMASTERTECH
from WAY UP NORTH IN MN
"Son bought one to put in my garage to do body work. Made plenty of air for all his tools and gave us no problems. Very quiet compared to the Craftsman oil less 30 gallon we WERE running. Plenty of air for my 1/2" air tools as well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor

,
April 22, 2008
By Scott2H
from Spanaway, Wa
"Purchased this compressor because I was tired of those oil-less compressors smoking. This compressor has more than enough air for every tool I have ever used. Not a single problem in 2 years. I have seen these at work run for over 5 years, probably turning on once every 1/2 hour. That is why I bought one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

IR Rules!

,
April 22, 2008
By calsota
from Stockton, California
"I ordered this compressor as an upgrade in my shop . The IR 5 hp was delivered as promised..in great condition and very much within a reasonable amount of time. The wireing was a breeze, it is much quieter than anticipated and pumps the advertised volume without straining at all. Every bit the workhorse I had hoped it would be. Cudos to Norhern and Ingersol Rand a joy to get your money's worth!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Type-30 Reciprocating Air Compressor - 5 HP, 80 Gallon, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2340N5-V
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two years - No Problems

,
January 21, 2008
By JMS87144
from New Mexico
"I bought this compressor to replace a number of smaller compressors. It has worked without any problems for the past two years. I have a large shop and multiple buildings on my property. This unit serves a large automotive machine shop facility. It provides power for my air tools and other uses.
With my smaller compressors, I would have to stop my job with some air tools when the pressure would decline. This does not happen with this compressor. I use impact wrenches, needle scalers, power hammers, and a bead blasting cabinet and all work satisfactorily.
I am glad that I spent the extra money for this compressor.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.