Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ingersoll Rand Edge Series Air Ratchet - 3/8in., Model# 170G

Ingersoll Rand Edge Series Air Ratchet - 3/8in., Model# 170G

Item# 1592038
The Ingersoll Rand Edge Series 170G Air Ratchet delivers the power you need to get the job done. At 55 ft.-lbs. of maximum torque and 170 RPM free speed, this tool is the perfect fit for all of your projects. No matter what the job entails, Ingersoll Rand Edge Series tools will help you conquer whatever the day brings. This 3/8in. air ratchet can be used in a broad range of applications where light disassembly and assembly of products within tight spaces is necessary, such as general engine repair, home projects, and light industrial work. They are light-duty tools and should only be used on an intermittent basis. Operating PSI 90, Reversible Yes, Tool Length in. 10.4, Tool Weight lbs. 2.7, Inlet Size in. 1/4, Average Air Consumption CFM 3, Speed - No Load RPM 170, CFM at Load 20, Max. Torque ft.-lbs. 55, Drive in. 3/8, Min. Hose Size in. 3/8, Variable Speed No. TwinPawl Plus head design Heat treated ratchet head ensures a longer life for your tool, protecting your investment 3/8in. drive Ergonomic grip provides better comfort, keeping you on the job and finishing tasks quickly Powerful motor delivers 55 ft.-lbs of max. torque and 170 RPM of free speed
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ingersoll Rand Edge Series Air Ratchet - 3/8in., Model# 170G
Review 1 for Ingersoll Rand Edge Series Air Ratchet - 3/8in., Model# 170G
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tools

,
February 4, 2014
By Chbdcb
from Ga
"Great product. Highly recommend. Have tried several tools like this one but with not good results. This one holds up to its name and reputation"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ingersoll Rand Edge Series Air Ratchet - 3/8in., Model# 170G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand air ratchet

,
February 4, 2014
By Copperhead907
from Georgia
"I bought this air ratchet to speed up the wrench twisting on farm equipment. It definitely speeds things up and makes things easier especially in tight spots. A word of caution: this is an air ratchet, not a torque wrench. If a bolt or nut is really tight, you might have to break it loose with a breaker bar, or if it needs to be really cinched down you might need to do the final tightening with a bigger wrench. Other advantages over an air wrench are that the air ratchet is lighter and gives you more control. The price on this Ingersoll Rand product was fair, because it is a quality product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ingersoll Rand Edge Series Air Ratchet - 3/8in., Model# 170G
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tool. Worth the Purchase

,
January 19, 2014
By Haz369
from Minnesota
""I am an Auto Tech and I use this ratchet everyday. This tool has plenty of power and is a great price. It does the job just fine. If 55 ft/lbs isn't enough then you should probably be using a 1/2 anyway. The only con that I can speak of is the decibel level. In tight quarters it is pretty loud. It's louder than my 1/2" impact! Other than this minor downfall, it has been a great tool and I would definitely recommend this product to a friend. Nothing beats IR."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ingersoll Rand Edge Series Air Ratchet - 3/8in., Model# 170G
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good compromise for 3/8" drive

,
April 23, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"While I find myself using my stubby 3/8" more often, this one is a great backup for mid level torque needs. Spins quick, is surprisingly nimble and easy to control. It doesn't have enough torque to be considered an impact-grade tool, but if you're just bolting/unbolting things and aren't concerned about them being torqued down to specs, this is a handy tool to have. When I redid the motor in my truck, this was my go-to tool for disassembly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ingersoll Rand Edge Series Air Ratchet - 3/8in., Model# 170G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

powerful

,
October 8, 2012
By mindbender
from spruce pine, nc
"Very good mid priced air ratchet. Its hard to beat IR for air tools."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ingersoll Rand Edge Series Air Ratchet - 3/8in., Model# 170G
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke In Half........

,
April 27, 2011
By RangerDaleXp2005
from California
"I had one of these for two years and it was well taken care of and never abused. Just today I pulled it out of the roll away and hooked the air hose up and it broke in half just at where the rubber handle meets the aluminum in my hands. Looking at the break it had less then 1/8th of an inch of aluminum wall material while other none rubber handled air ratchets have at least a 3/16 to a 1/4 inch in the same place. To bad it is out of the 12 month warranty and would not recommend it due to the structural problem….."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ingersoll Rand Edge Series Air Ratchet - 3/8in., Model# 170G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3/8 air ratchet

,
March 14, 2011
By RAWperformance
"works really well,lot of power,smooth operation,great tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ingersoll Rand Edge Series Air Ratchet - 3/8in., Model# 170G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AirPowerhouse

,
August 30, 2010
By DrkMtnDew
from Pocatello, ID
"This is one of the best 'Bang-For-Your-Buck' items that i have ever come across. this ratchet is the best air ratchet i have ever owned when it comes to balance and comfort. feels great in your hand and the body doesn't get freezing cold during extended use. liked it so much, ordered the 1/2'' version. you can't go wrong with this tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ingersoll Rand Edge Series Air Ratchet - 3/8in., Model# 170G
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Torquey little ratchet!

,
June 3, 2010
By FrootLoops
from Nampa, Idaho
"At a pretty respectable 55ft-lbs of torque, this has been one of the most handy tools in the garage.
I've practically removed every nut and bolt under the hood with this baby. Fast and pretty compact so I was able to get it into a few spots that were unreachable with a normal socket (and still be able to loosen/tighten it).
One thing though, it's pretty loud at about 100 db."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ingersoll Rand Edge Series Air Ratchet - 3/8in., Model# 170G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellence in air tools

,
June 1, 2010
By CLEVE
from AUBREY TEXAS
"I BOUGHT ONE OF THESE AIR RACHETS SIX YEARS AGO AND IT HAS BEEN PUT THROUGH THE MILL. IT STILL WORKS AS GOOD TODAY AS THE DAY I FIRST GOT IT. WHEN YOU HAVE MACHINERY THAT HAS A SICKLE BLADE THAT IS TEN FEET LONG AND HAS FIFTY TO SIXTY CUTTING BLADES AND EACH BLADE HAS TWO BOLTS IT WOULD TAKE SOME TIME TO CHANGE ONE OUT. WITH THIS TOOL I COULD CHANGE THE COMPLETE SICKLE IN ABOUT TEN MINUTES. THIS WAS A BLESSING WHEN YOU'RE CUTTING HAY AND THE SICKLE LOSES SOME TEETH AND YOU HAVE TO BE READY TO START AGAIN IN AS LITTLE TIME AS POSSIBLE
THIS WAS A GOD SEND FOR ME. IT CU MY DOWN TIME EIGHTY-FIVE PERCENT. THANKS FOR THIS INVITATION....................CLEVE.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ingersoll Rand Edge Series Air Ratchet - 3/8in., Model# 170G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Power, and reliability

,
November 2, 2009
By jmcarlic
from Iowa
"I've only had it for a while, but I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a dependable, powerful air ratchet. It has a good solid feel and is well built."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.