Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5

FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5

Item# 1592047
Designed for the professional, single-stage air compressors are ideal for most anyone, from the do-it-yourselfer to the professional air compressor user. Maximum air power and more delivered air CFM providing the power to do the job right and in less time. Durable cast iron construction with precision engineered quality components. Warranty on the pump extends to 2 years with the use of appropriate maintenance kit see below. Pump Cast iron, oil-lubricated, Volts 230, Portable or Stationary Stationary, Drive Belt, Air Outlet Size in. 1/2, Amps 22.5, Duty Cycle 100, Tank Type Vertical, Drain System Manual, Stage Single, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 x 30 x 71, CFM at 90 PSI 18.1, Motor Phases Single, HP 5, Air Tank Size gal. 60, Max. PSI 135. Motor 5.0 HP/11.5 Peak HP - single phase motor 100 cast iron cylinder Belt guard shields flywheel and motor sheave 100 continuous duty Tank includes drain, relief and discharge valves Meets OSHA standards Drain System Manual Drain Maintenance Kit 15920088 sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.307 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (88 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
9
75 of 87(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
February 4, 2014
By Rob514804
from New York
"Great product. Well made professional. Plenty of reserve to run tools for a long time"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

IR Air Compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By gofig
from Colorado
"Good overall compressor; reliability good; performance great; powers two plasma cutters for welding shop with no issues."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

well worth the money

,
February 4, 2014
By jsort
from woodbury MN
"I was looking for a good air compressor to replace my sad excuse electric oil less air compressor. Final after many months of looking I ended up with this one. After mounting and plumbing the compressor ran like a champ. Fills up very quick. Would rexommemd to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Same story as others

,
January 16, 2014
By willysnowman1
from SF, CA
"I bought this compressor following the good reviews. I bought the oil for extended warranty. I treated it like a baby.
The pump heats up and the compressor will not get past 100 psi. It is dying fast. This is junk.
Not worth the money! IR is no longer a trusted name."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

IR air compressor SS5L5

,
September 17, 2013
By davenothappy
from Rock Hill, SC
"I bought this air compressor thinking it would be a quality product based on IR reputation. I used it approximately 40 hours over a period of 2.5 years, changed the oil 3 times using IR oil. Compressor started to freeze up. It would run after cooling down, but only for a few minutes. IR claims it wasn't used properly. Rubbish, it's defective, many other posts say the same thing. If you buy one, use it to the max during the first year, otherwise you are wasting your money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
11out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great compressor

,
September 17, 2013
By Rob33
from TX
"This is a great inexpensive compressor either for home or work. At home, it can handle anything you need to do and will always be ready. At work, we use them all over the plant. They are a good size and easy to handle."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amaizing

,
August 3, 2013
By savely
from New York, NY
"Excelent item , keep it up .One more query its took some litlle defect ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-8points
2out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for home use, not professional use

,
June 28, 2013
By Vicbuilder
from Iowa
"Bought the unit in Feb 2011 for use in my small motorcycle shop.  Worked flawlessly for 2.5 years until I hired a second guy, and business doubled.  We overheated it once and the electric motor protected itself (cooled off) and continued to work to work for another couple of months after that.  Overheated it again and the motor didn't protect itself.  New motor is 80% of the cost of a whole new replacement compressor.   So, I think it makes a good unit for light mechanical work, but keep it in a well vented area. I don't think this is a good compressor for even small commercial use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

It lasted past the warranty

,
June 28, 2013
By 2madmechanic
from Matthews, NC
"The unit is 16 months old and wont build more than 60 psi. And it takes a long time to get to that point.
The electric motor just started making some noise and the compressor sight glass shows the oil bubbling up. But the unit has run some time before this starts.
Northern service is trying to help me find someone to look at it. I guess I expected this to last a lot longer than it has. It may be something that is common to these compressors and won't be very expensive to fix.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big Disappointment

,
April 3, 2013
By CenTexan2
from Spicewood, Texas
"I've owned several compressors over the last 25 years and was always able to upgrade before they broke. That streak is over. This compressor stopped working after about 40 hours operating time and about 30 days out of warrantee. (I had purchased it on sale and installation was delayed). I was also disappointed with Ingersol Rand's service. I believe that it's important that you know that they are the only people who can perform warrantee work before you buy one and their price estimate for non warrantee work seemed very high."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Motor Failed after less than 200 hours of use.

