Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9

FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9

Item# 1592073
Designed for professionals and serious do-it-yourselfers, the versatile Garage Mate is ideal for the home, shop or jobsite. Delivering maximum air, the Garage Mate can power impact guns, ratchets, grinders, drills, nailers, paint sprayers, sanders and more. Drain System Manual, Volts 115, Air Outlet Size in. 3/8, Air Tank Size gal. 20, Drive Belt, Motor Phases Single, Portable or Stationary Portable, Pump Cast iron, Dimensions L x W x H in. 22 x 23 x 43, Tank Type Vertical, Amps 16, CFM at 90 PSI 5.2, HP 2, Stage Single, Max. PSI 135. Features a cast-iron, oil-lubricated pump for solid, reliable performance Quiet operation @ 75-80dB Equipped with a pressure switch, pressure gauge, regulator, safety valve, and six-foot power cord Meets OSHA standards
Average Customer Rating:
4.855 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (62 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
61 of 62(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable power

,
February 5, 2014
By Greatpieeater
from Wv
"Nice little air compressor great for the garage and around the house.good for everything from pumping up the kids basketballs to painting around the house.works great for airing up tires and easy to transport in your pickup!
The product works great!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent compressor

,
February 1, 2014
By Jsherman
from Aurora, Mo.
"Have had my unit for 2 years and use it a lot. It sits in attached garage, just outside door. When it runs you can barely hear it in house, Teed off unit and ran air to shop behind garage W/O any problem. It does not leak down while unused. The tank drain extends out to the side. It has a small ball valve that makes draining moisture very simple. Over all the unit is very compact and not intrusive."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

handyman/farmowner

,
September 17, 2013
By JEEPMAN1
from OHIO
"great product,works well running many air tools with no problems.easy to move to other locations, shipping was fast and priced good for the quality product from i/r."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor

,
December 21, 2012
By ceyko
from Van Alstyne, TX
"I chose this due to the name brand and hoping this compressor, with maintenance runs 20+ years. Basically I really enjoy it. It's not super quiet, but it's certainly louder and less harsh of a noise compared to the oil-less compressors.
It does everything I need. Everything from cutoff tools, air chisels to just standard blow guns. Do not get me wrong, it DOES need to refill fairly often - but for the standard handyman it works fine.
I did buy an expansion tank and once I get that hooked up properly - I will try to update this review. It is a 20 gallon tank, which is no concern for the compressor since it does have a 100% duty cycle.
Otherwise, this compressor seems extremely well put together. There are little, but not overly exciting differences in quality that I noticed between this one and the standard 110 compressors you see. Improvements, but just little things that make you feel better about paying the extra money. :)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
17out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor

,
October 18, 2012
By SprayerGuy
from Hunterdon County, New Jersey
"I use this compressor in my garage/shop for everything from airing tires to running air tools and nail guns. The ability to move the unit around my 1800 ft shop is excellent. When I purchased the unit the shroud around the belt system was bent in shipping. I removed it and contacted Northern Tool. Within five days I had a replacement shroud for the unit. Excellent experience. I love the compressor. I have a friend who purchased a similar style "Big Name Retailer" compressor, not only has it failed, he's having a hard time getting the retailer to make good on it. If you're contemplating this unit buy it, you wont be disapointed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
21out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built like a tank.

,
August 22, 2012
By swak1001
from concord, MA
"I previously owned a box store Oil-free loud as heck compressor. This thing is a dream in comparison. Quiet and efficient - it does not fill every other minute, even when using air guns. Very sturdy construction. Should have bought this one sooner! It's heavy and comes shipped on a pallet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
15out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor P1.5IU-

,
August 13, 2012
By SCNebraska
from South Central Nebraska
"Could have purchased different brand for less but trust the Ingersoll Rand name. Glad I waited as the unit was on back order.
15 Minutes and she was purring like a kitten. Heavy power cord, oil supplied and good instructions. Like that it arrived with an air coupling already mounted.
Delighted with the unit in every way. Would definately recommend to anyone. Great value for the price. Not a piece of junk or cheap in any way."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garage Mate

