Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3

Item# 1592027
Maximum air power for commercial or contractor use More delivered air CFM gives you the power to do the job right and in less time. Durable cast iron construction, splash lubrication and precision-engineered quality components. Meets OSHA standards. HP 3, Drive Belt, Amps 14.7, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 x 23 x 66, Motor Phases Single, Drain System Manual, Pump Cast iron, oil-lubricated, Volts 230, CFM at 90 PSI 11.3, Duty Cycle 100, Portable or Stationary Stationary, Tank Type Vertical, Air Tank Size gal. 60, Max. PSI 135, Stage Single, Air Outlet Size in. 1/2. Motor 3 HP with thermal overload and manual reset - single phase motor 100 continuous duty Drain System Manual Drain Extended 2-year warranty on the pump when you use start-up kit Item# 15920083 sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (96 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
94 of 96(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for advanced DIYers

,
April 13, 2014
By G60ING
from My garage
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I've owned this compressor before (I moved and sold mine for a great price) and it has held up well for my garage needs. I've used needle guns, impact guns, air hammers and bead boasters with it, so I'm bought the same one again. Yes you can buy cheaper but will the company be around in the years to come should you need something for it? IR will be
The only issue I had with my old one was the switch, just and FYI of why the 4 stars."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

air pressure

,
February 4, 2014
By beerwolf
from Brigham city, UT
"Plenty of air pressure for what I need to do. Totally worth the price. IR is a good compressor!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By Mitch7891
from Kentucky
"This is an awesome compressor and runs every air tool I have including IR half inch impact using it very heavily with minimal compressor start up. I would highly recommend this compressor to any home mechanic or wood shop application. I have owned this compressor for three years and have not had to perform and repairs to it, only preventative maintenance as recommended by manufacturer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power, quiet, durability

,
April 23, 2013
By lachevyguy
from Louisiana
"I would highly recommend. I have used it now for over a year. Still runs the same as when I bought it. Easily able to keep up with my hobby work of restoring items and painting.
This compressor is surprisingly quiet for the size and capability. Well worth your investment, just keep it oiled."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

,
April 23, 2013
By Avi8tor857
from Georgia
"Quieter than other compressors I've been around. Fills up fast, no leaks, shiny powder-coat (one small chip in the finish around the valve but no biggie) Not using it for anything very aggressive but it easily keeps up with my tools the largest air consumer being the cut off wheel. I now need to buy a bigger stronger impact wrench to take advantage of the larger air volume of the new compressor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great compressor

,
October 15, 2012
By motorscot
from Birmingham, AL
"bought it specifically for fab work and a blast cabinet. works fantastic. fairly quiet and really puts out the air
cons: got really hot in the closed in area where it's kept, actually melted the plastic threads off the air filter assembly.
this was solved by adding some black pipe and a cooling fan. probably would not have happened if it was more in the open"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

,
October 15, 2012
By nomo8to5
from NLR,AR
"Installed inside insulated garage , very low noise level with output that could handle 2 auto body repairmen .
Came equipped with ball shutoff valve plus I like the powder coat finish .
I did install hour meter for run time .
Very Satisfied"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Compressor

,
October 12, 2012
By Racinone
from whitesboro
"Wow this thing is great. Shipping took several weeks but it is worth the wait. Just used it the for a week now and it keeps 3 hoses going. It is the quietest compressor I have ever owned."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great air compressor for the money

,
August 21, 2012
By heavyChevy
from Fremont, Mi.
"I purchased this unit 3 yrs. ago and it has performed flawlessly. I do keep the oil changed and I have an auto-drain kit installed so I don't worry about the moisture buildup in the tank. Like others have said, I also have inline filters/lubricators. Take care of this compressor as you should any compressor and it will be around for a long time, money well spent. I use this with several heavy duty shop tools. I have a 1" drive impact to use on some old tractor wheels and have always had the volume and the compressor keeps up, I nevver have to wait on it.
You can buy other compressors for less money, but in my opinion, you will spen more money chasing and waiting on parts to repair those compressors.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor

,
August 20, 2012
By X2Y3Kid
from Eastern CT
"I've been using this compressor now for over 4 years. I have to say it is very quiet for a compressor and has done every task that I have thrown at it. Only thing that could have made it a better deal is to include a regulator with it. Coupled with an IR air wrench I haven't come across a tire nut that I haven't been able to break loose. Also loved the free shipping when I bought it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Compressor