,
January 29, 2013
By Hobbist1978
from Clarksville, TN
"I purchased the 5HP - 60 Gallon IR compressor as my first "big" shop purchase. I used the recommended synthetic oil and also purchased the start up kit. After less than 200 hrs of use (I only use it for random projects, here and there) the motor has failed and because I am outside of the manufacturers 1 yr warranty, it is looking like it will cost nearly half of what I paid for it to get another motor. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. By all the extended warranty that you can afford if you foolishly decide to get an IR compressor. Also, do a quick online search for this compressor and you will find a lot of similar stories. I thought that Ingersoll Rand was a symbol of quality but apparently that has changed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great air compressor

,
December 21, 2012
By Bob1969
from Mansfield Ohio
"This is one great compressor it keeps up with grinders sanders and the best part is it keeps up with my hvlp guns I have a devilbiss GTI hvlp gun and it is a cfm hog and this air compressor does just fine it does not even get hot. For a single stage unit I love it at 40 psi it puts out around 21 scfm some two stage units don't do that. And for shipping the trucking company was great it was dayton freight and the guy put the compressor on his cart and set it right at my door now that is service, and the great deal from Northen tool you can not beat the price. Now the fun starts restoring my 1969 RS Z/28 Camaro, Thanks Northern Tool & Ingersoll Rand for a great Product Bob."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best bang for the buck in air compressors

,
October 15, 2012
By Anonymous
from Rochester, MN
"I researched many air compressors before I chose this one based on performance versus price. My first impression was not good since it arrived with multiple broken pieces. If you can get one without damage - This model works GREAT! It runs with less noise than expected, and definetly puts out the volume of air needed to maintain consistent air pressure for high volume tools. The only negative I can see is the 135psi max pressure if you prefer more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

pump no good

,
September 9, 2012
By oldfrt84
from South Carolina
"Bought this unit to replace a 22 yr old Campbell Hausfield that just wasn't strong enough. Bought the start up kit to extend the warranty from 1 yr to 2. Surprise! The pump died at exactly 3 yrs! Knocking and tripping the overload breaker. I thought I'd bought a cadillac but got a yugo! I took great care of it because I was so proud of it. Didn't use it that much either as my father-in-law needed a lot of care due to cancer. Replacement pump is very expensive. My advice: STAY AWAY FROM INGERSOLL RAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

three years and still going strong

,
August 20, 2012
By apr55
from Lafayette, IN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have had this compressor for going on 4yrs, it has done every thing I've needed. So far the off frame restoration of a truck along with the repair of three other trucks. have ground, and cut all types of steel with it. Have never had a problem with it. You do need to set anchors I drilled and they are getting lose. I'm going to cut out a 2'x2' square and put in 1/2" anchor bolts"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersol Rand

,
August 14, 2012
By DennisMartch
from Milwaukee
"Perfect Size, Power & Price !!
Would Purchase Again Professional Equiptment for the home and a Great Price I think mine will be a lifetime unit
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good when it works - not for heavy duty

,
March 4, 2012
By MacJblaster1
from Upstate NY
"I’ve had this unit for about 2 ½ years now. It’s seen pretty light to medium use. Once in a while I’ll use it to bead/soda blast and that really puts it through a workout. That being said I’ve never had to wait for the unit to catch up and it delivers continuous high pressure. It has occasionally gotten pretty warm and I ended up getting a cheap air cooler/dryer so I could blast and paint without moisture and hot air issues.
Recently it stopped building pressure and after pulling the head off I noticed that the gasket had blown between the cylinders. It’s a pretty easy fix but I’ll have to wait for the new gasket to arrive and when you need your compressor it’s a hassle. I may order a couple of reserve gaskets as I have a feeling this may happen again. So while I like this compressor I’m not sure I’d get it again due to reliability issues that seem be pretty prevalent with these. It does push a lot of air and maybe that’s an inherent problem for larger single stage compressors. If I had it to do over again I’d probably opt for the Northstar 2 stage, 80 gallon unit sold at NT for not a lot more money. If this pump does ever go bad I’ll probably switch it out for the Northstar 2 stage 15.9 cfm pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great compressor at a great price

