Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"

"FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"

Item# 1592073
"Designed for professionals and serious do-it-yourselfers, the versatile Garage Mate is ideal for the home, shop or jobsite. Delivering maximum air, the Garage Mate can power impact guns, ratchets, grinders, drills, nailers, paint sprayers, sanders and more. Air Tank Size gal. 20, Dimensions L x W x H in. 22 x 23 x 43, Drain System Manual, Tank Type Vertical, Portable or Stationary Portable, Duty Cycle 100, Stage Single, Motor Phases Single, CFM at 90 PSI 5.2, CFM at 135 PSI 4.6, Max. PSI 135, Pump Cast iron, Volts 115, Air Outlet Size in. 3/8, HP 2, Amps 16, Drive Belt. Features a cast-iron, oil-lubricated pump for solid, reliable performance Quiet operation @ 75-80dB Equipped with a pressure switch, pressure gauge, regulator, safety valve, and six-foot power cord Meets OSHA standards"
Average Customer Rating:
4.805 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (82 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
79 of 82(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really awesome compressor for home/semi-pro

,
July 14, 2015
By jrobeq2
from Chicago, IL
" Replaced a dewalt compressor with this unit.
This unit is about 1/2 as loud as the dewalt and doesn't have the same issues keeping up with impact gun that my old unit did.
Only thing keeping it back from a 5-star rating is the relatively low max pressure range and low CFM... would be nice to have a 110v unit that gets to 6 CFM or more.
My suspicion is that this units CFM rating is well below its actual output, but I have no way to test. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Compressor I've Owned

,
July 10, 2015
By GarageGuru
from Crestview FL
" No leakdown, quiet compared to big store brands. Keeps up with all my air tool needs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet

,
June 17, 2015
By nigrrigr
from Glen Allen, Va
" The quietest air compressor I have ever heard. It doesn't take much floor space, doesn't leak down. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and Quite !!

,
June 4, 2015
By Binor
from Cosby,TN
" Unit was shipped in about 4 days. Trucking company called before delivery. (nice touch) Easy to put together about 5mins. Had to call Ingersoll Rand the pump would not reach max pressure. 5min phone call , they were well informed and curtious. The fix was to turn one screw about half and now pump reaches full pressure, problem solved. Tank only loses about 5 or 10 psi a week. This is an excellant home or shop compressor. Buy it, it's great !! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

motor trips breaker

,
March 8, 2015
By larryluke
from houston
" I cannot seem to keep the breaker (on the motor) from popping, It is Hooked to an outlet that is fed by 10 gauge wire. It would be better if this motor could be rewired to 240 volts. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its a good air compressor for the price.

,
March 1, 2015
By BBow
from Northwest AR
" Fairly straight forward assembly, you put the wheels & the handle on, pour the included bottle of oil into the compressor, plug it in, & . Unit runs much quieter than an oilless compressor does. The transport handle makes a convenient place to wrap your air hose around for storage. The only thing I have found that i do not like is the drain port for the tank is not at the lowest point of the tank, but is located an inch or two above that point. Which means having to lean the whole compressor over if you want to get all the condensed water out of the bottom of the tank. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

IR compressor

,
February 24, 2015
By verenri
from Lake Zurich IL
" This compressor is the best option if your looking for a pretty decent air supply for tools and the need for less noise is important. My compressor is in the basement and I didn't want something that made a racket. This one is pretty quiet.
I needed a min. of 5 cfm at 90 psi since I do run air tools. I could have gotten a larger more powerful one but the this one does the job and doesn't rattle the house.
Well made, delivery was awesome,and the price was right. Northern tool has won me over! I appreciate their good service and great selection. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoil Garage Air Compressor

,
February 14, 2015
By DC9987
from California
" It is very well made USA product and quiet
Assembly was easy, just attach the wheels and add the oil that is included in the box.
Delivery was accurate
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
February 10, 2015
By KEI40
from CT
" This compressor is a great 110v unit. Installed wheels and added the oil that came packaged with unit and plugged it in. Using the unit in my garage at home powering air tools etc and works great! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I/R Garage Mate Compressor