,
August 15, 2012
By steve177
from Corpus Christi, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I recently purchased this product for home work and a restoration project on a classic car. I have invested in some pneumatic tools for my car project. This machine will easily power any tool I have used on it to this point. With properly regulated air pressure, I have operated my die grinders, air rachet, and 1/2 impact wrench to my desire without a lack of demand in air pressure. It runs smooth, recharges quick, and is much less noisy than my 110 electric compressor. It will require the connection of 230vac power cord that anyone with mechanical skills can connect without any difficulty. I am confident that it will last my lifetime."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Compressor

,
May 7, 2012
By woodworker15
from KY
"Purchased this Compressor back around the end of 2011 it's the 3 HP single stage unit. I use it mainly for my wood & metal shop. This compressor is quite and keeps up with CFM demand of all the air tools that I use and I have been very happy with it. One thing you will need after it’s hooked up is a 2 foot piece of hanger strap and a 1/4" bolt about 2'' long with a nylon lock nut. When facing the front of the compressor run the strap over the front right side of the fan cover and use the screw at the corner to secure it. Then take the bolt and use the hole on the bottom plate that the compressor and motor are fastened to (there was a hole with nothing in it on mine) and put the strap under great pressure thru this hole leaving the bolt with plenty of threads for adjusting. With the compressor running simply make adjustments to the bolt tightening it down which is pulling the fan guard towards you. Once the rattling stops then you’re good. I got this tip from reading someone else’s review on here and thought well mine will be different and maybe I won’t need to do this well I still had to do it. Once I did this it's very quiet (as quite as it could be) and works just as I had planned."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased!

,
January 26, 2012
By miscreant
from South Texas
"Initially I was worried this would be a little small for my purpose but everything worked out perfectly. I bought this to use with an HVLP paint gun. Works great for this purpose and the compressor hardly runs at all. I have used it with my Ingersoll Rand IRT315 sander for hours and it has no problem keeping up. I am very happy with this compressor and have no problems recommending it."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for Home Shop

,
January 19, 2012
By Chris1237
from Oklahoma City, OK
"I've had one of these for just over a year and this is a great compressor for my home shop. I am a mechanic and it runs all of my air tools - including my Snap-on MG725 - just as well as any compressor I've ever used at work. I'm very particular about my tools, and even when I started to look closely at the details, it became clear to me that this is a high quality machine. My only recommendation is that you purchase the installation kit and a pressure regulator/filter with the compressor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but noisy/loose guard

,
October 10, 2011
By vltor17
from MT
"It won't quite keep up with my cut off tool, but it runs everything else great. The only issue I had was the noise level. It turned out the belt guard was vibrating against the frame. A few pieces of plumbers strap and some zip screws, it was nice a quiet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

,
August 12, 2011
By 100pcttn
from Tennessee
"Took a little while to deliver...but "good things come to those who wait"! I wasn't in that big of a hurry, so the ship from factory thing didn't bother me. Once it arrived, it was in great shape. Hooked it up and put it thru the paces of feeding my sand blast cabinet, which was my main problem with my prior (smaller) compressor. This thing is very quiet for it's size. Just remember, you will need to purchase breaker, wiring, plug (I have mine on a 4 prong plug so I can easily unplug and relocate it if needed), plus a filter / regulator, as these don't come setup with those items like the little units from the box stores! But I assure you....you won't regret adding this to your shop. Glad I made the purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

expect motor problems!

,
July 18, 2011
By Gearench
from Central Texas
"I purchased this compressor less than a year ago. I have already replaced the motor 3 times. I deal with IR on a regular basis because this is who I use for our main plant air. After I told the IR rep. that I purchased this little comp. He even said to expect problems. He said they are constantly having to replace the motors on this comp."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
15out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A nice heavy duty home shop compressor

,
July 14, 2011
By WillinKY
from Georgetown,KY
"I am very pleased with this compressor, i had looked at CH compressors of the same size, the IR seems to be much better quality. It's quiet and fills the tank up pretty quick. The only downside is that they should include a quart of oil, don't forget to buy some!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

IR Compressor

,
June 16, 2011
By 1OldCarpenter
"Very impressive unit. Runs quiet for a compressor. Runs fast, for a 60 gallon tank. From empty to full shutoff at 135 psi is just over 5 minutes. The only complaint I have is it should have come with a properly sized pigtail attached so you could just plug it in."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, Never lets us down

,
June 13, 2011
By JCRepairServiceINC
from Summerville, SC
"We shopped around the local area for quite sometime and this was the best deal we had found. This has never let us down, we use it daily and the guys in the shop love it. Thanks, Northerntool"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.