Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"

"FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"

Item# 1592073
"Designed for professionals and serious do-it-yourselfers, the versatile Garage Mate is ideal for the home, shop or jobsite. Delivering maximum air, the Garage Mate can power impact guns, ratchets, grinders, drills, nailers, paint sprayers, sanders and more. Pump Material Cast iron, Drain System Manual, Max. PSI 135, CFM at Max. PSI 4.6, Duty Cycle 100, Oil Required Yes, Tank Type Vertical, Drive Belt, Air Outlet Size in. 1/4, Volts 120, Amps 16, Air Tank Size gal. 20, HP 2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 22 x 23 x 43, Regulator Included Yes, Noise Level dB 75-80, CFM at 90 PSI 5.5. Features a cast-iron, oil-lubricated pump for solid, reliable performance Quiet operation @ 75-80dB Equipped with a pressure switch, pressure gauge, regulator, safety valve, and six-foot power cord Meets OSHA standards"
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (88 reviews)
5 stars
76
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
84 of 88(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Performance in a Portable Package

,
February 2, 2016
By
from Bowdoinham, Maine
I wanted an air compressor that had plenty of bullwinkham that was able to be easily transported and run on generator power if need be. The Garage Mate was exactly what I was looking for in running common air tools. The fact that the Garage Mate is a portable unit that can be plugged into common 115V outlets is a big plus. A feature that drew me to this air compressor was the 100% duty cycle motor, an uncommon feature on portable electric air compressors. It is nice to have that kind of insurance for those few times you need to run it a little bit longer. Compared to other portable air compressors it is a bit on the heavy side, but what you get in return is a quiet belt driven compressor. I am very pleased with this unit so far and would buy again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Garage Mate Air Compressor

,
January 15, 2016
By
from Bel Air, MD
It is quieter compared to some others. The tank leaks down over night. I can hear it, but have not pin pointed the trouble yet. I called the number for the factory service that was enclosed. Got a machine, left message, but no call back yet. The leak is still not resolved. Only gave 3 stars because of the factory support.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Compressor from Ingersoll Rand

,
January 9, 2016
By
from San Jose, CA
Being a mechanical engineer myself and having a son who is a mechanic for the City of San Jose, the addition of an dependable air compressor was definitely a plus to the garage tools. I'm able to do much now than I ever did, from checking tire pressures to emptying tanks to using any kind of pneumatic tools.
The compressor itself is great, the light weight and wheels allow moving it anywhere I want, I was also surprised how quiet the motor is. No complaints from neighbors or family.
One question I have is how often show the tank be drained?
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every Garage NEEDS this compressor

,
January 8, 2016
By
from Memphis
It is my opinion that Ingersoll Rand is one of the finest air compressors on the market. It is also one of the best reviewed. This beefy little compressor proves it. Small enough to hide in the corner. Powerful enough to supply air to ALL of my tools. Not overly loud. What more do you need from an air compressor? For the money, I believe that this is the best air compressor you can buy.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

IR Garage Mate

,
December 21, 2015
By
from Ocilla, GA
Excellent quality with enough air to power up to 1/2" drive air wrench. Very quiet compared to other air compressors of the same size. I wanted an air compressor that would produce good CFM with portability to move around within a work shop. My garage mate is being used for home repair, auto repair, and farm use.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good compressor but...

,
August 17, 2015
By
from Johnson City, TN
I bought this two years ago from Northern. I love how quiet it is. It doesn't leak down and provided adequate air for my projects. My issue is that the compressor head just gave out a little after two years though I probably used the compressor less than 100 hours. Ordinarily I don't go for extended warranties. I wish I had this time......
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really awesome compressor for home/semi-pro

,
July 14, 2015
By
from Chicago, IL
Replaced a dewalt compressor with this unit.
This unit is about 1/2 as loud as the dewalt and doesn't have the same issues keeping up with impact gun that my old unit did.
Only thing keeping it back from a 5-star rating is the relatively low max pressure range and low CFM... would be nice to have a 110v unit that gets to 6 CFM or more.
My suspicion is that this units CFM rating is well below its actual output, but I have no way to test.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Compressor I've Owned

,
July 10, 2015
By
from Crestview FL
No leakdown, quiet compared to big store brands. Keeps up with all my air tool needs.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet

,
June 17, 2015
By
from Glen Allen, Va
The quietest air compressor I have ever heard. It doesn't take much floor space, doesn't leak down.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and Quite !!