,
February 9, 2012
By mvintx
from Beattie, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Before buying this unit, I read all the reviews on Northern Tool's website. Reviews, both good and bad, really help in making the decision whether to buy or not so thanks to everyone who take the time to write meaningful reviews.
When it came time to replace my old compressor, I initially looked at the Ingersoll Rand (IR) two-stage Type 30 compressor. It makes almost 15 CFM at 175 psi but I don't really need that much capability so I decided to get it's single-stage brother, the SS5L. It makes 18 CFM at 90 psi and since all of my air tools use much less than 18 CFM, the single-stage unit should be fine.
While the compressor was still attached to the pallet, the first thing I did was to remove the stock drain valve and install a galvanized 90, a five-inch nipple and a brass ball valve. It sticks out about even with the side of the unit and makes it much easier to drain the tank than using that little bitty screw-type valve.
I used 1/2" bolts and anchors (the manual says you can use 3/8"), along with some 1" thick pieces of conveyor belt for an insulator. The conveyor belt material is a very substantial piece of rubber with several layers of cord like you'd find on a tire. I probably didn't need anything that tough but since I had it, I was determined to use it. I found the material at a rubber supply company in Haltom City, TX. A one-inch hole saw chucked in a drill press was used to drill holes through the rubber material for the anchor bolts. Now it was time to locate and drill the anchor holes. Concrete bits have a tendency to wander so I drilled each of the anchor holes through the compressor feet. Tracing around each of the three legs with a pencil helped me make sure the compressor was not moving while the drilling was going on. Blow the loose material out of the holes and install the anchors per the instructions. I used Red Head anchors.
The electrical hookup was easy. I ran metal clad 10-2 wire from a 30 amp breaker in the main panel to a junction box near the compressor. The 10-2 wire has three insulated conductors so don't spend the extra $$$ on 10-3. Then I used a length of rubber coated 10-3 from the j-box, and crimped on some insulated spade terminals to make the connection to the pressure switch on the compressor.
There is no regulator on the compressor so I bought a 1/2" IR ARO regulator. You can see in the pic that I changed the position of the service valve by adding a galvanized 90 and 3" nipple. That keeps all the plumbing closer to the tank and less likely to be hit by my tractor when I go in and out of the shop.
After the 30 minute startup period, the oil level dropped about a quarter of an inch in the sight glass so I added enough to bring it to almost full. The manual says to fill it to the top of the sight glass. Make sure you use the synthetic oil if you want a 100% continuous duty cycle. Using petroleum oils will give you only a 60% duty cycle (36 minutes out of 60). Using a Sharpie or other marker, write the date you started the unit on the side of the air tank so you'll have an idea of when to change the oil."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works hard

,
January 16, 2012
By WyomingHouseHandywife
from Wyoming
"Use this for everything from airing up the bicycle tires to operating the heaviest air tools for our steel business. Have not had any issues with maintenance, useage or compatibility."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor - 5 HP, 18.1 CFM @ 90 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS5L5
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy This Compressor

,
December 19, 2011
By CaptDave11
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida
"Don't let the name brand, product description or price fool you. This item is junk and you should avoid it at all costs, unless of course you actually like "down time" and talking to the Ingersol Rand Customer Service folks so much that you develop a first-name basis with them.
To begin with, the product description lists this unit as a continuous duty compressor. That is "IF" you buy the manufacturer's start-up kit and use the manufacturer's All Season Select (synthetic) Lubricant.
This we did, and within three months of light duty driving a die grinder or a paint spray gun (and never at the same time), a hole developed in one of the SS5L compressor pump's two pistons rendering the unit useless, except as a very loud "whistle" which is what it turned into as compressed air escaped through the crankcase breather.
A call to the Ingersol Rand Customer Service 800 number displayed on the unit eventually connected us with a service rep and two days later a repairman showed up at our location who replaced the faulty piston.
Fearing metal in the crankcase and as a precaution, when the repairman left, I changed the oil.
With the piston replaced (and the oil changed), the compressor operated "as advertised" in light duty use for approximately two months at which time we moved our shop to another location that had a foreign made "el cheapo" compressor (painted red) already installed in it as the previous tenant merely left it behind, presumably as the cost of moving it would be more than replacing it with a new unit (also painted red).
A year later we moved to yet another location that did not have a compressor installed, whereupon I changed the oil (again) and hooked up this unit only to discover that at 110 PSI the compressor pump would start freezing up causing the whole unit to start bucking and hopping around the shop floor.
As entertaining as that was, and wIth the unit now out of warranty we purchased a brand new SS5L compressor pump from the local Ingersol Rand distributor, buying the recommended start-up kit to allow continuous duty and extend the warranty to two years.
With this new pump installed, the compressor ran for two weeks at which time this "replacement" brand new SS5L compressor pump seized up while driving a die grinder.
Are you kidding me? Again?
During the call to the Ingersol Rand Service Rep at their 800 number, I discovered that Ingersol Rand considers "continuous duty" to mean five to six starts per hour, and the occasional use of a die grinder or a paint gun would require a heavier duty compressor.
In response to the dismal performance of the SS5L compressor pumps and the conversation I had with the Ingersol Rand Service Rep I purchased a heavier duty Ingersol Rand compressor that cost four times what this unit cost and one that uses the venerable Type 30 pump. That was two weeks ago and so far this new compressor is handling the task.
If size matters and you have a twelve foot long by eight foot high roll around tool box and a full set of the latest and greatest tools to change to oil on your wife's new car, and you merely want to occasionally put air in her tires, then this machine's for you. But as a word of caution, whatever you do, don't hook up any air tools!
If you work for a living and must depend on a compressor - run from this turkey!
And if all this does't discourage you, realize that you'll have to mount it on two 4X4 (pressure treated) blocks to be able to reach the tank's purge valve strategically located on the bottom of the tank and inexcessible to anyone old enough to drive a car."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.