Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9

FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9

Item# 1592073
Designed for professionals and serious do-it-yourselfers, the versatile Garage Mate is ideal for the home, shop or jobsite. Delivering maximum air, the Garage Mate can power impact guns, ratchets, grinders, drills, nailers, paint sprayers, sanders and more. CFM at 90 PSI 5.2, Portable or Stationary Portable, Pump Cast iron, Stage Single, Tank Type Vertical, Max. PSI 135, Air Outlet Size in. 3/8, Air Tank Size gal. 20, Dimensions L x W x H in. 22 x 23 x 43, Drain System Manual, HP 2, Amps 16, Drive Belt, Motor Phases Single, Volts 115, CFM at 135 PSI 4.6, Duty Cycle 100. Features a cast-iron, oil-lubricated pump for solid, reliable performance Quiet operation @ 75-80dB Equipped with a pressure switch, pressure gauge, regulator, safety valve, and six-foot power cord Meets OSHA standards
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (69 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
67 of 69(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

garage mate compressor

,
August 22, 2014
By skully7
from west tawakoni tx
"not as good as review cant run a die grinder takes to long to recover quiet but slow my old speed air 1 1/2 h.p. smoked this thing should have just fixed the old one this might be ok for blowing off parts but cant run air tools very good not good should have checked out others before buying"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good!

,
August 10, 2014
By airhog
from Orange County, California
"It was so quiet compared to my old 220V craftsman 60 gal air compressor. I don't have to wear ear muffs around this compressor. I am satisfied so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good after fixing few small problems

,
June 30, 2014
By transmissionguy
from missouri
"This compressor is great, it is quiet and has a decent cfm rating for a compressor of its size. You can never go wrong with an ingresoll rand. I was however disappointed when I unboxed it because the ball valve they use as a condensate drain leaked and the nut that held the ball valve lever on was stripped from the factory. I replaced the valve and have had zero complaints about the unit. I use it every day heavily. The pump and motor especially look like they will last many years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with this compressor

,
June 18, 2014
By FixingStuffAllTheTime
from Racine, WI
"This 2 HP air compressor has a good size tank for all my shop activities. The compressor charges the tank to ~130 psi, and you set an on-unit regulator to your desired output psi. I was quite surprised at how quiet the unit is compared to my old, but much smaller 1 hp compressor. Additionally, I am very pleased with the air filters on this unit. I have done rebuilds on older air compressors that had inferior air filters, and I can tell you that lots of junk can get into the piston head area and work its way past the rings when you don't have good air filters. So I was really pleased to see a good design for air filters for the IR unit. I found I needed to buy additional all weather compressor oil right away though because the container that came with the unit was shy of what was needed by about 2 ounces. I wish that Northern Tool had a kit for this unit that included the oil and air filters, but I could not find a kit for it. Proper assembly is very easy and I really like the drain petcock on the bottom of the tank. Well designed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersol Air Compressor

,
June 9, 2014
By WOODY12AXF
from Fitzgerald, GA
"Great piece of equipment to add to my shop and performs flawlessly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garage Mate air compressor

,
June 1, 2014
By JW870
from IN
"runs like a champ, powers IR's meanest 1/2" impact without breaking a sweat. Quieter than I expected, not quiet, just quieter. This is basically a scaled down version of IR's 60gal. 5hp compressor. I'm sure it will serve me well for many years to come."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garage Mate

,
April 27, 2014
By BF99
from Spring, TX
"I have had this compressor for about a week now and have no complaints. I have used it with a die grinder, wrench and an impact. The tank will fill from 0 to 135 psi in 3:33. I was able to remove lug nuts on two tires before the compressor kicked on, with a 500 lb 1/2 impact."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable power

,
February 5, 2014
By Greatpieeater
from Wv
"Nice little air compressor great for the garage and around the house.good for everything from pumping up the kids basketballs to painting around the house.works great for airing up tires and easy to transport in your pickup!
The product works great!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent compressor

,
February 1, 2014
By Jsherman
from Aurora, Mo.
"Have had my unit for 2 years and use it a lot. It sits in attached garage, just outside door. When it runs you can barely hear it in house, Teed off unit and ran air to shop behind garage W/O any problem. It does not leak down while unused. The tank drain extends out to the side. It has a small ball valve that makes draining moisture very simple. Over all the unit is very compact and not intrusive."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

handyman/farmowner

,
September 17, 2013
By JEEPMAN1
from OHIO
"great product,works well running many air tools with no problems.easy to move to other locations, shipping was fast and priced good for the quality product from i/r."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor

,
December 21, 2012
By ceyko
from Van Alstyne, TX
"I chose this due to the name brand and hoping this compressor, with maintenance runs 20+ years. Basically I really enjoy it. It's not super quiet, but it's certainly louder and less harsh of a noise compared to the oil-less compressors.
It does everything I need. Everything from cutoff tools, air chisels to just standard blow guns. Do not get me wrong, it DOES need to refill fairly often - but for the standard handyman it works fine.
I did buy an expansion tank and once I get that hooked up properly - I will try to update this review. It is a 20 gallon tank, which is no concern for the compressor since it does have a 100% duty cycle.
Otherwise, this compressor seems extremely well put together. There are little, but not overly exciting differences in quality that I noticed between this one and the standard 110 compressors you see. Improvements, but just little things that make you feel better about paying the extra money. :)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
21out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor

,
October 18, 2012
By SprayerGuy
from Hunterdon County, New Jersey
"I use this compressor in my garage/shop for everything from airing tires to running air tools and nail guns. The ability to move the unit around my 1800 ft shop is excellent. When I purchased the unit the shroud around the belt system was bent in shipping. I removed it and contacted Northern Tool. Within five days I had a replacement shroud for the unit. Excellent experience. I love the compressor. I have a friend who purchased a similar style "Big Name Retailer" compressor, not only has it failed, he's having a hard time getting the retailer to make good on it. If you're contemplating this unit buy it, you wont be disapointed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
24out of 39found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built like a tank.

,
August 22, 2012
By swak1001
from concord, MA
"I previously owned a box store Oil-free loud as heck compressor. This thing is a dream in comparison. Quiet and efficient - it does not fill every other minute, even when using air guns. Very sturdy construction. Should have bought this one sooner! It's heavy and comes shipped on a pallet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
16out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor P1.5IU-

,
August 13, 2012
By SCNebraska
from South Central Nebraska
"Could have purchased different brand for less but trust the Ingersoll Rand name. Glad I waited as the unit was on back order.
15 Minutes and she was purring like a kitten. Heavy power cord, oil supplied and good instructions. Like that it arrived with an air coupling already mounted.
Delighted with the unit in every way. Would definately recommend to anyone. Great value for the price. Not a piece of junk or cheap in any way."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garage Mate

,
May 8, 2012
By volkster
from San Diego, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a very good air compressor for the money. Runs continuously without issues. I run impacts, air hammer, mostly automotive types of tasks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best tool in my shop

,
January 17, 2012
By Lmacson11
from Charleston, SC
"The garage mate is versatile. I use it with nailguns, paint sprayers, airtools, etc. I have yet to find a job around the house and in the shop that is too much for this guy to handle. I have had mine for 3 years and it has performed without so much as a hiccup. I use it on an almost daily basis. It requires very little maintenance as I change the oil annually and it keeps on churning out compressed air."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

air compressor

,
January 16, 2012
By driftbuster1
from Gardiner, Montana
"this is a very good compressor. i've had it for a few years now and have had no problems at all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeding my expectations

,
January 9, 2012
By det398
from Hollywood, MD
"I purchased this air compressor several months ago. It is exceeding my expectations. I have not challenged it yet. I have run impact wrenches with ease. The only time it cycles on is when I am using blow gun to clean. Very efficient."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best compressor I have ever owned!

,
October 17, 2011
By 64droptop
from Santa Rosa, Ca
"I have owned several compressors in the past including Craftman, Husky, and Porter-cable. The first thing that blows these other brands away (comparable stats.) is how quiet this unit is. I was afraid to run the other units at times so that I would'nt bother the neighbors. Second, is the ease of mobility. Lastly, the others went bad after a short period of time (wouldn't hold air so continuous running.). I am a home mechanic and I use this unit almost every day."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand Compressor Model P1.5IU-A9

,
October 10, 2011
By Dave28
from Great Bend, PA
"Our shop air compressor failed & we needed one to replace it in a hurry. We needed a compressor that would handle air tools, but our budget wouldn't allow a big purchase. We decided on the Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate & couldn't be happier. It works much better than we anticipated, and it runs very quiet. I would recommend this compressor to anyone who is looking for great performance at a budget price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.