,
June 4, 2015
By
from Cosby,TN
Unit was shipped in about 4 days. Trucking company called before delivery. (nice touch) Easy to put together about 5mins. Had to call Ingersoll Rand the pump would not reach max pressure. 5min phone call , they were well informed and curtious. The fix was to turn one screw about half and now pump reaches full pressure, problem solved. Tank only loses about 5 or 10 psi a week. This is an excellant home or shop compressor. Buy it, it's great !!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

motor trips breaker

,
March 8, 2015
By
from houston
I cannot seem to keep the breaker (on the motor) from popping, It is Hooked to an outlet that is fed by 10 gauge wire. It would be better if this motor could be rewired to 240 volts.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its a good air compressor for the price.

,
March 1, 2015
By
from Northwest AR
Fairly straight forward assembly, you put the wheels & the handle on, pour the included bottle of oil into the compressor, plug it in, & . Unit runs much quieter than an oilless compressor does. The transport handle makes a convenient place to wrap your air hose around for storage. The only thing I have found that i do not like is the drain port for the tank is not at the lowest point of the tank, but is located an inch or two above that point. Which means having to lean the whole compressor over if you want to get all the condensed water out of the bottom of the tank.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

IR compressor

,
February 24, 2015
By
from Lake Zurich IL
This compressor is the best option if your looking for a pretty decent air supply for tools and the need for less noise is important. My compressor is in the basement and I didn't want something that made a racket. This one is pretty quiet.
I needed a min. of 5 cfm at 90 psi since I do run air tools. I could have gotten a larger more powerful one but the this one does the job and doesn't rattle the house.
Well made, delivery was awesome,and the price was right. Northern tool has won me over! I appreciate their good service and great selection.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoil Garage Air Compressor

,
February 14, 2015
By
from California
It is very well made USA product and quiet
Assembly was easy, just attach the wheels and add the oil that is included in the box.
Delivery was accurate
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
February 10, 2015
By
from CT
This compressor is a great 110v unit. Installed wheels and added the oil that came packaged with unit and plugged it in. Using the unit in my garage at home powering air tools etc and works great!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I/R Garage Mate Compressor

,
January 26, 2015
By
from LANSE, MI
The unit arrived very well packaged, and after doing the usual check and adding lube, it was running nice and quiet, just as advertised. Nice addition to my shop. For anyone who wants a good quality portable compressor to run simple air tools, 1/2 impacts, cutoff wheels, etc, this is a good choice.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
January 26, 2015
By
from Leonardtown, Maryland
Very happy with Northern Tool customer service. Ordered and received air compressor via delivery truck. Everything worked like a charm. I was able to remove item and set-up by myself. Been a Month now and compressor works great. It has a quiet operating system which is great in my 2-car garage.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for heavy use, real support

,
December 22, 2014
By
from Texas
Bought one of these for home use in car restoration. Liked it so much I bought one for work. At work it is used heavy 8 to 9 hours per day and runs a lot for our automated machine tool support. Now for the good part you can't get with a no name brand. The output started to lag so I called Ingersol. An Ingersol Rand truck pulled up to the shop the next morning. The Ingersol guy serviced it and replaced the motor, and was on his way in less than an hour. No charge, no fuss, great service and its been working great ever since. USA company is the only way to go. These guys stand by their product. You can't get that with an offshore company.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

IR compressor

,
September 21, 2014
By
from Gillette, WY
Container came to residence by freight company. Free shipping was awesome! Although compressor had considerable weight it was simple to unpack. Attached wheels, air filters, added oil and it was ready to use. Plan use around the residence specifically to clear sprinkler lines in the fall. Also will use for air tools in the garage. Really liked the quality and the detail.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Garage Mate Air Compressor - 2 HP, 5.5 CFM, Model# P1.5IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

garage mate compressor

,
August 22, 2014
By
from west tawakoni tx
not as good as review cant run a die grinder takes to long to recover quiet but slow my old speed air 1 1/2 h.p. smoked this thing should have just fixed the old one this might be ok for blowing off parts but cant run air tools very good not good should have checked out others before buying
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
24out of 45found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.