,
May 8, 2012
By volkster
from San Diego, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a very good air compressor for the money. Runs continuously without issues. I run impacts, air hammer, mostly automotive types of tasks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best tool in my shop

,
January 17, 2012
By Lmacson11
from Charleston, SC
"The garage mate is versatile. I use it with nailguns, paint sprayers, airtools, etc. I have yet to find a job around the house and in the shop that is too much for this guy to handle. I have had mine for 3 years and it has performed without so much as a hiccup. I use it on an almost daily basis. It requires very little maintenance as I change the oil annually and it keeps on churning out compressed air."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

air compressor

,
January 16, 2012
By driftbuster1
from Gardiner, Montana
"this is a very good compressor. i've had it for a few years now and have had no problems at all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeding my expectations

,
January 9, 2012
By det398
from Hollywood, MD
"I purchased this air compressor several months ago. It is exceeding my expectations. I have not challenged it yet. I have run impact wrenches with ease. The only time it cycles on is when I am using blow gun to clean. Very efficient."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best compressor I have ever owned!

,
October 17, 2011
By 64droptop
from Santa Rosa, Ca
"I have owned several compressors in the past including Craftman, Husky, and Porter-cable. The first thing that blows these other brands away (comparable stats.) is how quiet this unit is. I was afraid to run the other units at times so that I would'nt bother the neighbors. Second, is the ease of mobility. Lastly, the others went bad after a short period of time (wouldn't hold air so continuous running.). I am a home mechanic and I use this unit almost every day."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand Compressor Model P1.5IU-A9

,
October 10, 2011
By Dave28
from Great Bend, PA
"Our shop air compressor failed & we needed one to replace it in a hurry. We needed a compressor that would handle air tools, but our budget wouldn't allow a big purchase. We decided on the Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate & couldn't be happier. It works much better than we anticipated, and it runs very quiet. I would recommend this compressor to anyone who is looking for great performance at a budget price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor/ Excellent Value

,
October 7, 2011
By hvac22
from Wilson, NC
"Bought this compressor a couple weeks ago after many months of reseach and comparisions. Bought in Raleigh, NC store after manager gave great advise and help with compressor. I love the compressor, it is very quit and handles everything I need it for. Handles my impact tools easily. Meets and exceeds all my needs and a great value. Store employees very helpful and polite, now my favorite place to shop. Can't beat the extended warranty either!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate

,
June 13, 2011
By kerns
from Fresno. Ca
"I use the compressor with pneumatic tools related to auto maintenance and also powering equipment for house repairs. The compressor is capable of running multiple nail guns, sanders, and impact wrenches. It is quieter than previous units I have owned. One person can easily move the compressor around on level surfaces, however it is a little heavy for one person to place in a vehicle. I am extremely satisfied with its performance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great quality product for your home

,
June 13, 2011
By ASEMasterTech
from San Jose CA
"I used this compressor at home to run a 1/2" Ingersoll Rand impact gun and other IR air tools. It worked great for everything I needed it for. It did seem to empty out the tank pretty quick using the impact gun, but when the motor kicked on there was enough power. It is the quietest compressor I have ever been around and is great for those late nights in the garage. I would recommend this to a friend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
15out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
April 7, 2011
By CODE4
from Tampa, FL
"Quiet, great response. Powers most tools that do not demand exceptional amounts of air.
Definitely recommend this compressor if you are looking for a compressor in this size/power range. Much better investment than a similar tank volume with a maintenance free motor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does it's job well for a garage at home

,
March 21, 2011
By MSAuto
from NJ
"Pretty quiet, has enough guts for most duty it sees at home. Typical ingersoll compressor, made well and will probably outlast me."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine !

,
March 21, 2011
By Flynford
from Hereford,Texas
"This compressor is great around the house. If you run a DA Sander or some of your more air consuming tools, you can run it low, but the recovery time is amazing. Never gets hot or even tries to shut down !"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.2 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

IR Compressor

,
March 14, 2011
By beardface
"Works very well, nice and quiet. Set up instructions clear, and everything needed was included. Two things i would like to be different. It should be dual voltage-120/240, and there should be a high volume tap before the regulator to connect to a piping system if desired. I removed the regulator and teed directly into the tank. Otherwise an excellent product at a great price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.