,
January 26, 2015
By NORM906
from LANSE, MI
" The unit arrived very well packaged, and after doing the usual check and adding lube, it was running nice and quiet, just as advertised. Nice addition to my shop. For anyone who wants a good quality portable compressor to run simple air tools, 1/2 impacts, cutoff wheels, etc, this is a good choice. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
January 26, 2015
By KRFred
from Leonardtown, Maryland
" Very happy with Northern Tool customer service. Ordered and received air compressor via delivery truck. Everything worked like a charm. I was able to remove item and set-up by myself. Been a Month now and compressor works great. It has a quiet operating system which is great in my 2-car garage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for heavy use, real support

,
December 22, 2014
By Super7
from Texas
" Bought one of these for home use in car restoration. Liked it so much I bought one for work. At work it is used heavy 8 to 9 hours per day and runs a lot for our automated machine tool support. Now for the good part you can't get with a no name brand. The output started to lag so I called Ingersol. An Ingersol Rand truck pulled up to the shop the next morning. The Ingersol guy serviced it and replaced the motor, and was on his way in less than an hour. No charge, no fuss, great service and its been working great ever since. USA company is the only way to go. These guys stand by their product. You can't get that with an offshore company. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

IR compressor

,
September 21, 2014
By Doright
from Gillette, WY
" Container came to residence by freight company. Free shipping was awesome! Although compressor had considerable weight it was simple to unpack. Attached wheels, air filters, added oil and it was ready to use. Plan use around the residence specifically to clear sprinkler lines in the fall. Also will use for air tools in the garage. Really liked the quality and the detail. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

garage mate compressor

,
August 22, 2014
By skully7
from west tawakoni tx
" not as good as review cant run a die grinder takes to long to recover quiet but slow my old speed air 1 1/2 h.p. smoked this thing should have just fixed the old one this might be ok for blowing off parts but cant run air tools very good not good should have checked out others before buying "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
21out of 41found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good!

,
August 10, 2014
By airhog
from Orange County, California
" It was so quiet compared to my old 220V craftsman 60 gal air compressor. I don't have to wear ear muffs around this compressor. I am satisfied so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good after fixing few small problems

,
June 30, 2014
By transmissionguy
from missouri
" This compressor is great, it is quiet and has a decent cfm rating for a compressor of its size. You can never go wrong with an ingresoll rand. I was however disappointed when I unboxed it because the ball valve they use as a condensate drain leaked and the nut that held the ball valve lever on was stripped from the factory. I replaced the valve and have had zero complaints about the unit. I use it every day heavily. The pump and motor especially look like they will last many years. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with this compressor

,
June 18, 2014
By FixingStuffAllTheTime
from Racine, WI
" This 2 HP air compressor has a good size tank for all my shop activities. The compressor charges the tank to ~130 psi, and you set an on-unit regulator to your desired output psi. I was quite surprised at how quiet the unit is compared to my old, but much smaller 1 hp compressor. Additionally, I am very pleased with the air filters on this unit. I have done rebuilds on older air compressors that had inferior air filters, and I can tell you that lots of junk can get into the piston head area and work its way past the rings when you don't have good air filters. So I was really pleased to see a good design for air filters for the IR unit. I found I needed to buy additional all weather compressor oil right away though because the container that came with the unit was shy of what was needed by about 2 ounces. I wish that Northern Tool had a kit for this unit that included the oil and air filters, but I could not find a kit for it. Proper assembly is very easy and I really like the drain petcock on the bottom of the tank. Well designed. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersol Air Compressor

,
June 9, 2014
By WOODY12AXF
from Fitzgerald, GA
" Great piece of equipment to add to my shop and performs flawlessly. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garage Mate air compressor

,
June 1, 2014
By JW870
from IN
" runs like a champ, powers IR's meanest 1/2" impact without breaking a sweat. Quieter than I expected, not quiet, just quieter. This is basically a scaled down version of IR's 60gal. 5hp compressor. I'm sure it will serve me well for many years to come. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garage Mate

,
April 27, 2014
By BF99
from Spring, TX
" I have had this compressor for about a week now and have no complaints. I have used it with a die grinder, wrench and an impact. The tank will fill from 0 to 135 psi in 3:33. I was able to remove lug nuts on two tires before the compressor kicked on, with a 500 lb 1/2 impact. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.